Set Current Location
|Monday to Saturday||08:30 AM to 05:00 PM|
Located Southeast of the Capitol building and built in 1908, The Cannon House Office Building is an impressive and historic structure on Capitol Hill. The architecture of The Cannon House is that of the Beaux Arts style and was designed by famed architect firm Carrere and Hastings in New York City. The building is bordered by Independence Avenue, First Street, New Jersey Avenue and C Street and is next to The Russell Senate Office Building. The two Senate buildings, both designed by the same architecture firm, have a connected underground passage to the Capitol building in case of an emergency or escape. Housing over 85 suites, 10 single rooms and 23 individual rooms, the Cannon House is massive yet beautiful, and worth a trip.
Visitors are welcome in the polished halls of these vast office buildings, but it may be easier to see your representatives on the House or Senate floor in the U.S. Capitol. The House buildings face Independence Avenue, while the Senate offices face Constitution Avenue. Visitors can travel between offices on the same subway system that the politicians do.
Rare books, paintings and other memorabilia, such as musical instruments, costumes and films, make this library and popular research center a treasure trove of valuables worth perusing. Home to a Conservation Lab, Elizabethan-style theater, and the Grand Hall, several special events take place here, including concerts, plays, literary readings and more. The library also boasts the largest collection of Shakespeare materials.
Tucked beside the United States Capitol in Washington is the highest authority in the US Judiciary, the Supreme Court of United States. This grandiose Corinthian structure was completed in 1935, and was laid out keeping in mind the Judicial and Court structures of the United States. Tours to the building are organized as well.
Opened on December 2, 2008, the US Capitol Visitor Center is the new main entrance to the U.S. Capitol Building. There are a lot of exhibits and visitors can see the original copy of Franklin Roosevelt's “Day of Infamy” speech and a letter from George Washington. There are also two theaters where visitors can learn more about the U.S. government. Reservations for tours are highly recommended.
Named after former Speaker of the House, Nicholas Longworth of Ohio, the Longworth House Office Building (also known as "LHOB") was constructed in order to alleviate the overcrowding in the Cannon House Office Building. The venue was authorized in 1931, the same year of Longworth's passing. It is the smallest of the four office buildings for the United States House of Representatives and houses a large assembly room currently used by the Ways and Means Committee. The LHOB can be found south of the Capitol, at Independence Avenue and South Capitol Street SouthEast.
Almost identical to it's neighboring building, The Cannon House Office Building, The Russell Senate Office was build by the same architecture firm in 1903. The firm of Carrere and Hastings, a famed New York City partnership, each took over a building and created this Beaux Art style on Capitol Hill. In 1972, the building was named after former Senator Richard Brevard Russell, Jr who was a Democratic party politician and a long-time Senator for the state of Georgia. The Russell Senate Office is Northeast of the capitol and bordered by Constitution Avenue, First Street, Delaware Avenue, and C Street.