全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Historic Locations in Toronto

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
10376


多伦多大学

成立于1827年,现在拥有超过75,000名学生,这是加拿大最大,也是最有名的大学。一些更有趣的景点是多伦多大学书店的主要房间,三一学院的教堂和餐厅,大学学院二楼的大房间,哈特之家及其艺术画廊,以及悉尼Fisher罕见图书馆。从Hart House开始,大学在夏季提供每日游。校园位于市中心核心。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
斯巴迪娜博物馆

一个多世纪以来,奥斯汀家族的所在地,斯巴迪纳之家现在作为多伦多市文化服务处的博物馆经营。尽管已经进行了一些修复,但55间房屋的原始感觉保存得非常好,让游客了解到移民增多和小报新闻(1918-1939)的开始。客房也可供租用。导游将确保这个体验是充分的信息和教育,同时仍然很有趣。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
旧市政厅

多伦多的第三个市政厅,这座宏伟的罗马式建筑是对建筑师爱德华·詹姆斯·伦诺克斯(Edward James Lennox)的艺术天才和坚定的理想的一种敬意。 1889年开始建造,在未来的11年中持续到1899年才完工。这时,旧市政厅是北美最大的市政大楼,既安置了多伦多市议会,也安置了法院。高耸入云的钟楼是庄严建筑中最为明确的特色,其惊人的结构是辉煌的装饰,古怪的石像和罗马复兴风格典型的其他复杂的细节。在里面,镶嵌地板,彩色玻璃窗和壁画只是Lennox设计技巧的一部分。就在这些檐下,他的名字被刻在石头上,直到今天。 1965年被新市政厅取代,旧市政厅被宣布为国家历史遗址,并作为省法院。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
卡萨罗马

卡洛斯·洛马(Casa Loma)从1911年开始建造,历经三年,是加拿大金融家亨利·米尔·佩莱特(Henry Mill Pellatt)爵士的崇高野心所为。受到欧洲城堡的启发,Pellatt试图利用他掌握的强大资源为自己建造一座位于多伦多市中心的豪华城堡。真正适合大国的愿望。 Casa Loma以哥特式复兴风格建造,似乎从童话故事的页面上跳起,充满了隐藏的通道,慷慨地装饰着精美的艺术品。城堡拥有98间装饰华丽的客房,周围环绕着一个拥有自己的温室,花园和马厩的美丽庄园。大厅的雕塑柱,音乐学院的彩色玻璃天花板,图书馆令人印象深刻的藏书,以及通往马房外的地下隧道等,都是众多宝藏中的一小部分。佩莱特的胜利是短命的,然而,他的企业在第一次世界大战之后屈服,迫使他卖掉他的家。今天,卡萨罗马是一个博物馆和受欢迎的活动场地。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
圣詹姆斯大教堂教堂

圣詹姆斯公园拥有19世纪的花园和壮丽的喷泉,是多伦多第一座英国圣公会大教堂的场所。您今天看到的圣詹姆斯大教堂于1853年开放,实际上是第三座 - 前两座分别在1839年和1849年被大火烧毁。目前的教堂由建筑师弗雷德里克·坎伯兰(Fredrich Cumberland)设计,包括加拿大最高的尖顶和精致的室内装饰,拥有坚实的大理石合唱团摊位和彩色玻璃窗。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
酿酒厂历史街区

位于多伦多市中心附近的酿酒厂历史街区是古德勒姆和麦芽酒酿酒厂直到1990年才开始运作的城市的一个主要区域。酒厂被吹捧为世界上最大的设施之一。关闭后,该物业的维多利亚时代的建筑成为今天的酿酒厂区。今天,它拥有许多商店,餐馆和商业综合体。然而,该酒厂的历史外观仍然完好无损,可以看出。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
约克堡国家历史遗址

约克堡国家历史遗址建于1793年,旨在保护多伦多湾免受美国入侵。它位于展览广场的东面,代表了加拿大1812年的原始战争的最大集中。期间打扮的工作人员提供导游,突出碉堡,营房和警察宿舍。工作人员展示了十八世纪初的军事生活。全年的特别活动包括约克之战纪念日,维多利亚日庆典和加拿大日在约克堡。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
黑溪先锋村

如果你想知道在先驱时代生活是什么样子的话,可以去看看位于约克大学校园附近的城市西北部的黑溪先锋村(Black Creek Pioneer Village)。它有超过35个修复过的1860年代商店和家,以及细心的服装工作人员。乘坐马车,去看医生,去学校或者和铁匠和内阁制作者聊聊他们的工作。如果你觉得饿,半路家餐厅的国家票价。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
0 81 110376-best-historic-locations-in-toronto
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 1 0 5
10376

