Recherche mondiale

Définissez votre emplacement
Rejoindre
Se Déconnecter
user image
Mon profil
Se déconnecter

Best Museums in San Francisco

Par: Cityseeker
Modifier la collection
Télécharger le PDF
3266


Musée d'Art Asiatique

Le musée d'art asiatique est l'un des plus grands musées du monde occidental dédié exclusivement à l'art asiatique. Sa collection inclut près de 15 000 trésors couvrant 6 000 ans d'histoire et représentant les cultures de toute l'Asie. L'architecte de renom Gae Aulenti a supervisé les rénovations majeures de l'édifice, il possède maintenant environ 12 000 mètres carrés d'espace d'exposition, permettant au musée de mieux remplir sa mission de mener un public plus large à la découverte de matériaux uniques, de travaux esthétiques et intellectuels de la culture et de l'art asiatique.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Musée Juif Contemporain

Fondé en 1984, le Musée contemporain juif présente des programmes académiques et artistiques qui explorent l'esprit et l'imagination juifs. Le musée propose des vues contemporaines et perpectives des juifs sur la culture, l'histoire et l'art, avec des programmes qui réflètent les idées globales du passé et qui sont d'une importance pour les peuples d'aujourd'hui. L'architecte de renommée mondiale, Libeskind a été sollicité pour réaliser ce projet. Ce musée d'environ 6000 mètres carrés offre un espace convivial où les peuples de tous origines peuvent se rencontrer, célébrer et débattre de toutes les formes d'art.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Museum of the African Diaspora (MoAD)

Le Musée de la Diaspora américaine de San Francisco (MoAD) est dédié à l'exposition des mouvements des Africains à travers le monde sur divers supports: photographies, œuvres d'art, récits, tous contribuent à une plus grande compréhension et appréciation de ce phénomène humain complexe. Le musée abrite une riche expositions à voir sur place et à consulter en ligne.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)

Le Musée d'art moderne de San Francisco abrite une collection permanente de plus de15000 œuvres, dont 4700 peintures, sculptures, arts sur papier, et 9000 photographies. Le musée ouvre ses portes en 1995 et a abrité l'exposition des œuvres d'artistes comme Henri Matisse, Richard Diebenkorn, Drothea Lange, Paul Klee, Cindy Sherman, Matthew Barney et de nombreux artistes contemporains. Imaginé par l'architecte suisse Mario Botta, l'espace en lui-même est une merveille. Après la rénovation générale achevée en 2016, le SFMOMA occupe actuellement sept étages d'art et de nouvelles installations telles qu'un mur vivant, un jardin de sculpture et de vues imprenables sur le Yerba Buena Gardens.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
San Francisco Fire Department Museum

Le Musée des pompiers de San Francisco présente l'histoire des pompiers de la ville de San Francisco. Les annexes remontent jusqu'en 1849, lorsque chaque maison avait l'obligation d'avoir une citerne d'urgence remplie d'eau. Vous y trouverez les différents uniformes, les équipements de pompier, les camions d'incendie, les pompes à eau, ainsi que d'autres biens essentiels utilisés par les pompiers au fil des ans.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Cartoon Art Museum

The Cartoon Art Museum is the only museum of its kind in the Western United States dedicated to the preservation of cartoons and comic art. It holds a collection of over 6000 pieces of art including animation cells and comic books and strips. Founded in 1984, the museum established a permanent home with support from Peanuts creator, Charles Schulz. The museum hosts exhibits, classes, and lectures for children and adults, and is home to a library and bookstore. Works by Bud Fisher Mutt and Jef, George Herriman Krazy Kat, and Schulz has highlighted the museum’s permanent collection.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Exploratorium

Aménagé par le physicien Frank Oppenheimer et ouvert en 1969, ce musée innovant et interactif est dédié à l'art, la science et la perception humaine. Cet espace moderne, qui a aménagé dans le Palais des Beaux-Arts à Piers 15 et 17, abrite de nouvelles technologies vertes, en l'occurrence la plus vaste toiture en panneaux solaires de San Francisco. On y trouve plus de 600 expositions interactives. Les présentations sur écrans révèlent les mystères de la science et du langage et présentent les théories de manière plus simple et succint. Webinaires, événements spéciaux et séminaires sont aussi organisés ici toute l'année. En définitive, ce magnifique bijou de San Francisco mérite une visite.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park

San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park est situé à Ghirardelli Square, dans un ancien bâtiment des années 1930 qui ressemble à un navire. Le musée retrace l'histoire maritime à travers de photographies et présentations spéciales. Toutefois, les muraux WPA qui venaient d'être restaurés constituent une véritable attraction. Les visiteurs seront émerveillés par des oeuvres d'art captivantes et historiques; Le Visitor Center est situé sur 499 Jefferson Street et le Musée maritime sur 900 Beach Street.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Musée Mécanique

