Globale Suche

Momentanen Aufenthaltsort festlegen
Beitreten
Abmelden
user image
Mein Profil
Abmelden

Best Theaters in San Francisco

von: Cityseeker
Collection bearbeiten
PDF runterladen
3203


Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall

Dieser schimmernde, spiegelbesetzte, gläserne Zylinder bietet Sitzplätze für 2.743 Personen mit phänomenaler Akustik. Auch wenn der minimalistische Stil der Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall im Kontrast zum restlichen San Francisco War Memorial & Performing Arts Center etwas beunruhigend wirkt, ist das schnell vergessen wenn man sie in Aktion erlebt. Wie die Symphonie selbst macht auch die Ruffati Orgel mit ihren 9.000 Pfeifen ein eindrucksvolles Statement.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Herbst Theatre

Das Herbst Theatre gehört zum War Memorial & Performing Arts Center gegenüber von San Franciscos beeindruckender City Hall. Herbst veranstaltet die verschiedensten Events von Vorlesungen und Diskussionen (mit Namen wie Ricky Jay und Dave Eggers) bis hin zu richtigen Rock Konzerten (wie von Ryan Adams und Beirut). Kernstück ist eine Saal mit 928 Sitzen und mehrere Wandmalereien, die Frank Brangwyn 1915 für die Panama-Pacific International Exposition in San Francisco verewigte.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Orpheum Theatre

1981 feierte das Orpheum Theatre seine Neueröffnung unter neuem Management mit dem urkomischen Musical The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas. Sechzehn Jahre später fand eine ausschweifende privatfinanzierte Renovierung im Orpheum statt, die dem Theater seinen eleganten Ruf in San Francisco verleihen konnte. Hier werden seither Blockbuster Musicals aufgeführt und vom Publikum mit voller Begeisterung empfangen.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Golden Gate Theatre

Das Golden Gate Theatre, welches seit 1979 eine Schlüsselrolle in der "Best of Broadway" Saison spielt, veranstaltet seit seiner Wiedereröffnung am 27. Dezember 1979 beeindruckende Musicals wie A Chorus Line. Darauf folgten Camelot mit Richard Burton, Sweeney Todd mit Angela Lansbury, My Fair Lady mit Rex Harrison, Bette Midler und Liza Minnelli, Woman of the Year mit Lauren Bacall, 42nd Street, Cabaret, Zorba mit Anthony Quinn und Fiddler on the Roof mit Topol und noch viel mehr. Das Theater mit seiner komplexen Vergangenheit und zahlreichen Renovierungen ist ein lebendiges Stück Theatergeschichte.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Victoria Theatre

Das Victoria Theater, ein ehemaliges Vaudeville House im historischen Bezirk Mission, gilt mit seinen 480-Sitzen als das älteste Kino San Franciscos. Das 1908 eröffnete Gebäude veranstaltet schon eine halbe Ewigkeit Vorführungen von regionalen Filmproduktionen, Filmfestivals und sogar Konzerte. Zu seinen Besonderheiten gehören atemberaubender Dolby Sound und eine 35mm Leinwand. Viele internationale Regisseure haben dieses Kino für ihre Werke genutzt, weshalb es ein wichtiges kulturelles Erbe hat. Hier sind bereits große Namen wie Whoopie Goldberg, Bill Irwin, Donald O'Connor und Micheal Moore aufgetreten. Dieser Veranstaltungsort kann auch für Live-Bühnenproduktionen und andere Events gemietet werden.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Roxie Theater

