全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Landmarks in Birmingham

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
20710


第十六街浸信会

16th Street Baptist Church位于第六大道,是市中心一座美丽的教堂。概念化早在1873年,历史悠久。最初的建筑于1908年拆除,目前的建筑由着名的华莱士雷菲尔德于1911年建成。在民权运动期间,第十六街浸信会爆炸造成四名女童死亡。今天,教会继续发挥着巨大的生命力,也被宣布为国家历史地标。致电预订个人或团体旅游。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
民权区

伯明翰民权区是伯明翰市中心六区街区,伯明翰民权运动发生了许多重要的事件。该地区是伯明翰运动中许多最重要事件的发生地点,包括第十六街浸信会爆炸事件。凯利英格拉姆公园,也是在该地区,是民权运动期间许多示威的地点。该地区的一些最重要的景点包括教堂,马丁·路德·金博士的雕像和伯明翰民权研究所。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
阿灵顿战前家园

阿灵顿战前家园(Arlington Antebellum Home and Gardens)是这座城市唯一的战前宅第,提供以19世纪家具和装饰艺术收藏为特色的游览。这座建筑是十九世纪四十年代赫赫有名的希腊复兴建筑的典范。茶室是可用的,花园是一个美丽的网站和婚礼和其他特殊事件的背景。请提前拨打入场详情。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
焚烧炉

位于第一大道北和第三十二街,斯洛斯炉实际上是伯明翰市的诞生地。这些炉子建于1882年,生产钢铁已有90多年的历史。正是这个铁行业促使伯明翰市围绕它。该网站于1983年恢复。除了令人印象深刻的火炉之外,还有工业博物馆,雕塑花园和公园。炉子偶尔是音乐会和节日的地点。这是伯明翰最迷人的地方之一,完全值得一试。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
里克伍德场

瑞克伍德球场(Rickwood Field)建于1910年,是在该市职业棒球队煤炭男爵队(Coal Barons)举行的。里克伍德球场(Rickwood Field)现在已经恢复,看起来像是在二十世纪四十年代的鼎盛时期,一直到手动记分牌。伯明翰男爵身穿旧制服,扮演一年一度的瑞克伍德精英赛。在里克伍德踢球的棒球运动员包括Babe Ruth,Rogers Hornsby,“无鞋”乔·杰克逊,Ty Cobb和伯明翰自己的Burleigh Grimes,这是大联盟最后一个合法的投球手。里克伍德也是伯明翰黑人男爵黑人联赛的主场,他们带来了萨切尔·佩奇,派珀·戴维斯和当地少年现象威利·梅斯等人在这里踢球。没有费用访问瑞克伍德;询问Rickwood Classic及其他特别活动的门票价格。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
火神公园和博物馆

在古代的神话中,瓦肯人是丑陋的。这么丑陋,他被赶出了他在奥林匹斯山的家,并被迫成为普通百姓中的一座铁匠火山。但是他最后嫁给了爱与美的女神维纳斯,所以要么他不是那么丑陋,要么就是有一种幽默感。今天,神在伯明翰的火神公园和博物馆中心是世界上最高的铸铁雕像,具有教育旅游和高耸的观景台,俯瞰着城市。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 61 120710-best-landmarks-in-birmingham
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Eateries Along Route 66
11 已标记书签

Eateries Along Route 66

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
9 1 0 3
20710

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Landmarks in Birmingham

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
20710


16th Street Baptist Church

Situated along 6th Avenue, the 16th Street Baptist Church is a beautiful church in the heart of the city. Conceptualized as early as 1873, it has had a long history. The initial building was demolished in 1908 and the current structure was built in 1911 by the famous Wallace Rayfield. During the Civil Rights Movement, the 16th Street Baptist Church bombing killed four young girls. Today, the church continues to function with great vitality, and has also been declared a National Historic Landmark. Call to book individual or group tours.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
Civil Rights District

Cradled in Downtown Birmingham, the Civil Right District is the center point of the state's long-standing history. The very site where several important events of the Civil Rights Movement were birthed, this historic district sprawls across six blocks. The district has witnessed many of the most significant happenstances of the Birmingham arm of the movement, including the fateful bombing of the 16th Street Baptist Church. Kelly Ingram Park, which is also a part of the district, was the location of many demonstrations during the Civil Rights Movement. Numerous sculptures in the park commemorate the historical protests. Some of the most important sites in the district include the statue of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., the Carver Theater, which has now been transformed into a live music venue, and the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute. Harboring several historical sites, the Civil Rights District reads out America's most significant chapter out loud.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
Arlington Antebellum Home & Gardens

Arlington Antebellum Home and Gardens, the city's only antebellum mansion, offers tours featuring its collection of 19th-century furniture and decorative arts. The building is a grand example of the Greek Revival architecture that was prominent in the 1840s. A tearoom is available, and the gardens are a beautiful site and backdrop for weddings and other special events. Call ahead for admission details.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
Sloss Furnaces

The very genesis of Birmingham, Sloss Furnaces were one of the pioneers in the process of smelting pig iron. Established in 1882, it is this iron industry that prompted the city of Birmingham to grow around it. Over the years, the machinery has gathered abundant rust and experience, both of which tell stirring tales of the industry's glorious heyday. Proclaimed a National Historic Landmark, this antiquated site is an escape into the ancient industrial processes of the country. The site was restored in 1983, and, in addition to the impressive furnaces, there is an industrial museum, a sculpture garden, and a park which lend deeper insights into the history and legacy of Sloss Furnaces. The furnaces also play host to concerts, festivals, events, and activities.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
Rickwood Field

Rickwood Field was built in 1910 for in the city's professional baseball team, the Coal Barons. Rickwood Field has since been restored to look the way it did in its 1940s heyday, all the way down to the hand-operated scoreboard. Wearing old-time uniforms, the Birmingham Barons play the annual Rickwood Classic. Baseball greats who played at Rickwood include Babe Ruth, Rogers Hornsby, "Shoeless" Joe Jackson, Ty Cobb and Birmingham's own Burleigh Grimes, the last legal spitball pitcher in the big leagues. Rickwood was also home to the Birmingham Black Barons Negro League team, which brought the likes of Satchel Paige, Piper Davis and local teenage phenomenon Willie Mays to play here. There is no charge to visit Rickwood; inquire about admission prices for the Rickwood Classic and other special events.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
Vulcan Park & Museum

In ancient mythology, Vulcan was ugly. So ugly, that he was kicked out of his home on Mount Olympus and forced to become a blacksmith among the common people with a volcano as his forge. But he eventually married Venus, the goddess of love and beauty, so either he wasn’t really that ugly or he just had a really good sense of humor. Today, the god stands as the tallest cast iron statue in the world in the center of Birmingham’s Vulcan Park & Museum, which features educational tours and a soaring observation deck overlooking the city.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
0 61 120710-best-landmarks-in-birmingham
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
20710