Recherche mondiale

Définissez votre emplacement
Rejoindre
Se Déconnecter
user image
Mon profil
Se déconnecter
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Top Things To Do in Jaipur

Par: Cityseeker
Modifier la collection
Télécharger le PDF
26141

Popularly known as the Pink City, Jaipur is the land of palaces, opulent architecture and rich cultural heritage. It welcomes everyone to come and explore the centuries of history, the marvelous havelis, lush gardens, and the by-lanes of the city bazaars. Introduce yourself to culinary treats, folk tunes and dances, camel rides, and elephant safaris and admire the seamless blend of past grandeur and present urbanity. In Jaipur, hospitality is not just an industry but a way of life.


City Palace

Le City Palace a été construit environ à la même époque que la ville de Jaipur elle-même. Le palais original fut bâti par Sawai Jai Singh II, et au fil des ans, ses successeurs y ont apporté de nombreuses modifications. Recouvert de grès rose, cette résidence royale est l’une des attractions les plus visitées de la ville, un véritable régal pour les voyageurs et une grande fierté pour les locaux. Le City Palace est un complexe qui abrite le Mubarak Mahal, le Diwan-i-Am (ou salle des audiences), le Sihel Khana, le Chandra Mahal et le temple Govind Dev Ji. Même aujourd’hui, une partie de ce complexe est habitée par des descendants de la famille royale, mais l’entrée à cette section est restreinte. Le reste du complexe a été converti en musées, en galeries ou en boutiques. De nos jours, la galerie expose des tableaux, de la poterie et diverses formes d’art qui peuvent même être achetées. Le Diwan-i-Khas abrite toujours l’immense navire en argent qui figure dans le livre Guinness des records. Le Buggy Khana, le Shiel Khana (ou salle des armes) ainsi que le Sabha Niwas abritent toujours des traces de la glorieuse ère révolue des Rajputs.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
Jawahar Kala Kendra

Centre culturel le plus important de Jaipur, le Jawahar Kala Kendra (JKK) rend hommage à la culture locale. Ses travaux de construction commencèrent en 1986, mais il ne fut achevé qu’en 1991 et connaît depuis un immense succès. Le JKK abrite une merveilleuse bibliothèque, un café confortable et une petite installation d’hébergement. Il expose les œuvres d’artistes célèbres et accueille des pièces de théâtre de haut profil. Si vous pensiez que tout cela était impressionnant, il y en a encore plus pour vous ravir, puisque le JKK présente également des artéfacts traditionnels du Rajasthan visant à garder vivante l’âme de Jaipur. Cet endroit est vraiment incontournable alors assurez-vous de l’inclure dans votre itinéraire.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
Musée Anokhi de l'impression manuelle

Le Musée Anokhi de l'impression manuelle est un musée véritablement unique en son genre qui présente des tissus imprimés au tampon qui reflètent la forme artistique typique du Rajasthan. Les tissus exposés sont ornés de magnifiques motifs et d’impressions exquises qui ravissent tous les visiteurs. L’art de l’impression manuelle et au tampon y est exploré de manière complète par des artistes indiens traditionnels. Le musée est fermé du mai jusqu’au 15 juillet pour des travaux de maintenance. La prochaine fois que vous visiterez Jaipur, assurez-vous de faire une halte dans cet unique haveli (palais) restauré qui abrite des spécimens rares et intéressants.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
Musée Albert Hall

S’il existait un « concours du joyau de la couronne » à Jaipur, le musée Albert Hall le remporterait haut la main. Ce musée reflète encore ses influences britanniques en termes d’architecture, qui d’ailleurs constitue un cas rare dans cette ville regorgeant de sites de style Rajputana. Bâti à la fin du XIXe siècle pour souhaiter la bienvenue à l’ancien prince de Galles, Albert Edward, il fut en fait envisagé comme un hôtel de ville mais converti en musée par maharaja Madho Singh II. Cependant, on peut aujourd’hui y admirer une diversité d’expositions allant de poteries à des sculptures, en passant par des instruments de musique, des armes ou encore des manuscrits. Vous y trouverez aussi une momie égyptienne au rez-de-chaussée. Les expositions, mais également les peintures qui ornent les murs de l’entrée, la fontaine miniature dans la véranda principale et les travaux de marbre délicats, reflètent une élégance de l’ancien monde sans pareil. Avec autant d’histoire derrière chacun des objets soigneusement sélectionnés, il est conseillé de faire appel à un guide pour visiter ce musée, ou peut-être d’opter pour un guide audio, disponible à la billetterie dans plus de cinq langues.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
Fort Jaigarh

