全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Local History & Culture in San Francisco

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
3271


GLBT 历史博物馆

同性恋历史博物馆,是美国第一间,世界第二间,正好坐落在卡斯特罗街和第十八街交界,是同行恋文化的发源地。这间博物馆 已经开办了25年,在GLBT历史协会成立之后,它旨在收集,保护和展示关于男女同性恋,双性恋,跨性恋的大量历史,同时向这些边缘群体提供被探索接触的机会与支持。博物馆里的展品来自坐落在米慎区657号的社会历史档案馆,会员与非会员都可进入(在规定时间内)。该组织一直在寻找志愿者来帮助它的使命,所以无论你是家庭的一部分还是一个盟友,欢迎你伸出手来。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
缆车博物馆

如果你想知道缆车是如何制造的,那缆车博物馆就是你的不二之选。这里收藏了世界上第一台缆车,还精确地解释了这些缆车是如何通往摘星之路。在地下参观区,你可以看到这个系统的巨大锚链轮。这是这样的一个锚链轮将缆车以每小时9.5里(15公里)的速度吊到11里(18公里)的高度。缆车就是靠螺丝钳往上爬的。在这里,你可以仔细观察这些钢制缆车、齿轮和滑轮是如何给这个城市的著名交通工具赋予生命力的。不要错过里面的纪念品店哦。你还可以在这购买使用过的缆车的不同大小的模型。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
太平洋传统博物馆

这是一家由广东银行与1984年建立的私人博物馆,主要进行的是太平洋相关的艺术、文化和历史展览。这里可以了解到更多有关太平洋经济的历史,也可以参观著名新兴艺术家的雕塑和绘画作品。博物馆位于内河码头区,占地10000平方尺,它所在的旧美国财政大楼在1874年的时候曾是美国的造币局。这里即有周期性展品也有长期展品供参观者欣赏。参观免费。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
Galeria de la Raza

加莱里亚·拉·拉扎(Galeria de la Raza)深入使命的核心,值得一去。墙壁上排列着多位艺术家的作品。看到不同媒体的本地人才在这个家乡,但复杂的画廊展示他们的工作。工作上没有价格,但这不会阻止那些欣赏独特产品的人。查看墨西哥奇卡诺/拉丁美洲人的绘画,并在纸上作品,关于监狱艺术的纪录片,或在附近的拉丁美洲人的美丽的黑白照片。画廊也提供租赁空间。访问网站获取更多信息。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
旧金山消防局博物馆

旧金山消防局博物馆向我们展示了旧金山的消防历史。这个展览可以追溯至1849年。在那个时期,每个家庭都必须有一个灌得满满的水桶以备急用。你还可以找到各种不同的工作服、消防设施、消防车、抽水机和其他已经历史悠久的消防设备。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
打败博物馆

Beat博物馆位于北海滩,庆祝Jack Kerouac,Allen Ginsberg和所有影响Beat Generation的人。提供包括美术,版画,海报,照片,新旧书籍,CD,DVD,T恤等各种节日纪念品和工具,这是所有收藏家和克鲁阿克球迷的必去之路。该博物馆还举办开放的话筒诗歌之夜,电影放映和其他文化活动。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
旧金山铁路博物馆

旧金山铁路博物馆收录了大量有关旧金山交通历史的藏品,如经过部分修复的市场街铁路运输公司的100级别街车,以及由当地艺术家设计的电车车票卡片。馆内可参观著名的渡口到大街间街车的照片,投币箱,还有一个威力鸟笼式信号灯-它向参观者展示了一百多年前的十字路口是如何运作的。为了增加博物馆的互动性,博学的讲解员除了讲解外,还会回答参观者的问题。同时,参观者还可以用手中装有大量语音视频数据的触摸屏设备获取更多信息知识。如果你一直对J街车或鲍威尔街有轨电车感兴趣的话,不妨来此博物馆一观,因为馆内介绍了它们过去的变革和未来的发展道路。

