全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Historic Locations in Kolkata

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
24935


提普苏丹清真寺

位于Jawaharlal Nehru路和Dharmatala街(现在的列宁Sarani)交汇处的角落里,Tipu苏丹清真寺非常核心,所以在加尔各答的时候,你肯定会过几次。绿色的圆顶结构是一个难以忘记的地标,经常帮助陌生人在城市的中心。这座清真寺由古拉姆·穆罕默德王子(Prince Ghulam Mohammed)于1832年建造,他的父亲是皇帝提普苏丹(Tipu Sultan)。在里面,美丽的建筑与维护不善的斗争,但古兰经的架子和古老的墙壁和拱门,使这个美丽的纪念碑平静的和平感。尽管清真寺位于主要道路上,但它的入口是在一条狭窄的车道后面。进入这个神圣的居所之前,不要忘记掩盖自己的头脑。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
作家的建筑

作为东印度公司最华丽的印记之一,作家大厦已经成为加尔各答悠久历史的一部分。它的名字是因为它最初是为了容纳公司的作家而设计的。第一座建筑物倒塌后,第二座建筑物在加尔各答现在所占据的地点建成。你今天在BBD Bagh或Dalhousie广场看到的是第三个也是最后一个建筑,它与原作家大楼的立场基本相同。由Thomas Lyon设计,这座雄伟的红色外墙被归类为新文艺复兴时期的建筑。就像建筑顶部的大不列颠雕像象征着过去一样,印度象征现在是西孟加拉邦秘书处的房子。由于其政治重要性,该建筑在孟加拉也被称为马哈卡兰。在城市醒来之前参观作家大厦,让您可以沉静地欣赏其历史和建筑美景。并保留它,因为严禁拍摄地标。进一步的细节可以从西孟加拉邦旅游网站获得。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
B.B.D. Bagh(达尔豪西广场)

这些年来的名字可能已经改变了,但其政治意义经受了时间的考验。 B.B.D.巴格今天所知的是以孟加拉自由战士贝诺(Benoy),巴达尔(Badal)和迪内什(Dinesh)的名字命名的,他们负责刺杀美军。辛普森,1930年的监狱监察长。事实上,它仍然偶尔被称为达尔豪西广场强调其作为东印度公司神经中枢的地位。时间可能已经减弱了它的辉煌,但它仍然标志着像GPO,作家大厦(贝诺伊,巴达尔和Dinesh雕像可以看到这个里程碑外),圣约翰教堂,拉杰Bhavan和加尔各答高等法院的重要建筑物。附近有许多银行和重要的办事处,继续作为加尔各答的商业中心。访问B.B.D.巴格早晨平静,因为混乱始于上午9点以后!一个

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
邮政总局

在威廉堡旧址建造的GPO是加尔各答邮政局的办公室。建筑本身是由高高的白色柱子,高耸的圆顶和立面上的时钟定义的。明显的结构已成为市中心的重要标志。位于BBD广场的作家大厦附近,还设有邮政博物馆和集邮图书馆,值得一游。关于这座建筑的一个有趣的事实是,据说它是加尔各答黑洞的所在地,英军俘虏在这个堡垒被西拉吉 - 达乌拉俘虏后被关押。尽管多年来,这座建筑是一个纯净,无瑕的白色结构,突出其周围环境。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
圣约翰教堂

圣约翰教堂建于1884至1887年间,由詹姆斯·阿格中尉设计,旨在成为伦敦圣马丁教堂的复制品。虽然外观不符合原来的宏伟,但内饰更为相似。各种肖像,特别是Zoffani的最后的晚餐增加了你进入这个教堂后感觉到的和平感。位于BBD Bagh附近的作家大厦和加尔各答GPO,教堂建筑群拥有乔布斯的陵墓(Job Charnok,普遍被认为是加尔各答的创始人),也是在“加尔各答黑洞”遇难的人的墓地。作为东印度公司最早的建筑之一,这座英国圣公会教堂是这座繁忙城市中心的宁静绿洲。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
加尔各答高等法院

加尔各答高等法院是您将在加尔各答看到的最引人注目的美丽建筑之一。以比利时城市豪斯(Stadt Haus)为模型,该建筑位于一个有两面建筑物的飞地。主楼是一个突出的红色与一些拱门和列,这是一个模式,继续在走廊里面。由瓦尔特·格兰维尔设计,作为该国最古老的高等法院,它看起来应该是正统的。 1861年高等法院成立于1862年7月1日,它还在布莱尔港,安达曼和尼科巴群岛设有电路板。尽管加尔各答现在正式称为加尔各答,但加尔各答高等法院仍保留其旧名。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
南园街公墓

一走进南园街公墓,就会转移到殖民地时代,远离21世纪的喧嚣。这座墓地建于大约1767年,是为英国社区的成员建造的,他们无法抵挡印度半岛不能容忍的气候条件。公园街墓地的大部分坟墓都是战争中牺牲的士兵的灵魂,在沉船事件中死亡的水手,由于脆弱的健康而无法生存的英国妇女以及几乎不能生存的婴儿和小孩月/年。南公园街墓地是托马斯·德·奥伊爵士,基德上校,威廉·琼斯爵士以及其他几位在英国拉吉时代起着重要作用的人物的墓地。如果你想了解这个城市的历史,不要忘了去参观墓地。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
威廉堡

