Globale Suche

Momentanen Aufenthaltsort festlegen
Beitreten
Abmelden
user image
Mein Profil
Abmelden
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Strangest Outdoor Activities in San Francisco

von: Cityseeker
Collection bearbeiten
PDF runterladen
3240


Beaver Street Wall

Diese riesige Felswand am Nordost-Ende vom Corona Heights Park ist ein beliebtes Ziel für Kletterer auf der Suche nach urbanen Abenteuern. Die Wand, welche ungefähr sieben Stockwerke hoch ist und aus roten, rosafarbenen und grauen Steinen besteht, wird von Freiwilligen Kletterern gepflegt, die sie mit passenden Routen und Sicherungen versehen. Vor kurzem wurden einige Bolzen entfernt um die Wand zu schützen, die neben ihrer Beliebtheit als Kletterwand auch als Harnisch, also eine aus Felsbruch entstandene Glattwand, eine geologische Eigenart darstellt.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Sea Lions at Pier 39

Schon seit dem Erdbeben im Jahr 1989 kommen wilde Seelöwen zum Pier 39 und seitdem wächst ihre Bevölkerung immer weiter. Jeden Winter nimmt ihre Anzahl dank reichlich verfügbarer Fläche und Nahrung um beinahe 900 Tiere zu. Obwohl manche Seelöwen saisonbedingt migrieren, entscheiden sich manche dazu dauerhaft bei Pier 39 zu verweilen. Dort kann man mit seinen Kindern vorbeikommen, um kostenlosen Vorträgen des Marine Mammal Centers zu lauschen, welche an jedem Wochenende mit gutem Wetter angeboten werden. Diese bezaubernden Wildtiere können hier in einer familienfreundlichen Umgebung beobachtet werden.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Wave Organ

Diese von Wissenschaftlern des Exploratoriums gebaute Orgel im Jachthafen von San Francisco ist ein Kunstwerk für sich – und spielt tatsächlich Musik! Die Kraft dazu bezieht sie aus dem Meer: über Orgelpfeifen, die entlang des Hafens verlaufen und bis ins Wasser reichen. Legt man das Ohr dicht an eine der Pfeifen, kann man die Töne hören, die von den Wellen produziert werden. Eine einzigartige Möglichkeit, der Natur zu lauschen, und vielleicht der einzige Ort auf der Welt, wo man diese Möglichkeit hat.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
San Francisco Model Yacht Club

Der San Francisco Model Yacht Club liegt direkt im Golden Gate Park. Mit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1898 gehört er zu den ältesten noch aktiven Clubs des Landes. Es ist ein Vergnügen, diesen Mini-Booten beim Gleiten über das Wasser zuzusehen. Der Club verfügt über ein Clubhouse und den künstlichen See Spreckels Lake, auf dem Modelle sowohl mit als auch ohne Motorisierung gefahren werden können. Man sollte diesen Club bei einer seiner Regatten besuchen und ein Auge auf seine große Modellboot-Sammlung werfen.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Bison Paddock

Der Bison Paddock als Teil des großartigen Golden Gate Parks am John F. Kennedy Drive ist genau das, was der Name schon verrät; es handelt sich nämlich um eine großes Reservat für eine Bisonherde, wo Besucher diese großen Tiere bewundern können. Die Büffel sind bereits seit 1982 in diesem Park beheimatet, weil die Stadt vor Gründung des Zoos ihre seltenen Tiere im Golden Gate Park beherbergte.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Ingleside Terraces Sundial

The Ingleside Terraces Sundial is one of the most unique spots to visit in San Francisco. This sundial was greeted by 1500 people when it was inaugurated on 10th October, 1913. The 28 foot monument is created out of marble and concrete. There are also many events hosted at the Ingleside Terraces park with the sundial taking the center. The attractive architecture sure invites many tourists as well as locals for its magnificent sight.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Sutro Baths

Die Sutro Baths wurden im späten 19. Jahrhundert gebaut. Diese Einrichtung war eine große Poolanlage im Privatbesitz von Adolp Sutro, einem ehemaligen Bürgermeister San Franciscos. Sie hatte sieben verschiedene Pools, darunter sechs mit Salzwasser und einer mit Süßwasser mit unterschiedlichen Temperaturen. Unter dem Küstenhaus wurde ein kleiner Strand angelegt, der beinahe die große Struktur aus Eisen, Glas und Zement versteckt. Das Bad hatte hohe Betriebskosten, weshalb es nach einer Weile geschlossen werden musste. 1966 brach ein Feuer aus, das es beinahe vollständig zerstört hat. Die Ruinen der Sutro Baths sind für Besucher geöffnet und haben in direkter Nähe eine Höhle, in der man auf Fledermaussuche gehen kann.

