全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Must Visit Attractions in Kolkata

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
24936


大理石宫殿

没有参观大理石宫的美丽建筑,去加尔各答旅行是不完整的。这是由Raja Rajendra Mullick建于19世纪的着名旅游景点。这个宫殿有许多西方雕塑,绘画和古董物品,如钟表,瓮和吊灯。它收藏着名艺术家的作品,如John Opie,Titian和Murillo。大理石宫殿的入口是免费的;但是游客需要至少24小时从西孟加拉邦旅游局获得特别许可,才能参观这个美丽的主人。整个宫殿有一个传统的孟加拉风格的外观和感觉与开放的庭院。宫内还有一个湖泊和一个石头花园,使之成为城市中最美丽的景点。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
垂死之家

Bose路54号是加尔各答最著名的地址之一,也是游览这座城市的必去之地。这座名为“垂死之家”的建筑是仁爱传教会的总部,也代表着特蕾莎修女的愿景,为绝境带去希望与爱。如今,特蕾莎修女的慈善修女们也都穿着蓝色商标的莎丽服,继续发扬着仁爱精神遗产。游客可以在特蕾莎修女的坟墓上表达敬意,并参观这里的博物馆,里面陈列有她的日常生活物品,比如凉鞋和旧碗,这些物品都反映出了她的朴素作风。这个地方能够让你看到人类最慈爱的一面,唤起你的独特情感。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
市政厅

1811年由约翰·加斯丁上校修建,市政厅一直是加尔各答最着名和最钟爱的地标之一。新帕拉第结构是一个纯净的白色,很容易被其签名的白色列和威尼斯弧识别。在建筑上,这座建筑非常壮观,本身就是一种吸引力。然而,一旦你走进内部,你可以看到许多小房间和一个大厅,都致力于加尔各答的历史。加尔各答在地标内部存在的全景图使用互动的故事讲述和先进的通讯设施来重现加尔各答的故事。无论您是进入室内,还是从室外观看建筑物,您都能见证历史!加尔各答高等法院距离酒店仅有几分钟的路程。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
豪拉大桥

新豪拉大桥是为了取代旧的浮桥而修建的,为了纪念杰出的孟加拉诗人及画家拉宾德拉纳特·泰戈尔,于1965年更名为Rabindra Setu。但人们通常还是称其为豪拉大桥。这座悬臂桥位于Vivekananda Setu与Vidyasagar Setu之间,是加尔各答三大桥梁中第一座,完工于1943年。豪拉大桥是加尔各答最繁忙的桥梁,每天有成千上万辆汽车通行,为这座城市的繁荣与活力作出了重要的贡献。这座大桥横跨于胡格利河之上,是一个卓越的工程技术产物。这座桥的修建增加了豪拉车站附近的车流量,行人、小贩和商人的聚集也让这里变成了加尔各答重要的区域。豪拉大桥是伟大的历史遗产,是一座标志性建筑,围绕着这座大桥的人物与故事都是这座城市的宝藏。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
圣保罗大教堂

圣保罗大教堂是加尔各答的“东方第一圣公会教堂”之一。Bishop Daniel Wilson于1839年开始修建该大教堂,并于1847年完工。该大教堂由William Nairn Forbes少校设计,类似于坎特伯雷大教堂里的Bell Harry塔。原始白色墙壁、彩色玻璃窗、雕刻木头物件和壁画都能让你联想起文艺复兴时期。虽然教堂被彻底毁坏了两次,但都进行了修复,恢复了昔日的辉煌。在餐馆圣保罗大教堂时,也可以顺便游览附近的景点,比如维多利亚纪念堂、Nandan、Mahanagar Peace Park和比尔拉天文馆。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
维多利亚纪念馆

标志性的维多利亚纪念馆由纯白色大理石建造而成,拥有天使般纯洁的白色穹顶,屹立于草坪和摇曳的棕榈树丛中。这座宏伟的建筑是为了向英格兰维多利亚女王致敬而修建的,也是加尔各答市的最佳地标之一。印度总督柯曾爵士建造了这座犹如女王本人一样威严的皇家纪念馆,这座宏伟的建筑充满了悠久的历史气息。纪念馆坐落于胡格利河沿岸,里面有美丽的花园、翡翠绿池、博物馆、英国人和印度人的雕像及半身像。需要注意的一个重要事实是,印度王子与公民都为维多利亚纪念馆的修建作出了贡献,总建筑成本约为1,05,00,000印度卢比。巨大的雕刻立柱、错综复杂的大理石穹顶和高松的塔楼都体现除了印度工匠的精湛技艺,他们在修建该建筑物的过程中起到了至关重要的作用。美术馆和博物馆中珍藏有英国的大事记,包括讲述女王一生中的重要事件的绘画、雕塑和手工制品,囊括了加冕典礼和住所事件。除此之外,这里还收藏有蒂普苏丹英勇王子和战士的剑,以及普拉西战役的大炮。文字和照片并不能表现出维多利亚纪念馆的宏伟与辉煌,亲身游览此处能够启发你的心灵和想象力。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
白鲁尔庙

