Recherche mondiale

Définissez votre emplacement
Rejoindre
Se Déconnecter
user image
Mon profil
Se déconnecter
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Free Museums in San Francisco

Par: Cityseeker
Modifier la collection
Télécharger le PDF
3267


Cable Car Museum

Si vous voulez savoir comment fonctionne un tramway, le musée du Cable Car est l'endroit pour tout savoir. Le premier tramway du monde s'y trouve et vous aurez une explication précise sur comment ces tramways grimpent les célèbres collines de San Francisco. Dans une salle souterraine, vous pourrez regarder les énormes roues de câbles du système, qui tirent 18 kilomètres de câbles à 15 kilomètres-heure. Examinez de près les câbles d'acier, les transmissions et les poulies qui permettent le fonctionnement du système de transport le plus connu de la ville. Ne manquez pas la boutique de souvenirs, où vous pouvez vous procurer votre propre spécimen de câble usagé.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Wells Fargo History Museum

Apprenez l'histoire du wild wild west style Wells Fargo et découvrez une grande collection de souvenirs Gold Rush au Wells Fargo History Museum. Les œuvres illustrent l'impact de Wells Fargo dans le développement de l'Ouest américain. Vous pouvez admirer les calèches Concord, les coffres-forts, les pépites d'or , les outils d'extraction minière, des photographies datant de plus de cent ans et les documents du temps jadis. La librairie propose une riche sélection d'ouvrages sur l'histoire de l'époque et de Wells Fargo.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Pacific Heritage Museum

Ce musée privé, fondé en 1984 par Bank of Canton, abrite des expositions d'art, de culture et d'histoire du Pacific Rim. Apprenez davantage sur l'histoire économique du bord de la Pacifique et admirez les sculptures et peintures d'artistes célèbres et émergents. Un espace d'environ 1000 mètres carrés de ce musée d'Embarcadero District se trouve dans le bâtiment historique de la sous-branche du trésor américain qui avait été utilisé par la U.S. Mint jusqu'en 1874. De magnifiques expositions temporaires et permanentes sont abritées par le musée. L'accès est gratuit.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
San Francisco Fire Department Museum

Le Musée des pompiers de San Francisco présente l'histoire des pompiers de la ville de San Francisco. Les annexes remontent jusqu'en 1849, lorsque chaque maison avait l'obligation d'avoir une citerne d'urgence remplie d'eau. Vous y trouverez les différents uniformes, les équipements de pompier, les camions d'incendie, les pompes à eau, ainsi que d'autres biens essentiels utilisés par les pompiers au fil des ans.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
San Francisco Railway Museum

Le San Francisco Railway Museum incarne l'histoire du transport à San Francisco avec tous ses détails, allant de la reconstruction partielle de la ligne de tram Market St.Railway Co. Vous y trouverez aussi des cartes de trams et de téléphériques conçus par les artistes locaux. Admirez les photos du circuit de la célèbre maison de construction du tram, des boîtes de perception et des panneaux de signalisation de Wiley, qui permettent aux visiteurs de comprendre le déroulement du contrôle des intersections au cours du siècle précédent. En tant que musée qui se veut de plus en plus interactif, vous y trouverez des guides compétents qui organisent des séances de questions-réponses, ainsi qu'une base de données bien fournie sur écran audio & vidéo tactile qui renseigne davantage. Si le tram J-street ou le Powell vous ont toujours intrigué, venez dans ce musée qui décrit leur évolution tout en continuant de paver la voie de leur avenir.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Museum of Vision

Museum of Vision met en évidence l'importance d'un de nos organes sensoriels: l'œil. Avec des débuts modestes en 1982, le musée a progressivement réussi à s'affirmer comme musée de référence. Les sciences ophtalmologiques depuis ses débuts, ainsi que les avancées de cette branche de la science y sont exposées : anciens instruments chirurgicaux, amulettes de vue, lunettes font partie de la collection. Il est vivement recommandé de prendre rendez-vous pour la visite.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Museo Italo Americano

Faisant partie du groupe des musées Fort Mason Center dont l'African-American Historical and Cultural Society Museum, ce musée rend hommage à la communauté italo-américaine en dispensant des cours de langue, d'art et d'achitecture italiens. La galerie sert d'espace aux oeuvres historiques et contemporaines d'artistes italiens et italo-américains. L'accès et le parking sont gratuits.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Musée Mécanique

