全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录

Best Religious Sites in San Francisco

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
3222


假定的圣玛丽大教堂

这个超现代的天主教教堂的内部是光滑的,备用的和非常亲密的,考虑到它可以让2400人坐在坛子周围的一个半圆上。假设的圣玛丽大教堂的中央穹顶上升15层空气,并被建筑内部四角的每一个角落所支撑。在他们之外的角落墙壁是地板到天花板的平板玻璃。这种效果使建筑物在某种程度上比其它所有的大众都感到轻松。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
多洛莉雪天主堂

北加州最北边塞拉神父建造修的大教堂。而这座修道院是旧金山最历史悠久的楼,可以追溯到1788年。走进去,里面有浓重的西班牙殖民下的旧金山的味道,屋梁上都绕着牛皮。墓地里既有贵族后裔的坟墓,也有美国原住民的坟墓。他们都是被征集去服务这个修道院的。博物馆里还展览艺术品和手抄稿。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣帕特里克教堂

这个罗马天主教堂建于1851年,是为了服务旧金山的爱尔兰社区。这个承诺反映在教堂的黄金,绿色和白色的装饰。请注意,例如,合唱团上方的绿色玫瑰窗。中殿两侧的立柱是从爱尔兰进口的康尼马拉绿色大理石。这座新哥特式教堂特别值得一看的是蒂芙尼的彩色玻璃窗在拱形天花板下明亮地照射着。还有展示案例,展示了1906年地震期间圣帕特里克广泛受损的照片。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
慈恩堂

这座在诺布山山顶的让人难忘的新哥特式建筑就建于1906年地震后的夸克尔大厦的遗址上。内部以彩色玻璃窗为主要特征,天蓝色、鲜红色和黄色为主色调。壁画更向我们讲述着旧金山的历史和刻画了旧金山守护神圣方济‧亚西西一生中的某些情景。大门上的镀金浮雕是根据基布尔提在佛罗伦斯圣若望洗礼堂天堂之门 的原始模板刻出来的。这里还有室内和室外的迷宫。室外的迷宫是由水磨石建成,而室内的迷宫则是由石灰石所建成。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣多米尼克的天主教会

圣多米尼克教堂(St Dominic's Church)建于1928年,位于加拿大西部附近。这座巨大的教堂的建筑具有法国和英国的多种影响。教堂最令人叹为观止的特色之一是36个彩色玻璃窗,高度达到30英尺。教堂的巡视通常在星期六提供,包括建筑,艺术和历史。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣母无染原罪瞻礼的圣玛丽老天主教大教堂

曾经,这个大教堂的尖顶是城市中最高的建筑物。这些天可能有比这个大教堂高的建筑物,但是没有一个提供如此丰富的历史。教堂的基础是在中国切割的花岗岩。圣母无原罪圣母玛利亚大教堂的外观由新英格兰制造的红砖组成,并带来了合恩角。里面,白色石膏保护区提供彩色玻璃,并展示典型的新哥特式建筑的罗纹拱门。照明保持低水平,沿着墙壁给予神殿,点缀着间接的斑点和奉献的蜡烛,一道飘逸的光芒。陈列柜收藏了圣玛丽丰富历史中的一系列图画,照片和文物,其中包括1906年地震和火灾造成的破坏的戏剧性照片。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
锡如何​​庙

到达旧金山最古老的华人庙宇(建于1852年),通过在唐人街中心爬三层陡峭而狭窄的楼梯,到达如何寺(Tin How Temple)。一旦到了那里,吸了一口气之后,你的呼吸很可能会再次被带走。这个小寺庙的西墙是一座精心雕刻的镀金的木板,上面是天堂的女神天堂。从天花板上悬挂着数以百计的灯笼,每个灯笼都带着想要带来长寿和幸福的人的名字(中文字)。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
佛的普世教会

五彩缤纷的壁画和瓷砖马赛克覆盖这座五层楼的建筑。佛教的普世教会是在1961年手工建造的。这座美丽的寺庙是旧金山佛教人群的崇拜中心。它的屋顶花园可以欣赏到城市的全景,而内部则是宁静可爱的,以传统的佛教图案装饰。除了二月和三月之外,教堂在本月的第二和第四个星期日对游客免费开放。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
Presidio教堂

Presidio教堂始建于1931年。主要是小教堂,主要活动是夫妻交换愿望。礼拜堂由不同信仰对话,合作,教育,友谊和服务的非盈利组织Presidio的宗教信仰中心运作。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣母大教堂

这个拜占庭风格的结构加冠了五个洋葱圆顶,每个覆盖24克拉的金叶。在阳光照射圣母大教堂的明亮一天,景色绝对令人眼花缭乱。在里面可以窥见一段时间。 1977年开始的内部装饰可以和1577年一样简单。通过香炉闪烁着更多的马赛克,这些描绘各种圣人的黄金,以及无处不在的圣像贵重金属。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 101 13222-best-religious-sites-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 1 0 5
3222

