全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Landmarks in Kolkata

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
24932


Shaheed Minar

一旦你进入滨海艺术中心区,你一定会注意到这座高耸的纪念碑。在这个加尔各答最高的地方,沙希德·米纳(Shaheed Minar)通过天际线上的电车电缆纵横交错。 1816年由东印度公司建造,以庆祝它在古尔卡战争中的胜利,它早些时候被称为Ochterlony纪念碑,纪念公司的总司令David Ochterlony。后来改名为沙希德·米纳(Shaheed Minar),以纪念在印度自由斗争中丧生的人。在附近,你会发现许多街头小贩出售从puchkas(当地特产)到nariyal pani(椰子水)的所有东西。这座纪念碑站立在158英尺的高度,如果你觉得适合爬上陡峭的楼梯,可以到达顶峰。晚上,当你沿着一些中央道路行走时,美丽的塔楼会引起注意。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
邮政总局

在威廉堡旧址建造的GPO是加尔各答邮政局的办公室。建筑本身是由高高的白色柱子,高耸的圆顶和立面上的时钟定义的。明显的结构已成为市中心的重要标志。位于BBD广场的作家大厦附近,还设有邮政博物馆和集邮图书馆,值得一游。关于这座建筑的一个有趣的事实是,据说它是加尔各答黑洞的所在地,英军俘虏在这个堡垒被西拉吉 - 达乌拉俘虏后被关押。尽管多年来,这座建筑是一个纯净,无瑕的白色结构,突出其周围环境。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Raj Bhavan

在殖民统治期间,英国人建起了宏伟的建筑和富丽堂皇的住宅,经常在英国复制建筑和政府办公室。 Raj Bhavan是加尔各答这样辉煌的遗产地标之一。蔓延到27英亩,铁艺大门和狮子顶上,给整个地方造成了一种雄伟的魅力,并在强大的统治者和无能为力的普通人之间划清界限。直到加尔各答不再是印度的首都,德里仍然是总督和总督的官邸。它拥有许多套房,其中最重要的套房是以威尔士亲王命名的“威尔士王子”套房,以总督命名的“威尔斯套房”(Wellesly Suite),委托建造拉吉巴旺(Raj Bhavan)。它还设有一个图书馆,其中包括各种各样的书籍和官方期刊,仅仅是在独立前的时代就被前任总督遗留下来。除此之外,还收藏了一大批珍贵的手稿和照片,每一年都在不断丰富。目前,西孟加拉邦省长居住在这里,接待重要的外国代表,政要和正式会议。虽然由于安全原因,你将无法从内部看到建筑,美丽的外景值得一游。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
市政厅

1811年由约翰·加斯丁上校修建,市政厅一直是加尔各答最着名和最钟爱的地标之一。新帕拉第结构是一个纯净的白色,很容易被其签名的白色列和威尼斯弧识别。在建筑上,这座建筑非常壮观,本身就是一种吸引力。然而,一旦你走进内部,你可以看到许多小房间和一个大厅,都致力于加尔各答的历史。加尔各答在地标内部存在的全景图使用互动的故事讲述和先进的通讯设施来重现加尔各答的故事。无论您是进入室内,还是从室外观看建筑物,您都能见证历史!加尔各答高等法院距离酒店仅有几分钟的路程。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
加尔各答高等法院

加尔各答高等法院是您将在加尔各答看到的最引人注目的美丽建筑之一。以比利时城市豪斯(Stadt Haus)为模型,该建筑位于一个有两面建筑物的飞地。主楼是一个突出的红色与一些拱门和列,这是一个模式,继续在走廊里面。由瓦尔特·格兰维尔设计,作为该国最古老的高等法院,它看起来应该是正统的。 1861年高等法院成立于1862年7月1日,它还在布莱尔港,安达曼和尼科巴群岛设有电路板。尽管加尔各答现在正式称为加尔各答,但加尔各答高等法院仍保留其旧名。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
豪拉大桥

新豪拉大桥是为了取代旧的浮桥而修建的,为了纪念杰出的孟加拉诗人及画家拉宾德拉纳特·泰戈尔,于1965年更名为Rabindra Setu。但人们通常还是称其为豪拉大桥。这座悬臂桥位于Vivekananda Setu与Vidyasagar Setu之间,是加尔各答三大桥梁中第一座,完工于1943年。豪拉大桥是加尔各答最繁忙的桥梁,每天有成千上万辆汽车通行,为这座城市的繁荣与活力作出了重要的贡献。这座大桥横跨于胡格利河之上,是一个卓越的工程技术产物。这座桥的修建增加了豪拉车站附近的车流量,行人、小贩和商人的聚集也让这里变成了加尔各答重要的区域。豪拉大桥是伟大的历史遗产,是一座标志性建筑,围绕着这座大桥的人物与故事都是这座城市的宝藏。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Prinsep Ghat

