全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录

Best Historic Locations in Galway

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
14328


圣奥古斯丁教堂

着名的历史学家詹姆斯·哈迪曼(James Hardiman)于1855年8月奠定了现在的圣奥古斯丁教堂的基石。这座新哥特式教堂花了四年的时间建成,最终于1859年9月开放。当你进入教堂时,可以看到奥古斯丁的顶峰在马赛克地板上。它读到拉丁文中的“Tolle Lege”,意思是“读起来”,来自与圣奥古斯丁讨论保罗写给罗马人的信。在1855年的时候,高耸的祭坛和日期包围着橡木镶板,尽管在二十世纪六十年代末和七十年代初期进行了一些改动。帐幕被供奉,主祭坛上的彩色玻璃窗被更换。天花板也用雪松木重建,虽然古老的屋顶支撑仍然存在。机关是一个宏伟的重点;它是由着名的都柏林风琴建筑师威廉·德福(William Telford)于1868年建造和安装的。星期六的时间是7p,星期天是9a,11a,12p和6.30p。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
林奇的城堡

戈尔韦在1614年的一位游客指出,这个城市的繁荣的外观。他特别受到优雅的联排别墅的精心打磨,立面采用“统一的马厩”设计。这些房子将由戈尔韦的主要商人家族“戈尔韦的十四个部落”所有。林奇家族是主要的“部落”之一。林奇的城堡(现在是爱尔兰联合银行)是16世纪联排别墅中最好的例子之一。内部的精美的石头门楣,纹章和精美的石头壁炉非常值得一看。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣尼古拉斯学院教堂

这座教堂建于1320年,专门为旅行者的守护神圣尼古拉斯(St. Nicholas)而建。继1484年向教皇英诺森八世成功请愿后,教堂被召集起来,由一名监狱长和八名牧师控制。建筑本身一再重建和翻新,直到十六世纪初才建成。这些变化部分是因为这个教会在天主教徒和圣公会之间多次交手。圣尼古拉教堂包含戈尔韦中世纪石雕的精美例子,其中许多雕刻在华丽的坟墓上。这座教堂也是着名的克里斯托弗·哥伦布提供他的最后祈祷之前,他的史诗之旅到新世界的地方。服务仍然在每个星期天在这里举行。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
泰比赫尔克剧院

Taibhdhearc剧院首先由希尔顿爱德华兹的奥古斯丁教父出租。经过翻新后,于1928年8月向观众开放,由MicheálMacLiammóir制作“Diarmuid andGráinne”。自此之后,戈尔韦就有了一个以爱尔兰语演出戏剧的剧院。剧院还定期播放经常性的音乐剧和歌剧。包括剧作家,小说家Walter Macken,诗人MáirtinÓDireáin,着名女演员SiobhánMcKenna和演员SeánMcClory在内的许多名人出现在Taibhdhearc。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
Kirwan's Lane

这座巷道位于城市的旧城区,最近使用原石恢复了昔日的辉煌。俯瞰小巷的窗户和门廊以17世纪的风格重建。 1783年,理查德·马丁在这里为他的妻子建立了一个100座位的剧院。共和党爱国者西奥多尔德·沃尔夫·通尼是其中之一。不过,理查德·马丁于1791年失去了他的妻子给一个英国人,不久之后就对这个小剧院失去了兴趣,让它陷入了失修。在Kirwan's Lane的远端,17世纪的窗户仍然可以看到Martin Crest。

加維, 爱尔兰共和国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 51 114328-best-historic-locations-in-galway
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 1 0 5
14328

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Historic Locations in Galway

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
14328


St. Augustine's Church

The renowned historian James Hardiman laid the foundation stone of the present St. Augustine church in August 1855. This neo-gothic church took four years to build and eventually opened its doors in September 1859. As you enter the church the Augustinian crest can be seen on the mosaic floor. It reads, in Latin, "Tolle Lege" which means "Take up and Read", and comes from a discussion with St. Augustine after he read Paul's letter to the Romans. Oak panelling surrounds the high altar and dates from 1855, although some alterations were made in the late 1960's and early 1970's. The tabernacle was enshrined and the stained glass window over the main altar was replaced. The ceiling was also reconstructed with cedar wood, although the ancient roof supports still remain. The organ is a magnificent focal point; it was constructed and installed by the famous Dublin organ builder, William Telford in 1868. Mass times are: 7p Saturdays and 9a, 11a, 12p and 6.30p Sundays.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Lynch's Castle

A visitor to Galway in 1614 noted the city's prosperous appearance. He was especially struck by the elegant townhouses with finely cut stone facades, fortified with "faire battlement, in an uniform course". These houses would have been owned by Galway's leading merchant families, the "fourteen tribes of Galway". The Lynch family were one of the leading "tribes". Lynch's Castle (now an Allied Irish Bank) is one of the best examples of a 16th century townhouse. The finely cut stone lintels, coat of arms and fine stone fireplaces in the interior are well worth a look.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
St. Nicholas' Collegiate Church

This church was built and dedicated to St. Nicholas, the patron saint of the traveler, in 1320. Following a successful petition to Pope Innocent VIII in 1484, the church was rendered collegiate and was controlled by a warden and eight vicars. The structure itself has been repeatedly rebuilt and renovated, and the tower wasn't built until the early 1500s. These changes were partly because this church changed hands a number of times between the Catholic and the Anglican communions. St. Nicholas' Church contains fine examples of Galway's medieval stone carvings, many of which are carved on the ornate tombs. This church is also renowned as the place where Christopher Columbus offered his last prayers before his epic journey to the New World. Services still take place here each Sunday.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Taibhdhearc Theatre

Taibhdhearc Theatre was first leased from the Augustinian Fathers by Hilton Edwards. After being refurbished it opened its doors to audiences in August 1928 with a production of "Diarmuid and Gráinne" by Micheál MacLiammóir. Since this date Galway has had a theater which presents plays in the Irish language. The theater also regularly features regular musicals and opera. Many luminaries have appeared at the Taibhdhearc, including playwright and novelist Walter Macken, poet Máirtin Ó Direáin, distinguished actress Siobhán McKenna and actor Seán McClory.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
Kirwan's Lane

Located in the old quarter of the city, this laneway has recently been restored to its former glory, using original stones. The windows and doorways overlooking the lane have been rebuilt in the style of the 17th century. It was here that Richard Martin built a 100-seater theater for his wife in 1783. The republican patriot Theobald Wolfe Tone was among those who acted here. However, Richard Martin lost his wife to an Englishman in 1791, and lost interest in the little theater soon after, allowing it to fall into disrepair. The Martin Crest can still be seen on a 17th century window at the far end of Kirwan's Lane.

Galway, Republic of Ireland
Add to Collection
0 51 114328-best-historic-locations-in-galway
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
14328