Turbary Woods Owl and Bird of Prey Sanctuary is a rescue and rehabilitation center for birds of prey like falcons, eagles, owls and hawks. They have over 90 birds caged in large enclosures, allowing them to have larger living spaces. The volunteers at the sanctuary conduct flying demonstrations where the trained birds land on the visitors’ gloved hand.
Designed by Edward Milner, the Avenham Park and Miller Park are the finest examples of Victorian Parks. Listed as an English Heritage Grade II garden, the duo attracts thousands of tourists every year. Avenham and Miller Park features splendid Japanese Gardens, open lawns and various structures including The Belvedere pavilion, a cafe, and a small area designated for different events like concerts held throughout the year. Community events like Mela and Easter Monday are too held here.
Church of St. Walburge is an active Roman Catholic church and is a Grade I listed building marked by the English Heritage. Built in the 19th Century in a Gothic Revival style, the most prominent feature of this church is its 94 meter (309 feet) spire. The church is known for its spectacular architectural quality derived from the amalgamation of traditional features in creative and inventive ways. The rose window, New Red Sandstone facade, open wooden roof, wooden triptych, a crucifix decorated with the shield of Preston and St. Ignatius of Loyola's representation in the sanctuary are some of the impressive features of this church.
Located in the countryside of Lancashire, Bowland Wild Boar Park has a variety of wild animals and farms animals which you can pet and hand feed. Kids can play at the outdoor play area, play indoor games like jenga and checkers or take tractor rides. This park also offers camping pods so visitors can experience the outdoors without the use of camping equipment.
Preston Guild Wheel is a 21-mile (33.7 kilometer) long ring road in Preston. This off-road route offers an unfettered view of River Ribble, the docks, countryside, parks and other attractions. You can choose to either cycle or walk this vehicle-free road.
More than just your regular museum, Ribble Steam Railway is a unique rail museum and a perfect family-destination for a day of fun train rides and more. Opened to public in 2005, the museum houses historic standard gauge preserved steam locomotives, rail exhibits and gives visitors a chance to ride along the 2.4-kilometer (1.5-mile) line in a steam locomotive. They have various train tour timings and many family and school tour packages, which include a guided tour of the museum, workshop and a train ride. Party/Gala train rides are also available wherein you can reserve a coach and host your own private party or celebrations like birthdays, special events etc. For some days open times may vary on account of various events held throughout the year.
The congregation of the Rivington Unitarian Chapel dates back to 1662, when Reverend Samuel Newton was ejected from the Rivington Church. However, the chapel was only built in 1703 with the motto "Here let no man a stranger be". This plain looking chapel is largely built from gritstones with a small bell cote on the west gable. The chapels original gates and box pews have survived and memorials have been put up in honor of Reverend Samuel Newton and the Lord of Willoughby. The church is still active and services are held on every first and third Sunday at 2:15p. Its historical significance in the struggle of the nonconformists draws visitors to this warm and peaceful chapel.
St Thomas' Church started out as a humble and simple structure built from stone carted by farmers from the quarries at Aughton. Before its completion in 1841, members of the congregation would have to walk a distance of close to 6 miles for Sunday services. This much-loved church was eventually largely rebuilt, giving its devoted congregation a more refined place of worship. This beautifully adorned church is a testament to the will and determination of the congregation that led to its creation. Regular services are held along with a number of special services and events aimed to foster and strengthen community spirit.
St Paul's Church was originally established as a chapel in 1776, dedicated to St Peter and St Paul. The present building of St Paul's Church, Skelmersdale, was built in 1903 when the original chapel suffered damage due to coal miming subsidence. Although simple, the church building still maintains an air of magnificence with its high ceilings, graceful arches and sparkling stained glass windows. Although over 100 years old, the church is very much in touch with more modern practices, and supports a number of child and youth oriented groups. In line with their motto "come as you are", St. Paul's welcomes all with open arms and genuine acceptance.
The existing St Michael and All Angels Church, Altcar, is the third church built at the same site after the first was burned down and the second was demolished. This half-timbered church is especially quaint and charming in its appearance, topped with a bell turret on the western gable and surrounded by green fields. The church was constructed in 1879 and has undergone very little change since. The painted tile reredos still exist, as does the 1885 stained-glass window featuring a fine illustration of the baptism of Jesus. Apart from regular services, every year the church welcomes spring with a series of special services and events that are open to all who wish to join in.
Built in the late 19th Century, the St Paul's Church has fantastic architecture. It is an active parish church which conducts daily prayers. It has disabled access and provides parking spaces to its visitors as well. It is a welcoming, family friendly church and also has a Sunday School. It conducts common worship on all days. The church is listed as a Grade II building by the English Heritage.
St Luke's Church is a beautiful parish church located in Slyne with Hest. It dates back to the 19th Century and has amazing architecture. The church is surrounded by lush greenery which adds to its beauty. It houses a font dating back to 1905. The church conducts regular services and prayers. For more details, please contact the website.