Recherche mondiale

Définissez votre emplacement
Rejoindre
Se Déconnecter
user image
Mon profil
Se déconnecter
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Top Things To Do in London

Par: Cityseeker
Modifier la collection
Télécharger le PDF
26064

In this timeless city built on historical grandeur, world-class fashion and theater, music and clubbing, and a stunning, eclectic array of bars and restaurants draw tourists from all over the world. London is classic yet modern, dynamic, and always fascinating.


British Museum

Le British Museum est l'une des meilleures attractions touristiques de Londres, en plus d'être un grand centre de recherche académique. Sa collection fut léguée à la nation en 1753, et sa structure de style Renaissance grecque fut construite pendant le XIXe siècle. La collection s'est fortement agrandie pendant l'âge d'or de l'Empire britannique, et le musée abrite aujourd’hui plus de 6,5 millions d’objets venant des quatre coins du globe. L'exposition couvre 5,5 hectares, une superficie tout simplement trop grande pour tout voir en une seule visite. La célèbre pierre de Rosette, les reliefs assyriens, le marbre du Parthénon et la vaste collection égyptienne ne sont que quelques-unes des œuvres les plus réputées du British Museum.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
London Eye

Connu sous les noms de London Eye et Millennium Wheel, cette énorme grande roue de 137 mètres sur la rive Sud offre des vues imprenables sur Londres qui s’étendent jusqu’à 40 kilomètres dans toutes les directions par temps clair, permettant ainsi de voir Windsor. Son installation au début du XXIe siècle lui valut le titre de « Millennium Wheel » (roue du millénaire), symbolisant les progrès accomplis par le passé et la promesse d’un avenir glorieux. Depuis, le London Eye est devenu une icône de l’horizon de la ville, connu comme la roue d’observation en porte-à-faux la plus haute du monde et l’un des plus hauts points d’observation de la ville. Chacune de ses capsules en verre peut transporter jusqu’à 25 passagers atour de ses 120 mètres de diamètres à un rythme détendu, un circuit durant près de 30 minutes. Pendant le tour, la ville et ses nombreuses attractions s’étaleront devant vos yeux pour un aperçu de la circonférence de Londres en un regard.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
Tower Bridge

Conçu par Sir Horace Jones et ouvert en 1894, le Tower Bridge est l’un des monuments les plus emblématiques de Londres. Ce célèbre édifice est construit sur la Tamise et surplombe la fameuse Tour de Londres. En raison du trafic fluvial au XIXe siècle, le Tower Bridge fut conçu avec des bascules jumelles pouvant être levées. L’un des éléments les plus fascinants de ce pont est la salle des machines de l’ère victorienne qui abrite les moteurs au charbon utilisés pour lever les ponts levants. Les deux tours, la tour Nord et la tour Sud, sont ouvertes aux visiteurs. Vous y trouverez aussi une allée couverte de verre qui relie les deux tours et offre une vue imprenable sur la ville animée.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
Tours de Londres

900 ans d'histoire sont inscrits dans les murs à tourelles épais de la tour de Londres. Initialement construite en tant que forteresse par Guillaume le Conquérant en 1066, la tour de Londres a été agrandie au fil des ans par plusieurs monarques. Sa partie la plus unique et également la plus ancienne, la Tour Blanche, date de 1078 et symbolisait la suprématie normande. Bien qu’ayant servi de résidence royale et d’armurerie, elle est célèbre pour avoir été une prison et le site de nombreuses exécutions, en particulier d’Anne Boleyn et Catherine Howard. Elizabeth I, Sir Walter Raleigh et le prince Edward V figurent parmi les autres personnalités célèbres à y avoir été emprisonnées. Les histoires de trahison, de complots et d’espionnage sont monnaie courante dans ces murs historiques, avec d’innombrables secrets qui n’attendent qu’à être découverts. Les corbeaux y sont également une curiosité et l’on dit qu’ils protègent la couronne britannique. De nos jours, la tour de Londres est un musée et elle abrite les fabuleux joyaux de la couronne. Des visites du châteaux sont proposées par les Yeoman Warders, aussi communément appelés les Beefeaters.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
Abbaye de Westminster

