全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Religious Sites in Minneapolis/St. Paul

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
13905


我们的卢尔德天主教夫人

我们的卢尔德天主教夫人是明尼阿波利斯最古老的教堂。列入国家史迹名录,地标性的教堂矗立在圣安东尼福尔斯历史街区的中心。原始建筑于1857年建成,是第一个普遍主义社会的会议厅。 1877年,加拿大天主教法国人购买了当地的石灰石结构,教区成为美国第一个被命名为卢尔德圣母教堂的教区。原来的3000平方英尺的结构被扩大和重新设计。加了一座钟楼,圣器收藏室,前厅和教堂。结构的变化改变了教堂的建筑风格。原来的矩形建筑成为一个线性的法国省级大厦与一个V型梁桁架。游客可以预约导游,团队可以预约,教友来自双城各处。请求服务时间表或安排参观。

Minneapolis, MN, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣马克大教堂教堂

俯瞰洛林公园是庄严和辉煌的圣马可教堂主教堂。巨大的英格兰哥特式结构主张几乎是贵族化的存在,但却给人以欢迎的感觉。一个教区教堂于1941年获得了“大教堂”的称号,为1200多人提供了教堂。外部使用的马尼拉色石灰石在20世纪初的施工期间,从印第安纳州的贝德福德(Bedford)辛苦地运出。前立面包含众多巧妙雕刻的人物,代表圣马可历史和成功发挥作用的人们。主教,司铎和传教士,以及明尼苏达州的大象(圆锥形帐篷,地鼠和粮仓)都是自豪地展示的。描绘圣人和天堂的众多彩色玻璃窗是真正的艺术品。访问网站的敬拜时间和其他信息。

Minneapolis, MN, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣玛丽大教堂

这个宏伟的美术教堂是全国第一座大教堂,需要20年的时间才能完成。在约翰·爱尔兰总主教任职期间建造的这座巨大的白色大理石建筑令人叹为观止。它宽120英尺,长278英尺,前方支撑着133英尺的双塔。其中一座塔楼里有一个3000英镑的钟,可以听到几英里的距离。在祭坛上,一个华丽的圆顶高达250英尺,五十六级管风琴始终呼应。每周日早上提供导游。

Minneapolis, MN, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣保罗大教堂

圣保罗大教堂是全国最大,最壮观的教堂之一,坐落在一座山丘上(被称为大教堂山),俯瞰着市中心和密西西比河流域。这个结构在1915年开放,虽然广泛的内部工作持续了几年。巨大的铜穹顶位于教堂中殿地面以上300英尺处,墙壁覆盖着明尼苏达州苍白的花岗岩。一对钟楼塔楼位于建筑的首脑大街(Summit Avenue)外墙和三千座朝圣者座位上。星期一,星期三和星期五1点提供导游。

St. Paul, MN, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 41 113905-best-religious-sites-in-minneapolis-st-paul
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Eateries Along Route 66
11 已标记书签

Eateries Along Route 66

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
9 1 0 3
13905

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Religious Sites in Minneapolis/St. Paul

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
13905


Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church

Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church is the oldest continuously used church in Minneapolis. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the landmark church stands in the heart of the St. Anthony Falls Historic District. The original building was constructed in 1857 as a meeting hall for the First Universalist Society. In 1877 the French Canadian Catholic community purchased the native limestone structure and the parish became the first in the United States to be named Our Lady of Lourdes. The original 3,000 square foot structure was enlarged and redesigned. A bell tower, sacristy, vestibule and rectory were added. The structural changes altered the church's architectural style. The original rectangular building became a linear French provincial-type edifice with a V-frame beam truss. Visitors take guided tours, which are available to groups by appointment, and parishioners come from all over the Twin Cities to worship. Call for schedule of services or to arrange for a tour.

Minneapolis, MN, United States
Add to Collection
Cathedral Church of St. Mark

Overlooking Loring Park is the stately and splendid Episcopal Cathedral Church of St. Mark. The huge English Gothic structure asserts an almost aristocratic presence, yet offers a sense of welcome to all. A parish church, which received the designation of 'Cathedral' in 1941, it serves a congregation of over 1200. The manila-colored limestone used on the exterior was painstakingly shipped from Bedford, Indiana during construction in the early 1900s. The front façade contains a multitude of artfully sculptured figures representing the history of St. Mark's and the people who played a role in its success. Bishops, priests and missionaries, as well as symbols of the great state of Minnesota (teepees, gophers and grain elevators), are proudly displayed. The numerous stained glass windows depicting saints and heavenly scenes are truly works of art. Visit the web site for worship times and other information.

Minneapolis, MN, United States
Add to Collection
The Basilica of Saint Mary

This grand beaux-arts church was the nation's first basilica, taking 20 years to complete. Built during the tenure of Archbishop John Ireland, the enormous white marble building is a marvel to behold. It is 120 feet wide by 278 feet long supporting 133-foot twin towers in the front. One of the towers houses a 3000-pound bell that can be heard for miles around. Over the altar, an ornate dome rises 250 feet and the 56 rank pipe organ echoes throughout. Guided tours are offered every Sunday morning.

Minneapolis, MN, United States
Add to Collection
Cathedral of St Paul

One of the country's largest and most spectacular churches, the Cathedral of St. Paul sits high on a hill (aptly known as Cathedral Hill) overlooking downtown and the Mississippi River Valley. The structure opened in 1915, although extensive interior work continued for several more years. The massive copper dome is 300 feet above the nave's floor and the walls are covered in pale Minnesota granite. A pair of carillon towers flanks the building's Summit Avenue façade and the sanctuary seats 3000 worshipers. Guided tours are offered on Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 1p.

St. Paul, MN, United States
Add to Collection
0 41 113905-best-religious-sites-in-minneapolis-st-paul
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Eateries Along Route 66
11 Bookmarked

Eateries Along Route 66

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
9 1 0 3
13905