白鲁尔庙位于胡格利河西岸,是一座美丽的建筑。白鲁尔庙拥有几个穹顶,是Ramakrishna Math和Ramakrishna Mission的总部。这两个机构致力于研究吠檀多(一种印度教教派),并促进宗教和谐。Ramakrishna Math是一个修道院组织,而Ramakrishna Mission是一个致力于慈善活动的协会,两者在世界各地拥有171个分支机构。白鲁尔庙里有Ramakrishna Paramahansa、Sarada Devi和Swami Vivekananda,这些都体现除了不同的建筑风格和宗教信息。这里最高的建筑 Swami Vivekananda采用了基督教、伊斯兰教和印度教元素,讲述着关于Ramakrishna的故事。这个占地40英亩的建筑群中还包括Ramakrishna博物馆和一家书店。白鲁尔庙修建于1938年,是加尔各答最重要的朝圣地,游客通常也会顺便游览达克希涅斯瓦寺、Path Bari和Kancher Mandir。你可以通过白鲁尔庙外面提供的Jetty服务游览上述所有景点。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
达克希涅斯瓦寺

印度女神卡利是加尔各答的一部分,也代表着这里的人民。达克希涅斯瓦寺建筑群是孟加拉邦最具宗教意义的景点之一,拥有传统 Bengali Navaratna风格,也有专门为卡利修建的九座尖塔结构。这个辉煌的建筑群中有几个较小的寺庙,包括九座湿婆神庙和Radha Krishna寺。达克希涅斯瓦寺的主色调为红色和黄色,朝圣者五彩的服饰让这里变成了有趣的调色板。Devi(负责修建该寺的人)的雕像。这座寺庙优雅而壮观,还设有一个大型停车场,可以容纳信徒的正常活动。胡格利河与Vivekananda Setu是衬托这座庙宇的背景,这里因备受尊敬的瑜伽信徒和神秘主义者Ramakrishna而闻名。这座寺庙坐落于一个带阶梯的地基之上,每天都有众多朝圣者前来参观,这里大多数时候都很拥挤。

Dakshineswar, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
0 81 124936-must-visit-attractions-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
24936

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Must Visit Attractions in Kolkata

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
24936


Marble Palace

A pristine canopy sheathed in liberal swathes of white, the opulent Marble Palace is an embodiment of elegance and a beauty that transcends the very existence of space and time. A stunning relic of the 19th Century, the palace was built by Raja Rajendra Mullick, and is characterized by a tapestry of walls, flooring and sculptures which are brilliantly-clad in marble. Awash in spectacular semblances of Neoclassical architecture, the palace harbors several collections of western sculpture, artifacts and antique treasures such as clocks, urns and chandeliers, along with paintings by well-known artists such as John Opie, Titian and Murillo. Cloaked in unabashed grandeur, the magnificent interior of the palace spills into rolling, open courtyards which are much reminiscent of the Bengal which once was. Having been responsible for largely shaping the historic and cultural landscape of Kolkata, this timeless palace is adorned with jubilant fountains, glorious sculptures, a string of picturesque Corinthian columns, a serene lake, a rock garden and the Marble Palace Zoo, which shelters a troupe of delightful birds and animals like monkeys and diverse species of deer.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Mother House

54 Bose Road is one of the most famous addresses in Kolkata and an important stopover for every tourist visiting the city. The building aptly called Mother House is the headquarters of the Missionaries of Charity, Mother Teresa's vision to spread hope and love to the despair. Even today, Mother Teresa’s sisters of charity, clad in their trademark blue-bordered saris, continue to carry forward her legacy. Visitors can pay their respects at the Mother's tomb and visit the museum displaying objects from her routine life – sandals and a worn-out bowl that stand as true reflections of her simplicity. Invoking peace and a range of different emotions, this place allows you to catch a glimpse into the life of one of the finest human beings to have ever lived.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Town Hall

Built by Colonel John Garstin in 1811, Town Hall has been one of the most prominent and beloved landmarks of Kolkata. The Neo-Palladian structure is a pristine white and is easily recognized by its signature white columns and Venetian arcs. Architecturally, this building is spectacular and is an attraction in itself. However, once you walk inside, you can see many small rooms and a large hall, all dedicated to the history of Kolkata. Kolkata Panorama which exists inside the landmark retells the story of Kolkata using interactive story-telling and state-of-the-art communication facilities. Whether you step inside, or view the building from outside, you’re witnessing history for sure! The Calcutta High Court is just minutes away.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Rabindra Setu (Howrah Bridge)

