Set Current Location
This beautiful historic structure called the Henry L. Kamphoefner House is known to be the first home to be built in the Modernist style. Constructed in the mid 20th century, the structure was designed in the Usonian style of architecture. The structure stands unique in the was it is constructed and oriented in it's interiors and exteriors. Henry L. Kamphoefner who was the dean of the School of Design was encouraged with several awards pertaining to fine arts, etc.
Founded in 1934, The Sarah P. Duke Gardens offers 55 acres (22 hectares) of world-class gardens in the center of Duke University. More than five miles (eight kilometers) of pathways lead visitors on walks through four sections of beautifully landscaped terraces, gardens, and arboretums. The Duke Gardens host gardening, photography, and natural history classes, and a summer concert series. A cafe and a visitor center are on the grounds. Walking and trolley tours are given four days a week; reservations are recommended.
This chapel built in the center of Duke University in the Collegiate Gothic style was completed in 1932. Its tower soars 210 feet (65 meters) into the sky, and its founder, James B. Duke, felt that its inspirational presence would influence campus music, faith, and learning. Fine ornamentation, stained glass, and four beautifully crafted organs, including a Flentrop, or "Bach's Organ," draw thousands of admirers to the chapel every year. Free, guided tours of the chapel are offered every Sunday after an 11a worship service.
This beautiful menagerie carousel built in 1911 is a designated historic landmark and one of the oldest carousels in the United States. Featuring 52 hand-carved wooden animals, 18 gilded mirrors, two sleighs, and a Wurlitzer 125 organ, the carousel has been operating continuously since 1921. The carousel is the focal point of the collection of rides at Pullen Park, and is one of 23 remaining carousels of its kind operating in North America.
Colonel Joel Lane played a key role in North Carolina's transition from county to state and Raleigh's capital city status. Later known as "The Father of Raleigh," he constructed this establishment in the 1760s in a primarily rural location, making it a recipient of admiration. Owned and restored by the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America, the manor houses a unique collection of artifacts, paintings and furniture that archetypes 18th-century living. The historic site has accolades aplenty to its credit, and guided tours to the museum attract throngs of locals, tourists, historians and educational organizations. The manicured lawns and verdant gardens make for a serene backdrop.
The North Carolina State Capitol building is the former house of the North Carolina legislature and the current home of the state’s governor’s offices. Dominating a central block of downtown Raleigh, the building was completed in 1840 and is built in the Greek Revival style. The North Carolina State Capitol Foundation offers guided tours of the building and a program of lectures, children’s history classes, concerts, and exhibits to the public free of charge.
The North Carolina Executive Mansion, a fine structure of brick built in the Queen Anne style, is the official residence of the Governor of North Carolina and his or her family. The mansion is home to historical artifacts and paintings of local note, and has been a Raleigh social, political, and cultural hub since its founding in 1891. Guided tours of the mansion and its gardens are given in the spring and fall on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and holiday open houses are held in December. Admission is free. but tours must be booked in advance.
A nationally registered historic place, Oakwood is an enchanting neighborhood of restored and carefully maintained Victorian and Antebellum homes. With quiet, tree-lined streets, the neighborhood is ideal for an afternoon walking tour anytime of the year, but at its finest during the annual Christmas Candlelight Tour, and the spring, when its impressive gardens come to life. The neighborhood is located next to Oakwood Park and bordered by East Franklin, East Jones, North Person Streets, and Linden Avenue.
Established in 1869, Historic Oakwood Cemetery is located in the Victorian neighborhood within stumbling distance of iconic city landmarks like the North Carolina State Capitol and Governor's Mansion. With a belief that pays respect to the dead while celebrating life, the 102 acres (41 hectares) of sprawling landscape is an archetypal 19th-century garden cemetery and final resting place for over 20,000 Raleigh citizens and political dignitaries including senators, war veterans and mayors. Henry Mordecai allocated an area to commemorate Confederate soldiers, adjacent to the House of Memory, an ode to men and women serving the nation. The verdant park of oaks and maples is punctuated with monumental tomb stones, sculptures, statues, inscriptions and carvings.
This simple, restored farmhouse is a prominent national historic landmark. Here, generals Joseph E. Johnston and William T. Sherman signed the largest confederate troop surrender of the American Civil War, thereby ending it. Now, it is known as the Bennett Place State Historic Site, where visitors can enjoy the visitor center, restored historical structures, monuments, nature trails, and picnic areas.
Historic Yates Mill County Park is a 174-acre (70 hectares) wildlife refuge and environmental research center with open lands and a small pond offering visitors fishing, hiking, and bird-watching opportunities. Yates Mill is the last operating, water-powered gristmill in North Carolina’s Capital County. Mill tours and corn grinding demonstrations are offered throughout the year, as are seasonal educational and holiday programs. The visitor center sells finished stone-ground cornmeal and vintage postcards as souvenirs.
Stagville was once part of a 30,000-acre (12,140 hectares) slave plantation, one of the largest North Carolina. Today, the Stagville grounds span 71 acres (29 hectares) and are home to Horton Grove, the historic 18th Century Georgian family plantation home, a timber-framed barn, and a graveyard. Visitors can explore the grounds and surrounding structures on guided and self-guided tours, although the buildings are open only to guided tours. Reservations are recommended.