Set Current Location
|Monday to Saturday||09:00 AM to 08:00 PM|
|Sunday||12:00 PM to 08:00 PM|
19th-century architect Karl Friedrich Schinkel provided Berlin with many of its greatest buildings, including the magnificent Konzerthaus and the equally striking Altes Museum. The museum, which opened in 1830, was the first to be built on Museum Island. It now houses rotating special exhibitions and is home to part of the Antique Collection, a breathtaking collection of ancient Greek and Roman artifacts that were excavated by the famous German archeologist Hildesheimer.
Situated on the banks of the River Spree, the Lustgarten, which literally translates to 'pleasure garden', at Museumsinsel was created in 1573 as a garden for the Hohenzollern royal family (the former Royal Palace was situated close by). In the 18th Century, Friedrich Wilhelm I turned it into a military parade ground. 60 years ago, what remained of the garden was uprooted to provide space for Nazi parades and rallies. The historic garden was re-landscaped in 2000 according to original plans and is once again full of lawns, fountains and bushes. It is a wonderful spot for a stroll or picnic on a sunny afternoon.
The Alte Nationalgalerie (Old National Gallery) rises up over Museum Island like an ancient Greek temple. The imposing, neoclassical edifice was designed and built by architect F.A. Stüler between 1866-1876 and contains an extensive collection of works by both German and international artists from the 18th and 19th Centuries. Visitors can admire masterpieces by French impressionists such as Cezanne, Manet and Renoir, the surreal works of Van Gogh and Münch, and sculptures by the likes of Schadow and Rodin.
Located at the heart of Berlin near Museum Island, Art Market at Zeughaus features a collection of contemporary art. All the work showcased here is by professional artists and bargaining is not entertained. The market has been running for more than 20 years and thus is booming in the art scene in Berlin. The place also allows people to get in touch with the artists directly and understand their perspective.
Located between the Schlossplatz and the famous avenue Unter den Linden, Schlossbrücke was designed in 1821 by the architect K. F. Schinkel. A creation of Schinkel, this bridge was inaugurated on November 28th, 1823. The beatific sculptures, lined along this bridge clearly depict the development of a hero from early youth over manhood up to death on the battlefield as well as his translation to Olympus. After their destruction in the Second World War, the figures were restored again in 1983. Now Schinkels' masterpiece shows up in its whole beauty and is again a popular subject for photos as formerly. While Schlossbrücke itself is certainly attractive, it is the artwork that accompanies the bridge that receives the most attention.
Schlüterhof is the majestic courtyard of the historic Zeughaus. The sprawling lawn was used as a parade ground for the castle's artillery presentations. Christened after noted architect and the castle carver Andreas Schlüter, the courtyard remains famous for the 22 carvings of dying elephantine creatures, which remained unharmed during the World War II bombings. The giants' heads lay above the mighty domed windows and serve as one of the arresting highlights of Schlüterhof.
Closed until 2002. Instead, exhibitions in the Kronprinzenpalais opposite (Thurs - Tues 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.).