全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

A Day in Dublin

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
499


都柏林城堡

都柏林城堡象征着英国700年的统治,自从盎格鲁-诺曼人在这里建立了他们的堡垒。后来,这座城堡成为英国任命的爱尔兰总督的总部。直到1922年才最终移交给爱尔兰爱尔兰自由。城堡的公寓里设有装饰豪华、精美的房间,而铺满了正式的花园地毯增添了诱人的环境。城堡的结构中隐藏着具有历史意义的徽章和收藏品,就像奥兰治国王威廉捐赠的庄严的王座,以及现在解散的圣帕特里克骑士的各种旗帜。城堡在很大程度上是一座办公大楼的建筑物;被用于国事活动和许多政府机构都设在这里。城堡将历史和艺术融为一体,举办了一系列以历史和艺术为中心的展览。城堡庭院也是华丽的皇家教堂和华丽的 切斯特·比替图书馆Chester Beatty Library .。这座宏伟的城堡确实是都柏林最无价的财产之一,是一扇通往了解这个国家不朽的中世纪历史的窗户。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
马什的图书馆

马什图书馆建于1701年,是爱尔兰历史最悠久的公共图书馆。建筑师威廉·罗宾逊爵士也设计了很多都柏林城堡。受都柏林大主教大主教纳西索斯·马什(Narcissus Marsh)委托,它于1707年开放。图书馆坐落在一座辉煌的安妮女王大厦内,藏在圣帕特里克大教堂后面,置身于非常漂亮的正式花园中。图书馆的内部装饰很好,装饰着书架的镀金山墙和高高耸立在书架上的斜角。参观者可以看到读者被锁定的笼形凹室,他们希望学习珍本书籍。前几个世纪的书籍收藏引起了极大的兴趣。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
剑桥大学三一学院

Trinity是伊丽莎白一世于1592年创立的,是都柏林大学爱尔兰最古老,最负盛名的高等教育中心的唯一成员。大学课程分为三大学院,25所学院提供本科和研究生学位和文凭课程。三一学院以其严格的入学流程而闻名于学术领域,也被评为世界前150名大学之一,吸引了来自全球的雄心勃勃的学生。尽管它位于都柏林市中心,但校园却保留着宁静的空气,令人愉悦的新旧建筑可以俯瞰一系列的四合院或庭院。其中,标志性的钟楼和礼拜堂是最着名的,与图书馆一起藏着大量古籍和稀有的手稿;其中最受尊敬的是“凯尔斯之书”(Book of Kells)。这本手稿的历史可追溯到公元800年,其中包含了340部作品,这些作品展示了新约四部福音书。如今,三一学院或都柏林附近的伊丽莎白女王圣三一学院正式名称,是都柏林最受欢迎的旅游景点之一,也是其最顶尖的教育机构。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
邮政总局

1818年由弗朗西斯•约翰斯顿(Francis Johnston)设计,奥康内街(O'Connell Street)的邮政总局(GPO)被称为1916年复活节起义的遗址。爱尔兰志愿者星期一在复活节星期六抓住了这座建筑物,并且连续六天与英国人对抗,直到GPO被起火。该建筑在1929年完全恢复。在里面,矗立着一座铜像,描绘了神话爱尔兰战士库楚拉因的死亡,献给那些在起义中死去的人。 GPO已经获得了标志性的地位;示威和抗议活动经常在外面举行。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
修道院剧院

由W.B.创立于1904年叶芝和格雷戈里夫人,修道院是爱尔兰的国家剧院,仍然是成熟和新兴的爱尔兰剧作家的重要推手。剧院早年引起很大争议,1926年O'Casey的“The Plough and the Stars”影响了民族主义情绪,并激起了叶芝亲自斥责观众,他们对1916年民族主义运动的描述感到不高兴。虽然现在一般争议较少,但新的爱尔兰戏剧仍然在地下室剧场孔雀舞台上演。剧院的修道院大楼自1961年以来一直开放,但正在发生变化。目前管理层正在考虑在河流南岸进行搬迁。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
爱尔兰国家博物馆 - 考古学

国家博物馆 - 考古学馆藏有从公元前7000年到20世纪的文物。基尔代尔街(Kildare Street)遗址是维京时代的作品,也是凯尔特人的杰作,也是世界上青铜器时代最大的黄金收藏品之一。收藏的核心是可以追溯到早上800年的阿尔达酒杯(Ardagh Chalice)。该博物馆还包括一个展览,涉及1916 - 1922年间爱尔兰争取独立的斗争。有一个愉快的咖啡馆和书店现场。提前打电话了解更多。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
自然历史博物馆(爱尔兰)