Prinsep Ghat纪念碑是为了纪念东印度公司员工James Prinsep而建造的。虽然被任命为加尔各答造币厂的测定师和亚洲协会秘书,但詹姆斯·普林塞普(James Prinsep)因为从婆罗米文字破译阿索卡的岩石法令而受到广泛的尊重。 1840年他去世后,加尔各答(现在的加尔各答)人民通过这一建筑来聚集资源来纪念他。大部分纪念碑和Vidyasagar Setu(第二Hooghly桥)在背景构成的签名白色的列使这相当的视觉享受。 2008年,加打印也被用作加打印文化节的场地,似乎是未来更多事件的有利场所。旁边就是Prinsep Ghat Jetty站,从那里您可以驾驶Hooghly到达Howrah。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Vidyasagar Setu

多年来,Hooghly河上的Howrah Bridge(或Rabindra Setu)载着在加尔各答及其双城豪拉(Howrah)之间旅行的人们。但考虑到交通压力,第二座胡格利大桥的想法应运而生。第二座胡格利大桥或维迪亚萨迦塞图以孟加拉哲学家和改革者伊斯瓦尔·钱德拉·维迪亚萨加尔的名字命名,是一座457米长的斜拉桥,是印度第二大的孟买Bandra-Worli海上通道。自行车可以自由漫游,但是这是所有其他车辆的收费桥。 Vidyasagar Setu建于1978年至1993年之间,从此成为城市不可或缺的资产。当然,桥本身确实使加尔各答的天际线更有趣!

Howrah, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
国家图书馆

位于Alipore的国家图书馆是印度最大的图书馆之一。绚丽的白色结构掩映在风景如画的丽城的郁郁葱葱的绿色花园中,真是一道壮丽的景象。从加尔各答公共图书馆,帝国图书馆等图书馆收藏的图书,在一段时间内融合在一起,与周围的风景一样精致。本地和外国书籍,研究期刊,官方文献,历史手稿,地图和名单是无止境的。东印度公司独立前的协议,17世纪未分割的印度地图,联合国的出版物和其他材料,对于历史和政治学的学生来说是极为重要和有益的。 1988年,随着电脑的进入,这个图书馆归档了1667年出版的书籍,从而为后代保留了经典。分布在大约62000平方米的广阔区域,拥有超过24,025,779本书,国家图书馆是加尔各答的必游景点。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
白鲁尔庙

白鲁尔庙位于胡格利河西岸,是一座美丽的建筑。白鲁尔庙拥有几个穹顶,是Ramakrishna Math和Ramakrishna Mission的总部。这两个机构致力于研究吠檀多(一种印度教教派),并促进宗教和谐。Ramakrishna Math是一个修道院组织,而Ramakrishna Mission是一个致力于慈善活动的协会,两者在世界各地拥有171个分支机构。白鲁尔庙里有Ramakrishna Paramahansa、Sarada Devi和Swami Vivekananda,这些都体现除了不同的建筑风格和宗教信息。这里最高的建筑 Swami Vivekananda采用了基督教、伊斯兰教和印度教元素,讲述着关于Ramakrishna的故事。这个占地40英亩的建筑群中还包括Ramakrishna博物馆和一家书店。白鲁尔庙修建于1938年,是加尔各答最重要的朝圣地,游客通常也会顺便游览达克希涅斯瓦寺、Path Bari和Kancher Mandir。你可以通过白鲁尔庙外面提供的Jetty服务游览上述所有景点。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Vivekananda Setu

以斯瓦米·维维卡南达(Swami Vivekananda)命名,这是加尔各答桥的最北端,将加尔各答的达克希什瓦尔(Dakshineshwar)连接到豪拉的巴利(Bally)地区。因为它的位置,这个setu也被称为Bally桥梁,在过去加尔各答总督之后的Willingdon桥梁。多跨钢桥建于1932年,长2887英尺,适合公路和铁路运输。当它被宣布为不适合正常运作时,第二个Vivekananda大桥被建造分担负荷。第二座Vivekananda大桥也被称为Nivedita Setu,是一座与原始平行的斜拉桥。如果Dakshineshwar寺庙和Belur数学是你的行程,你一定会通过这个建筑之美至少一次。桥梁的钢筋与胡格利河的泥泞水域相结合,形成醒目的视觉效果。要充分感受Vivekananda大桥的辉煌,请从Dakshineshwar寺庙的码头出发。它的姐妹桥是在同一条河上的Rabindra Setu和Vidyasagar Setu。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
0 111 124932-best-landmarks-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
24932