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Religious Sites in San Francisco

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
3222


Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption

The interior of this ultra-modern Catholic church is sleek, spare and remarkably intimate, considering that it seats 2400 people in a semi-circle around the altar. The central dome of Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption soars 15 stories into the air and is supported by buttresses that have been incorporated into each of the four corners of the building's interior. The corner walls beyond them are floor-to-ceiling plate glass. This effect gives the building the feeling of somehow being lighter than air for all its masses.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Mission San Francisco de Asis

Founded by Father Junipero Serra in 1779, Mission San Francisco de Asis, also known as Mission Dolores, is the oldest structure in San Francisco. The mission and the city that surrounds it was named after St. Francis of Assisi, the founder of the Franciscan Order. The Mission Dolores has gone through several repairs and renovations since its founding and the mission's original adobe structure still stands on-site, as well as a section of the original cemetery. The mission was the first location to be designated by the City of San Francisco as a protected historical landmark in 1968.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
St Patrick's Church

This Roman Catholic church, dated 1851, was founded to serve San Francisco's Irish community. That commitment is reflected in the church's gold, green and white decor. Note, for example, the green-tinted rose window over the choir. The columns on either side of the nave are Connemara green marble imported from Ireland itself. What makes this neo-Gothic church especially worth seeing are the Tiffany stained glass windows glowing brightly beneath the vaulted ceiling. There are also display cases with photographs of the extensive damage to St. Patrick's during the 1906 earthquake.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Grace Cathedral

This impressive structure crowning Nob Hill was built on the site of the Crocker Mansion after the 1906 earthquake and fire. One of the main attractions of the cathedral are the stained glass windows. These windows showcase over 1000 figures, with some of them dating back as far as the 1930s. The gilded bas-reliefs that adorn the doors of the main entrance are cast from Ghiberti's original molds for the Gates of Paradise that adorn the Baptistery in Florence. The cathedral also boasts two labyrinths. The outdoor one is made of Terrazzo stone and the indoor one from limestone.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
St. Dominic's Catholic Church

Located in the Western Addition neighborhood, St Dominic's Church was built in 1928. The architecture of this massive church features a variety of influences including both French and English. One of the most breath-taking features of the church are the 36 stained glass windows with some reaching 30 feet in height. Tours of the church are often available on Saturdays covering the architecture, art and history.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Old Catholic Cathedral Of St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception

At one time, the spire of this cathedral was the tallest structure in the city. There may be buildings taller than this cathedral these days, but none offers such a rich history. The church's foundation is granite that was cut in China. The exterior of the Old Catholic Cathedral Of St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception is composed of red bricks that were made in New England and brought around Cape Horn. Inside, the white plaster sanctuary offers stained glass and exhibits the ribbed-vault arches typical of neo-gothic architecture. The lighting is kept low, giving the shrines along the walls, lit with indirect spots and votive candles, an ethereal glow. Display cases house a collection of drawings, photographs, and artifacts from St. Mary's rich history, which includes dramatic photos of the devastation caused by the 1906 earthquake and fire.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Tin How Temple

You reach Tin How Temple, the oldest Chinese temple in San Francisco (founded 1852) by climbing three flights of steep and narrow stairs in the heart of Chinatown. Once there, after catching your breath, your breath may very well be taken away again. The west wall of this tiny temple is an expanse of intricately carved gilded wood housing the shrine to Tin How, the goddess of Heaven. From the ceiling hang hundreds of paper lanterns, each bearing the name (in Chinese characters) of the person for whom it is intended to bring long life and happiness.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Buddha's Universal Church

Colorful murals and tile mosaics cover this five-story building. Buddha's Universal Church was constructed by hand as an act of faith in 1961. This beautiful temple is a center of worship for San Francisco's Buddhist population. Its roof garden affords a panoramic view of the city while the interior is serenely lovely, decorated with traditional Buddhist motifs. The church is open, free of charge, to visitors on the second and fourth Sundays of the month excepting the months of February and March.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Presidio Chapel

The Presidio Chapel was constructed in 1931. Primarily a chapel, the main activity that takes place is couples exchanging their vows. The Chapel is operated by the Interfaith Center at the Presidio, a non-profit organization that is into interfaith dialog, collaborations, education, friendship and service.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Holy Virgin Cathedral

This imposing Byzantine-style structure is crowned with five onion domes, each covered in 24-karat gold leaf. On a bright day with the sunlight hitting the Holy Virgin Cathedral, the view is absolutely dazzling. Inside one gets a glimpse of a period back in time. The interior, consecrated in 1977, could just as easily date from 1577. Through the incense gleams the gold of more mosaics, these depicting various saints, and the precious metals of the icons that are everywhere.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
0 101 13222-best-religious-sites-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Bookmarked

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
19 1 0 5
3222