全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Landmarks in Galway

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
14324


林奇的城堡

戈尔韦在1614年的一位游客指出,这个城市的繁荣的外观。他特别受到优雅的联排别墅的精心打磨,立面采用“统一的马厩”设计。这些房子将由戈尔韦的主要商人家族“戈尔韦的十四个部落”所有。林奇家族是主要的“部落”之一。林奇的城堡(现在是爱尔兰联合银行)是16世纪联排别墅中最好的例子之一。内部的精美的石头门楣,纹章和精美的石头壁炉非常值得一看。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣尼古拉斯学院教堂

这座教堂建于1320年,专门为旅行者的守护神圣尼古拉斯(St. Nicholas)而建。继1484年向教皇英诺森八世成功请愿后,教堂被召集起来,由一名监狱长和八名牧师控制。建筑本身一再重建和翻新,直到十六世纪初才建成。这些变化部分是因为这个教会在天主教徒和圣公会之间多次交手。圣尼古拉教堂包含戈尔韦中世纪石雕的精美例子,其中许多雕刻在华丽的坟墓上。这座教堂也是着名的克里斯托弗·哥伦布提供他的最后祈祷之前,他的史诗之旅到新世界的地方。服务仍然在每个星期天在这里举行。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
艾尔广场

广场最初被称为“公平的绿色”。然而,1710年从他父亲那里继承了这片土地的爱德华·埃尔市长改了名字。这个小公园后来被称为“艾尔广场”。广场位于戈尔韦市中心,是其最大的广场。广场中心是约翰·肯尼迪纪念馆,纪念1963年总统访问。总统在这里向戈尔韦人民发表讲话,并获得了城市的自由。在公园里有一座纪念总统的铜牌。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
泰比赫尔克剧院

Taibhdhearc剧院首先由希尔顿爱德华兹的奥古斯丁教父出租。经过翻新后,于1928年8月向观众开放,由MicheálMacLiammóir制作“Diarmuid andGráinne”。自此之后,戈尔韦就有了一个以爱尔兰语演出戏剧的剧院。剧院还定期播放经常性的音乐剧和歌剧。包括剧作家,小说家Walter Macken,诗人MáirtinÓDireáin,着名女演员SiobhánMcKenna和演员SeánMcClory在内的许多名人出现在Taibhdhearc。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣母升天大教堂和圣尼古拉(戈尔韦大教堂)

这可能是戈尔韦最令人印象深刻的建筑,这是西欧建造的最后一座巨大的石头大教堂。大教堂致力于圣母升天,俯瞰三文鱼堰桥。这座文艺复兴时期的建筑于1965年由库欣(Cinal)枢机主教开启和奉献,并站在旧城监狱的旧址上。它不是特别陈旧,但仍然符合传统的教堂设计,并设有大理石地板和棕色雪松天花板。木制品,彩色玻璃和马赛克都是由爱尔兰人手工制作的。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
爱尔兰国立大学戈尔韦分校

爱尔兰国立戈尔韦大学最初名为戈尔韦皇后学院,是19世纪中期在大饥荒期间由建筑师J.B.基恩设计建造的。然而,直到1845年它才向学生敞开大门。1906年女学生首次获准入学,第一位在爱尔兰获得工程学位的女性在这所大学获得了工程学位。校园最近已经扩大,以适应不断增加的学生群体。大多数大学建筑的年龄从十九世纪中叶到全新的千禧年艺术大楼。原始的结构,一个19世纪的新哥特式四边形,非常值得一看。钟楼让人想起牛津基督堂的汤姆塔。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 61 114324-best-landmarks-in-galway
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 1 0 5
14324

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Landmarks in Galway

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
14324


Lynch's Castle

A visitor to Galway in 1614 noted the city's prosperous appearance. He was especially struck by the elegant townhouses with finely cut stone facades, fortified with "faire battlement, in an uniform course". These houses would have been owned by Galway's leading merchant families, the "fourteen tribes of Galway". The Lynch family were one of the leading "tribes". Lynch's Castle (now an Allied Irish Bank) is one of the best examples of a 16th century townhouse. The finely cut stone lintels, coat of arms and fine stone fireplaces in the interior are well worth a look.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
St. Nicholas' Collegiate Church

This church was built and dedicated to St. Nicholas, the patron saint of the traveler, in 1320. Following a successful petition to Pope Innocent VIII in 1484, the church was rendered collegiate and was controlled by a warden and eight vicars. The structure itself has been repeatedly rebuilt and renovated, and the tower wasn't built until the early 1500s. These changes were partly because this church changed hands a number of times between the Catholic and the Anglican communions. St. Nicholas' Church contains fine examples of Galway's medieval stone carvings, many of which are carved on the ornate tombs. This church is also renowned as the place where Christopher Columbus offered his last prayers before his epic journey to the New World. Services still take place here each Sunday.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Eyre Square

Originally called the "Fair Green," in 1710 Mayor Edward Eyre, who had inherited this area of land from his father, donated it to the city. The square named in the former mayor's honor is in the heart of Galway city and is one of its largest open spaces. In the center of the square is the John F. Kennedy Memorial commemorating the president's visit in 1963. It was here that the president addressed the people of Galway and there is a bronze plaque commemorating his visit. In fact, the square was officially renamed in his honor, but locals continue to call it by its more popular name.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Taibhdhearc Theatre

Taibhdhearc Theatre was first leased from the Augustinian Fathers by Hilton Edwards. After being refurbished it opened its doors to audiences in August 1928 with a production of "Diarmuid and Gráinne" by Micheál MacLiammóir. Since this date Galway has had a theater which presents plays in the Irish language. The theater also regularly features regular musicals and opera. Many luminaries have appeared at the Taibhdhearc, including playwright and novelist Walter Macken, poet Máirtin Ó Direáin, distinguished actress Siobhán McKenna and actor Seán McClory.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Cathedral of Our Lady Assumed into Heaven & St Nicholas (Galway Cathedral)

Possibly the most impressive building in Galway, this was the last great stone cathedral constructed in Western Europe. The Cathedral is dedicated to Our Lady Assumed into Heaven and overlooks the Salmon Weir Bridge. The Renaissance-style building was opened and consecrated by the late Cardinal Cushing in 1965 and stands on the site of the old city jail. It is not particularly antiquated, yet still corresponds with conventional church design and features a marble floor and brown cedar ceiling. The woodwork, stained glass and mosaics were all handcrafted by Irishmen.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
National University of Ireland-Galway

Initially called Queen's College Galway, National University of Ireland-Galway was designed and built by the architect J.B. Keane during the Great Famine, in the middle of the 19th century. However, it didn't open its doors to students until 1845. Women students were first permitted in 1906, and the first woman to receive an engineering degree in Ireland received it at this university. The campus has recently expanded to accommodate its increasing student body. Most of the university buildings range in age from the mid-19th century to the brand new Millennial Arts building. The original structure, a 19th-century, neo-Gothic quadrangle is well worth seeing. The Clock Tower is reminiscent of the Tom Tower at Christ Church, Oxford.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
0 61 114324-best-landmarks-in-galway
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
14324