全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Historic Locations in Martha's Vineyard

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
21331


文森特故居博物馆

在这个独特的博物馆体验三个世纪的岛屿生活。这座房子建于1672年,被认为是玛莎葡萄园岛上最古老的住宅。它的地板和中央烟囱的地板很宽,它是经典的全开普式建筑的完美例子。它被移到了现在的位置,并在1977年恢复。几座城墙被打开以展示早期的殖民建筑技术。五间客房配有不断演变的家居装饰风格;从第一批定居者的基本必需品到19世纪更加丰富的联邦外观。

Edgartown, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
老捕鲸教会

老捕鲸教堂因为1843年捕鲸船长而建造,因此是葡萄园婚礼的理想场所。以壮观的景色和希腊复兴的建筑,老捕鲸教堂是一个景观。这座古老的埃德加敦宝石可容纳主教堂内的500位客人,下层的弗雷德里克·贝利斯间可容纳150位客人。

Edgartown, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
窝棚

在十九世纪,岛上的宗教营地很受欢迎。随着知名度的提高,这种露天锻铁结构被建成了,这个结构被认为是美国最大的。座位3000人,精致的木工和彩色玻璃,真是一个壮丽的景象。 1979年是百年纪念,它被加入了“国家史迹名录”。帐幕今天用于音乐会,星期天教会服务,社区唱歌和特殊仪式。

Oak Bluffs, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
联合教堂

历史悠久的联合礼拜堂(Union Chapel)及其独特的八角形圆屋顶建于1870年,由建筑师塞缪尔·弗里曼·普拉特(Samuel Freeman Pratt)建造。这座古朴而可爱的建筑位于Oak Bluffs的中心。该建筑特别以拥有美妙音响而闻名,因此成为岛上最受欢迎的婚礼,表演艺术,音乐会和音乐节之一。

Oak Bluffs, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
埃德加敦灯

玛莎葡萄园历史协会(Martha's Vineyard Historical Society)经营的玛莎葡萄园(Edgarown)的许多灯塔之一向公众开放。从理由的看法是惊人的。灯塔建于1875年,于1985年翻新,是鳕鱼角风格的一个例子,一楼有三个房间,第二个房间有两个房间。这是一个45英尺高,由铸铁制成,并继续作为导航的援助。通往灯塔的人行道被称为“叹息之桥”,因为很久以前,男人们在航行时就会离开,他们的女朋友和妻子会站在走道上,望着地平线到他们的爱人所在的地方不见了。

Edgartown, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
东砍灯

这座灯塔位于历史悠久的Oak Bluffs镇附近的悬崖上,自19世纪以来一直是这样。这座高达40英尺的塔楼建于1875年,但原来的住房和附属建筑已经被拆除。过去,这座闪闪发光的白色塔楼被漆成深褐色的巧克力色。闪烁的绿灯成为美国海岸警卫队的标志。场地向公众开放,内部偶尔可以开放参观。目前由玛莎葡萄园历史协会管理。

Oak Bluffs, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
西砍灯塔

原来的灯塔建于1817年的这个位置,但是在19世纪后期建造了一座新的塔楼和住宅。该灯位于历史悠久的Tisbury,在葡萄园避风港的西入口处。不幸的是,这些土地是私人拥有的,不对公众开放。然而,塔和光可能从路上看到。灯笼的红色面板闪烁红色,表示船只正在驶向危险的警告。

Tisbury, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
Menemsha小山自然保护

Menemsha山自然保护区拥有211英亩的林地,连绵起伏的丘陵和沙崖,150英尺高的岬角俯瞰大海。有超过3英里的足迹,通过古老的石墙,通过蓝莓林地到海滩。据说在任何一天,都会有海豹和海狸(海鸭​​)来到岸边,加上前往希望山(Prospect Hill)的风景秀丽的一英里长的小道,那里有盖伊头(Gay Head)的壮观景色。

Chilmark, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
诺布斯卡点光站

Nobska Light是科德角迷人的灯塔。这个地标的历史是写在一个董事会,可以帮助游客了解更多的历史。灯塔最初建于1826年,虽然现在的立面是在1876年竖立的。砖砌内部和令人惊叹的螺旋楼梯增加了这种光的美。从顶部的周围岛屿的美丽景色使陡峭的攀登值得。

Falmouth, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
同性恋头灯塔

同志头顶美丽的悬崖高耸于一座宏伟的灯塔。自1799年以来,一个灯塔在这个地方运作,目前的51英尺的建筑物自1856年建成以来一直在举行法庭。由于侵蚀问题,该地点一般对公众是封闭的,但灯塔的游览是由历史社会约定。盖伊头部的了望台提供了灯塔的美景,您可以在埃德加敦的玛莎葡萄园历史协会看到原始的菲涅耳透镜。

Aquinnah, MA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 101 121331-best-historic-locations-in-martha-s-vineyard
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Eateries Along Route 66
11 已标记书签

Eateries Along Route 66

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
9 1 0 3
21331

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Historic Locations in Martha's Vineyard

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
21331


Vincent House Museum

Experience three centuries of island life in this unique museum. The house was built in 1672 and is considered to be the oldest dwelling on Martha's Vineyard. With its wide floorboards built low to the ground and central chimney, it is a perfect example of classic full-Cape architecture. It was moved to its present location and restored in 1977. Several walls have been left open to demonstrate early colonial building techniques. Five rooms are furnished in the evolving styles of home decor; from the basic necessities of the first settlers to the more opulent Federal look from the 19th century.