San Francisco, CA, USA
Zur Collection hinzufügen
0 71 13240-strangest-outdoor-activities-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Kommentar hinterlassen :
300 Verbleibende Anschläge

Eingeben
Ähnliche Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Vorgemerkt

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Vorgemerkt

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Vorgemerkt

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
Exploring Washington DC
35 Vorgemerkt

Exploring Washington DC

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
35 1 0 9
3240

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Strangest Outdoor Activities in San Francisco

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
3240


Beaver Street Wall

This out-of-the-way rock-wall on the northeast side of Corona Heights Park is a popular destination for climbers looking for an urban adventure. The wall, which is about seven stories tall and has a smooth surface of slick red, pink, and grey rock, is maintained by volunteers who come out and prepare it with climbing chains and links from the top. Recently, bolts have been removed to preserve the wall, which, in addition to being a climbing destination, is a geological curiosity, a “slickenslide,” or a polished rock face that has risen out of a fault.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Sea Lions at Pier 39

Wild sea lions have flocked to Pier 39 since the 1989 earthquake and the population has grown ever since. Every winter the number increases to almost 900, thanks to the availability of space and ample food. Although some of the sea lions choose to migrate seasonally, usually some still keep Pier 39 as their regular haunt. You can bring your kids over for free educational talks by the Marine Mammal Center, held on weekends year-round provided the weather is good. See these wild adorable creatures up close and personal at this family friendly spot.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Wave Organ

This piece of artwork in the Marina also plays music. The sea-powered organ is a set of pipes that run along the waterfront and extend into the waters of the bay. The organ was built by scientists from the San Francisco Exploratorium. Place your ear against one of the pipes and listen to the music created by the sound of the waves. It's a unique way to enjoy nature and this is, perhaps, one of the few places in the world that you can.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
San Francisco Model Yacht Club

San Francisco Model Yacht Club is located in Golden Gate Park. Established in 1898, it is one of the oldest surviving clubs in the country. Check out these tiny boats as they glide across the water. The club features a clubhouse and the artificial lake Spreckels Lake, that supports motor and sail model boats. Visit this club for its boating events and regattas, as well as for a glimpse of its unrivaled model boat collection.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Bison Paddock

Situated along John F. Kennedy Drive and a part of the magnificent Golden Gate Park, the Bison Paddock is just like it's name suggests; it's a large enclosure of a herd of bison where visitors can come to admire these large animals. Buffalo have been in the park since 1892, since the city kept unique animals in Golden Gate Park before the city's zoo opened.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Ingleside Terraces Sundial

The Ingleside Terraces Sundial is one of the most unique spots to visit in San Francisco. This sundial was greeted by 1500 people when it was inaugurated on 10th October, 1913. The 28 foot monument is created out of marble and concrete. There are also many events hosted at the Ingleside Terraces park with the sundial taking the center. The attractive architecture sure invites many tourists as well as locals for its magnificent sight.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Sutro Baths

Sutro Baths was built in the late 19th Century. It was a large swimming pool owned privately by Adolp Sutro, who was a former mayor of San Francisco. It had seven different pools, one having fresh water and the others having salt water, but varying in temperatures. Below the Cliff House, a small beach inlet was filled almost hiding the vast iron, glass and concrete structure. The bath had a high operating cost, due to which it eventually closed and a fire in 1966 almost destroyed it leaving behind the ruins. The ruins of the Sutro Baths are open to the visitors as well as the cave where you can catch a glimpse of bats.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
0 71 13240-strangest-outdoor-activities-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
3240