Recherche mondiale

Définissez votre emplacement
Rejoindre
Se Déconnecter
user image
Mon profil
Se déconnecter
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Theaters in San Francisco

Par: Cityseeker
Modifier la collection
Télécharger le PDF
3203


Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall

Ce bijou cylindrique en murs de verre et rempli de miroirs accueille 2743 spectateurs et la sonorisation est impeccable. Si l'apparence minimaliste du Louise M. Davises Symphony Hall est un peu troublante, comparativement à l'apparence plus classique du reste du San Francisco War Memorial & du Performing Arts Center, ne vous en faites pas. Comme la symphonie elle-même, les 9000 tuyaux de l'orgue Ruffati qui émergent derrière le podium font sensation.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Herbst Theatre

Le Herbst Theatre fait partie de War Memorial & Performing Arts Center. Il est situé à 401 Van Ness Avenue, sur McAllister Street, non loin de l'Hôtel de Ville. Le théâtre accueille de nombreuses manifestations telles que des conférences-débats (animées par Ricky Jay et Dave Eggers), des concerts de rock (des grands noms comme Ryan Adams et Beirut). Vous y trouverez par ailleurs une salle de récital de 928 places dont les muraux sont peints par l'artiste de renom Frank Brangwyn lors de l'exposition internationale Panama-Pacific qui a eu lieu en 1915 à San Francisco.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Orpheum Theatre

En 1981, l'Orpheum Theatre ouvre ses portes sous une nouvelle gestion avec la comédie musicale hilarante The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas. Seize ans plus tard, une rénovation giganteste financée par des capitaux privés a lieu, révélant et ornant le magnifique théâtre devenu désormais synomyme de l'élégance à San Francisco. Des comédies musicales à succès se sont produites dans ce théâtre et continuent de perpetuer la tradition de divertissement, pour le grand plaisir du public.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Golden Gate Theatre

Acteur majeur des saisons "Best of Broadway" depuis 1979, le Golden Gate Theatre a accueilli de célèbres comédies musicales commeA Chorus Line, qui a inauguré la réouverture du théâtre le 27 décembre 1979. Puis se sont ensuivis Camelot avec Richard Burton, Sweeney Todd avec Angela Lansbury, My Fair Lady avec Rex Harrison, Bette Midler, et Liza Minnelli, Woman of the Year avec Lauren Bacall, 42nd Street, Cabaret, Zorba avec Anthony Quinn, et Fiddler on the Roof avec Topol, entre autres. Avec son passé prestigieux et compliqué, le Golden Gate Theatre a subi de nombreuses rénovations et utilisations et s'est érigé en une salle remplie de souvenirs liés au théâtre.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Victoria Theatre

Situé dans le quartier historique Mission District, le Victoria Theatre, ancienne salle de vaudeville, est une salle de 480 places considérée comme étant le plus vieux théâtre à San Francisco. Il est construit en 1908 et diffuse des films depuis de longues années, que ce soit des films locaux, films de festival ou même des concerts. La salle est équipée d'une impressionnante sonorisation de qualité Dolby et d'un écran vidéo de 35mm. De nombreux cinéastes ont utilisé cette salle dans leur tournage, faisant ainsi de Victoria Theatre un grand symbole. Des personnalités telles que Whoopie Goldberg, Bill Irwin, Donald O'Connor et Michael Moore ont été aperçus ici. Le théâtre peut être loué pour de spectacles vivants ou pour toute autre manifestation.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Roxie Theater

Le Roxie, construit longtemps avant l'époque des multiplexes est l'un des derniers cinémas indépendants de San Francisco. Il programme un répertoire excentrique de films, dont rêve tout cinéphile. L'on peut y regarder des films rares et fabuleux d'une qualité exceptionnelle, mais sans campagne publicitaire autour. Le documentairs controversé Kurt & Courtney y a été projeté au moment où aucun autre cinéma au pays ne l'aurait diffusé. Le Roxie Theatre a également accueilli de nombreux festivals de films. Inscrit comme organisation sans but lucratif depuis 2009, ce magnifique élément du patrimoine de San Francisco mérite qu'on y fasse un tour. Les programmations, les prix des billets, et les détails sur les programmes éducatifss, l'adhésion et les locations sont disponibles sur le site Internet du cinéma.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Curran Theatre

La série "Best of Broadway" de Curran Theatre accueille les meilleures productions de comédies musicales et pièces primés à Bay Area. Au fil des ans, les adhérents de Best of Broadway ont su apprécier tout, allant de Fences, la pièce lauréate du prix Tony, à la célèbre comédie musicaleLes Miserables. Curran Theatre, sans être une simple mémoire ou monument, reste ce qu'il est sensé être: un pan vivant de l'histoire et un lieu de divertissement à San Francisco.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
The SF Playhouse