Le fort Jaigarh fut construit plus en tant que mesure protectrice que palais, contrairement au fort d’Amber qui se distingue clairement par son extravagance. Bâti au sommet d’une colline, le fort Jaigarh s’étend sur 12 kilomètres et sert de forteresse impénétrable protégeant à la fois le fort et le village d’Amber. À l’époque, il servait de fonderie de canons, et bien qu’il fût conçu pour être principalement défensif, son palais ornementé est également magnifique. Ses cuves souterraines fascinent les visiteurs, mettant en relief la nature ingénieuse de ses architectes avant-gardistes. Cependant, le Jaivana, un canon monté sur quatre roues, demeure l’élément le plus important du fort Jaigarh. Avec ses 6,15 mètres de longueur, un baril magnifiquement gravé et une portée de plus de 32 kilomètres, cette arme monstrueuse serait la plus grande de son genre au monde.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
Fort Nahargarh

Nahargarh signifie à peu près « maison des lions », et ce fort fait partie d’un trio aux côtés des forts d’Amber et Jaigarh. Comme les autres, ce fort a son lot de mythes et théories. Par exemple, son nom viendrait du fait que pendant sa construction, un prince nommé Nahar Singh hanta le site. Mais à part cela, l’histoire de Nahargarh va de l’ère rajpute à britannique. Le maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II ordonna sa construction aux alentours de 1734, puis il fut par la suite agrandi en ajoutant des chambres pour chacune des plusieurs épouses du roi. Le palais principal (Madhavendra Bhawan) arbore des fresques et peintures délicates sur ses murs, créés avec des teintes végétales. De nos jours, la majeure partie du fort fait l’objet de travaux de restauration, mais il est néanmoins possible de s’y rendre pour profiter des vues imprenables sur la « ville rose » en contrebas.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
Fort d'Amber

Les fondations du fort d’Amber furent posée par le raja Man Singh I en 1592, avant qu’il ne soit agrandi par les générations successives de Kachwahas au cours d’une période de 150 ans. Bordé par les montagnes Aravalli et surplombé par le fort Jaigarh, cette forteresse rajpute règne sur la ville historique d’Amber avec le vaste lac Maota à sa base. À l’intérieur, le fort est divisé en quatre sections individuelles, chacune avec sa propre cour et ses somptueuses enclaves. Du temple Shilla au Sheesh Mahal, ce fort ne pourrait être plus monumental. Que l’on s’attarde sur les peintures et les travaux en verre de Belgique, les fresques sublimes ou encore les incrustations traditionnelles et les travaux de reliefs qui ornent ce palais opulent, le fort d’Amber est un joyau monumental d’art historique et d’architecture en grès et en marbre, une résidence digne des rois rajputs et de leur famille. La totalité du fort est doté de rampes, qui servaient autrefois à pousser de petites voiturettes utilisées par les reines pour se déplacer, car elles avaient des difficultés à marcher avec leurs vêtements et bijoux lourds.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
Palais des vents (Hawa Mahal)

