Set Current Location
The Old Whaling Church, named as such because it was built by whaling captains in 1843, is the perfect location for a vineyard wedding. With spectacular views and Greek revival architecture, the Old Whaling Church is a sight to be seen. This old Edgartown gem can accommodate up to 500 guests in the main church and 150 guests in the lower level Frederick Baylies Room.
The historic Union Chapel, with its unique octagonal cupola, was built in 1870 by the architect Samuel Freeman Pratt. The quaint and lovely building is located in the center of Oak Bluffs. The building is particularly known for having wonderful acoustics, which has made it one of the most popular spots on the island for weddings, performing arts, concerts and festivals.
The Ocean Park offers seats and a gazebo to grab a bite at along the coast looking out over the Atlantic. Its fabulous location by the ocean offers joggers, walkers, and picnickers panoramic views, especially at sunset. Even in the warmest weather, a gentle breeze is always blowing much to the delight of day trippers and picnicking families. Because of its expansive layout by the sea, the park is used at night for firework displays, food festivals and other community events.
One of the many lighthouses on Martha's Vineyard, the Edgartown grounds, managed by the Martha's Vineyard Historical Society, are open to the public. The view from the grounds is breathtaking. The lighthouse, built in 1875 and refurbished in 1985, is an example of Cape Cod style, with three rooms on the first floor and two on the second. It is 45 feet high, made of cast iron and continues to operate as a navigational aid. The walkway leading to the lighthouse is called the "bridge of sighs" because it is said that long ago, when men would leave on sailing trips, their girlfriends and wives would stand on the walkway and look out over the horizon to where their loves had gone.
The lighthouse, on the bluffs near the historic town of Oak Bluffs, has been standing since the 1800s. The present tower, standing at 40 feet tall, was constructed in 1875, but the original dwellings and outbuildings have since been demolished. The gleaming white tower was painted a deep, chocolate brown in the past. The flashing green light serves as a marker for the U.S. Coast Guard. The grounds are open to the public and the interior is occasionally open for tours. It is presently operated by the Martha's Vineyard Historical Society.
Menemsha Hills Nature Reserve features 211 acres of woodland, rolling hills and sand cliffs, with 150-foot high headlands overlook the sea. There are over 3 miles of foot trails that lead past ancient stone walls through blueberry woodlands to the beach. On any given day harbor seals and flocks of scoters (sea ducks) are said to come ashore, adding to the scenic mile-long trail that runs to Prospect Hill, with a spectacular view of Gay Head.
This breathtaking stretch of barrier shoreline and adjacent upland marshes, forests and grasslands offers a protected habitat to dozens of species of wildlife, especially nesting waterfowl. Located on Chappaquiddick Island, it is reachable by boat or, at certain times and with the proper permits, over-sand vehicles. During summer, guided tours can be booked with a naturalist through the Islands Regional Office. The beach is open to everyone, but regulated by the Trustees of Reservations. No camping is permitted.
The Nobska Light is a charming lighthouse in Cape Cod. The history of this landmark is written on a board that helps visitors learn more about its history. The lighthouse was originally constructed in 1826, though the one that is currently standing was erected in 1876. The brick-lined interior and the stunning spiral stairway adds to the beauty of this light. Gorgeous views of the surrounding islands from the top make the steep climb worth it.