这个古怪而迷人的博物馆自1857年开放以来几乎没有任何变化。进入这个博物馆后,会见了一万年前死去的爱尔兰麋鹿的三具骷髅。腌制罐中放有各种各样的生物,包括章鱼,水蛭和蠕虫。检查楼上的世界收集,其中包括犀牛,熊猫和两只鲸鱼。还值得一看的是Blaschka海洋植物的收集。总之,这个博物馆提供了一个奇妙的洞察世界的维多利亚博物馆作为陵墓。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
爱尔兰国家美术馆

在爱尔兰国家美术馆,您会发现该国最大的艺术收藏。他们有一个永久收集来自欧洲各地的伟大作品,包括卡拉瓦乔,莫奈和毕加索的作品。画廊不仅涵盖了所有的主要艺术学校,而且还包括从十四世纪到二十世纪的艺廊作品。画廊除了展示精美的艺术作品外,还致力于艺术品的保护,研究以及为儿童和成人举办活动和节目。永久收藏是免费的。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
詹姆斯·乔伊斯中心

这个格鲁吉亚的联排别墅得到了美丽的恢复,得益于乔伊斯爱好者,爱尔兰参议员和维权人士David Norris的努力。曾经是丹尼斯·马吉尼(Dennis Maginni)和他的舞蹈学校的家,詹姆斯·乔伊斯中心(James Joyce Center)举办了一系列活动,包括乔伊斯都柏林(Georgia)的电影,讲座和徒步旅行。该中心还组织布鲁姆日,每年庆祝乔伊斯的“尤利西斯”,将于6月16日举行。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
爱尔兰现代艺术博物馆

1991年,皇家医院的修复地址正式开放为爱尔兰现代艺术博物馆。这个辉煌的17世纪的建筑现在是举办一些精彩的展览的场所,并进行了一些教育和社区为导向的项目。酒店提供免费的导游服务,其中包括参观教堂,宴会厅和美丽的巴洛克式花园。入场是免费的。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
格拉斯内文公墓

参观坟场可能不是你快乐的一天的想法,但格拉斯内文公墓是都柏林最迷人的地方之一。这是爱尔兰历史上一些最有名的人物,包括前爱尔兰总统埃蒙·德·瓦莱拉(Eamon de Valera)和肖恩·T·奥赖利(Sean T. O'Reilly)的最后安息之所。其他埋葬在大气层的政治英雄包括迈克尔·柯林斯,丹尼尔·奥康奈尔,查尔斯·斯图尔特·帕内尔和罗杰·凯斯门特。也可以找到诸如杰拉德·曼利·霍普金斯(Gerard Manley Hopkins)和布伦丹·贝汉(Brendan Behan)等文学人物的坟墓。购买遗产地图找到关键的坟墓。入场是免费的。

都柏林, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 121 1499-a-day-in-dublin
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Eateries Along Route 66
11 已标记书签

Eateries Along Route 66

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
9 1 0 3
499

Global search

Set Current Location
JOIN
SIGN OUT
My profile
Sign out
SELECT CATEGORY
New Collection
New collection
Collections

A Day in Dublin

Collection Created By: Cityseeker
12 Locations Bookmarked
Download PDF
499
Dublin Castle

Dublin Castle symbolized English rule for 700 years, ever since the Anglo-Normans built their fortress on this site. Later, the castle was to serve as the headquarters of the English-appointed Viceroy of Ireland. It was not until 1922 that it was finally handed over to the Irish Free State. Guided tours include the palatial State Apartments of the castle. Historical items of interest include a throne donated by King William of Orange and a variety of banners of the now-disbanded Knights of St Patrick. The Castle is very much a working series of buildings: it is used for State functions, and many government agencies are based here. This is an essential place to check out and there is a great deal for the visitor to see, including the Chapel Royal, the formal gardens, the Crypt Theatre and the splendid Chester Beatty Museum.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Irish Senses

If only two things come to mind when thinking of the Irish (the color green and St.Patrick's Day) then you need to come here. This is a fun way to get to know the culture of Ireland and what better way than taking part in it? So spend 90 minutes learning to play the Bodhran (the traditional Irish drum), the Irish dance and be taught how to draw your own Celtic masterpiece. All three activities are steeped in history and are worth the time and effort spent in getting to know them. So, shed those inhibitions and dive right into it.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Marsh's Library

Built in 1701, Marsh's Library is the oldest public library in Ireland. The architect, Sir William Robinson, also designed much of Dublin Castle. Commissioned by Archbishop Narcissus Marsh, Archbishop of Dublin, it was opened in 1707. The library, housed in a splendid Queen Anne mansion, is tucked behind St Patrick's Cathedral and set amid very fine formal gardens. The interior of the library is very decorative, with gilded gables adorning the bookcases and a miter towering over the shelves. Visitors can see the cage-like alcoves in which readers were locked when they wished to study rare books. The collection of books from previous centuries is of great interest.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Trinity College