Le Hawa Mahal, ou « palais des vents » comme on l’appelle également, constitue la pierre angulaire de l’architecture de Jaipur depuis des siècles. Imaginé par le maharaja Sawai Pratap Singh, le Hawa Mahal fut construit en 1799 pour permettre aux femmes protégées des familles royales d’avoir un aperçu de la vie effervescente de la ville sans avoir à défier le système purdah alors prévalent. Ses 953 « jharokas », ou fenêtres grillagées en grès créent une façade unique ressemblant à un nid d’abeilles. Sa structure pyramidale unique fut ajoutée par la suite au complexe original du City Palace. Comportant cinq étages, le Hawa Mahal, comme tous les autres palais, renferme une cour Jaleb Chowk, comme on l’appelait à l’époque. Vestige ornementé de l’architecture rajpute, le Hawa Mahal relate des histoires fascinantes du passé aristocratique de la ville.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
Temple Galta Ji

Loin du centre-ville, l’historique temple Galta Ji fut par le passé frappé par des inondations. Il y a plusieurs siècles, un ascète nommé Galav médita pendant plus de cent ans afin d’apaiser les dieux et les déesses, qui le bénirent ainsi que les fervents locaux d’un printemps naturel éternel dans cette région. Au XVIIIe siècle, ce temple fut construit en hommage aux efforts altruistes de ce saint. Galta Ji abrite en fait de nombreux temples. Avec leurs extérieurs en grès rose et leur architecture envoûtante, il est facile de confondre ces temples pour des palais. Situé au sommet d’une colline, ce complexe dédié au dieu du soleil est considéré comme le plus sacré de tous les sanctuaires. Lors des occasions propices, les disciples se lavent dans les sources naturelles sacrées et offrent des prières à Dieu. Les vibrations positives des hymnes dévotionnels et les vues imprenables sur la ville contribuent à la tranquillité de cet espace sacré.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
Jantar Mantar

Le Jantar Mantar est une fantastique collection d’instruments astronomiques planifiée par le souverain visionnaire de Jaipur, le maharaja Jai Singh II. Suite à la construction réussie du Jantar Mantar à Delhi, le maharaja fit bâtir le même à Jaipur, qui est également le plus grand observatoire de l’Inde. En 1901, les appareils furent restaurés avec du marbre blanc et du grès rouge pour une meilleure clarté de la mesure du temps. Jantar et Mantar signifient respectivement « instrument » et « calcul ». Le site de Jaipur abrite 16 instruments géométriques qui mesurent le temps à travers différentes dimensions comme la latitude, la longitude, la position du soleil, l’inclinaison de la planète et la déclinaison. Vous pourrez y admirer de petits cadrans solaires, des compas, le Jai Prakash Yantra (instrument), le Nadivalaya (hémisphères Nord et Sud), le Yantra Raj, le Rashi Valaya Yantra (signes solaires), ou encore le Rama Yantra, le Digmasa Yantra et le Chakra Yantra, qui mesurent tous le temps avec précision. Le plus grand du monde, ce cadran solaire de 44 mètres de hauteur constitue la plus grande attraction du Jantar Mantar. Pour le visiter, il est fortement recommandé de réserver un guide qui vous fournira des informations détaillées sur le centre. Lieu incontournable pour les historiens, les scientifiques, les artistes et les mathématiciens, le Jantar Mantar est également un endroit extrêmement éducatif et inspirant pour les personnes de tous horizons.

Jaipur, Inde
Ajouter à la collection
0 101 126141-top-things-to-do-in-jaipur
1 of
1 0
Laisser un commentaire :
300 Caractères restants

Soumettre
Collections similaries
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Marqué

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Washington DC
35 Marqué

Exploring Washington DC

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
35 1 0 9
26141

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Top Things To Do in Jaipur

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
26141

Popularly known as the Pink City, Jaipur is the land of palaces, opulent architecture and rich cultural heritage. It welcomes everyone to come and explore the centuries of history, the marvelous havelis, lush gardens, and the by-lanes of the city bazaars. Introduce yourself to culinary treats, folk tunes and dances, camel rides, and elephant safaris and admire the seamless blend of past grandeur and present urbanity. In Jaipur, hospitality is not just an industry but a way of life.