À l’Ouest du palais de Westminster, cette magnifique œuvre architecturale de style gothique primitif anglais envoûte tous les visiteurs avec ses 700 ans d’histoire et ses liens étroits avec la royauté britannique. Initialement bâtie par le roi Édouard le Confesseur entre 1042 et 1052 sous le nom d’abbaye Saint-Pierre, cette église fut conçue pour servir de sépulture royale pour lui et tous ses héritiers. Mais rapidement, cette église Romanesque devint aussi un site privilégié pour les couronnements et les mariages royaux, faisant de l’abbaye de Westminster l’un des édifices religieux les plus importants pour les monarques britanniques. Ayant joui du statut de cathédrale pendant plusieurs années au XVIe siècle, elle reçut ensuite la désignation de « Royal Peculiar » (église gouvernée par la couronne). Avec ses majestueuses tourelles ivoire visant le ciel, ses contreforts spectaculaires qui bordent la façade Sud et sa nef de style normand située entre les deux tours, l’abbaye constitue aujourd’hui l’un des monuments royaux les plus extraordinaires de Londres.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
Hyde Park

L’un des espaces verts les plus emblématiques du centre de Londres, chaque brin d’herbe à Hyde Park est empreint d’histoire remontant au début des années 1600. Regorgeant de lieux historiques, les principales attractions de ce parc incluent le symbolique Speakers' Corner, la paisible zone de baignade Serpentine Lido et la célèbre Serpentine Gallery. Il abrite également des monuments magnifiques tels que la statue Isis statue et la Fontaine Diana. Les amoureux de la nature peuvent prendre la direction de la limite Sud de Hyde Park pour se retrouver au milieu de formidables roseraies. Lieu fantastique pour passer la journée, Hyde Park est donc une destination incontournable pendant un séjour à Londres.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
Big Ben

Faisant référence à la fois à la célèbre tour qui forme l’extrémité Nord du palais de Westminster, ainsi qu’à l’horloge emblématique bâtie sur sa face, la tour Élisabeth, ou Big Ben comme on l’appelle plus couramment, est considéré comme l’une des horloges les plus prolifiques du XIXe siècle. Ce monument fortement exalté a été construit lorsque l’ancien palais de Westminster fut détruit par un incendie en 1834, créant le besoin d’une nouvelle structure. C’est alors que le design spectaculaire pour la tour de l’architecte anglais Augustus Pugin porta ses fruits, une imposante structure néogothique qui allait devenir l’une des icônes les plus frappantes de l’empire britannique. S’élevant à 96 mètres de hauteur, le Big Ben est une magnifique combinaison de calcaire d’Anston couleur sable qui domine sa moitié inférieure et de flèche en fer forgé qui transperce le ciel cendreux de la ville. Son impressionnant mécanisme pèse plus de 5 tonnes et la pendule, qui bat toutes les deux secondes, pèse 203 kilogrammes. Tandis que cette imposante structure peut être admirée de loin par les visiteurs étrangers, les Londoniens sont les seuls à pouvoir voir les profondeurs internes de la tour.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
Palais de Buckingham

Grandiose et majestueux, le palais de Buckingham est la résidence officielle à Londres de la monarchie britannique depuis 1837. Bien que ses origines remontent au XVIIIe siècle, lorsque le duc de Buckingham construisit sa maison de ville sur le site, le palais tel qu’on le voit aujourd’hui est principalement l’œuvre des architectes John Nash et Edward Blore. Il abrite 775 salles, somptueusement ornées de porcelaine de Sèvres et d’œuvres d’art raffinées d’artistes tels que Rembrandt, Vermeer et Van Dyck. De la palette crème et or de la Belle Époque à la complexité de la Régence chinoise, chaque salle reflète une décoration intérieure à la fois élégante et extravagante. Le Grand escalier est peut-être l’un des exemples les plus raffinés de fonte de bronze au monde, illuminé par un dôme gravé en verre et le point central du palais, tandis que le parvis accueille l’un des événements touristiques les plus populaires de Londres : la relève de la garde. Les écuries royales et la galerie de la reine sont également des sections populaires de cette résidence royale qui sont ouvertes au public. Le tout est entouré de pelouses immaculées et de jardins luxuriants abritant de nombreuses fleurs en été, reflétant la grandeur associée à la famille royale britannique.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
Trafalgar Square

Trafalgar Square étreint à la fois le passé et le présent de la ville, constituant le cœur animé de Westminster. Cette place publique accueille un programme complet d’événements tout au long de l’année et est bordé par la magnifique National Gallery et la National Portrait Gallery. Trafalgar Square tire son nom de la bataille de Trafalgar de 1805, marquant la chute de la flotte navale française et libérant la Grande-Bretagne de ses envahisseurs. Une colonne avec une statue de l’amiral Horatio Nelson à son sommet se trouve au centre de la place, rendant hommage à l’homme responsable de de cette victoire capitale. À la base de cette colonne, on peut voir les célèbres lions de Landseer, entourés de fontaines chantantes. En 2003, des travaux de rénovation enlevèrent les voies de circulation pour faire de l’espace pour un grand escalier, reliant la National Portrait Gallery à la place. Moteur du quartier, Trafalgar Square attire en permanence des touristes en chemin vers les galeries ainsi que des locaux passant par là.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
Madame Tussauds

