Set Current Location
No trip to Belfast would be complete without a visit to Queen's. The building was designed by Charles Lanyon and completed in 1849. All three buildings share architectural similarities. Call the Queen's Visitor Centre to learn more about the institution and its history. You can buy an assortment of Queen's memorabilia here. As with many universities, the surrounding area is vibrant, with an emphasis as much on having a good time as serious, diligent, rigorous academic study.
The City Hall dominates the city's skyline from every angle. The building's remarkable interior contains a marble grand staircase crowned by a domed ceiling of intricate plasterwork. The Grand Staircase is lit by seven stained glass windows and the Grand Hall is also adorned with several stained-glass portraits of British sovereigns, rescued from bombing during the Second World War. Guided tours of the building and grounds are available all year round; each tour lasts approximately one hour.
The Elmwood Hall was once a Presbyterian Church built in 1872 by the enterprising architect John Corry. Inspired by Italian architecture, the church has an impressive towering spire that virtually dominates the city skyline. As of now, it functions as an entertainment venue after the alter, pulpit and stained glass windows were taken off. Despite renovations, the Elmwood Hall has still managed to retain its charm despite its new avatar.
This 19th-century sandstone, Gothic beauty was constructed on reclaimed, swampy land causing it to lean four feet. A memorial to Prince Albert, it was designed by noted Irish architect, W J Barre. Overlooking the River Lagan, Albert Memorial Clock Tower rises 113 feet (34.44 meters) in Queen's Square. Heavily decorated, it features heraldic lions, flying buttresses, floral elements, a clock and bell. A sculpture of the late Prince in the Most Noble Order of the Garter robes by SF Lynn adorns its western side. Due to its weak foundation, the tower started to lean even more, causing it to become unstable and almost topple over. After an extensive renovation to conserve and restore it in 2002, this historic landmark stands proudly albeit with a slight yet stable lean.
The Palm House inside the Botanic Gardens is a curvilinear cast-iron glasshouse which houses some of the exotic tropical plants of the Botanic Gardens. The shelter was founded in the year 1839 and was designed by Charles Lanyon, thus, making it the earliest example of its unique architecture style. The cool wing of the shelter showcases the flowers of Schizanthus, seasonal Chrysanthemums and Flame Nettles, whereas, the tropical wing is marked by a dome and houses taller exotic plants such as the Globe Spear Lily and jungle of Bromeliads and Frangipani.