Set Current Location
|Monday to Sunday||09:00 AM to 05:00 PM|
The home for single or widowed women was dedicated to the patron saint St. Ursula in 1346.
Amsterdam has many courtyards but there is only one in the old city centre-the Begijnhof. This is not an ordinary courtyard but more like a monastery. The Begijnhof was the only Catholic institution that still in existence after the Alteration in 1578. In 1607 the chapel had to be given to the English Presbyterians. From that moment on the church on the Begijnhof has been called the 'English Reformed Church.' During the city fires of 1421 and 1452 the church suffered severe damage. The chapel was completely renovated in 1912 and 1967 which was as old as dating back to 1650.
Often referred to as The Wooden House in English, this historic structure replaced its smaller, former design in the 15th century. These wooden houses sprung up all around Amsterdam starting in the mid-1400s featuring an additional storey to their predecessor. All wooden buildings were banned in 1521 because they posed a huge fire risk, but this original design has since become christened into classic Amsterdam Architecture. The building is one of only two historic wooden houses left in the city and is the oldest wooden house in Amsterdam dating from 1470.
Kalverstraat is a tourist site in itself. You can't imagine all of the stores lining this single street. This is certainly the destination for those looking for the usual main street fare with shops like Tie Rack and Sacha. The Kalvertoren, a covered mall located on Kalverstraat—close to the Munt—is also brimming with general commercial shops, as well as delightful little coffee shops and great places to grab a quick, rejuvenating lunch. For a truly outstanding bite to eat, hop over to Vroom and Dreesman. The store itself offers nothing remarkably unique, but the restaurant is worth the visit alone. From the Dutch chain HEMA to the enigmatically named Ron's Exclusive, these streets offer a little something for every wallet.
While most educational tourist attractions showcase only the best of their cities, Amsterdam Dungeon offers visitors a more honest, if a little more bloody, look at the past 500 years of local history. A cast of almost twenty skilled actors presents vignettes about the more gruesome elements of Amsterdam's past, sending travelers down in a rickety elevator to kick off over an hour of spine tingling terror. For one of the best insights into the untold stories of the city's past, look no further than Amsterdam Dungeon.
Yab Yum was a well- known brothel located in the city of Amsterdam. This exclusive brothel was situated in a canal house built in the 17th- Century. It was frequently visited by the wealthy upper class men and tourists. It was a legalized licensed club and had an entrance fee of EUR70 in 2005. The building is now known as the Yab Yum Museum, with an entrance fee of EUR17.50. People from across the world can go for a tour of this place to take a look at the reception desk, the rooms with beds, champagne closets, the bar and changing room.
This bronze statue of the Netherlands' longest reigning queen, Wilhelmina, stands roughly halfway along the busy street of Rokin, on the intersection just outside the Allard Pierson Museum. Wilhelmina is most famous for her role as an inspiration to the Dutch resistance during German occupation in World War II. The statue depicts a young Wilhelmina riding a horse and was commissioned in 1964 by the Amsterdam Contact Group of Women's Organizations. It was not unveiled until 1972 however, and was moved from its intended location on Damrak due to its size.
Heilige Stede, also known as Nieuwezjids Kapel in Dutch, is located in the city of Amsterdam. It is a site where a Dutch Reformed chapel and various small shops exist. Built in the year 1908, this chapel rests in the original position of an old 15th Century church called the Heilige Stede. Before the Heilige Stede, this site had another chapel that was destroyed during the city fire of 1452. The church was built in 1347, to denote the “Miracle of Amsterdam. ” It was was damaged in 1566 due to the beeldenstorm and was broken down in 1908. Today, this site has a new structure representing the cultural history of the site, with a few parts of the old church still held together.