全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Local History & Culture in Kolkata

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
24955


印度博物馆

印度博物馆位于Jawaharlal Nehru路上,是世界上同类博物馆之一。博物馆于1814年由纳撒尼尔·瓦利克博士(Dr. Nathaniel Wallich)创立,最初位于亚洲社会。然而,不断增加的文物曲目已经转移到了当前的必要位置。今天安置印度博物馆的洁白的大厦由建筑师W.L. Granvil,也是加尔各答高等法院和G.P.O等重要地标背后的名字。馆内有三层,六十个不同的画廊,探索人类学,考古学,艺术,地质学,动物学,植物学和技术等领域。博物馆藏品今天有100多万件展品,您可以在访问期间找到从埃及木乃伊到陨石的任何东西。画廊是特别重要的,因为它对古代印度艺术有一些罕见的见解。不同学院的学生和研究人员发现博物馆除了大量的文物展示外,还有一个图书馆和一个书店。印度博物馆全年举办一些有趣的活动,偶尔还会举办各种短期课程和研讨会。面积超过10000平方英尺,最好在这个博物馆度过一整天。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
维多利亚纪念馆

标志性的维多利亚纪念馆由纯白色大理石建造而成,拥有天使般纯洁的白色穹顶,屹立于草坪和摇曳的棕榈树丛中。这座宏伟的建筑是为了向英格兰维多利亚女王致敬而修建的,也是加尔各答市的最佳地标之一。印度总督柯曾爵士建造了这座犹如女王本人一样威严的皇家纪念馆,这座宏伟的建筑充满了悠久的历史气息。纪念馆坐落于胡格利河沿岸,里面有美丽的花园、翡翠绿池、博物馆、英国人和印度人的雕像及半身像。需要注意的一个重要事实是,印度王子与公民都为维多利亚纪念馆的修建作出了贡献,总建筑成本约为1,05,00,000印度卢比。巨大的雕刻立柱、错综复杂的大理石穹顶和高松的塔楼都体现除了印度工匠的精湛技艺,他们在修建该建筑物的过程中起到了至关重要的作用。美术馆和博物馆中珍藏有英国的大事记,包括讲述女王一生中的重要事件的绘画、雕塑和手工制品,囊括了加冕典礼和住所事件。除此之外,这里还收藏有蒂普苏丹英勇王子和战士的剑,以及普拉西战役的大炮。文字和照片并不能表现出维多利亚纪念馆的宏伟与辉煌,亲身游览此处能够启发你的心灵和想象力。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Netaji Bhavan

Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose(通常被称为“Netaji”,印度语义为领导人)是印度独立运动中最杰出的改革者。如今被称为Netaji Bhavan的建筑曾是改革者的住所。这座古老的洋房式建筑由Netaji研究局负责管理,设有博物馆、该局的档案馆和图书馆。博物馆分为许多个房间,每一个房间都介绍了领导人的生活。建筑最顶层是有关Subhash Chandra Bose生平的照片及文件,按时间顺序陈列。图书馆和档案馆中详尽收藏着有关印度独立运动的书籍。Netaji Bhavan还设有一个名为Sarat Bose厅的礼堂,用于开展讲座和研讨会等活动。这座建筑位于Forum Mall购物中心对面的Elgin路,如果你对印度的自由抗争感兴趣,就一定不要错过这个地方。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Gurusaday博物馆

Guruday博物馆建立在Shri Guruday Dutt的记忆中,因为他不遗余力地保存了孟加拉的民间艺术。这是一个艺术和工艺博物馆,从国家的偏远地区的产品。收藏品包括300多件神像,面具,乐器,纺织品,木制品,考古物品和绘画作品。这个博物馆因为他的儿子Birendrasaday Dutt的推荐而被打开。像圣雄甘地,Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan博士,Rabindranath Tagore博士等等当时的坚定者认为,如果没有Shri Gurdday Dutt的精力和热情,我们的古代文化就不可能得到保存。这是他给新孟加拉艺术学院的动力。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
0 41 124955-best-local-history-culture-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
24955