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Historic Locations in Toronto

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
10376


University of Toronto

Founded in 1827 and now home to over 75,000 students, this is Canada's largest and arguably most famous university. Some of the more interesting sites to visit are the main room of the University of Toronto Bookstore, the chapel and the dining hall at Trinity College, the great rooms on the second floor of the University College, Hart House and its art gallery, and the Sydney Fisher Rare Book Library. The university offers daily tours during the summer, starting at Hart House. The campus is right in the heart of the downtown core.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
Spadina Museum

Home to the Austin family for more than a century, Spadina House is now operated as a museum by the City of Toronto Cultural Services. Although some restoration has taken place, the original feel of the 55-room mansion has been wonderfully preserved, giving visitors a glimpse into a time when immigration increased and tabloid journalism had its beginnings (1918-1939). Rooms are also available for hire. The tour guides will make sure that the experience is thoroughly informative and educational while still being fun.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
Old City Hall

Toronto's third City Hall, this magnificent Romanesque building is a fitting homage to the artistic genius and uncompromising vision of its architect, Edward James Lennox. Construction began in 1889, continuing through the next 11 years until it was finally completed in 1899. At this time, the Old City Hall was the largest municipal building in North America, housing both Toronto's city council and courthouse. While the soaring clock tower is the most definitive feature of the stately building, the striking structure is resplendently fitted with gargoyles, grotesque stonework and other intricate details typical of the Romanesque Revival style. Inside, the mosaic floors, stained glass windows, and frescoes are just a few of the details that proclaim Lennox's skill for design. Just beneath the corbels, his name was inscribed by the stonemasons where it remains to this day. Replaced by the New City Hall in 1965, the Old City Hall has been declared a National Historic Site and functions as the Provincial Courthouse.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
Casa Loma

Built over three years beginning in 1911, Casa Loma was born of the lofty ambitions of the Canadian financier Sir Henry Mill Pellatt. Inspired by the castles of Europe, Pellatt sought to employ the formidable resources at his disposal to build for himself a grand chateau in the heart of Toronto; an abode truly befitting the aspirations of the magnate. Built in the Gothic Revival style, Casa Loma appears to have sprung from the pages of a fairy tale, replete with hidden passages and generously adorned with exquisite art. The castle features 98 lavishly decorated rooms and is surrounded by a beautiful estate complete with its own conservatory, gardens, and stables. The Great Hall's sculptured pillars, the Conservatory's stained glass ceiling, the Library's impressive cache of books, and the subterranean tunnel to the stables outside are just a few of the many treasures that define the estate. Pellatt's triumph was short-lived, however, his businesses buckling in the aftermath of World War I, forcing him to sell his home. Today, Casa Loma is a museum and popular event venue.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
The Cathedral Church of St James

St James Park, with its 19th-century garden and splendid fountain, is the setting for this cathedral, Toronto's first Anglican Church. The Cathedral Church of St James you see today, which opened in 1853, is actually the third on the site - the first two were destroyed by fires in 1839 and 1849 respectively. Designed by architect Fredrich Cumberland, the present church includes the tallest steeple in Canada and an elaborate interior with a solid marble choir stall and stained glass windows.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
Distillery Historic District

Located near the city center in Toronto, the Distillery Historic District is a prominent area of the city where the Gooderham and Worts Distillery used to operate until 1990 CE. The distillery was touted as one of the biggest facilities in the world. After its closure, the Victorian-era buildings of the property became the Distillery District of today. Today, it houses many shops, restaurants and commercial complexes. However, the historic facade of the distillery is still intact and can be seen.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
Fort York National Historic Site

Built in 1793, Fort York National Historic Site was established to protect Toronto Bay from American invasion. It lies just east of Exhibition Place and represents Canada's largest concentration of original War of 1812 buildings. Period-costumed staff provide guided tours highlighting the blockhouses, barracks and officers' quarters. The staff give demonstrations of what military life was like in the early 18th Century. Special events throughout the year include a Battle of York Commemoration, Victoria Day Celebration and Canada Day at Fort York.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
Black Creek Pioneer Village

If you want to know what it was like to live in the pioneer era, check out Black Creek Pioneer Village, located in the northwest part of the city near the York University campus. It has over precisely 35 restored 1860s stores and homes, as well as attentive costumed staff. Hop on a horse-drawn wagon, visit the doctor, school or chat with the blacksmith and cabinet-maker about their work. If you feel hungry, there's the Half Way House Restaurant for country fare.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
0 81 110376-best-historic-locations-in-toronto
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
10376