Question à cent sous? En plus d'une diversité de sous, ce musée excentrique abrite divers gadgets et bibelots spéciaux. Le parc d'attraction en cure-dent, construit par les prisonniers de San Quentin, est le plus admirable et le plus attirant. Apportez par devers-vous un jeu de cartes au Musée Mécanique pour une partie de jeux antiques, en l'occurrence les flippers en miniature. L'accès au musée est gratuit.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
0 81 13267-best-free-museums-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Laisser un commentaire :
300 Caractères restants

Soumettre
Collections similaries
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Washington DC
35 Marqué

Exploring Washington DC

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Marqué
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
16 1 0 4
3267

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Free Museums in San Francisco

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
3267


Cable Car Museum

If you want to know how a cable car works, the Cable Car Museum is the place to learn. The world's first cable car rests here and with it a concise explanation of how those little cable cars make their way up those famous San Francisco hills. In an underground viewing area, you can look at the system's enormous cable wheels, which pull 11 miles (18 kilometers) of cable at 9.5 miles (15 kilometers) per hour. Closely examine the steel cables, gears, and pulleys that bring this city's most famous transportation to life. Don't miss the gift shop, where you can purchase your very own length of used cable!

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Wells Fargo History Museum

Get a little history of the wild wild west Wells Fargo-style, and check out the great collection of Gold Rush memorabilia at the Wells Fargo History Museum. The artifacts illustrate the impact of Wells Fargo in the development of the American West. You can view an original Concord stagecoach, strong boxes, gold nuggets, and mining tools, as well as century old photographs and documents of days gone past. The bookstore offers an excellent selection of books about the history of the area and of Wells Fargo.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Pacific Heritage Museum

This private museum, established in 1984 by the Bank of Canton, features Pacific Rim art, culture, and historic exhibits. Learn more about the Pacific Rim economic history. View sculptures and paintings by renowned and emerging artists. The 10,000 square feet of this Embarcadero District museum resides in the historic US Sub treasury Building, which was used as a U.S. Mint until 1874. Find featured exhibits that are periodically rotated as well as permanent displays. Free admission.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
San Francisco Fire Department Museum

The San Francisco Fire Department Museum showcases the history of firefighting in the city of San Francisco. Exhibits date back to 1849, when it was mandatory for each household to have an emergency bucket filled with water. You can find the various uniforms, fire-fighting equipment, fire engines, water pumps, and other essentials that have been used by the fire department over the years.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
San Francisco Railway Museum

San Francisco Railway Museum embodies San Francisco's transportation history with everything from a reconstructed portion of a Market St. Railway Co. 100-class street-car to cable car note cards designed by local artists. Enjoy pictures of the famous ferry-building street-car loop, fare boxes and a Wiley birdcage traffic signal, which allows attendees to see how intersections were patrolled over 100 years ago. Striving to be an interactive museum, knowledgeable docents give talks and answer questions while a resourceful database with an audio & video touch screen is on hand to further educate. If the J-street cars or Powell street trolley cars have always been of interest to you, then enter this museum, which explains their evolution and continues to pave their future.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Museum of Vision

The Museum of Vision aims at highlighting the importance of one of our sensory organs, the eye. From humble beginnings, with just one exhibition in 1982, this museum has come a long way to being a prominent establishment as the Museum of Vision. The exhibits at this museum captures the science of ophthalmology, right from its inception and also includes advancements in the field. Ancient surgical instruments, eye amulets, spectacles, eye masks and much more are part of the collection on display. Booking an appointment before your visit is highly recommended.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Museo Italo Americano

Part of the Fort Mason Center museums, which include the African-American Historical and Cultural Society Museum, this museum celebrates the Italian-American community by offering classes in Italian language, art and architecture. The gallery functions as a space for historical and contemporary works by Italian and Italian-American artists. Both admission and parking are free!

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Musée Mécanique

A penny for your thoughts? In addition to a melange of penny structures, this quirky, offbeat museum has a variety of interesting gadgets and knick-knacks. A must-see is the toothpick amusement park, built by San Quentin inmates. Bring a handful of quarters to Musée Mécanique so you can play some of the antique games, including the miniature pinball machines. Visiting the museum is free of charge.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
0 81 13267-best-free-museums-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Interesting Architecture Around the World
15 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Legendary Sports Spots Around the World
30 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
30 1 0 8
3267