Das Roxie, welches weit vor der Ära der Multiplex-Kinos gebaut ist, gehört zu San Franciscos letzten verbleibenden unabhängigen Kinos. Sein vielseitiges Programm ist ein Traum für jeden Kino-Fan. Es präsentiert zahlreiche vergessene Filmschätze, die aufgrund fehlenden Marketings untergegangen sind. Außerdem wagt es sich an kontroverse Werke wie die Dokumentation Kurt & Courtney, das sich damals kein anderes Kino zu zeigen traute. Das Roxie veranstaltet außerdem zahlreiche beliebte Filmfestivals. Dieses kleine Stück Stadtgeschichte von San Francisco ist seit 2009 Non-Profit und absolut sehenswert. Auf der Website gibt es aktuelle Spielzeiten, Ticketinformationen, Bildungsprogramme, Mitgliederprogramme, Verleihinformationen und mehr.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Curran Theatre

Die "Best of Broadway" Serie im Curran Theatre bringt die besten Musicals, Theaterproduktionen und mit Auszeichnungen geschmückte Werke in die Bay Area. Im Laufe der Jahre konnten die Abonnenten der Best of Broadway Reihe alles von dem Tony Award prämierten Stück Fences bis hin zum spektakulären Historien-Musical Les Miserables genießen. Das Curran ist weitaus mehr als ein Monument, sondern steht immer noch für seine alten Werte als lebendes Stück Geschichte und Entertainment in San Francisco.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
The SF Playhouse

Das SF Playhouse feiert seine zelebrierte Existenz als hervorragendes Theater mitten auf dem Union Square. Dieser Ort ist dafür bekannt, dass hier regelmäßig Glanzleistungen aus Autoren, Schauspielern und Regisseuren herausgekitzelt werden. Das Ergebnis sind immer wieder zufriedene und hingerissene Zuschauer. Die freundschaftliche Aura, welche das SF Playhouse zwischen dem Publikum und den Darstellern erzeugt, lässt es als Klasse für sich hervorstehen.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Magic Theatre

Dieses Theater führt schon seit 1967, kulturell diverse und moderne Stücke vor. Sam Shepard war hier viele Jahre lang Bühnenautor, und das Theater führt seine Stücke noch heute vor. Der Theaterraum ist klein und gut ausgedacht, es gibt nur gute Sitzpläze. Die Atmosphäre ist intim und informell, der perfekte Platz um neues Schauspieltalent zu entdecken.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Palace of Fine Arts

Dieser griechische Tempel sollte ursprünglich nur vorübergehend, während der Pan-Pacific International Exhibition im Jahre 1915 hier stehen, aber bereichert und verschönert seither die Stadt. Der Originalverputz, das meistverwendete Material an diesem Monument, wurde im Laufe der Jahre nach und nach erneuert. Das Geld dafür kommt aus Spenden und Sammlungen der finanzstarken Einwohner von Marina, die dieses anmutige Gebilde nicht aus ihrer Umgebung verlieren wollen. Schwäne der benachbarten Lagune gleiten an den ockergelben Säulen vorbei, und die herrliche Kuppel mit Zentauren und Kriegern ist in einen Kampf um heiratsfähige Mädchen verstrickt. Die traurigen Mädchenfiguren auf den Spitzen der Säulen, die sich von den gierigen Blicken abwenden, begiessen mit ihren Tränen die schon lange verschwundenen Eichen unter ihnen. Die Akustik im Inneren der Kuppel ist erstaunlich; die verstreut stehenden Parkbänke bieten sich geradezu für eine Mittagspause an und geben einen herrlichen Blick auf die Anlage frei.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
The Balboa Theater

Das Balboa Theater ist ein zweigeteiltes Dorfkino. Beide Säle zeigen stets interessante Filme, von kleinen Kunstwerken bis hin zu großen Veröffentlichungen. Das Theater bietet Gourmet-Kaffee und veranstaltet Double Features für diejenigen, die aktuelle Filme nachholen möchten. Das laut SF Bay Guardian "Best Neighborhood Theater" ist ein kleines Wahrzeichen von San Francisco. Auf der Website stehen die aktuellen Spielzeiten, Ticketpreise und mehr.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
0 111 13203-best-theaters-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Kommentar hinterlassen :
300 Verbleibende Anschläge