1756年孟加拉Siraj Ud Daulah Nawab征服了第一座威廉堡后,英国东印度公司计划建造第二座无敌堡垒。由罗伯特·克莱夫(Robert Clive)带头,公司重新修复了堡垒。 1780年后期,新堡建在现址,周围的绿地被称为Maidan。以威廉三世国王的名字命名,这座堡垒总共有五百三十二座大门,有六个不同的大门。今天,大规模的建设基本没有变化,被用作东部司令部的军事指挥部。位于Hooghly河岸附近,主体结构呈不规则的八角形状,周围有9米深,15米宽的护城河。里面,堡垒配备了自己的高尔夫球场,邮局,礼堂,体育场,游泳池和健身房。它也设有指挥博物馆和图书馆。只有在指挥官正式批准的情况下才允许平民进入。威廉堡的东端是维多利亚纪念堂和圣保罗大教堂等古迹。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
维多利亚纪念馆

标志性的维多利亚纪念馆由纯白色大理石建造而成,拥有天使般纯洁的白色穹顶,屹立于草坪和摇曳的棕榈树丛中。这座宏伟的建筑是为了向英格兰维多利亚女王致敬而修建的,也是加尔各答市的最佳地标之一。印度总督柯曾爵士建造了这座犹如女王本人一样威严的皇家纪念馆,这座宏伟的建筑充满了悠久的历史气息。纪念馆坐落于胡格利河沿岸,里面有美丽的花园、翡翠绿池、博物馆、英国人和印度人的雕像及半身像。需要注意的一个重要事实是,印度王子与公民都为维多利亚纪念馆的修建作出了贡献,总建筑成本约为1,05,00,000印度卢比。巨大的雕刻立柱、错综复杂的大理石穹顶和高松的塔楼都体现除了印度工匠的精湛技艺,他们在修建该建筑物的过程中起到了至关重要的作用。美术馆和博物馆中珍藏有英国的大事记,包括讲述女王一生中的重要事件的绘画、雕塑和手工制品,囊括了加冕典礼和住所事件。除此之外,这里还收藏有蒂普苏丹英勇王子和战士的剑,以及普拉西战役的大炮。文字和照片并不能表现出维多利亚纪念馆的宏伟与辉煌,亲身游览此处能够启发你的心灵和想象力。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
0 91 124935-best-historic-locations-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
24935

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Historic Locations in Kolkata

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
24935


Tipu Sultan Mosque

Situated on the corner where Jawaharlal Nehru Road and Dharmatala Street (now Lenin Sarani) meet, Tipu Sultan mosque is so central that you are bound to cross it a few times while you're in Kolkata. The green domed structure is a landmark hard to forget, and often helps a stranger navigate the the center of the city. The mosque was built by Prince Ghulam Mohammed in 1832 who named it after his father, Emperor Tipu Sultan. Inside, beautiful architecture struggles against poor maintenance, yet the old walls and archways along with the shelves of Quran render a serene sense of peace to this beautiful monument. Although the mosque is on the main road, its entry is from a narrow lane behind. Don't forget to cover your head before you enter this holy abode.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Writers' Building

One of the most opulent imprints of the East India Company, Writers' Building has become an intrinsic part of Kolkata's vast history. It is so named because it was originally conceived in order to house the Company's writers. After the first structure collapsed, a second one was built on the site now occupied by the Kolkata G.P.O. What you see today in BBD Bagh or Dalhousie Square is the third and final construction that stands on the same grounds as the original Writers' Building. Designed by Thomas Lyon, this majestic red facade is best classified as a Neo-Renaissance structure. Just like the Britannia statue at the top of the building signifies the past, the Indian emblem projects its current standing as the house of the Secretariat of West Bengal. Owing to its political importance, the building is also known as Mahakaran in Bengali. Visit Writers' Building before the city wakes up, so you can take in its history and architectural beauty in solemn silence. And retain it, since photographing the landmark is strictly prohibited. Further details can be obtained from the West Bengal Tourism website.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
B.B.D. Bagh (Dalhousie Square)

The names may have changed over the years, but its political significance has stood the test of time. B.B.D. Bagh, as it is known today, is named after Bengali freedom fighters Benoy, Badal and Dinesh who were responsible for assassinating N.S. Simpson, the Inspector General of Prisons in 1930. The fact that it is still occasionally referred to as Dalhousie Square underlines its status as the nerve-center of the East India Company. Time may have weakened its splendor, but it is still marked by significant buildings like GPO, Writers' Building (the Benoy, Badal, and Dinesh statues can be seen outside this landmark), St. John's Church, Raj Bhavan, and the Calcutta High Court. With a number of banks and important offices in the vicinity, it continues to function as the commercial center of Kolkata. Visit B.B.D. Bagh in the calm of the morning, because the chaos begins after 9 a.m!