City Palace

The City Palace came into existence pretty much around the same time as the city of Jaipur itself. The original palace was built by Sawai Jai Singh II, and over the years his successors brought about numerous additions to it. Clad in pink sandstone, the royal abode is one the city's most visited attractions; it's a treat for the travellers and pride of the locals. City Palace is more of a complex consisting of the Mubarak Mahal, Diwan-i-aam or hall of the audience, Sihel Khana, Chandra Mahal and Govind Dev Ji Temple. Even today a part of this complex is inhabited by descendants of the royal family, however entry to those section is restricted. The rest has been converted into museums, galleries, or shops. Today, the gallery displays paintings, pottery and various such art forms that can even be bought. Diwan-i-Khas still has on display, the humongous silver vessel that has found its way to the Guinness Records. The Buggy Khana, Shiel Khana or the house of weapons and Sabha Niwas still have traces of the glorious bygone Rajput era.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
Jawahar Kala Kendra

Jaipur's most prominent cultural centre, Jawahar Kala Kendra (JKK), pays tribute to the local culture. Although the construction began in 1986, the centre was completed in 1991 and has been a huge success ever since. The premises also houses a wonderful library, a cosy cafe and a small accommodation facility. The Center displays the works of famous artists and plays host to high profile dramas. If you thought all that was impressive, there's more to delight you! JKK also displays traditional Rajasthani artifacts to keep the soul of Jaipur alive. This place should definitely feature in your itinerary.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
Anokhi Museum of Hand Printing

Anokhi Museum of Hand Printing is one of its kind museum that showcases block painted textiles that reflects the Rajasthani art-form. The fabrics on display come with exquisite designs, patterns and prints that will appeal to every visitor alike. The art of hand-printing and block painting is explored fully by traditional Indian artists here. The museum remains closed from May to July 15th for maintenance purposes. So, the next time you visit Jaipur, make sure to drop by this unique restored haveli or palace that houses some rare and interesting pieces.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
Albert Hall Museum

If at all there was a ‘Jewel in the crown’ contest, as far as Jaipur is concerned, the Albert Hall would run away with all the honors. This hall still manifests British influences in terms of architecture, which incidentally, is a rare occurrence in a city replete with Rajputana designs. Built-in the late nineteenth century to welcome the erstwhile Prince of Wales, Albert Edward, it was actually envisaged as a town hall but was converted into a museum by Maharaja Sawai Madho Singh II. Today, however, one can be audience to a mixed bag of exhibits that range from pottery, sculptures, musical instruments, weapons and scriptures. Look out for the Egyptian mummy that is on display on the ground floor. Not only the exhibitions but even the paintings adorning the walls of the entrance, the miniature fountain in the main veranda and the delicate marble work, speak of class and elegance that by far remains unmatched for its old-world elegance. With so much of history behind each carefully picked exhibit, it is best advised to get a guide to take you around, or perhaps opt for an audio guide that is available at the ticket counter in more than five different languages.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
Jaigarh Fort

Jaigarh Fort was constructed more as a protective measure than as a palace, unlike the Amer fort that has extravagance written all over it. Built atop a hill, Jaigarh fort stretches for 12 kilometres (seven miles) and serves as an impenetrable fortress protecting both, the Amer Fort and Amer Village. Back in the day, it served as a cannon foundry. Though defense was its main purpose, the fort wins one over with its ornate palace complexes too. It further fascinates onlookers with its underground tanks that delineate the ingenious nature of the fort's foresighted architects. However, Jaivan, the wheel-enabled canon continues to be the most important feature of the Jaigarh Fort. With its 6.15 meter (20 feet)-long, ornately-carved barrel and a range of more than 32 kilometers (20 miles), this behemoth of a weapon is believed to be the largest of its kind in the world.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
Nahargarh Fort

Nahargarh roughly means “Home of Lions”, and this fort is a part of the trio along with Amer Fort and Jaigarh Fort. Like the others, this one too has its share of myths and theories, for example, it is believed that the fort got its name from the fact that during its construction, a prince named Nahar Singh haunted the construction site. But other than that, Nahargarh has a history that ranges from the Rajput to the British era. Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II had ordered for the construction of the fort somewhere in 1734 A.D. and subsequently got it extended to accommodate rooms for each of the king’s several wives. The main palace; the Madhavendra Bhawan, flaunts some delicately designed frescoes and paintings on the walls for which vegetable dye was put to use. Today most of the fort is undergoing restoration work, but one can still come up here for a glimpse of the breathtaking views of the “Pink City” below.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
Amer Fort

