全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Prehistoric Sites in Scotland

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
26765

Prehistoric sites in Scotland are among the top attractions in the country. Visiting the vestiges of ancient settlements will help you learn more about our ancestors and the way they lived. This collection features some must-visit prehistoric sites in Scotland.


斯卡拉布雷

Skara Brae位于风景秀丽的Bay o'Skaill边缘,是联合国教科文组织世界文化遗产新石器时代奥克尼中心的几个令人惊叹的考古遗址之一。这个位于奥克尼西部大陆的新石器时代的村庄,对苏格兰偏远的祖先居住的实际情况提供了一个独特的见解。 1850年发现,当一个巨大的风暴吹走了表面的沙子以揭示下面村庄的遗迹时,Skara Brae是一个提供关于苏格兰祖先生活的丰富证据的地方。生动地描述了一个史前村庄的现实,古代的家园都配备了石头,梳妆台和座位,经受住了时间的冲击。

Stromness, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
Stenness的常设石头

一旦由12个巨石组成,Stenness站石现在包括在日食中放置的四块石头。这些石头位于Stenness湖的东南岸,被认为是连接Stenness石头和附近的Brodgar环的一排立石的一部分。据说这个地方曾经被称为月亮神殿。

Stenness, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
Gurness的Broch

在苏格兰有超过500个布罗赫,毫无疑问,古尔内斯的村庄是最令人印象深刻的之一。作为奥克尼丰富的考古遗产的证明,这个广场是铁器时代解决方案的典范,吸引了来自世界各地的考古学家和游客。凭借着辉煌的建筑和丰富的历史,周围的解决遗迹提供了古代皮克斯生活的一个奇妙的一瞥。从这里的景色非常漂亮,因为它靠近一个小海岸悬崖的边缘,它俯瞰着Eynhallow声音。

蘇格蘭高地, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣基尔达

圣基尔达是不列颠群岛中最偏僻的地区之一,位于北大西洋,离海岸约64公里(40英里)。这个地区具有重要的历史意义,因为它是一个可以追溯到几百年的孤立的社区。事实上,研究人员甚至在这个网站上发现了一些罕见的维京人墓葬。居住在这里的岛民组成了一个民主社区,主要生活在圣基尔达特有的海洋财富和动物群之中,其中包括异国情调的稀有鸟类,如ful鱼,大西洋海雀和甘尼特等等。大部分社区现在都走了,其中许多搬到澳大利亚,现在剩下的是建筑和结构,可以追溯到1830年代。自从发现以来,圣基尔丹人的奇妙生活激发了许多文学作品,包括迈克尔·鲍威尔的“世界的边缘”。由于其有趣的历史,独特的地理位置和独特的生物多样性,圣基尔达于1986年被列为联合国教科文组织世界遗产。

Hirta, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
Callanish的常设石头

1875年开始发掘的时候,这个岩层上覆盖着大约1.5米厚的泥炭层。花岗岩石碑,其中一些几乎高5米,主要排列在石圈中。其意义和目的,就像其他的石圈一样,是一个炒作的问题。在附近怀疑有20多块石头布局,其中一半以上已经被发现。有什么特别的是布局的完整性,我保存了卡拉尼什的所有13块石头。

Callanish, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 51 126765-prehistoric-sites-in-scotland
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
26765

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Prehistoric Sites in Scotland

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
26765

Prehistoric sites in Scotland are among the top attractions in the country. Visiting the vestiges of ancient settlements will help you learn more about our ancestors and the way they lived. This collection features some must-visit prehistoric sites in Scotland.


Skara Brae

Perched on the edge of the windswept Bay o' Skaill, Skara Brae is one of several stunning archaeological sites within the heart of Neolithic Orkney UNESCO World Heritage Site. This Neolithic village in Orkney’s west mainland provides a one-of-a-kind insight into how the remote ancestors of Scotland actually lived. Discovered in 1850 when a huge storm blew away the surface sand to reveal the remains of the village beneath, Skara Brae is the one site which provides rich evidence about the life of Scottish ancestors. A vivid telling of the realities of a prehistoric village, the ancient homes are fitted with stone beds, dressers and seats that have survived the onslaught of time.

Stromness, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Standing Stones of Stenness

Once made up of 12 megaliths, the Standing Stones of Stenness now comprises of four stones laid around in an eclipse. Located by the south-eastern shore of the Loch of Stenness, these stones are believed to a part of a line of standing stones linking the Stones of Stenness with the nearby Ring of Brodgar. Also it is said that the site was once known as the Temple of the Moon.

Stenness, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Broch of Gurness

There are over 500 brochs in Scotland and without a doubt the broch village at Gurness is one of the most impressive one. A testament to the rich archaeological heritage of Orkney, the broch is an excellent example of an Iron Age settlement that has attracted archaeologists and tourists from all over the world. With brilliant architecture and rich history, the remains of the settlement surrounding the broch offer a wonderful glimpse into ancient Pictish life. The view from here is exceptionally pretty as it’s close to the edge of a small shoreline cliff, it overlooks Eynhallow Sound.

Highlands & Islands, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
St Kilda

St Kilda is one of one of the most secluded regions of the British Isles, located in the North Atlantic Ocean, about 64 kilometers (40 miles) off the coast. The area is of great historic importance as it housed an isolated community that dates back to several hundred years. In fact, researchers have even found some rare Viking burials on this site. The islanders who lived here formed a democractic community, and a led life that was mainly supported by the marine wealth and fauna that are endemic to St Kilda, these include exotic and rare birds like fulmars, Atlantic puffins and gannet, to name a few. Most of that community is now gone, many of them moved to Australia, and what now remains are the buildings and structures that date back to 1830s. The marvelous lives of St Kildans has, since its discovery, inspired many literary works, including Michael Powell's The Edge of the World. Owing to its interesting history, unique location and distinctive biodiversity, St Kilda was inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1986.

Hirta, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Standing Stones of Callanish

When excavation began in 1875 the menhirs were covered by a roughly 1.5 m thick layer of peat. The granite steles, some of them almost 5 m high, are mainly arranged in stone circles. The significance and purpose is, as with other stone circles, a matter for speculation. About 20 stone layouts are suspected in the neighbourhood, more than half have already been found. What is special is the completeness of the layout: all 13 stones of Callanish I have been preserved.

Callanish, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
0 51 126765-prehistoric-sites-in-scotland
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Eateries Along Route 66
11 Bookmarked

Eateries Along Route 66

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
9 1 0 3
26765