Set Current Location
Mirroring Chattanooga’s unique heritage and the transformations that have taken place over time, Fort Wood is located close to the Eastern boundaries of Chattanooga of 1838. It was taken over by the city in 1851. During 1900 and 1910, Fort Wood gained prominence as an affluent neighborhood and many esteemed citizens built their homes here. The area still retain its charm and is beautifully lined with trees, and the structures are fine examples of the early 20th-century styles of architecture.
Once an abandoned shipping yard, Coolidge Park has carried the spirit of revitalization from downtown to the North Shore. The park features a century-old, hand-carved carousel. A large fountain with stone horses, lions, and sea turtles sprays water to cool youngsters on hot summer afternoons. A large common area along the riverfront allows for games, picnics and relaxing afternoons. Two stages and a pavilion area offer space for weddings and other special events.
Erected in 1890, the Walnut Street Bridge was the first to connect Chattanooga's downtown with the North Shore. Structural modifications have been made to turn the bridge into what is now a pedestrian walkway. The 1/2-mile span is the longest pedestrian bridge in the world and very popular among local residents. Providing spectacular views of Coolidge Park, the Tennessee Aquarium and the Riverfront, the bridge is available for weddings and special events.