全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Top Things To Do in London

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
26064

In this timeless city built on historical grandeur, world-class fashion and theater, music and clubbing, and a stunning, eclectic array of bars and restaurants draw tourists from all over the world. London is classic yet modern, dynamic, and always fascinating.


大英博物馆

大英博物馆是伦敦最著名的旅游景点之一,也是一个重要的学术资源库。藏品于1753年遗赠给国家,博物馆是一座规模庞大的希腊复兴式建筑建于19世纪。在大英帝国鼎盛时期,博物馆的藏品大量增加, 藏品主要是英国于18世纪至19世纪英国对外扩张中得来而闻名,至今藏品已超过650万件。这个博物馆占地约5.5公顷(14英亩),根本不能在一次参观中看完所有藏品。 著名的罗塞塔石碑、亚述浮雕、帕特农神庙大理石和大量的埃及收藏品是大英博物馆最著名的几件展品。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
伦敦眼

这座位于南岸137米(450英尺)的巨大摩天轮被称为“伦敦眼”或“千禧轮”,在那里可以鸟瞰伦敦的美景。在晴朗的天气里,从山顶向四面八方延伸40公里(25英里)的壮观景色包括温莎的景色。它在21世纪之交诞生,被授予“千年轮”的称号,象征着迄今取得的进步和美好未来的希望。伦敦眼从此成为城市的标志,被誉为世界上最高的悬臂梁支撑和城市最高的景点之一。“伦敦眼”每一个玻璃包裹的吊舱都能以一种悠闲的速度围绕其直径120米(394英尺)可容纳多达25名乘客,一圈需时30分钟。在整个摩天轮旅程中,俯瞰方圆25英里范围内的壮丽景色,其间还可以听到解说一一介绍进入视野的主要地标。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
伦敦塔桥

伦敦塔桥由霍勒斯·琼斯爵士设计,于1894年向公众开放,是伦敦最著名的地标之一。这座著名的塔桥建在泰晤士河上,俯瞰着标志性建筑伦敦塔。由于19世纪运河上交通量多,塔桥设计成分上下两层,两个可以升高的结构。这座桥最吸引人的特点之一就是维多利亚时代的砖石塔,里面装着用来提升桥上升降机的煤发动机。这两座塔北塔和南塔现对游客开放。 塔桥设有玻璃窗的封闭走道,连接在石塔之间,在这里可以饱览这座生机勃勃的城市街景。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
伦敦塔

900年的历史铸造了庄严并深藏其中的伦敦塔角楼墙,由壕沟和厚厚的城墙包围着。伦敦塔最初由征服者威廉于1066年作为据点开始修建,多年来由不同的君主进行扩建。 它最显著的特点也是最古老的,那座白塔可以追溯到1078年征服者威廉作为诺曼人至高无上的象征。尽管伦敦塔被用作皇家住宅、军械库和铸币厂,但它最著名的地方是作为监狱和行刑地点,最著名的是安妮·博林和凯瑟琳·霍华德。伊丽莎白一世、沃尔特·罗利爵士和爱德华五世王子是被囚禁在这里的其他几个著名人物。叛国、阴谋和间谍活动的故事充斥在这些历史性的城墙中,无数的秘密等待着被揭露。其中有趣的事伦敦的乌鸦,传说中乌鸦成了吉祥物,因此而受到了保护。如今伦敦塔是一座博物馆,也是皇冠珠宝之家。城堡的游览由约曼狱吏带领的带领,也被称为吃牛肉的人。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
威斯敏斯特教堂

座落于威斯敏斯特宫的西边,这座早期英国哥特式建筑十分宏伟壮观,以其700年的历史和与英国皇室的联系吸引了所有人。这座教堂最初是由忏悔者爱德华国王在1042年至1052年间建造的,当时是圣彼得大教堂,是为他本人和随后的所有皇室继承人提供的皇家墓地。很快,这座最初的罗马式教堂也成为加冕典礼和皇家婚礼的举办地,从而成为英国君主最重要的宗教建筑之一。 虽然教堂在16世纪拥有大教堂的地位好几年,但在后来的几年里,它一直是天主教本笃会(天主教的隐修院修会之一)教堂。之后,成为圣公会教堂。这座修道院有着雄伟的象牙塔楼,面向天空,教堂南侧设开敞拱廊,两座塔楼之间装饰诺曼风格的中殿,是当今伦敦最令人惊叹的皇家地标之一。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
海德公园