Foundations of the Amer Fort were laid by Raja Man Singh I in 1592, and expanded by successive generations of the Kachwahas over a span of 150 years. Flanked by the Aravali mountains and overlooked by Jaigarh Fort, this Rajput fortress reigns over the historic town of Amer with the Maota Lake sprawled at its feet. Inside, the fort is split into four individual areas, each with its own courtyard and palatial enclaves. Right from the Shilla Temple to the Sheesh Mahal, this fort is as monumental as it can get. Be it the paintings and glass work from Belgium, the vivid frescoes, or the traditional inlay and relief work that adorns the opulent palace, Amer Fort is a monumental jewel of historic art and architecture hewn from sandstone and marble; a fitting abode for the Rajput Kings and their household. The entire fort is equipped with ramps, which at one point of time were helpful in pushing around small buggies, used by the queens to get around as their heavy clothes and jewelry made it difficult to walk.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
Hawa Mahal

Hawa Mahal or “Palace of Winds” as it is also called, has been a cornerstone of Jaipur's architecture for centuries. Maharaja Sawai Pratap Singh’s brainchild, Hawa Mahal was built in 1799 to allow the protected womenfolk of the royal families to catch a glimpse of the bustling city life without having to defy the then-prevalent pardah system. The total of 953 “Jharokas” or screened windows made of sandstone make for a unique honeycomb-like facade of the Mahal. The unique pyramid-like structure was a later addition to the original City Palace Complex. Standing five stories tall, Hawa Mahal, like any other palace is complete with a courtyard or Jaleb Chowk, as it was called back then. An ornate remnant of the Rajput Architecture, Hawa Mahal narrates fascinating tales of the city's aristocratic past.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
Galtaji Temple

Far away from the city centre, lies the historic Galtaji Temple which was a drought-stricken place in the past. Centuries ago an ascetic named Galav meditated for more than a hundred years to appease the Gods and Goddesses, who then blessed him and the fervent locals with a perennial natural spring in this region. In the 18th Century, this temple was built in honour of the selfless effort of the saint. Galtaji has many temples within its premises. The pink sandstone exteriors and spellbinding architecture of these temples might easily be mistaken for palaces. Situated atop the hill, this temple dedicated to the Sun God, is considered the most sacred of all the shrines here. On auspicious occasions, devotees cleanse themselves in the holy natural springs and offer their prayers to God. Positive vibrations of devotional hymns and expansive views of the city, contribute to the tranquility of this sacred space.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
Jantar Mantar

Jantar Mantar is a fantastic collation of astronomical instruments planned by the visionary ruler of Jaipur, Maharaja Jai Singh II. After a successful construction of Jantar Mantar in Delhi, the Maharaja built the same in Jaipur, which also happens to be the largest observatory in India. In 1901, the devices were restored with white marble and red sandstone for better clarity in denoting time. Jantar and Mantar mean instrument and calculation respectively. The Jaipur location comprises of 16 geometric instruments that measure time across various dimensions including latitude, longitude, position of the sun, planet inclination and declination. Starting from the small sundials, compass, Jai Prakash Yantra (instrument), Nadivalaya (Northern and Southern hemispheres), Yantra Raj, Rashivalaya Yantra (Sun Signs instrument) and moving on to the Rama Yantra, Digmasa Yantra, Chakra Yantra, all of which record accurate time. This biggest sun dial in the world standing 44 meters tall is the highlight of this center. Here, it is best suggested to book a guide who will provide a detailed insight into the center. A great place of interest for historians, scientists, artists and mathematicians, Jantar Mantar is highly educating and awe-inspiring for people from all walks of life.

Jaipur, India
Add to Collection
0 101 126141-top-things-to-do-in-jaipur
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
26141