La SF Playhouse célèbre son existence palpitante en tant que superbe théâtre, se dressant fièrement sur Union Square. C'est un endroit reconnu en tant que canal pour esprit créatifs et écrivains, acteurs, réalisateurs débutants ou confirmés Le public est subjuguée et adore chaque minute de ses programmations. L'amabilité avec laquelle la SF Playhouse traite ses participants et spectateurs est une qualité appréciable qui la place au-dessus de la mêlée.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Magic Theatre

Depuis 1967, ce théâtre présente des pièces innovatrices, audacieuses et culturellement diversifiées. Sam Shepard a été pendant longtemps l'auteur résident et la compagnie joue encore ses œuvres. L'espace théâtral est petit et bien conçu. Avec son atmosphère intime et informelle, il n'y a pas de mauvais emplacement. The Magic Theatre est l'endroit parfait pour découvrir d'excellents talents.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Palace of Fine Arts & Theatre

Construit en 1915 à l'occasion de l'Exposition internationale du Panama-Pacific, le Palace of Fine Arts & Theatre continue d'enchanter la ville. Le plâtre original, qui recouvrait l'extérieur du monument, a été progressivement remplacé grâce à une collecte de fonds organisée par les résidents de la Marina qui ne voulaient pas voir disparaître un tel joyau de leur paysage. Des cygnes nagent majestueusement dans le lagon jouxtant les colonnades ocre et le dôme imposant, orné de centaures et de guerriers. Entrez dans le dôme, frappez dans vos mains et écoutez l'étrange écho qui monte, puis savourez un pique-nique sur les bancs dispersés dans le parc pour profiter d'une vue incomparable de ce joyau architectural.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
The Balboa Theater

Le Balboa Theater est un cinéma de quartier qui a été divisé en deux. Chaque salle propose des films toujours intéressants, qu'il s'agisse de films d'auteur ou grand public. Vous y trouverez un café gastronomique et les programmations doubles sont des occasions à ne pas rater pour se rattraper sur les dernières nouveautés. Voté "Meilleur cinéma de quartier" par le SF Bay Guardian, le Balboa Theatre est un lieu incontournable à San Francisco. Pour la programmation, les prix des billets et d'autres informations, consultez le site Internet du cinéma.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
0 111 13203-best-theaters-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Laisser un commentaire :
300 Caractères restants

Soumettre
Collections similaries
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Marqué

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Washington DC
35 Marqué

Exploring Washington DC

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
35 1 0 9
3203

Global Search

Set Current Location

Select a Category

All

Accomodations

Restaurants & Cafes

Attractions

Nightlife

Shopping

Tours

Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Theaters in San Francisco

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
3203


Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall

This gleaming, mirror-walled, glass-enclosed cylinder seats 2,743 and the acoustics are phenomenal. If the minimalist look of the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall is somewhat disquieting, given the Beaux Arts look of the rest of the San Francisco War Memorial & Performing Arts Center, never mind. Like the symphony itself, the 9,000 pipes of the Ruffati organ that looms behind the stage makes quite a statement.

201 Van Ness Avenue, War Memorial & Performing Arts Center, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
Herbst Theatre

The Herbst Theatre is part of the War Memorial & Performing Arts Center located across the street from San Francisco's stunning City Hall. Herbst plays host to a plethora of cultural events ranging from lectures and discussions (by the likes of Ricky Jay and Dave Eggers) to full-on rock concerts (by such luminaries as Ryan Adams and Beirut). It features a 928-seat recital hall as well as murals painted by renowned artist Frank Brangwyn for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition of 1915 in San Francisco.

401 Van Ness Avenue, War Memorial Veterans Building, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94129
Orpheum Theatre

In 1981, the Orpheum Theatre opened under new management with the hilarious musical The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas. Sixteen years later, a massive and privately funded renovation took place at the Orpheum, unveiling an ornate and stunning theater that has become synonymous with elegance in San Francisco. Blockbuster musicals have been housed here, and continues with its tradition of entertaining and inspiring awe in its audiences.

1192 Market Street, Corner of Hyde and Market at 8th Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
Golden Gate Theatre

As a key player in the "Best of Broadway" seasons since 1979, the Golden Gate Theatre has hosted show-stopping musicals like A Chorus Line, which re-opened the theater on December 27, 1979. This was followed by Camelot with Richard Burton, Sweeney Todd with Angela Lansbury, My Fair Lady with Rex Harrison, Bette Midler, and Liza Minnelli, Woman of the Year with Lauren Bacall, 42nd Street, Cabaret, Zorba with Anthony Quinn, and Fiddler on the Roof with Topol, among many more. With its grand and complicated past, this theater has survived numerous renovations and uses and has emerged as a house full of theatrical memories.

