全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Historic Locations in Varanasi

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
25682


巴拉特马塔曼迪尔

如果曾经有一句话来描述巴拉特马塔曼迪尔的概念和布局,那么它是无法形容的。这不是对拉克西米,湿婆,甘尼萨,哈努曼或拉姆遗产的颂歌;这是对印度母亲(Bharat Mata)的最后的赞扬。一进入,就有一个沉默的三维立体地图的印度,从大理石雕刻,每一个比例在地方的印度分裂了沉默。喜马拉雅山向上突出的范围特别吸引眼球,沿西海岸的小山脉和海洋也是如此。 Babu Shiv Prashad Gupta和Shri Durga Prashad Khatri艺术二重奏的灵感来源于1936年,由Mahatma Gandhi创立。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Ahilyabai Ghat

Ahilyabai Ghat有一个名为第一个以一个人命名的ghat,即印度的战士女王Ahilyabhai Holkar,他在1778年和瓦拉纳西市的许多寺庙和精神住所一起建造了它。到了这里的最佳时机是早晨,印度的信徒们在河里洗个圣洁,希望得到莫哈沙。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
尼泊尔寺庙

尼泊尔国王修建的这座美丽的小寺庙的墙壁上刻着木雕,在拉利塔河坛(Lalitha Ghat)。令人联想到工艺的丰富传统,这座寺庙在每一位参观者眼中都令人敬畏。环境静谧静谧,环境静谧。靖国神社内部是奉献者崇拜的Pasupathi Nath Shiva Linga。尼泊尔寺庙有一个名义上的参观费用,这个寺庙的福利信托。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Dasashwamedh加特

指着马牺牲的时代很平常,Dasashwamedh这个名字的翻译是“牺牲十匹马的地方”。印度神话说创造者梵天在这里做了牺牲让湿婆神回到瓦拉纳西;因此它是世界各地的印度教徒最吉祥的地方之一。这是惊人的恒河Aarti的网站,每天在ghat的凸起平台上进行,七名神父正在为母亲Ganga编舞仪式。被认为是恒河沿岸最重要的坟墓,周围有大量的宾馆和餐馆。主要燃烧的加特,马尼卡尼卡是朝北。 Dasaswamedh Ghat是这个城市最古老的遗址之一,是一个充满游客和朝圣者的传奇景点。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Manikarnika加特

根据印度教的传统,死后马尼卡尼卡河坛的人们将被从生死链中解放出来。这解释了这个地区的混乱,神秘,漠不关心,噪音和一切据说是湿婆神的居所。 Manikarnika这个名字可以追溯到Shiva在他的超然舞蹈中将耳环掉在这里的故事,并且被认为是Manikarnika Kund。火化发生在没有休息的情况下,充满空气,燃烧着肉的味道,这是令人惊讶的不排斥。来自世界各地的外国人在这里观看这里的活动,有着许多的阴谋,当地人以同情的态度对待这个活动,尽管不是没有一点不屑。死亡的表面冷漠的面孔被物质转变的基本哲学所强化,这是必须经历的事情。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
喀什Vishwanath寺庙

崇高的喀什维什瓦纳特庙在古代印度教经典中被提及,实际上建于公元490年,但遭到莫卧儿入侵者连续强拆数百年的掠夺。现在的庙宇是在1790年由战士女王Ahilyabhai Holkar建造的,后者因肆意破坏古老的神圣建筑而感到不满。印度教徒认为,在恒河恒河和参观这座寺庙,有助于摆脱重生的循环。由于由Maharaja Ranjith Singh捐赠的纯金制成的尖塔也被称为金庙,这座寺庙是一个必去的地方。这里的主神是一个黑色的灵魂,信徒奉上祝福的水。近年来,由于恐怖主义威胁迫在眉睫,外国人不得不登记入境。所有游客的手机,照相机和行李必须存放在入口处的任何商店,而警方则敦促人群赶路并继续前行。经验是最激烈的,有趣和神圣的。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
辛迪亚加特

一个古色古香的活跃的精神遗址,Scindhia Ghat魅力四射,步步前往圣河恒河。以前被称为Vireswara ghat,这个精神上的居所是由不同的统治者在十八世纪,二十世纪和二十世纪重新装修的。在火葬场Manikarnika Ghat附近,这个ghat看到许多朝圣者来到这里,在这个河里游泳。有专门为宗教仪式制作的平台。在平台上锻炼的当地摔跤运动员在这里是一个有趣的清晨视线。沉没的寺庙,Vireswara Mandir,Dattatreya Paduka Mandir和Siddh Hanumanji Nyas是以ghat为基地的主要宗教景点。这里的另一个显眼的地方是受欢迎的Scindhia Guest House酒店,提供享有令人印象深刻河景的经济型住宿。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
甘加玛哈尔加特