Eingeben
Ähnliche Collections
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Vorgemerkt
Collection im Profil speichern
Along the German Alpine Road
30 Vorgemerkt

Along the German Alpine Road

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Vorgemerkt
Collection im Profil speichern
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Vorgemerkt

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
9 1 0 3
3203

Global Search

Set Current Location

Select a Category

All

Accomodations

Restaurants & Cafes

Attractions

Nightlife

Shopping

Tours

Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Theaters in San Francisco

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
3203


Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall

This gleaming, mirror-walled, glass-enclosed cylinder seats 2,743 and the acoustics are phenomenal. If the minimalist look of the Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall is somewhat disquieting, given the Beaux Arts look of the rest of the San Francisco War Memorial & Performing Arts Center, never mind. Like the symphony itself, the 9,000 pipes of the Ruffati organ that looms behind the stage makes quite a statement.

201 Van Ness Avenue, War Memorial & Performing Arts Center, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
Herbst Theatre

The Herbst Theatre is part of the War Memorial & Performing Arts Center located across the street from San Francisco's stunning City Hall. Herbst plays host to a plethora of cultural events ranging from lectures and discussions (by the likes of Ricky Jay and Dave Eggers) to full-on rock concerts (by such luminaries as Ryan Adams and Beirut). It features a 928-seat recital hall as well as murals painted by renowned artist Frank Brangwyn for the Panama-Pacific International Exposition of 1915 in San Francisco.

401 Van Ness Avenue, War Memorial Veterans Building, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94129
Orpheum Theatre

In 1981, the Orpheum Theatre opened under new management with the hilarious musical The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas. Sixteen years later, a massive and privately funded renovation took place at the Orpheum, unveiling an ornate and stunning theater that has become synonymous with elegance in San Francisco. Blockbuster musicals have been housed here, and continues with its tradition of entertaining and inspiring awe in its audiences.

1192 Market Street, Corner of Hyde and Market at 8th Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
Golden Gate Theatre

As a key player in the "Best of Broadway" seasons since 1979, the Golden Gate Theatre has hosted show-stopping musicals like A Chorus Line, which re-opened the theater on December 27, 1979. This was followed by Camelot with Richard Burton, Sweeney Todd with Angela Lansbury, My Fair Lady with Rex Harrison, Bette Midler, and Liza Minnelli, Woman of the Year with Lauren Bacall, 42nd Street, Cabaret, Zorba with Anthony Quinn, and Fiddler on the Roof with Topol, among many more. With its grand and complicated past, this theater has survived numerous renovations and uses and has emerged as a house full of theatrical memories.

1 Taylor Street, Corner of Taylor and Market at 6th Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
Victoria Theatre

Located in the historic Mission District, the Victoria Theater, a former vaudeville house, is a 480-seater place considered the oldest theater house in all of San Francisco. Built in 1908, this theater has been screening films for a long time right from locally made movies to film festivals and even concerts. Features include amazing Dolby quality sound and a 35mm video screen. Many international film-makers have used this venue while filming, making it an important landmark. Personalities like Whoopie Goldberg, Bill Irwin, Donald O'Connor and Micheal Moore have made appearances here. This venue can also be rented out for live stage productions and other events.

2961 16th Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94103
Roxie Theater

The Roxie, built long before the multiplex era, is one of San Francisco's last independent cinemas. It programs an eccentric repertory schedule that is a cinema goer's dream. It showcases some rarely seen but fabulous films that were quality-made with not a single marketing campaign in sight. It also booked the controversial documentary Kurt & Courtney when no other theater in the country would touch it. The Roxie also host a number of popular film festivals. A registered non-profit since 2009, this lovely piece of SF heritage is well worth seeking out. Check their website for show times, ticketing information, educational programs, membership details, rentals and more.