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Local History & Culture in Kolkata

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
24955


Indian Museum

Located on the Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Indian Museum holds the distinction of being one of the first museums of its kind in the world. Founded by Dr. Nathaniel Wallich in 1814, the museum was first located within the Asiatic Society. However, the ever-growing repertoire of artifacts made its shift to the current location necessary. The pristine white edifice that houses the Indian Museum today was built by architect W.L. Granvil, which is also the name behind important landmarks like Calcutta High Court and the G.P.O. Inside, the museum has three floors with sixty different galleries that explore areas like Anthropology, Archaeology, Art, Geology, Zoology, Botany and Technology. The museum's collection has over 1 million exhibits today, and you can find anything from Egyptian mummies to meteorites during your visit. The Painting Gallery is of particular importance, as it holds some rare insights into ancient Indian art. Students and researchers of different faculties find the museum extremely resourceful: apart from the vast display of artifacts, the space also includes a library and a bookshop. Indian Museum organizes a number of interesting events throughout the year and also occasionally conducts short courses and seminars on various subjects. With over 10000 square feet of area to explore, it is best to spend an entire day at this museum.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Victoria Memorial

An angelic-white canopy crafted purely from Makrana marble, the iconic Victoria Memorial buildings lies nestled amid rolling lawns and groves of swaying palms. Built as a tribute to Queen Victoria of England, this magnificent edifice is one of the best landmarks that grace the city of Kolkata. This majestic building is steeped in a long-standing history - Lord Curzon, the Viceroy of India, decided to set up a memorial as grand and royal as the Queen herself. Nestled along the banks of the Hooghly River, the memorial comprises beautiful gardens, emerald pools, a museum, statues and busts of Britishers and Indians as well. An important fact to be noted is that Indian princes and citizens contributed generously to the Victoria Memorial funds and the total construction cost was approximately INR 1,05,00,000. Huge, carved pillars, intricately-patterned marble domes and tall towers speak volumes about the craftsmanship of the Indian artisans who played an integral role in executing the building to reality. The galleries and museum house British memorabilia including paintings, sculptures and artifacts that chronicle important events of the Queen's life; right from her coronation ceremony to her residence. Apart from that, it has the sword of the brave prince and warrior Tipu Sultan and cannons reminiscent of the Battle of Plassey. Words or a camera frame do not do justice to the sheer opulence and grandeur of Victoria Memorial, a site which has captured the hearts, souls and imaginations of many.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Netaji Bhavan

Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose, known popularly as Netaji (meaning leader in Hindi), was one of the most prominent reformists in the Indian Independence Movement. The building that is known as Netaji Bhavan today was once the residence of the reformist. Managed by the Netaji Research Bureau, the old bungalow-style structure houses a museum and the bureau's archives and library. The museum is divided into various rooms, each detailing certain phases in the leader's life. The top-most floor has photographs and documents from the life and works of Subhash Chandra Bose, arranged in chronological order. The library and archives include comprehensive collections detailing the Indian Independence Movement. Netaji Bhavan also has an auditorium called the Sarat Bose Hall which is used for events like lectures and seminars. Located on Elgin Road, opposite Forum Mall, this is the place is a must-visit if you're interested in learning about India's Freedom Struggle.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Gurusaday Museum

Gurusday Museum has been established in the memory of Shri Gurusday Dutt for his untiring work of keeping alive the folk art of Bengal. It is an art and craft museum that has products from remote parts of the state. The collection includes more than 300 artifacts of deities, masks, musical instruments, textiles, woodwork, archaeological objects and paintings. This museum was opened because of the recommendation of his son, Birendrasaday Dutt. The then stalwarts such as Mahatma Gandhi, Dr Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan, Dr Rabindranath Tagore and many more were of the opinion that without the energy and enthusiasm of Shri Gurusday Dutt, our ancient culture could not have been preserved. It was he who gave momentum to the Neo-Bengal School of Art.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
0 41 124955-best-local-history-culture-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
35 1 0 9
24955