Chappell Hill Historical Society Museum aims to preserve and promote the city's history through interactive exhibits and exciting events. The museum is home to a fascinating collection of historic documents, photographs, artifacts and other objects that depict the lifestyle and culture of the city. Visitors can learn about some interesting historical facts and relive some of the most iconic moments in the city's history through a number of intriguing exhibits.
Liendo Plantation is an eminent cotton plantation in Waller County, Texas. It is a Greek Revival structure constructed in 1853. Most commonly, Liendo is accessible for public viewing on the first Saturday of every month. Admission fees are reasonable and tour timings are 10:00a, 11:30a and 1:00p respectively. The plantation and surrounding grounds are charming, and provide a great deal of pleasure to visitors. It is spread across 67,000 acres (27,113 hectares). Privately-owned, it transacts in breeding and selling cattle, apart from opening once a month for historic tours.
Nestled close to the arterial Highway 290, Peckerwood Garden is a rare jewel tucked between Houston and Austin and lies at the periphery of three different climate belts. Home to an exhaustive collection of indigenous plants from Asia, Mexico and southern part of United States, it was born out of the efforts of horticulture enthusiast John G. Fairey, who traveled through various regions of Mexico and collected seeds of endangered and distinctive plant species. The sprawling 39-acre (15.78-hectare) arboretum features saplings of quercus, taxus, styrax and magnolia, among other unique varieties. Visitors can also find open-air displays including Mexican folk art pieces and sculptures.
35 miles (56 kilometers) east of Austin lies the Sherwood Forest Fairgrounds, home to the Sherwood Forest Faire and other medieval-esque events, including jousting and weddings. See the website for the events calendar and plan your trip to the dark ages accordingly.
Located near Belleville in Austin County, TX, the Old Masonic Hall building was used as a church and school till about 1881. It was only in 1886 that the premises were chartered as a Masonic Hall. Members of the Masonic Lodge were prominent citizens and played an important role in political, business and religious aspects of the community. The property was enlisted in the US National Register of Historical Places in 1986.