Ce célèbre musée de cire, fondé par Madame Tussaud en 1835, est l’une des attractions touristiques les plus populaires de Londres, comme le démontrent les files d'attente. De dirigeants politiques internationaux à des personnalités du sport en passant par vos acteurs préférés, des statues de cire extrêmement ressemblantes de toutes les célébrités sont abritées dans ce musée emblématique. Prenez une photo avec la statue de cire de votre star préférée et admirez ses détails minutieux pendant votre visite du musée Madame Tussauds.

Londres, Royaume-Uni
Ajouter à la collection
0 101 126064-top-things-to-do-in-london
1 of
1 0
Laisser un commentaire :
300 Caractères restants

Soumettre
Collections similaries
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Marqué

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Washington DC
35 Marqué

Exploring Washington DC

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
35 1 0 9
26064

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Top Things To Do in London

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
26064

In this timeless city built on historical grandeur, world-class fashion and theater, music and clubbing, and a stunning, eclectic array of bars and restaurants draw tourists from all over the world. London is classic yet modern, dynamic, and always fascinating.


The British Museum

The British Museum is one of London's top tourist attractions, as well as a major scholarly resource. Its collection was bequeathed to the nation in 1753, and the museum's distinctive Greek Revival structure was constructed during the 19th Century. The collection expanded massively during the heyday of the British Empire, leading to the museum's reputation for acquiring from sources all over the globe, leaving it with over 8 million objects. The displays cover about 5.5 hectares (14 acres) making it impossible to see everything in one visit. The famous Rosetta Stone, Assyrian Reliefs, Parthenon Marbles and the vast Egyptian collection are a few of the British Museum's most well-known exhibits.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
London Eye

Known as both the London Eye or the Millennium Wheel, this huge 137-meter (450-foot) Ferris wheel on the South Bank gives a fabulous bird's eye view of London. The spectacular views from the top stretch as far as 40 kilometers (25 miles) in every direction on a clear day to include views of Windsor. Its inception at the turn of the 21st Century conferred upon it the title of 'the Millennium Wheel', symbolic of the progress made thus far and the promise of a glorious future. The London Eye has since come to be an icon of the city skyline, renowned as the world's tallest cantilevered observation wheel and one of the city's highest observation points. Each of the glass-encased pods of the London Eye can transport up to 25 passengers around its 120-meter(394-foot) diameter at a leisurely pace, a circuit that takes close to 30 minutes to complete. For the duration of the ride, the city and its many attractions lie sprawled all around for a glimpse of London's girth in a single sweep.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Tower Bridge

Designed by Sir Horace Jones and opened in 1894, Tower Bridge is one of London's most recognizable landmarks. This famous monument is built on the River Thames and overlooks the iconic Tower of London. Due to the volume of river traffic in the 19th Century, the Tower Bridge was designed to have twin bascules that could be raised. One of the most fascinating features of the bridge is the Victorian-era engine room that houses the coal-powered motors used to raise the bridge lifts. The two towers, the North Tower and South Tower, are open to visitors. There is a glass-covered enclosed walkway that runs between the two that offers a bird's-eye view of vibrant city life.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Tower of London

900 years of history is enshrined within the thick, turreted walls of the Tower of London. Originally built as a stronghold by William the Conqueror in 1066, the Tower of London was expanded over the years by various monarchs. Its most distinctive feature is also its oldest, the White Tower which dates back to 1078 by William the Conqueror as a symbol of the Norman supremacy. Although variously used as a royal residence, armory and mint, the Tower of London is best known for its stint as a prison and the site of numerous executions, most notably of Anne Boleyn and Catherine Howard. Elizabeth I, Sir Walter Raleigh and Prince Edward V are a few of the other famous personalities who were imprisoned here. Stories of treason, conspiracy and espionage are rife amid these historic walls, with countless secrets just waiting to be uncovered. Another curious feature is the ravens here, that are said to safeguard the British Crown. Today, the Tower of London is a museum and the home of the fabulous Crown Jewels. Tours of the castle are led by the Yeomen Warders, also famously dubbed as the Beefeaters.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Westminster Abbey