海德公园是伦敦市中心最具地标性的绿地之一,每一片草叶都浸透了16世纪初的历史。这里有许多的历史景点,公园的主要景点包括象征性的演讲角, 休闲的 九曲湖 游泳区域, 以及著名的 蛇形画廊。还有琳琅满目的景色,例如伊西斯雕像 以及 戴安娜王妃纪念喷泉。 如果你热爱大自然,还可以前往海德公园南部的骑兵营,到了那里会发现自己置身于幸福的玫瑰园之中。海德公园是伦敦一处必去的公园,非常适合在那里度过一天的愉悦时光。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
大本钟

大本钟指的是著名的钟楼,位于 威斯敏斯特宫最北端, ,伊丽莎白塔或者称为大本钟,是伦敦的标志性建筑之一,它被认为是19世纪最时尚的计时设备之一。这座宏伟的纪念碑是1834年威斯敏斯特旧宫被大火烧毁时建造的,这引发了对新建筑的需求。就在那时,英国建筑师奥古斯都·普金(Augustus Pugin)为这座塔所做的设计取得了大众认可,这座宏伟的哥特式复兴建筑成为大英帝国最引人注目的标志之一。大本钟高达315英尺(96米),是一个由沙色的安斯顿石灰岩构成塔的上下半部的混合物,铸铁尖顶让灰白的天空增添一道绚丽的色彩。 令人印象深刻的是钟楼上的计时装置重量超过5吨,钟摆每两秒跳动一次,重量达203公斤(447.53磅)。虽然这座雄伟的钟楼可以在远处被海外游客欣赏,但只有当地的居民才知道塔的内部深度。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
白金汉宫

宏伟庄严的白金汉宫自1837年以来一直是英国君主在伦敦的官方住所。尽管这座宫殿的起源可以追溯到18世纪,当时白金汉宫的公爵在这里建造了他的官邸,现在主要由建筑师建筑师约翰纳什和爱德华布洛尔主持。这座宫殿拥有775间厅室,由艺术家伦勃朗、维米尔和范戴克等人用塞弗雷斯瓷器和艺术品把宫殿装饰得十分奢华。从美丽时代的奶油色和金色,到中国皇宫的精致,每间客房都展示着奢华而雅致的室内设计。大理石楼梯可能是世界上最好的青铜铸造的作品之一,由蚀刻玻璃圆顶和宫殿的焦点照明,而前院是伦敦最受欢迎的旅游项目之一— ,白金汉宫的皇家卫队每天的举行换岗仪式。皇家马厩和女王艺苑是这座皇家官邸受欢迎的景点,也向游客开放。 白金汉宫被周围经过修剪过的草坪和郁郁葱葱的花园所环绕,在夏天盛开着无数的花朵,描绘出一幅英国王室风格的壮丽美景。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
特拉法加广场

特拉法加广场结合过去和现在,形成了充满活力的西敏市中心。广场全年举办各种活动,沿着这条路可以看到宏伟的国家美术馆和国家肖像画廊。特拉法尔加广场的命名是为了纪念1805年特拉法尔加战役而修建的,这一事件标志着法国海军舰队的沦陷,使英国免受入侵。广场标志是南端的纳尔逊纪念柱,上面刻有海军上将霍雷肖·纳尔逊的雕像,以纪念这位著名的海事将军。柱底四周是四只巨型铜狮,两旁是潺潺的喷泉。2003年的翻新工程优化了步行道,把南端的车道移除,通过楼梯把国家肖像画廊与广场相连接。熙熙攘攘的人们穿梭在特拉法加广场,无论是游客们还是当地人都在前往画廊的路上。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
杜莎夫人蜡像馆

著名的杜莎夫人蜡像馆,由杜莎夫人于1835年成立,是伦敦最受欢迎的旅游景点之一,吸引着来自世界各地的游客。从全球政治领袖和体育界人士到你最喜欢的电影明星和电视剧人物,在这座著名的博物馆里你可以找到所有名人的蜡像。 在杜莎夫人蜡像馆,用你最喜欢的名人照片,点击蜡像状态,欣赏其中的细节。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 101 126064-top-things-to-do-in-london
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
26064

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Top Things To Do in London

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
26064

In this timeless city built on historical grandeur, world-class fashion and theater, music and clubbing, and a stunning, eclectic array of bars and restaurants draw tourists from all over the world. London is classic yet modern, dynamic, and always fascinating.