恒河玛哈尔加特永远不会捕捉到首次游客到瓦拉纳西圣城的想象力。还有什么可以做的呢,除了惊叹雄伟壮观的石棕色建筑,蔚蓝的天空,而堡垒般的门面在恒河上慈悲地向下看,它是沐浴朝圣者和梦幻般的船!注意反映Rajput建筑的精美石雕。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
高止

高止山脉是一系列沿着河岸排列的台阶。在瓦拉纳西市,生活围绕着这些神圣的步骤,因为这里是朝圣者在恒河倾泻的地方洗去一生的罪恶。虽然有些西红柿比其他五颜六色,突出和华丽的砂岩建筑支持的其他一些ghats更加柔和,他们都有一个同样有趣的故事要讲。游客大多倾向于穿越北部的Panchganga Ghat和南部的Assi Ghat,但是除此之外还有很多。一个迷人的人类活动万花筒在这里等待着你 - 女人洗衣服,朝圣者倾盆大雨,牲畜冷却,狗在这个地方寻找食物,年轻男孩打板球或潜入河里,葬礼上的柴火火焰不断升上天空,恐惧在这个湿婆城,一天一天地游玩这个狂欢节的生活狂欢节。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
阿拉姆清真寺(Dharahara清真寺)

印度考古调查(ASI)保护的阿拉姆清真寺(Alamgir Mosque)也被称为奥朗则布清真寺(Aurangzeb Mosque)或达拉哈拉清真寺(Dharahara Mosque),享有相对宁静的印度教徒神圣的潘恰加加塔(Panchganga Ghat)的绝佳位置。一次陡峭的攀登将带您到达瓦拉纳西最着名的地标之一,这里几乎定义了天际线与壮观的棕色尖塔。由莫卧儿皇帝奥朗则布建于宾杜·马达瓦神庙的遗址上,传说这座建筑实际上比现在要高很多,皇帝欣赏到德里所有的景色!虽然没有办法验证这一点,但毫无疑问,这个清真寺是一个必须参观,尤其是它的不寻常的建筑体现了印度教和莫卧儿元素。邻近的Shri Laxmi Narayan Mandir和较新的Bindu Mahadev寺庙反映了两种主要的世界宗教 - 印度教和伊斯兰教的共存。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Assi Ghat

这是长期背包客,研究人员和学生们选择在瓦拉纳西延续很长时间的非官方的,但非常昂贵的家园。在长长的高止山脉上的最南端的加特,在阿西的生活,就像在恒河沉迷了几个小时的水牛一样放纵。尽管距主要的高hat街有一段距离,但是旅行者却在这里突破了那些侵入性的吹捧者,导游,假圣人,乞丐,船夫,按摩师,甚至是在混乱中参与狂热的孩子。阿西有一个大的犹太人社区,这通过酒店和咖啡馆反映,如海法和Yafah,通常提供中东菜,如鹰嘴豆泥,沙拉三明治,巴巴加汉什和kawwah(阿拉伯咖啡)。 Assi Ghat在古代印度吠陀文本中被提及,并且也受到印度朝圣者的尊敬,他们以船或步行到达圣地。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
瓦拉纳西

马克·吐温形容瓦拉纳西“比历史还久远,比传统还要古老,比传说还要古老”;这是这座古城为任何欣赏其神圣街道的游客提供的灵感和体验的缩影。印度教的据点,据信是直接由最高神的湿婆神本人,这也是一个人寻求moksha,或从生死不休的循环解放的网站。在神圣的马尼卡尼卡河坛(Manikarnika Ghat)神圣的河滨,公开举行的火葬仪式强化了这个永恒的信仰。在神话般的恒河河畔,风景秀丽的台阶,也被称为Dashashwamedh Ghat,勾勒出瓦拉纳西深深的标志性遗产。当太阳落在这个圣城时,那个活生生的宗教仪式唤醒并搅动了最不信教的灵魂。不久之后,这座城市恢复了平静的状态,直到太阳的第一缕阳光使它恢复活力。一些历史古迹与神性一起颤抖,从喀什维什瓦纳寺(Kashi Vishwanath)和Sankat Mochan寺到巴尔拉特马塔曼迪(Bharat Mata Mandir),几公里外的Sarnath佛教遗址。瓦拉纳西拥有狭窄的小巷,穿着藏红花的绅士,大气的西高止山脉和一片气味的聚宝盆,是一个令人羡慕的混乱环境。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
0 171 225682-best-historic-locations-in-varanasi
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
25682