Founded in 1592 by Elizabeth I, Trinity is Ireland's most prestigious university, attracting thousands of visitors each year. The college consists of a series of fine open squares and College Park. The major attraction at Trinity is the exquisitely decorated illuminated manuscript, the Book of Kells, which dates from 800 A.D. and contains 340 folios which illustrate the four New Testament gospels. The Old Library is also a worth a visit for its antiquarian books. The College Chapel and Berkeley Library should not be missed.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
General Post Office

Designed by Francis Johnston in 1818, the General Post Office (GPO) on O'Connell Street is known as the site of the 1916 Easter Rising. Irish Volunteers seized the building on Easter Monday and for six days held out against the British until the GPO was set on fire. The building was completely restored in 1929. Inside, stands a bronze statue depicting the death of the mythical Irish warrior Cuchulainn, dedicated to those who died in the uprising. The GPO has acquired iconic status; demonstrations and protests are often held outside.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Abbey Theatre

Founded in 1904 by W.B. Yeats and Lady Gregory, the Abbey is Ireland's national theater and remains a crucial promoter of established and emerging Irish playwrights. The theater's early years saw much controversy: the 1926 premiere of O'Casey's 'The Plough and the Stars' upset nationalist sensibilities and provoked Yeats to personally rebuke the audience, who felt offended by the depiction of the 1916 nationalist movement. Although generally less controversial these days, new Irish plays are still staged in the basement theater, the Peacock. The theater's Abbey Street premises has been open since 1961, but changes are afoot. The management is currently considering a move south of the river.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
The National Museum of Ireland - Archaeology

The National Museum- Archaeology houses artifacts which date from 7,000 B.C to the 20th century. The Kildare Street site is home to pieces from Viking times, alongside Celtic masterpieces and one of the largest collections of Bronze Age gold in the world. The centerpiece of the collection is the Ardagh Chalice, which dates back to 800 A.D. The museum also includes an exhibition dealing with Ireland's struggle for independence from 1916-1922. There's a pleasant café and bookstore on-site. Call ahead to know more.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Natural History Museum (Ireland)

This weird and fascinating museum remains almost untouched since it was opened in 1857. Upon entering, one is met with three skeletons of the extinct Irish elk that lived 10,000 years ago. A variety of creatures are displayed in pickling jars, including an octopus, leeches and worms. Check out the world collection upstairs which features stuffed rhinos, pandas and two whales. Also worth seeing is the Blaschka collection of marine plants. In all, this museum provides a marvelous insight into the world of the Victorian museum-as-mausoleum.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
National Gallery of Ireland

At the National Gallery of Ireland, you will find the largest collection of art in the country. They have a permanent collection containing great works from all over Europe, including works by Caravaggio, Monet, and Picasso. Not only does the gallery cover all the major schools of art but the gallery stocks artworks from the 14th to the 20th century. Besides displaying fine works of art, the gallery also works towards conservation of artworks, conducts research as well as organizes events and programs for children and adults alike. Admission to the permanent collection is free.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
The James Joyce Centre

This Georgian townhouse is beautifully restored thanks to the efforts of David Norris, a Joycean enthusiast, Irish Senator and human rights activist who saved the house from demolition. Once the home of Dennis Maginni and his dance school, the James Joyce Center hosts an extensive program of events, including films, lectures and walking tours of Joycean Dublin haunts. The center also organizes Bloomsday, an annual celebration of Joyce's "Ulysses," which takes place on June 16th.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Irish Museum of Modern Art

In 1991, the restored site of the Royal Hospital was officially opened as the Irish Museum of Modern Art. This splendid 17th-century building is now the venue for some superb exhibitions, and conducts a number of educational and community-oriented projects. Free guided tours are available and these include visits to the chapel, banqueting hall and the beautifully restored baroque garden. Admission is free.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Glasnevin Cemetery

A visit to a graveyard may not be your idea of a jolly day out, but Glasnevin Cemetery is one of the most fascinating places in Dublin. It is the final resting place of some of the most famous figures in Irish history, including former Irish presidents Eamon de Valera and Sean T. O'Reilly. Other political heroes buried in its atmospheric grounds include Michael Collins, Daniel O'Connell, Charles Stewart Parnell and Roger Casement. The graves of literary figures such as Gerard Manley Hopkins and Brendan Behan can also be found. Buy a heritage map to find the key graves. Admission is free.

Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
0 12 1 1
1 of
1 0
Leave a comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Bookmarked

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked

Best Literary Sights Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
13 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Interesting Architecture Around the World
15 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
15 1 0 4