3117 16th Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94103
Curran Theatre

The Curran Theatre's "Best of Broadway" series brings the highest quality musical theater productions and award-winning plays to the Bay Area. Over the years, Best of Broadway subscribers have enjoyed everything from the Tony Award-winning play Fences, to the spectacular, historical musical Les Miserables. Not merely a memory or a monument, the Curran is still what it was intended to be: a living piece of history and enjoyment in San Francisco.

445 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
San Francisco Playhouse

The SF Playhouse celebrates its upbeat existence as a superb theater, standing proud at Union Square. The place is renowned as a channel for the creative instincts and skills of promising and established writers, actors and directors. The result leaves the audience spellbound, and they always love every minute of it. The amicability with which the SF Playhouse bonds with its participants and spectators is a commendable quality that makes this place stand a class apart.

450 Post Street, Suite 318, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94102
Magic Theatre

This theater has been staging challenging, innovative, culturally diverse, contemporary works since 1967. Sam Shepard was Playwright-In-Residence for many years and the company still stages his works. The theater space is small and well-conceived. With the intimate and informal atmosphere, there isn't a bad seat in the house. The Magic Theatre is a perfect place to catch some great talent.

2 Marina Boulevard, Fort Mason Center, Building D, 3rd Floor, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94123
Palace of Fine Arts

Constructed as a temporary attraction for the 1915 Pan-Pacific International Exhibition, Palace of Fine Arts continues to enchant the city. The original plaster, which made up the monument's exterior, has been gradually replaced, with funds raised by the Marina's residents who wanted to preserve a graceful part of their landscape. Swans in the adjoining lagoon glide by the soaring ocher-tinted colonnades and the imposing dome rigged with panels of centaurs and warriors. Stroll inside the dome and marvel at the uncanny acoustics, then enjoy a picnic lunch on one of the park benches to provide an unparalleled view of this gem.

3301 Lyon Street, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94123
The Balboa Theater

The Balboa Theater is a neighborhood theater that's been divided in two. Each theater shows films that are always interesting, whether art films or general releases. It offers gourmet coffee, and the double features are a deal if you want to catch up on classy recent releases. Voted "Best Neighborhood Theater" by the SF Bay Guardian, it is a true San Francisco staple. See website for showtimes, ticket pricing and more.

3630 Balboa Street, 37th Avenue, San Francisco, CA, United States, 94121
[["Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall","37.77731520","-122.41979100","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/213741-louise-m-davies-symphony-hall"],["Herbst Theatre","37.77972100","-122.42038600","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/320989-herbst-theatre"],["Orpheum Theatre","37.77888400","-122.41459020","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/319043-orpheum-theatre"],["Golden Gate Theatre","37.78250690","-122.41107920","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/319044-golden-gate-theatre"],["Victoria Theatre","37.76485900","-122.41886500","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/365663-victoria-theatre"],["Roxie Theater","37.76462160","-122.42240080","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/20585-roxie-theater"],["Curran Theatre","37.78708200","-122.41065800","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/319045-curran-theatre"],["San Francisco Playhouse","37.78830100","-122.40933800","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/370749-san-francisco-playhouse"],["Magic Theatre","37.80522270","-122.43373364","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/20653-magic-theatre"],["Palace of Fine Arts","37.80200800","-122.44860600","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/260780-palace-of-fine-arts"],["The Balboa Theater","37.77610000","-122.49809000","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/assets\/images\/google_markers\/dark_blue_circle.png","","","San Francisco, CA, United States","https:\/\/cityseeker.com\/san-francisco\/21455-the-balboa-theater"]]
0 111 13203-best-theaters-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
18 ways to explore San Diego
18 Bookmarked

18 ways to explore San Diego

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Bars in San Diego
7 Bookmarked

Best Bars in San Diego

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Breweries/Wineries/Distilleries in San Diego
1 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Best Burgers in San Diego
3 Bookmarked

Best Burgers in San Diego

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
3203