Edgartown, MA, United States
Add to Collection
Old Whaling Church

The Old Whaling Church, named as such because it was built by whaling captains in 1843, is the perfect location for a vineyard wedding. With spectacular views and Greek revival architecture, the Old Whaling Church is a sight to be seen. This old Edgartown gem can accommodate up to 500 guests in the main church and 150 guests in the lower level Frederick Baylies Room.

Edgartown, MA, United States
Add to Collection
Tabernacle

In the 1800s, religious camps were popular on the island. As popularity increased, this open-air wrought iron structure was built, which is believed to be the largest of its kind in the US. With seating for 3,000 people and exquisite woodworking and stained glass, it is truly a magnificent sight. In 1979, its centennial year, it was added to the National Register of Historic Places. The Tabernacle is used today for concerts, Sunday church services, community sing-alongs and special ceremonies.

Oak Bluffs, MA, United States
Add to Collection
Union Chapel

The historic Union Chapel, with its unique octagonal cupola, was built in 1870 by the architect Samuel Freeman Pratt. The quaint and lovely building is located in the center of Oak Bluffs. The building is particularly known for having wonderful acoustics, which has made it one of the most popular spots on the island for weddings, performing arts, concerts and festivals.

Oak Bluffs, MA, United States
Add to Collection
Edgartown Light

One of the many lighthouses on Martha's Vineyard, the Edgartown grounds, managed by the Martha's Vineyard Historical Society, are open to the public. The view from the grounds is breathtaking. The lighthouse, built in 1875 and refurbished in 1985, is an example of Cape Cod style, with three rooms on the first floor and two on the second. It is 45 feet high, made of cast iron and continues to operate as a navigational aid. The walkway leading to the lighthouse is called the "bridge of sighs" because it is said that long ago, when men would leave on sailing trips, their girlfriends and wives would stand on the walkway and look out over the horizon to where their loves had gone.

Edgartown, MA, United States
Add to Collection
East Chop Light

The lighthouse, on the bluffs near the historic town of Oak Bluffs, has been standing since the 1800s. The present tower, standing at 40 feet tall, was constructed in 1875, but the original dwellings and outbuildings have since been demolished. The gleaming white tower was painted a deep, chocolate brown in the past. The flashing green light serves as a marker for the U.S. Coast Guard. The grounds are open to the public and the interior is occasionally open for tours. It is presently operated by the Martha's Vineyard Historical Society.

Oak Bluffs, MA, United States
Add to Collection
West Chop Lighthouse

The original lighthouse was constructed at this location in 1817, but a new tower and dwelling were built in the late 1800s. The light is located in historic Tisbury, at the west entrance of the Vineyard Haven Harbor. Unfortunately, the grounds are privately owned and are not open to the public. However, the tower and light may be seen from the road. The lantern's red panel, when flashing red, serves as a warning that a boat is headed for danger.

Tisbury, MA, United States
Add to Collection
Menemsha Hills Nature Reserve

Menemsha Hills Nature Reserve features 211 acres of woodland, rolling hills and sand cliffs, with 150-foot high headlands overlook the sea. There are over 3 miles of foot trails that lead past ancient stone walls through blueberry woodlands to the beach. On any given day harbor seals and flocks of scoters (sea ducks) are said to come ashore, adding to the scenic mile-long trail that runs to Prospect Hill, with a spectacular view of Gay Head.

Chilmark, MA, United States
Add to Collection
Nobska Point Light Station

The Nobska Light is a charming lighthouse in Cape Cod. The history of this landmark is written on a board that helps visitors learn more about its history. The lighthouse was originally constructed in 1826, though the one that is currently standing was erected in 1876. The brick-lined interior and the stunning spiral stairway adds to the beauty of this light. Gorgeous views of the surrounding islands from the top make the steep climb worth it.

Falmouth, MA, United States
Add to Collection
Gay Head Lighthouse

High atop the beautiful cliffs of Gay Head rests a magnificent lighthouse. It has been operational since 1799 and stands at a height of 51 feet (15 meters). In the year 2015 due to erosion problems, it was necessary to move the lighthouse 129 feet (39 meters) back from where it was originally built. From the top of the lighthouse you can still enjoy beautiful views of the sea, the Aquinnah cliffs and nearby areas. The lighthouse is open seasonally and is open to public only during designated hours, hence it is advisable to call before visiting.

Aquinnah, MA, United States
Add to Collection
0 101 121331-best-historic-locations-in-martha-s-vineyard
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
35 1 0 9
21331