1 Taylor Street, Corner of Taylor and Market at 6th Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
Victoria Theatre

Located in the historic Mission District, the Victoria Theater, a former vaudeville house, is a 480-seater place considered the oldest theater house in all of San Francisco. Built in 1908, this theater has been screening films for a long time right from locally made movies to film festivals and even concerts. Features include amazing Dolby quality sound and a 35mm video screen. Many international film-makers have used this venue while filming, making it an important landmark. Personalities like Whoopie Goldberg, Bill Irwin, Donald O'Connor and Micheal Moore have made appearances here. This venue can also be rented out for live stage productions and other events.

2961 16th Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94103
Roxie Theater

The Roxie, built long before the multiplex era, is one of San Francisco's last independent cinemas. It programs an eccentric repertory schedule that is a cinema goer's dream. It showcases some rarely seen but fabulous films that were quality-made with not a single marketing campaign in sight. It also booked the controversial documentary Kurt & Courtney when no other theater in the country would touch it. The Roxie also host a number of popular film festivals. A registered non-profit since 2009, this lovely piece of SF heritage is well worth seeking out. Check their website for show times, ticketing information, educational programs, membership details, rentals and more.

3117 16th Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94103
Curran Theatre

The Curran Theatre's "Best of Broadway" series brings the highest quality musical theater productions and award-winning plays to the Bay Area. Over the years, Best of Broadway subscribers have enjoyed everything from the Tony Award-winning play Fences, to the spectacular, historical musical Les Miserables. Not merely a memory or a monument, the Curran is still what it was intended to be: a living piece of history and enjoyment in San Francisco.

445 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
San Francisco Playhouse

The SF Playhouse celebrates its upbeat existence as a superb theater, standing proud at Union Square. The place is renowned as a channel for the creative instincts and skills of promising and established writers, actors and directors. The result leaves the audience spellbound, and they always love every minute of it. The amicability with which the SF Playhouse bonds with its participants and spectators is a commendable quality that makes this place stand a class apart.

450 Post Street, Suite 318, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
Magic Theatre

This theater has been staging challenging, innovative, culturally diverse, contemporary works since 1967. Sam Shepard was Playwright-In-Residence for many years and the company still stages his works. The theater space is small and well-conceived. With the intimate and informal atmosphere, there isn't a bad seat in the house. The Magic Theatre is a perfect place to catch some great talent.

2 Marina Boulevard, Fort Mason Center, Building D, 3rd Floor, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94123
Palace of Fine Arts

Constructed as a temporary attraction for the 1915 Pan-Pacific International Exhibition, Palace of Fine Arts continues to enchant the city. The original plaster, which made up the monument's exterior, has been gradually replaced, with funds raised by the Marina's residents who wanted to preserve a graceful part of their landscape. Swans in the adjoining lagoon glide by the soaring ocher-tinted colonnades and the imposing dome rigged with panels of centaurs and warriors. Stroll inside the dome and marvel at the uncanny acoustics, then enjoy a picnic lunch on one of the park benches to provide an unparalleled view of this gem.

3301 Lyon Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94123
The Balboa Theater

The Balboa Theater is a neighborhood theater that's been divided in two. Each theater shows films that are always interesting, whether art films or general releases. It offers gourmet coffee, and the double features are a deal if you want to catch up on classy recent releases. Voted "Best Neighborhood Theater" by the SF Bay Guardian, it is a true San Francisco staple. See website for showtimes, ticket pricing and more.

3630 Balboa Street, 37th Avenue, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94121
[["Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall","37.77731520","-122.41979100","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/213741-louise-m-davies-symphony-hall"],["Herbst Theatre","37.77972100","-122.42038600","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/320989-herbst-theatre"],["Orpheum Theatre","37.77888400","-122.41459020","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/319043-orpheum-theatre"],["Golden Gate Theatre","37.78250690","-122.41107920","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/319044-golden-gate-theatre"],["Victoria Theatre","37.76485900","-122.41886500","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/365663-victoria-theatre"],["Roxie Theater","37.76462160","-122.42240080","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/20585-roxie-theater"],["Curran Theatre","37.78708200","-122.41065800","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/319045-curran-theatre"],["San Francisco Playhouse","37.78830100","-122.40933800","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/370749-san-francisco-playhouse"],["Magic Theatre","37.80522270","-122.43373364","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/20653-magic-theatre"],["Palace of Fine Arts","37.80200800","-122.44860600","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/260780-palace-of-fine-arts"],["The Balboa Theater","37.77610000","-122.49809000","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/21455-the-balboa-theater"]]
0 111 13203-best-theaters-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
18 ways to explore San Diego
18 Bookmarked

18 ways to explore San Diego

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Bars in San Diego
7 Bookmarked

Best Bars in San Diego

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Breweries/Wineries/Distilleries in San Diego
1 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Best Burgers in San Diego
3 Bookmarked

Best Burgers in San Diego

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
3203