全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Strangest Attractions in Toronto

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
10383


卡萨·卢玛城堡

卡萨·卢玛城堡始建于1911年,历时三年,由富有的金融家亨利拉特男爵修建的。受到欧洲城堡的启发,利拉特男爵试图利用他所掌握的强大资源,在多伦多中心为自己建造一座宏伟的城堡;一个真正配得上大亨的住宅。以哥特式复兴风格建造的卢玛城堡,仿佛从童话故事里出现的,充满了隐秘通道和精美的艺术品装饰。古堡内有98间装饰华丽的房间,规模庞大的马厩,神秘的塔楼,长达270米的幽深隧道,典雅的温室花房和一个面积达五英亩依山而建的美丽花园。大厅雕刻的廊柱,温室里彩色玻璃穹顶,图书馆的藏书,以及通往外面马厩的地下通道,这些只是这座庄园众多宝藏中的一小部分。然而,亨利拉特男爵的荣耀是短暂的,他的生意在第一次世界大战之后一蹶不振,迫使他卖掉了自己的城堡。如今,卡萨·卢玛城堡是一座博物馆以及受欢迎的活动场所。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
多伦多的半房子

当您在圣帕特里克街看到多伦多的半房子时,您将不得不停下脚步。一个19世纪的维多利亚式建筑,只有一半可见,多伦多半房子的另一半在20世纪由一家房地产公司拆除。由于业主和发展公司之间的纠纷,这幢房子被扯得非常尴尬,而邻居的房屋正在被拆除。切成两半,你看到的墙壁是隔开卧室的一个部门。抛开一些法律规定,如果你想要发现一些古怪的东西并将其捕捉到相机的镜头上,这个地方是一个必须去的地方。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
熨斗大厦

在英格兰和惠灵顿,斯科特和教堂之间,是一座历史悠久的砖和灰浆三角形,在当地被称为熨斗大厦。它也被称为Gooderham大厦,曾经是Gooderham和Worts酿酒厂帝国公司办公室的所在地。位于街对面的珀金斯大厦的镜像壁画,由着名的加拿大艺术家德里克·贝赞特(Derek Besant)绘制,为已经非常出色的建筑增添了色彩。地下室的酒吧是一个受欢迎的地方,并设有一个巨大的户外庭院,俯瞰着城市最富有的建筑区之一。今天,这座大楼是吉尔伯特律师事务所,律师和专利与商标代理的所在地。

多伦多, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
绝对的世界

21世纪的标志性建筑,绝对的世界建筑群,是密西沙加天际线的一个引人注目的地方。在几家设计公司之间的国际竞争之后,胜出的北京MAD公司中标。以其独特的扭曲建筑而闻名,塔楼以令人眼花缭乱的形式从底部到顶部旋转,大楼塔楼扭转209度。有趣的是,由于其沙漏形状,塔楼被当地人标记为“玛丽莲·梦露”。

Mississauga, ON, 加拿大
添加到您的收藏夹
0 41 110383-strangest-attractions-in-toronto
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
10383

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Strangest Attractions in Toronto

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
10383


Casa Loma

Built over three years beginning in 1911, Casa Loma was born of the lofty ambitions of the Canadian financier Sir Henry Mill Pellatt. Inspired by the castles of Europe, Pellatt sought to employ the formidable resources at his disposal to build for himself a grand chateau in the heart of Toronto; an abode truly befitting the aspirations of the magnate. Built in the Gothic Revival style, Casa Loma appears to have sprung from the pages of a fairy tale, replete with hidden passages and generously adorned with exquisite art. The castle features 98 lavishly decorated rooms and is surrounded by a beautiful estate complete with its own conservatory, gardens, and stables. The Great Hall's sculptured pillars, the Conservatory's stained glass ceiling, the Library's impressive cache of books, and the subterranean tunnel to the stables outside are just a few of the many treasures that define the estate. Pellatt's triumph was short-lived, however, his businesses buckling in the aftermath of World War I, forcing him to sell his home. Today, Casa Loma is a museum and popular event venue.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
Toronto's Half House

You will be compelled to stop in your tracks when you see the Toronto's Half House on the St Patrick Street. A 19th-century, Victorian structure with just one-half visible, the other half of Toronto's Half House was torn down in the 20th Century by a real estate company. Owning to disputes between the owner and the development company, this house was torn in the most awkward fashion while its neighbor's building was being demolished. Sliced exactly in half, the wall that you see was a division separating the bedrooms. Legal tiffs aside, this place is a must-visit if you wish to spot something eccentric and capture it on your camera's lens.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
Flatiron Building

At Yonge and Wellington, between Scott and Church, is an historic triangle of bricks and mortar known locally as the Flatiron Building. Also known as the Gooderham Building, it used to be home to the corporate offices of the Gooderham and Worts Distillery empire. A mirror image mural of the Perkins Building located across the street, painted by renowned Canadian artist Derek Besant, adds color to an already remarkable structure. The pub in the basement is a popular haunt, and features a massive outdoor patio that overlooks one of the richest architectural areas of the city. Today this building is home to Gilbert's LLP, lawyers and patent & Trademark Agents.

Toronto, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
Absolute World

A landmark for the 21st Century, the Absolute World complex is an eye-catching addition to Mississauga's skyline. Following an international competition among several design firms, the winning Beijing-based MAD firm won the bid. Known for its unique twisting architecture, the towers spiral from base to top in a dizzying pattern, with the larger tower twisting at 209 degrees from the bottom of the building. Interestingly, the towers have been labeled 'Marilyn Monroe' by locals due to its voluptuous hourglass shape.

Mississauga, ON, Canada
Add to Collection
0 41 110383-strangest-attractions-in-toronto
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
10383