One of the most visited presidential libraries in the nation, Lyndon Baines Johnson Library & Museum is supplied with information regarding one of the most controversial times in United States history. Peeking inside the life of the 36th President, Lyndon Baines Johnson, the LBJ tapes provide listeners the opportunity to learn about the John F. Kennedy assassination and the Vietnam War. Along with the famous tapes, visitors can see a to-scale replica of the Oval Office, political memorabilia and more than 39 million pages of historical notes. Plan on a full day at this library and museum, but if you are a real history buff, you will barely scratch the surface of what this fantastic archive has to offer.
These 22 amazing acres overlook the Zilker Park fields bordering Barton Springs Road. The garden is actually comprised of several different gardens, including the Cactus and Succulent, Xeriscape, Herb and Fragrance, Rose, Azalea, Butterfly and Taniguchi Gardens. Taniguchi is a beautiful Japanese landscape with a waterfall, running stream, lily ponds and wooden bridges. The lush, peaceful grounds are commonly perused by artists and writers searching for inspiration, and by others just looking for solitude amid the city. See their website for further information.
Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Research Center was established by Lady Bird Johnson, First Lady of the United States from 1963-1969. This fabulous garden bearing her name brims with native Texas plants in courtyards, terraces, arbors and meadows. Along with a fantastic children's center, visitors can explore a visitors gallery, observation tower, café, gift store and nature trails. Enjoy award-winning architecture and fabulous scenery in this wonderful garden spot. Tours by appointment.
The former home and studio of German sculptress Elisabet Ney is open to the public for exploration. This home was one of the first buildings erected in the Hyde Park neighborhood, which was developed as a suburb in 1892 by Monroe Martin Shippe. Visitors flock to this museum to view nearly 50 busts and statues of Texas heroes, as well as Europeans she sculpted as a young artist. Her tools and several personal items are also on display. Admission is free.
Spend a day with the kids that is both fun and educational — head over to Zilker Park and take in the fantastic wildlife at the Nature Center. Albino raccoons, barn owls, snakes and other furry creatures roam about the petting zoo. While escaping the urban life, wander down winding trails and past the beautiful pond. Even though this park is in the middle of the city, nature permeates the surroundings, making every adult feel like a kid again.
Short story writer William Sydney Porter, whose pen name was O. Henry, lived in this home for three years while he spent time in Austin. It was constructed in 1891 and is filled with rare books, O. Henry's writing desk, original furniture, photographs, personal belongings and the chairs that brought The Gift of the Magi to life. Enjoy a guided tour and learn about the history of this home and its famous occupant. The house has been moved twice since from its original location at 308 East Fourth Street. It now features a gift shop with books, videotapes and more. The museum offers writing clubs for Austin children and sponsors many local events such as the Victorian Christmas celebration and the "O. Henry Pun-Off." Admission is free, but donations are welcome.
The magnificent building built from Texas limestone is the city's community hall. The Austin City hall is host to a number of community events and programs. Bringing people from across the city together to celebrate and partake of the city's rich culture is one of the aims of the hall. The surrounding nature dispenses a pristine charm to the location. For further information, log on to their website.
Built in 1867 as the home of the Texas General Land Office, this building is the oldest standing government building in the state. Along with a listing on the National Register of Historic Places, it has quite a bit of history. From 1887 to 1982, a draftsman named William Sidney Porter, better known today as the short story author O. Henry, rented a space upstairs. Some of the author's greatest short stories were inspired by his experiences here. The second floor of the building houses the O. Henry Nook, where visitors can view his comical land tract maps. The building also houses the State Travel Information Center, which provides guided tours. A Texas-style gift shop is located on the first floor.
As the first neighborhood museum in the state dedicated to African American history and culture, this 1926 structure houses various forms of art. The center was once Austin's main library and received a Texas State Historical Marker in 1976. The museum is named in honor of Dr. George Washington Carver, former slave who went on to become a renowned botanist and inventor. The museum exhibits a fantastic collection, as well changing exhibits of black history and culture in Austin and Travis County.