Question à cent sous? En plus d'une diversité de sous, ce musée excentrique abrite divers gadgets et bibelots spéciaux. Le parc d'attraction en cure-dent, construit par les prisonniers de San Quentin, est le plus admirable et le plus attirant. Apportez par devers-vous un jeu de cartes au Musée Mécanique pour une partie de jeux antiques, en l'occurrence les flippers en miniature. L'accès au musée est gratuit.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Académie des Sciences de Californie

Situé à l'intérieur de Golden Gate Park, l'Academie des Sciences de Californie est l'un des bâtiments les plus écologiques de la ville et détient la certification platine délivrée par Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED). Le musée comprend le Steinhart Aquarium, récemment rénové et agrandi, une mare résiduelle et le très célèbre marais d'alligator. Vous y trouverez également le planétarium Morrison, le dôme tropical et le hall des mamifères africains. Outre c=les jeux éducatifs, le musée abrite d'autres expositions d'histoire naturelle et sur le réchauffement climatique. Au Academy Cafe, vous trouverez une cuisine internationale, alors que le restaurant Moss Room est le seul endroit où l'on peut prendre un repas dans le parc après la fermeture du musée. Ne manquez pas les Thursday nights au cours desquelles l'Académie devient un lieu de soirées avec des conférenciers spéciaux, des DJ, des cocktails et les soirées pour les 21 ans et plus.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Musée De Young

Jouant le rôle de destination culturelle depuis 1895, le De Young Museum rouvre ses portes en octobre 2005 dans un espace conçu par le cabinet d'architectes suisse Herzog & de Meuron et Fong & Chan Architects à San Francisco. Le bâtiment est magnifique et de la tour d'observation, vous avez une vue imprenable sur le parc. Il est ouvert, aéré et immense. Il dispose également d'une façade de cuivre perforé et gaufré qui marie merveilleusement avec la verdure alentour du musée. De Young Museum abrite une collection de peintures et de sculptures américaines de renom, datant du 17e au 20e siècles. L'art primitif y est très représenté avec de pièces extraordinaires de l'art autochtone américain (depuis la ville antique de Teotihuacan), l'art africain (statues et poteries) et l'art de l'Océanie (boucliers, vêtement et masques de bal). L'accès est gratuit le premier mardi du mois.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Legion Of Honor

Legion of Honor abrite plus de 87000 peintures, sculptures, arts décoratifs et tapisseries. Certaines pièces ont plus de 4000 ans. Le premier étage abrite la collection permanente du musée, constituée notamment de l'œuvre de Rodin. Le musée abrite également les arts européen et ancien. Le jardin d'en bas abrite les expositions temporaires, allant d'Andy Warhol à Francis Bacon. Prenez une pause au café du musée où sont servis de snacks légers et achetez une magnifique sélection de cartes postales, livres, posters, bijoux et quelques reproductions de ce musée et de bien d'autres musées des beaux arts. L'accès est gratuit le premier mardi du mois.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
0 121 13266-best-museums-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Laisser un commentaire :
300 Caractères restants

Soumettre
Collections similaries
A Day in Frankfurt am Main
23 Marqué

A Day in Frankfurt am Main

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Best Contemporary Art in Frankfurt am Main
6 Marqué
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Best Fine Art in Frankfurt am Main
6 Marqué

Best Fine Art in Frankfurt am Main

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Best for Kids in Frankfurt am Main
59 Marqué

Best for Kids in Frankfurt am Main

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
59 1 0 15
3266

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Museums in San Francisco

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
3266


Asian Art Museum

The Asian Art Museum is one of the largest museums in the Western world devoted exclusively to Asian art. Its holdings include nearly 15,000 treasures spanning 6000 years of history, representing cultures throughout Asia. Renowned architect Gae Aulenti oversaw the dramatic transformation of the building: it now features 40,000 square feet (3716 square meters) of gallery space, allowing the museum to better fulfill its mission of leading a diverse global audience in discovering the unique material, aesthetic and intellectual achievements of Asian art and culture.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Contemporary Jewish Museum

Founded in 1984, the Contemporary Jewish Museum presents scholarly and artistic programs that explore the Jewish spirit and imagination. The museum offers contemporary views and Jewish perspectives on culture, history and art, with programs reflecting global ideas that tie to the past and remain relevant to all people today. World-renowned architect Daniel Libeskind was commissioned for the project. The 63,000 square foot museum provides a welcoming space where people from all backgrounds may encounter, celebrate and debate artistic forms of all varieties.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Museum of the African Diaspora (MoAD)

San Francisco's Museum of African Diaspora (MoAD) devotes itself to showcasing, through various mediums, the movement of Africans throughout the world. Photographs, artwork, narratives, all of these contribute to a growing understanding and appreciation of this complex human phenomenon. The museum holds a wealth of exhibitions, both on-location and online.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA)