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Historic Locations in Varanasi

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
25682


Bharat Mata Mandir

If there was ever a word to describe the concept and layout of Bharat Mata Mandir, it is INIMITABLE. This one isn't an ode to the legacies of Laxmi, Shiva, Ganesha, Hanuman or Ram; it is the ultimate tribute to Mother India (Bharat Mata). Upon entering, one is stunned into silence with the sunken-level three-dimensional relief map of undivided India, carved from marble and with every proportion in place. The range of Himalayas protruding upwards particularly catches the eye, so do the smaller mountain ranges and oceans along the west coast. Brainchild of the artistic duo of Babu Shiv Prashad Gupta and Shri Durga Prashad Khatri, this matchless work of art was built in 1936 and inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Ahilyabai Ghat

Ahilyabai Ghat has the distinction of being the first ghat named in honor of a person, namely, the warrior queen Ahilyabhai Holkar of Indore who actually built it in 1778 along with a number of temples and spiritual residences throughout the city of Varanasi. The best time to come here is in the morning when Indian worshipers take a holy dip in the river to cleanse themselves of sins in hope of attaining moksha.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Nepali Temple

Wooden carvings adorn the walls of this small beautiful temple, built by the King of Nepal, at the Lalitha Ghat. Reminiscent of a rich tradition of craftsmanship, the temple creates awe in the eyes of every visitor. The setting is peaceful and calm with a natural silence lingering around the place. Inside the shrine is the Pasupathi Nath Shiva Linga, which is worshiped by devotees. There is a nominal entry fee to visit the Nepali temple, which goes to the welfare trust of the temple.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Dasashwamedh Ghat

Pointing to a time when horse sacrifice was common, the translation of the name Dasashwamedh says 'the place where ten horses were sacrificed'. Hindu mythology says the creator Brahma did a sacrifice here to let Lord Shiva get back to Varanasi; and thus it is one of the most auspicious sites for Hindus all over the world. This is the site of the stunning Ganga Aarti, which is performed daily on the raised platforms on the ghat with seven priests doing choreographed ritualistic offerings to mother Ganga. Considered as the most important ghat along the banks of Ganga, a large number of guesthouses and restaurants are located around the area. The main burning ghat, Manikarnika is towards the north. One of the most ancient sites in the city, Dasaswamedh Ghat is a legendary sight filled with tourists and pilgrims.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Manikarnika Ghat

According to Hindu tradition, people cremated at the Manikarnika Ghat after death will be freed from the chain of life and death. That explains the chaos, mystery, indifference, noise and everything surrounding this area which is said to be the abode of Lord Shiva. The name Manikarnika goes back to the story where Shiva dropped his earrings at the well here during his transcendental dance and it came to know as Manikarnika Kund. The cremations take place without break and fills the air with the smell of burning flesh which is surprisingly not repulsive. Foreigners from all around the globe watch the activities here with much intrigue and the locals take it with compassion though not without a fragment of disdain. The apparent indifferent face of death is reinforced with the underlying philosophy of material transition and is something that has to be experienced.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Kashi Vishwanath Temple

The exalted Kashi Vishwanath Temple finds itself mentioned in ancient Hindu scriptures, and was actually built in 490 CE but fell prey to successive demolitions by the Mughal invaders all through the centuries. The present temple was built in 1790 by the warrior queen Ahilyabhai Holkar who was aggrieved by the wanton destruction of age-old sacred structures. Hindus believe that a dip in the river Ganges and a visit to this temple serves to break free from the cycle of rebirth. Also referred to as Golden Temple because of the spire which was made from pure gold donated by Maharaja Ranjith Singh, this temple is a must-visit. The main deity here is a black lingam upon which devotees pour blessed water. Foreigners have to register their passports to enter the premises as security has been beefed up in recent years due to the looming terrorist threat. Mobile phones, cameras and bags of all visitors have to be deposited at any of the shops that line the entrance, while police urge crowds to hurry and keep moving. The experience is most intense, intriguing and divine.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Scindhia Ghat

A quaint site of active spirituality, the Scindhia Ghat charms with the orchestrated flight of steps to the holy river Ganges. Previously known as Vireswara ghat, this spiritual abode was renovated in the 18th, 19th and 20th Centuries by different rulers. Being in the proximity of the cremation site, Manikarnika Ghat, this ghat sees a lot of pilgrims coming here for a holy dip in the river. There are platforms specifically made for religious rituals. Local wrestlers exercising in the platforms is an interesting early morning sight here. The Sinking Temple, Vireswara Mandir , Dattatreya Paduka Mandir and Siddh Hanumanji Nyas are the major religious attractions which have this ghat as their base. Another conspicuous presence here is the popular Scindhia Guest House, which offers budget accommodation with impressive river views.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Ganga Mahal Ghat