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Landmarks in Kolkata

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
24932


Shaheed Minar

Once you enter the Esplanade area, you're sure to notice this towering monument. The tallest in this part of Kolkata, Shaheed Minar peeps out through the criss-cross of tram cables that are all over the skyline. Built by the East India Company to celebrate its victory at the Gurkha War in 1816, it was earlier known as the Ochterlony Monument, honoring the Company's commander in chief David Ochterlony. It was later renamed as Shaheed Minar to commemorate those who lost their lives during India's freedom struggle. Around the minar, you will find a number of street hawkers that sell everything from puchkas (a local specialty) to nariyal pani (coconut water). The monument stands at a height of 158 feet and the top can be reached if you feel fit to climb the steep staircase. At night, the beautifully lit up tower vies for attention as you walk along some of the central roads.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
General Post Office

Built on the site of the old Fort William, the GPO is the office of the Kolkata Postal Service. The building itself is defined by tall white columns, a towering dome and a clock on its facade. The pronounced structure has become an important landmark in the city center. Located close to Writers' Building in BBD Square, it also houses a postal museum and a philatelic library that are worth visiting. An interesting fact about the building is that it is said to be the site of the Black Hole of Calcutta, where British prisoners were held after the Fort was captured by Siraj-ud-Daulah. In spite of being around for years, the building is a pure, flawless white structure that stands out among its surroundings.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Raj Bhavan

During the colonial rule, the Britishers erected magnificent structures and palatial residences, that often replicated buildings and government offices back in England. Raj Bhavan is one of such splendid heritage landmarks in the city of Kolkata. Spread across 27 acres, the wrought iron gates and imposing lions atop, create a majestic allure to the whole place and draw a clear line of distinction between the powerful rulers and the powerless common man. It continued to be the official residence of Governor-Generals and Viceroy until Kolkata ceased to be the capital of India and Delhi came into prominence. It has many suites, the important ones being the 'Prince of Wales' suite, named in the honor of Prince Edward of Wales and 'Wellesly Suite', named after the Governor General, who commissioned the construction of Raj Bhavan. It also houses a library, that includes a wide range of books and official journals, simply left behind by the previous governors, right from pre-independence era. Apart from that, it also has a collection of rare manuscripts and photographs, which gets enriched with each passing year. Currently, the Governor of West Bengal resides here and it plays host to important foreign delegates, dignitaries and official meetings. Though due to security reasons, you will be unable to see the building from within, the beautiful exteriors are worth a visit.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Town Hall

Built by Colonel John Garstin in 1811, Town Hall has been one of the most prominent and beloved landmarks of Kolkata. The Neo-Palladian structure is a pristine white and is easily recognized by its signature white columns and Venetian arcs. Architecturally, this building is spectacular and is an attraction in itself. However, once you walk inside, you can see many small rooms and a large hall, all dedicated to the history of Kolkata. Kolkata Panorama which exists inside the landmark retells the story of Kolkata using interactive story-telling and state-of-the-art communication facilities. Whether you step inside, or view the building from outside, you’re witnessing history for sure! The Calcutta High Court is just minutes away.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Calcutta High Court

The Calcutta High court is one of the most strikingly beautiful constructions you will see in Kolkata. Modeled after the Belgian Stadt Haus, the building is situated in an enclave of sorts, with buildings on both sides. The main building is a striking red with a number of arches and columns which is a pattern that is continued in the hallways inside as well. Designed by Walter Granville, it looks rightfully regal as the country’s oldest High Court. Established on 1st July 1862 after the High Court’s Act 1861, it also has a circuit Bench in Port Blair, Andaman & Nicobar Islands. Although Calcutta is now officially known as Kolkata, Calcutta High Court retains its old name.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Rabindra Setu (Howrah Bridge)

Built to replace the old Floating Pontoon Bridge, the New Howrah Bridge was renamed as Rabindra Setu in 1965, honouring the illustrious Bengali poet and painter Rabindranath Tagore. However, it is still most popularly known as Howrah Bridge. Placed between the Vivekananda Setu and the Vidyasagar Setu, this cantilever bridge was the first of the three Kolkata bridges, and was completed in 1943. Easily one of Kolkata's busiest bridges carrying thousands of vehicles every day, Howrah Bridge plays a major role in epitomizing the increasingly-urbane, forward-looking vigour that envelops the city. Seamlessly spanning the mighty course of Hooghly River, this bridge is characterized by brilliantly-done latticework, and is a product of outstanding engineering prowess. The concentration of vehicles increases along the teeming Howrah Station, while scores pedestrians, hawkers, merchants and locals make it an essential part of the everyday life of Kolkata. An iconic structure steeped in an indelible history and heritage, Howrah Bridge, with all its people and stories, will always remain an emblematic jewel of the city.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Prinsep Ghat