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
General Post Office

Built on the site of the old Fort William, the GPO is the office of the Kolkata Postal Service. The building itself is defined by tall white columns, a towering dome and a clock on its facade. The pronounced structure has become an important landmark in the city center. Located close to Writers' Building in BBD Square, it also houses a postal museum and a philatelic library that are worth visiting. An interesting fact about the building is that it is said to be the site of the Black Hole of Calcutta, where British prisoners were held after the Fort was captured by Siraj-ud-Daulah. In spite of being around for years, the building is a pure, flawless white structure that stands out among its surroundings.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
St. John's Church

Built between 1884 and 1887, St. John's Church was designed by Lieutenant James Agg and was intended to be a replica of the St.Martin-in-the-Fields in London. Although the exteriors fail to match the original's grandeur, the interiors bear a closer resemblance. Various portraits and particularly, Zoffani's Last Supper add more to the sense of peace that you feel as soon as you enter this church. Located close to Writers' Building and Kolkata GPO in BBD Bagh, the church complex holds Job Charnock's Tomb (Job Charnok is popularly regarded as the founder of Kolkata), and also the graves of those killed in the 'Black Hole of Calcutta'. One of the earliest constructions of the East India Company, this Anglican church is a peaceful oasis in the heart of this busy city.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Calcutta High Court

The Calcutta High court is one of the most strikingly beautiful constructions you will see in Kolkata. Modeled after the Belgian Stadt Haus, the building is situated in an enclave of sorts, with buildings on both sides. The main building is a striking red with a number of arches and columns which is a pattern that is continued in the hallways inside as well. Designed by Walter Granville, it looks rightfully regal as the country’s oldest High Court. Established on 1st July 1862 after the High Court’s Act 1861, it also has a circuit Bench in Port Blair, Andaman & Nicobar Islands. Although Calcutta is now officially known as Kolkata, Calcutta High Court retains its old name.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
South Park Street Cemetery

As soon as you step inside South Park Street Cemetery, you will be transposed to the colonial times, away from the hustle-bustle of the 21st century. Built in circa 1767, this cemetery was built for the members of the British community who couldn't withstand the intolerable climatic conditions of the Indian peninsula. Most of the graves at the Park Street Cemetery are home to the souls of soldiers who lost their lives in wars, sailors dead during shipwrecks, British women who couldn't survive due to their fragile health and infants and kids who lived barely for a few months/years. The South Park Street Cemetery is home to the graves of such notable figures as Sir Thomas D'Oyly, Colonel Kyd, Sir William Jones and several others who played an influential role during the British Raj. If you wish to acquaint yourself with the history of the city, do not forget to pay a visit to the cemetery.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Fort William

After the Nawab of Bengal Siraj Ud Daulah conquered the first Fort William in 1756, the British East India Company planned to build a second invulnerable fort. Spearheaded by Robert Clive, the Company reconquered the Fort. Later in 1780, the New Fort was constructed on its current site and the surrounding green space came to be known as Maidan. Named after King William III, the Fort stretches across a total area of 532 bighas and has six different gates. Today, the massive construction remains largely unchanged and is used as the military headquarters for the Eastern Command. Situated close to the banks of the Hooghly, the main structure has an irregular octagonal shape and is surrounded by a 9 meter deep and 15 meter wide moat. Inside, the fort is equipped with its own golf course, post office, auditorium, stadium, swimming pool and gym. It also houses the Command Museum and Library. Civilians are only allowed inside the premises on presenting an official approval from the Commanding Officer. On the eastern end of the Fort William are monuments like Victoria Memorial and St. Paul's Cathedral Church.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Victoria Memorial

An angelic-white canopy crafted purely from Makrana marble, the iconic Victoria Memorial buildings lies nestled amid rolling lawns and groves of swaying palms. Built as a tribute to Queen Victoria of England, this magnificent edifice is one of the best landmarks that grace the city of Kolkata. This majestic building is steeped in a long-standing history - Lord Curzon, the Viceroy of India, decided to set up a memorial as grand and royal as the Queen herself. Nestled along the banks of the Hooghly River, the memorial comprises beautiful gardens, emerald pools, a museum, statues and busts of Britishers and Indians as well. An important fact to be noted is that Indian princes and citizens contributed generously to the Victoria Memorial funds and the total construction cost was approximately INR 1,05,00,000. Huge, carved pillars, intricately-patterned marble domes and tall towers speak volumes about the craftsmanship of the Indian artisans who played an integral role in executing the building to reality. The galleries and museum house British memorabilia including paintings, sculptures and artifacts that chronicle important events of the Queen's life; right from her coronation ceremony to her residence. Apart from that, it has the sword of the brave prince and warrior Tipu Sultan and cannons reminiscent of the Battle of Plassey. Words or a camera frame do not do justice to the sheer opulence and grandeur of Victoria Memorial, a site which has captured the hearts, souls and imaginations of many.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
0 91 124935-best-historic-locations-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
35 1 0 9
24935