The British Museum

The British Museum is one of London's top tourist attractions, as well as a major scholarly resource. Its collection was bequeathed to the nation in 1753, and the museum's distinctive Greek Revival structure was constructed during the 19th Century. The collection expanded massively during the heyday of the British Empire, leading to the museum's reputation for acquiring from sources all over the globe, leaving it with over 8 million objects. The displays cover about 5.5 hectares (14 acres) making it impossible to see everything in one visit. The famous Rosetta Stone, Assyrian Reliefs, Parthenon Marbles and the vast Egyptian collection are a few of the British Museum's most well-known exhibits.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
London Eye

Known as both the London Eye or the Millennium Wheel, this huge 137-meter (450-foot) Ferris wheel on the South Bank gives a fabulous bird's eye view of London. The spectacular views from the top stretch as far as 40 kilometers (25 miles) in every direction on a clear day to include views of Windsor. Its inception at the turn of the 21st Century conferred upon it the title of 'the Millennium Wheel', symbolic of the progress made thus far and the promise of a glorious future. The London Eye has since come to be an icon of the city skyline, renowned as the world's tallest cantilevered observation wheel and one of the city's highest observation points. Each of the glass-encased pods of the London Eye can transport up to 25 passengers around its 120-meter(394-foot) diameter at a leisurely pace, a circuit that takes close to 30 minutes to complete. For the duration of the ride, the city and its many attractions lie sprawled all around for a glimpse of London's girth in a single sweep.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Tower Bridge

Designed by Sir Horace Jones and opened in 1894, Tower Bridge is one of London's most recognizable landmarks. This famous monument is built on the River Thames and overlooks the iconic Tower of London. Due to the volume of river traffic in the 19th Century, the Tower Bridge was designed to have twin bascules that could be raised. One of the most fascinating features of the bridge is the Victorian-era engine room that houses the coal-powered motors used to raise the bridge lifts. The two towers, the North Tower and South Tower, are open to visitors. There is a glass-covered enclosed walkway that runs between the two that offers a bird's-eye view of vibrant city life.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Tower of London

900 years of history is enshrined within the thick, turreted walls of the Tower of London. Originally built as a stronghold by William the Conqueror in 1066, the Tower of London was expanded over the years by various monarchs. Its most distinctive feature is also its oldest, the White Tower which dates back to 1078 by William the Conqueror as a symbol of the Norman supremacy. Although variously used as a royal residence, armory and mint, the Tower of London is best known for its stint as a prison and the site of numerous executions, most notably of Anne Boleyn and Catherine Howard. Elizabeth I, Sir Walter Raleigh and Prince Edward V are a few of the other famous personalities who were imprisoned here. Stories of treason, conspiracy and espionage are rife amid these historic walls, with countless secrets just waiting to be uncovered. Another curious feature is the ravens here, that are said to safeguard the British Crown. Today, the Tower of London is a museum and the home of the fabulous Crown Jewels. Tours of the castle are led by the Yeomen Warders, also famously dubbed as the Beefeaters.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Westminster Abbey

To the west of the Palace of Westminster, this superbly striking piece of Early English Gothic architecture enthralls one and all with its 700-year-old history and its immediate association with British Royalty. First built by King Edward the Confessor between 1042 and 1052 as St Peter's Abbey, the church was meant to serve as a royal burial site for himself and all regal heirs that followed. Quickly, this originally Romanesque church also became the site where coronations and royal weddings took place, thus going on to become one of the most significant religious buildings for British monarchs. While the abbey held the status of a cathedral for several years in the 16th Century, it was soon designated the title of a 'royal peculiar' or a church that is directly governed by the crown, in the later years. The abbey, with its majestic ivory turrets that aim for the sky, dramatic buttresses that line the southern facade and the Norman-style nave that sits between the two towers stands as one of London's most astonishing royal landmarks today.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Hyde Park

