Set Current Location
This bar provides multi-level entertainment. The ground floor offers live cover-band music; passers-by can look in and see people dancing to the hits. If dancing is not your thing, sneak next door for a beer in the adjoining beer hall, or head upstairs to the more-than-ample patio overlooking the Sixth Street crowd, which may include a celebrity or two. Maggie's is famous in Austin for their motto T-shirt: "Beer. It's not just for breakfast anymore."
Built in 1867 as the home of the Texas General Land Office, this building is the oldest standing government building in the state. Along with a listing on the National Register of Historic Places, it has quite a bit of history. From 1887 to 1982, a draftsman named William Sidney Porter, better known today as the short story author O. Henry, rented a space upstairs. Some of the author's greatest short stories were inspired by his experiences here. The second floor of the building houses the O. Henry Nook, where visitors can view his comical land tract maps. The building also houses the State Travel Information Center, which provides guided tours. A Texas-style gift shop is located on the first floor.
This Sixth Street bar makes libraries fun again by having a new take on the traditional library. Here it's all about making it loud, making it rowdy and making it fun. The crowd mostly consists of college kids, but mature personalities sometimes appreciate the ironic juxtaposition of decorator books and, on the second floor, pool and air hockey tables. The DJ starts the evening with Top-40 and progresses into dance music. This bar is especially popular on Friday and Saturday nights when Sixth Street is limited to foot traffic.
Short story writer William Sydney Porter, whose pen name was O. Henry, lived in this home for three years while he spent time in Austin. It was constructed in 1891 and is filled with rare books, O. Henry's writing desk, original furniture, photographs, personal belongings and the chairs that brought The Gift of the Magi to life. Enjoy a guided tour and learn about the history of this home and its famous occupant. The house has been moved twice since from its original location at 308 East Fourth Street. It now features a gift shop with books, videotapes and more. The museum offers writing clubs for Austin children and sponsors many local events such as the Victorian Christmas celebration and the "O. Henry Pun-Off." Admission is free, but donations are welcome.
The Joseph & Susanna Dickinson Hannig Museum is located right in the middle of downtown Austin, but is still a hidden gem. This place was the home of Susanna Dickinson, who was one of the two survivors of the Battle of Alamo, the second being her little daughter. This rubble rock-style house provides one a good glimpse into her life after the battle, where she settled with her fifth husband. There are other artifacts relating to local Texan history, as well as temporary exhibitions on different subjects.