To the west of the Palace of Westminster, this superbly striking piece of Early English Gothic architecture enthralls one and all with its 700-year-old history and its immediate association with British Royalty. First built by King Edward the Confessor between 1042 and 1052 as St Peter's Abbey, the church was meant to serve as a royal burial site for himself and all regal heirs that followed. Quickly, this originally Romanesque church also became the site where coronations and royal weddings took place, thus going on to become one of the most significant religious buildings for British monarchs. While the abbey held the status of a cathedral for several years in the 16th Century, it was soon designated the title of a 'royal peculiar' or a church that is directly governed by the crown, in the later years. The abbey, with its majestic ivory turrets that aim for the sky, dramatic buttresses that line the southern facade and the Norman-style nave that sits between the two towers stands as one of London's most astonishing royal landmarks today.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Hyde Park

One of Central London's most iconic green spaces, every blade of grass at Hyde Park is drenched in history dating back to the early 1600s. Laden with a myriad of historic spots, the park's prime attractions include the symbolic Speakers' Corner, the restful Serpentine Lido swimming area, and the famous Serpentine Gallery. It is also bedecked by stunning sights such as the Isis statue and the Diana Fountain. Nature lovers can head toward Hyde's southern frontier to find themselves in the midst of blissful Rose Gardens. A fantastic place to spend the day, Hyde Park is a must-visit during a sojourn in London.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Elizabeth Tower

Referring both to the famous tower that forms the north end of the Palace of Westminster, as well as the iconic clock built into its face, the Elizabeth Tower or Big Ben as it is popularly referred to, is deemed as one of the most prolific timekeeping devices of the 19th Century. This hugely exalted monument was constructed when the old Palace of Westminster was ravaged by a fire in 1834, sparking the need for a newer structure. It was then that English architect Augustus Pugin's spectacular design for the tower found fruition, an imposing Gothic Revival structure that would go on to become one of the most striking icons of the British empire. Towering over 315 feet (96 meters), the Big Ben is a brilliant blend of sand-colored Anston limestone that dominates its lower half and a cast-iron spire that pierces the city's ashen skies. Its impressive timekeeping mechanism weighs in at over 5 tons, and the pendulum, which beats once every two seconds, weighs 203 kilograms (447.53 pounds). While this imposing structure can be admired from a distance by overseas visitors, only residents are privy to the internal depths of the tower.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Buckingham Palace

The grand and stately Buckingham Palace has been the official London residence of the British monarch since 1837. Although the origins of the palace go back to the 18th Century when the Duke of Buckingham built his townhouse at the site, the palace as it stands today is principally the work of architects John Nash and Edward Blore. The palace holds 775 rooms, lavishly decorated with Sevres Porcelain and fine art by the likes of Rembrandt, Vermeer and Van Dyck. From the cream and gold palette of the Belle Epoque to the intricacies of the Chinese Regency, each room is a showcase of extravagant yet tasteful interior design. The Grand Staircase is perhaps one of the world's finest examples of bronze casting, illuminated by an etched glass dome and the focal point of the palace, while the forecourt is the setting for one of London's most popular tourist events - the Changing of the Guard. The Royal Mews and the Queen's Gallery are other popular features of this royal residence that are also open to visitors. All of this is surrounded by manicured lawns and lush gardens alive with myriad blooms in summer, painting a picture of grandeur befitting Britain's royal family.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Trafalgar Square

Trafalgar Square embraces the past and the present of the city in a single sweep, forming the vibrant core of Westminster. The public square hosts a lively milieu of events throughout the year and features the magnificent National Gallery and National Portrait Gallery along its hem. Trafalgar Square was named thus to commemorate the Battle of Trafalgar of 1805, an event that marks the fall of the French naval fleet, securing Britain from invasion. A column with a statue of Admiral Horatio Nelson at the summit is the centerpiece of the square, honoring the man responsible for this momentous victory. At the base of the column is the renowned Landseer Lions, flanked by babbling fountains. Renovations in 2003 removed traffic lanes to make room for a sizable staircase, connecting the National Portrait Gallery to the square. A beating heart of the neighborhood, Trafalgar Square is forever bustling with tourists making their way to the galleries and locals passing through.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Madame Tussauds London

The famous Madame Tussauds wax museum, started by Madame Tussaud in 1835, is one of the most popular tourist attractions in London and is abuzz with tourists from across the globe. From global political leaders and sports personalities to your favorite film and television personalities, extremely lookalike wax statues of all the celebrities can be found inside this iconic museum. Get your pictures clicked with wax statue of your favorite celebrity and admire the minute detailing of the same while at Madame Tussauds.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
0 101 126064-top-things-to-do-in-london
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
35 1 0 9
26064