The Prinsep Ghat monument was built in honor of the East India Company employee James Prinsep. Although appointed as the Assay Master of Calcutta Mint and Secretary for the Asiatic Society, James Prinsep was widely respected for deciphering the rock edicts of Asoka from the Brahmi Script. After his death in 1840, the people of Calcutta (now Kolkata) gathered resources to commemorate him through this piece of architecture. The signature white columns that make up most of the monument and the Vidyasagar Setu (Second Hooghly Bridge) in the background make this quite a visual treat. In 2008, Prinsep Ghat was also used as the venue for the Prinsep Ghat Cultural Festival and seems to be a promising locale for more events in the future. Right next to it is the Prinsep Ghat Jetty stop from where you can navigate the Hooghly to reach Howrah.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Vidyasagar Setu

For years, it was the Howrah Bridge (or Rabindra Setu) on the river Hooghly that carried the sea of people that travel between Kolkata and its twin city Howrah. But considering traffic pressures, the idea for a second bridge over the Hooghly came into being. The Second Hooghly Bridge or the Vidyasagar Setu, as it is named after the Bengali philosopher and reformer Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar, is a 457 meter long cable stayed bridge and the second largest in India after the Bandra-Worli Sea Link in Mumbai. Bicycles can roam free, but this is a toll bridge for all other vehicles. Built between 1978 and 1993, Vidyasagar Setu has since become an indispensable asset to the city. And of course, the bridge itself does make the Kolkata skyline a little more interesting!

Howrah, India
Add to Collection
National Library

National Library, located at Alipore is one of the largest libraries of India. The brilliant white structure set against lush green gardens of the picturesque Belvedere Estate, is truly a magnificent sight. The collection of books within the library accumulated from libraries like Calcutta Public Library, Imperial Library and so on that were amalgamated over a period of time, is as exquisite as the scenery surrounding it. Books in local and foreign languages, research journals, official documents, historical manuscripts, maps and the list is endless. Pre-independence agreements of the East India Company, maps from the 17th Century undivided India, publications of United Nations and other materials are of utmost importance and beneficial to the students of history and political science. In 1988, with foray into computers, this library archived books published back in 1667, thereby preserving classics for the future generations. Spread over a vast area of approximately 62000 square meters, with over 24,02,579 books, National Library, is a must visit attraction, while in Kolkata.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Belur Math

Belur Math is an architectural beauty situated on the western banks of the Hooghly River. Marked by several domes placed in aesthetic harmony, Belur Math is the headquarters of Ramakrishna Math and Ramakrishna Mission. The two institutions are dedicated to 'Vedanta', a Hindu philosophical sect, and strongly promote harmony across religions and boundaries. Ramakrishna Math, a monastic organization and Ramakrishna Mission, a society dedicated to philanthropic activities, together have 171 branches spread across India and other parts of the world. Inside Belur Math, temples honouring Ramakrishna Paramahansa, Sarada Devi and Swami Vivekananda can be found, all melodiously reflecting different architectural styles and religious details. Swami Vivekananda, who oversaw the construction of the temple complex, used symbols from Christianity, Islam as well as Hinduism as reminders of Ramakrishna’s message. The 40-acre complex also houses the Ramakrishna Museum and a book store. Built-in 1938, Belur Math is the most important pilgrimage destinations in Kolkata and is usually visited along with Dakshineshwar Kali Temple, Path Bari and Kancher Mandir. You can visit all of these by using the Jetty service available outside Belur Math.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Vivekananda Setu

Named after Swami Vivekananda, this is the northernmost of Kolkata's bridges and connects Dakshineshwar in Kolkata to the Bally area of Howrah. The setu is also known as Bally Bridge owing to its location, and Willingdon Bridge after the past Governor of Calcutta. Built in 1932, the multi-span steel bridge is 2887 feet in length and is adapted to support both, road and rail traffic. When it was declared to be unfit for regular functioning, a second Vivekananda Bridge was constructed to share the load. The second Vivekananda Bridge also called Nivedita Setu, is a cable-stayed bridge that runs exactly parallel to the original. If Dakshineshwar Temple and Belur Math are on your itinerary, you are bound to pass this architectural beauty at least once. The steel of the bridge combines with the muddy waters of the Hooghly River to form a striking visual. To view Vivekananda Bridge in its full glory, take a jetty from the Dakshineshwar Temple. Its sister bridges are the Rabindra Setu and Vidyasagar Setu that are on the same river.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
0 111 124932-best-landmarks-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
35 1 0 9
24932