One of Central London's most iconic green spaces, every blade of grass at Hyde Park is drenched in history dating back to the early 1600s. Laden with a myriad of historic spots, the park's prime attractions include the symbolic Speakers' Corner, the restful Serpentine Lido swimming area, and the famous Serpentine Gallery. It is also bedecked by stunning sights such as the Isis statue and the Diana Fountain. Nature lovers can head toward Hyde's southern frontier to find themselves in the midst of blissful Rose Gardens. A fantastic place to spend the day, Hyde Park is a must-visit during a sojourn in London.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Elizabeth Tower

Referring both to the famous tower that forms the north end of the Palace of Westminster, as well as the iconic clock built into its face, the Elizabeth Tower or Big Ben as it is popularly referred to, is deemed as one of the most prolific timekeeping devices of the 19th Century. This hugely exalted monument was constructed when the old Palace of Westminster was ravaged by a fire in 1834, sparking the need for a newer structure. It was then that English architect Augustus Pugin's spectacular design for the tower found fruition, an imposing Gothic Revival structure that would go on to become one of the most striking icons of the British empire. Towering over 315 feet (96 meters), the Big Ben is a brilliant blend of sand-colored Anston limestone that dominates its lower half and a cast-iron spire that pierces the city's ashen skies. Its impressive timekeeping mechanism weighs in at over 5 tons, and the pendulum, which beats once every two seconds, weighs 203 kilograms (447.53 pounds). While this imposing structure can be admired from a distance by overseas visitors, only residents are privy to the internal depths of the tower.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Buckingham Palace

The grand and stately Buckingham Palace has been the official London residence of the British monarch since 1837. Although the origins of the palace go back to the 18th Century when the Duke of Buckingham built his townhouse at the site, the palace as it stands today is principally the work of architects John Nash and Edward Blore. The palace holds 775 rooms, lavishly decorated with Sevres Porcelain and fine art by the likes of Rembrandt, Vermeer and Van Dyck. From the cream and gold palette of the Belle Epoque to the intricacies of the Chinese Regency, each room is a showcase of extravagant yet tasteful interior design. The Grand Staircase is perhaps one of the world's finest examples of bronze casting, illuminated by an etched glass dome and the focal point of the palace, while the forecourt is the setting for one of London's most popular tourist events - the Changing of the Guard. The Royal Mews and the Queen's Gallery are other popular features of this royal residence that are also open to visitors. All of this is surrounded by manicured lawns and lush gardens alive with myriad blooms in summer, painting a picture of grandeur befitting Britain's royal family.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Trafalgar Square

Trafalgar Square embraces the past and the present of the city in a single sweep, forming the vibrant core of Westminster. The public square hosts a lively milieu of events throughout the year and features the magnificent National Gallery and National Portrait Gallery along its hem. Trafalgar Square was named thus to commemorate the Battle of Trafalgar of 1805, an event that marks the fall of the French naval fleet, securing Britain from invasion. A column with a statue of Admiral Horatio Nelson at the summit is the centerpiece of the square, honoring the man responsible for this momentous victory. At the base of the column is the renowned Landseer Lions, flanked by babbling fountains. Renovations in 2003 removed traffic lanes to make room for a sizable staircase, connecting the National Portrait Gallery to the square. A beating heart of the neighborhood, Trafalgar Square is forever bustling with tourists making their way to the galleries and locals passing through.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Madame Tussauds London

The famous Madame Tussauds wax museum, started by Madame Tussaud in 1835, is one of the most popular tourist attractions in London and is abuzz with tourists from across the globe. From global political leaders and sports personalities to your favorite film and television personalities, extremely lookalike wax statues of all the celebrities can be found inside this iconic museum. Get your pictures clicked with wax statue of your favorite celebrity and admire the minute detailing of the same while at Madame Tussauds.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
0 101 126064-top-things-to-do-in-london
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
35 1 0 9
26064