The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art houses a permanent collection of over 15,000 works, including 4,700 paintings, sculptures, works on paper, and 9,000 photographs. Originally opened in 1995, the museum has exhibited the works of Henri Matisse, Richard Diebenkorn, Dorothea Lange, Paul Klee, Cindy Sherman, Matthew Barney and many contemporary artists. Designed by Swiss architect Mario Botta, the space itself is a wonder to behold. After a major renovation completed in 2016, the SFMOMA now boasts seven floors of art along with exiting new features including a living wall, sculpture garden and impressive views of Yerba Buena Gardens.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
San Francisco Fire Department Museum

The San Francisco Fire Department Museum showcases the history of firefighting in the city of San Francisco. Exhibits date back to 1849, when it was mandatory for each household to have an emergency bucket filled with water. You can find the various uniforms, fire-fighting equipment, fire engines, water pumps, and other essentials that have been used by the fire department over the years.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Cartoon Art Museum

The Cartoon Art Museum is the only museum of its kind in the Western United States dedicated to the preservation of cartoons and comic art. It holds a collection of over 6000 pieces of art including animation cells and comic books and strips. Founded in 1984, the museum established a permanent home with support from Peanuts creator, Charles Schulz. The museum hosts exhibits, classes, and lectures for children and adults, and is home to a library and bookstore. Works by Bud Fisher Mutt and Jef, George Herriman Krazy Kat, and Schulz has highlighted the museum’s permanent collection.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Exploratorium

Developed by physicist Frank Oppenheimer and opened in 1969, this innovative and interactive museum is dedicated to art, science and human perception. Relocated from the Palace of Fine Arts to Piers 15 and 17, the modern space features plenty of new green technologies including the largest solar panel roof in San Francisco and offers over 600 hands-on exhibits. These hands-on displays unveil the mysteries of science and language, and present these theories simply and succinctly. Webinars, special events and seminars occur throughout the year. This San Francisco gem is a must visit.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park

Located across from Ghirardelli Square and housed in a 1930s building that resembles a ship, this museum chronicles maritime history with photographs and interesting displays. However, the real attraction here are the WPA-era murals that have been recently restored. Visitors will be delighted by the historic and vivid artwork. Hours vary with the different attractions within the park. The Visitor Center is located at 499 Jefferson Street and the Maritime Museum is at 900 Beach Street.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Musée Mécanique

A penny for your thoughts? In addition to a melange of penny structures, this quirky, offbeat museum has a variety of interesting gadgets and knick-knacks. A must-see is the toothpick amusement park, built by San Quentin inmates. Bring a handful of quarters to Musée Mécanique so you can play some of the antique games, including the miniature pinball machines. Visiting the museum is free of charge.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
California Academy of Sciences

Located in Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences is one of the greenest buildings in the city and has a platinum certification from the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED). The museum features the newly renovated and expanded Steinhart Aquarium, complete with ahands-on tide pool and the well-known alligator swamp. Other exciting features are the Morrison Planetarium, the four-story rainforest dome, and the Hall of African Mammals. In addition to these educational gems, the museum features other natural history exhibits as well as exhibits about global warming. The Academy Cafe offers international cuisine, while the elegant Moss Room restaurant is the only dining option available in the park past museum closing time. Don't miss Thursday nights when the Academy hosts Nightlife, with special lecturers, DJs, cocktails, and mingling for the 21 and up crowd.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
De Young Museum

Acting as a major cultural destination since 1895, the De Young Museum reopened in October 2005 in a facility designed by Swiss architecture firm Herzog & de Meuron and Fong & Chan Architects in San Francisco. The building is magnificent and from the observation tower you can get a great view of the park. It is open, airy and massive. It also has a perforated and embossed copper facade which goes very well with the greenery around the museum. The museum houses the world-renowned American Painting and Sculpture collection, dating from the 17th to the 20th Centuries. Primitive Art is highly represented with extraordinary pieces of Native American Art (from the ancient Teotihuacan City), African Art (statues and potteries) and Oceanic Art (shields, dance dress and masks). Admission is free the first Tuesday of each month.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Legion Of Honor

The Legion of Honor houses more than 87,000 paintings, sculptures, decorative arts and tapestries. Some pieces date back 4000 years. The main floor is dedicated to the museum's permanent collection, much of which features the works of Rodin. European and ancient art are also on display at the Legion of Honor. The lower garden level features temporary exhibitions, ranging from Andy Warhol to Francis Bacon. Take a break in the museum cafe, which features light snacks and meals and has outdoor seating. The gift shop, though small, has a nice selection of postcards, books, posters, jewelry and some reproductions from this and other fine arts museums. Admission is free the first Tuesday of each month.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
0 121 13266-best-museums-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Interesting Architecture Around the World
15 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Legendary Sports Spots Around the World
30 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
30 1 0 8
3266