The Ganga Mahal Ghat never fails to capture the imagination of first-time visitors to the holy city of Varanasi. What else can one do other than marvel at the majestic stone brown building that soars into the blue skies while the fortress-like facade looks down benevolently upon the Ganges, it's bathing pilgrims and the dreamy boats! Watch out for the exquisite stone carvings that reflect Rajput architecture.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Ghats

Ghats are a series of steps that lie along the banks of a river. In the city of Varanasi, life revolves around these sacred steps because here is where pilgrims take a dip in the River Ganges to wash away a lifetime of sins. While some ghats are more subdued than the others which are colorful, prominent and backed by magnificent sandstone buildings, all of them have an equally intriguing story to tell. Tourists mostly tend to traverse between Panchganga Ghat in the north and Assi Ghat in the south, however there are many beyond these. A fascinating kaleidoscope of human activity awaits you here - women washing clothes, pilgrims taking a dip, cattle cooling off, dogs scouring the area for food, young boys playing cricket or diving into the river, funeral pyre flames rising into the skies ceaselessly, dread-locked sadhus meditating, boatmen soliciting customers, vendors selling flowers and Western tourists filming this Carnival of Life that plays out day-after day in this City of Shiva.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Alamgir Mosque

Alternately known as Aurangzeb Mosque or Dharahara Mosque, the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI)- protected Alamgir Mosque enjoys a superb location along the relatively quieter Panchganga Ghat which is sacred to Hindu bathers. A steep climb will lead you up to one of Varanasi's most celebrated landmarks which pretty much defines the skyline with its spectacular brown minarets. Built by Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb upon the site of the Bindu Madhava Temple, legend has it that this structure was actually much taller than its present state, and the Emperor enjoyed views all across to Delhi! While there is no way of verifying this, there remains no doubt that this mosque is a must-visit especially for its unusual architecture manifesting both Hindu and Mughal elements. Its proximity to the nearby Shri Laxmi Narayan Mandir and the newer Bindu Mahadev Temple reflects the co-existence of 2 major world religions - Hinduism and Islam.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Assi Ghat

This is the unofficial yet lionized home of long-term backpackers, researchers and students who have chosen to stay on for extended periods of time in Varanasi. The southernmost ghat on the long stretch of ghats, life at Assi is as indulgent as the water buffaloes who wallow around for hours on end in the Ganges. Despite its distance from the main burning ghats, travelers head here for a break from the intrusive touts, guides, fake holy men, beggars, boat men, masseurs and even children who participate with great fervor in the contrived chaos. Assi has a large Jewish community and this is reflected through the hotels and cafes with names such as Haifa and Yafah which serve up typically Middle Eastern dishes like hummus, falafel, baba ghanoush and kawwah (Arabic Coffee). Assi Ghat has been mentioned in the ancient Indian Vedic texts and commands the respect of Indian pilgrims too who arrive here in boats or on foot for a holy dip.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Varanasi

Mark Twain described Varanasi as 'older than history, older than tradition, older than legend'; this epitomizes the inspirations and experiences this ancient city offers to any visitor that graces its sacred streets. The seat of Hinduism, believed to be directly governed by the supreme deity Lord Shiva Himself, it is also the site where one seeks moksha, or liberation from the endless cycle of life and death. At the holy riverfront of the sacred Manikarnika Ghat, publicly-held cremation ceremonies reinforce this timeless belief. The scenic stretch of steps, also known as the Dashashwamedh Ghat, on the banks of the mythical River Ganges, outlines the deeply iconic legacy of Varanasi. As the sun sets on this holy city, the ghat comes alive with religious rituals that awaken and stir even the most non-religious of souls. The city returns to a state of calm soon after, until the first rays of the sun render it alive again. Several historic monuments that tremble with divinity dot its streets,from the Kashi Vishwanath Temple and the Sankat Mochan Temple, to Bharat Mata Mandir the Buddhist site of Sarnath (a few kilometers away). Varanasi, with its narrow alleyways, saffron-robed Godmen, atmospheric ghats and a cornucopia of smells is a splendid milieu of sought-after chaos.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
0 171 225682-best-historic-locations-in-varanasi
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Along the German Alpine Road
30 Bookmarked

Along the German Alpine Road

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Bookmarked

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
9 1 0 3
25682