全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Local History & Culture in Birmingham

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
20728


伯明翰民权研究所

这座迷人的画廊位于凯利英格拉姆公园和第十六街浸信教堂隔街对面的第十六街,讲述了伯明翰对五六十年代民权运动的悲惨和凯旋的贡献。这个最先进的设施利用多媒体演示文稿,照片和其他文物来记录非裔美国人争取种族平等的斗争,并将这一历史与世界各地的其他人权斗争联系起来。周日免费入场。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
阿拉巴马州体育名人堂&博物馆

阿拉巴马州的儿子和女儿在体育史上留下了自己的印记。拳击伟大的乔·路易斯,棒球英雄威利·梅斯,轨道明星杰西·欧文斯和深红潮教练保罗·布莱恩特只是在阿拉巴马州体育名人堂特色的几个。博物馆还展出了体育纪念品和复古装备。闪闪发光的现代名人堂结构毗邻伯明翰杰斐逊文娱中心。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
阿灵顿战前家园

阿灵顿战前家园(Arlington Antebellum Home and Gardens)是这座城市唯一的战前宅第,提供以19世纪家具和装饰艺术收藏为特色的游览。这座建筑是十九世纪四十年代赫赫有名的希腊复兴建筑的典范。茶室是可用的,花园是一个美丽的网站和婚礼和其他特殊事件的背景。请提前拨打入场详情。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
焚烧炉

位于第一大道北和第三十二街,斯洛斯炉实际上是伯明翰市的诞生地。这些炉子建于1882年,生产钢铁已有90多年的历史。正是这个铁行业促使伯明翰市围绕它。该网站于1983年恢复。除了令人印象深刻的火炉之外,还有工业博物馆,雕塑花园和公园。炉子偶尔是音乐会和节日的地点。这是伯明翰最迷人的地方之一,完全值得一试。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
火神公园和博物馆

在古代的神话中,瓦肯人是丑陋的。这么丑陋,他被赶出了他在奥林匹斯山的家,并被迫成为普通百姓中的一座铁匠火山。但是他最后嫁给了爱与美的女神维纳斯,所以要么他不是那么丑陋,要么就是有一种幽默感。今天,神在伯明翰的火神公园和博物馆中心是世界上最高的铸铁雕像,具有教育旅游和高耸的观景台,俯瞰着城市。

美國伯明罕, AL, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 51 120728-best-local-history-culture-in-birmingham
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Eateries Along Route 66
11 已标记书签

Eateries Along Route 66

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
9 1 0 3
20728

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Local History & Culture in Birmingham

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
20728


Birmingham Civil Rights Institute

Located at 16th Street North across the street from Kelly Ingram Park and the 16th Street Baptist Church, this fascinating gallery tells the story of Birmingham's tragic and triumphant contributions to the Civil Rights Movement of the 1950s and 1960s. This state-of-the-art facility utilizes multimedia presentations, photographs and other artifacts to document the African American struggle for racial equality, and relates this history to other human rights struggles around the world. Admission is free on Sundays.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
Alabama Sports Hall of Fame & Museum

Alabama's sons and daughters who made their marks in sports history are honored here. Boxing great Joe Louis, baseball hero Willie Mays, track star Jessie Owens and Crimson Tide coach Paul Bear Bryant are just a few of those featured at the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame. Sports memorabilia and vintage equipment are also on display in the museum. The gleaming modern Hall of Fame structure is adjacent to the Birmingham Jefferson Civic Center.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
Arlington Antebellum Home & Gardens

Arlington Antebellum Home and Gardens, the city's only antebellum mansion, offers tours featuring its collection of 19th-century furniture and decorative arts. The building is a grand example of the Greek Revival architecture that was prominent in the 1840s. A tearoom is available, and the gardens are a beautiful site and backdrop for weddings and other special events. Call ahead for admission details.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
Sloss Furnaces

The very genesis of Birmingham, Sloss Furnaces were one of the pioneers in the process of smelting pig iron. Established in 1882, it is this iron industry that prompted the city of Birmingham to grow around it. Over the years, the machinery has gathered abundant rust and experience, both of which tell stirring tales of the industry's glorious heyday. Proclaimed a National Historic Landmark, this antiquated site is an escape into the ancient industrial processes of the country. The site was restored in 1983, and, in addition to the impressive furnaces, there is an industrial museum, a sculpture garden, and a park which lend deeper insights into the history and legacy of Sloss Furnaces. The furnaces also play host to concerts, festivals, events, and activities.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
Vulcan Park & Museum

In ancient mythology, Vulcan was ugly. So ugly, that he was kicked out of his home on Mount Olympus and forced to become a blacksmith among the common people with a volcano as his forge. But he eventually married Venus, the goddess of love and beauty, so either he wasn’t really that ugly or he just had a really good sense of humor. Today, the god stands as the tallest cast iron statue in the world in the center of Birmingham’s Vulcan Park & Museum, which features educational tours and a soaring observation deck overlooking the city.

Birmingham, AL, United States
Add to Collection
0 51 120728-best-local-history-culture-in-birmingham
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
20728