Built to replace the old Floating Pontoon Bridge, the New Howrah Bridge was renamed as Rabindra Setu in 1965, honouring the illustrious Bengali poet and painter Rabindranath Tagore. However, it is still most popularly known as Howrah Bridge. Placed between the Vivekananda Setu and the Vidyasagar Setu, this cantilever bridge was the first of the three Kolkata bridges, and was completed in 1943. Easily one of Kolkata's busiest bridges carrying thousands of vehicles every day, Howrah Bridge plays a major role in epitomizing the increasingly-urbane, forward-looking vigour that envelops the city. Seamlessly spanning the mighty course of Hooghly River, this bridge is characterized by brilliantly-done latticework, and is a product of outstanding engineering prowess. The concentration of vehicles increases along the teeming Howrah Station, while scores pedestrians, hawkers, merchants and locals make it an essential part of the everyday life of Kolkata. An iconic structure steeped in an indelible history and heritage, Howrah Bridge, with all its people and stories, will always remain an emblematic jewel of the city.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
St.Paul's Cathedral

St.Paul's Cathedral is one of the 'first Episcopal Church of the Orient' in Kolkata. Bishop Daniel Wilson initiated the construction of the cathedral in 1839 and it was completed in 1847. Designed by Major William Nairn Forbes, it is similar to the Bell Harry Tower in Canterbury Cathedral in Kent. The pristine white walls, the stained glass windows, carved wooden pieces and frescoes remind you of the Renaissance period. Though the church was completely destroyed twice, it was eventually restored and regained it's original grandeur. While you are visiting St.Paul's Cathedral, you can also check-out the nearby attractions like Victoria Memorial, Nandan, Mahanagar Peace Park and the Birla Planetarium.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Victoria Memorial

An angelic-white canopy crafted purely from Makrana marble, the iconic Victoria Memorial buildings lies nestled amid rolling lawns and groves of swaying palms. Built as a tribute to Queen Victoria of England, this magnificent edifice is one of the best landmarks that grace the city of Kolkata. This majestic building is steeped in a long-standing history - Lord Curzon, the Viceroy of India, decided to set up a memorial as grand and royal as the Queen herself. Nestled along the banks of the Hooghly River, the memorial comprises beautiful gardens, emerald pools, a museum, statues and busts of Britishers and Indians as well. An important fact to be noted is that Indian princes and citizens contributed generously to the Victoria Memorial funds and the total construction cost was approximately INR 1,05,00,000. Huge, carved pillars, intricately-patterned marble domes and tall towers speak volumes about the craftsmanship of the Indian artisans who played an integral role in executing the building to reality. The galleries and museum house British memorabilia including paintings, sculptures and artifacts that chronicle important events of the Queen's life; right from her coronation ceremony to her residence. Apart from that, it has the sword of the brave prince and warrior Tipu Sultan and cannons reminiscent of the Battle of Plassey. Words or a camera frame do not do justice to the sheer opulence and grandeur of Victoria Memorial, a site which has captured the hearts, souls and imaginations of many.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Belur Math

Belur Math is an architectural beauty situated on the western banks of the Hooghly River. Marked by several domes placed in aesthetic harmony, Belur Math is the headquarters of Ramakrishna Math and Ramakrishna Mission. The two institutions are dedicated to 'Vedanta', a Hindu philosophical sect, and strongly promote harmony across religions and boundaries. Ramakrishna Math, a monastic organization and Ramakrishna Mission, a society dedicated to philanthropic activities, together have 171 branches spread across India and other parts of the world. Inside Belur Math, temples honouring Ramakrishna Paramahansa, Sarada Devi and Swami Vivekananda can be found, all melodiously reflecting different architectural styles and religious details. Swami Vivekananda, who oversaw the construction of the temple complex, used symbols from Christianity, Islam as well as Hinduism as reminders of Ramakrishna’s message. The 40-acre complex also houses the Ramakrishna Museum and a book store. Built-in 1938, Belur Math is the most important pilgrimage destinations in Kolkata and is usually visited along with Dakshineshwar Kali Temple, Path Bari and Kancher Mandir. You can visit all of these by using the Jetty service available outside Belur Math.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Dakshineswar Kali Temple

The Indian goddess Kali is a quintessential part of Kolkata and its people. One of the most religious sites in West Bengal, the Dakshineswar temple complex is marked by a traditional Bengali Navaratna, or a nine-spire style devoted to Kali and her many manifestations, specifically Bhavatarini. Skirting the resplendent shrine is a troupe of several other, smaller temples, including the nine Shiva Temples and the Radha Krishna Temple. Shades of red and yellow define the Dakshineswar Kali Temple and the colorfully-clad pilgrims make it quite an intense and interesting palette. Also known to have been a spiritual leader and mystic Rama Krishna Paramahansa's abode for a certain period of time, the temple also shelters a white shrine, comprising the statue of Rani Rashmonin Devi (who was responsible for building the temple), in its courtyard. The temple, at once, strikes as an elegant, palatial structure, and is home to a large parking lot that accommodates the regular flow of devotees. The waters of the Hooghly River and the Vivekananda Setu form the backdrop of the temple which is well-renowned for its deeply-entrenched fondness for the revered yogi and mystic Ramakrishna. Standing proudly on a pedestal which is led by a flight of stairs, the temple is visited by a number of pilgrims everyday and remains crowded most of the time.

Dakshineswar, India
Add to Collection
0 81 124936-must-visit-attractions-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
35 1 0 9
24936