旧金山, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
天使岛的美国移民站

去天使岛时没有去过移民站,那么这样的旅途将是不完整的。这是个超过一百万亚洲和其他移民者在20世纪早期时办理移民的地方。绰号"西海岸的埃利斯岛"在模仿纽约风格之后,这个移民站以重建的房间为特色,有上下床铺和娱乐空间和原始的涂鸦这些元素都能看到当年移民的生活。这个移民站以被国家史迹名录收录。

Tiburon, CA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 81 13271-best-local-history-culture-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
3271

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Local History & Culture in San Francisco

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
3271


GLBT History Museum

The GLBT History Museum, the first of its kind in all of the United States and the second in the world, sits fittingly just off Castro Street and 18th Street, home to a lot of gay culture and history. It opened 25 years to the day after the inauguration of the GLBT Historical Society which is aimed at gathering, protecting and interpreting the vast history of the LGBT community, thereby both offering exposure to and showing their support of these often marginalized groups. Pieces and exhibits at the museum come from the historical society's archives which are located at 657 Mission Street #300 and are accessible to both members and non-members (at restricted times). The organization is always looking for volunteers to help in its mission, so whether you are part of the family or an ally you are always welcome to lend a hand.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Cable Car Museum

If you want to know how a cable car works, the Cable Car Museum is the place to learn. The world's first cable car rests here and with it a concise explanation of how those little cable cars make their way up those famous San Francisco hills. In an underground viewing area, you can look at the system's enormous cable wheels, which pull 11 miles (18 kilometers) of cable at 9.5 miles (15 kilometers) per hour. Closely examine the steel cables, gears, and pulleys that bring this city's most famous transportation to life. Don't miss the gift shop, where you can purchase your very own length of used cable!

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Pacific Heritage Museum

This private museum, established in 1984 by the Bank of Canton, features Pacific Rim art, culture, and historic exhibits. Learn more about the Pacific Rim economic history. View sculptures and paintings by renowned and emerging artists. The 10,000 square feet of this Embarcadero District museum resides in the historic US Sub treasury Building, which was used as a U.S. Mint until 1874. Find featured exhibits that are periodically rotated as well as permanent displays. Free admission.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Galeria de la Raza

Galeria de la Raza is deep in the heart of the Mission and worth getting to. The walls are lined by works of multiple artists. See different mediums of local talent present their work in this down-home, yet sophisticated gallery. There are no prices on the work, but that will not deter those who appreciate unique products of the mind. Check out the Chicano/Latino drawing and works on paper, the documentary on jail-art, or beautiful black-and-white photos of the Latinos in and outside of the neighborhood. The gallery offers rental spaces too. Visit website for more information.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
San Francisco Fire Department Museum

The San Francisco Fire Department Museum showcases the history of firefighting in the city of San Francisco. Exhibits date back to 1849, when it was mandatory for each household to have an emergency bucket filled with water. You can find the various uniforms, fire-fighting equipment, fire engines, water pumps, and other essentials that have been used by the fire department over the years.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Beat Museum

Located in North Beach, The Beat Museum celebrates Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg and all who influenced the Beat Generation. Offering a variety of Beat memorabilia and paraphernalia including fine art, prints, posters, photos, new and used books, CDs, DVDs, t-shirts and more, this is a must stop for all collectors and Kerouac fans. The museum also hosts open mic poetry nights, movie screenings, and other cultural events.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
San Francisco Railway Museum

San Francisco Railway Museum embodies San Francisco's transportation history with everything from a reconstructed portion of a Market St. Railway Co. 100-class street-car to cable car note cards designed by local artists. Enjoy pictures of the famous ferry-building street-car loop, fare boxes and a Wiley birdcage traffic signal, which allows attendees to see how intersections were patrolled over 100 years ago. Striving to be an interactive museum, knowledgeable docents give talks and answer questions while a resourceful database with an audio & video touch screen is on hand to further educate. If the J-street cars or Powell street trolley cars have always been of interest to you, then enter this museum, which explains their evolution and continues to pave their future.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
U.S. Immigration Station at Angel Island

A trip to Angel Island is incomplete without a visit to the Immigration Station. This is the site where over a million Asian and other immigrants were processed in the early 20th Century. Nicknamed the "Ellis Island of the West" after its New York counterpart, this station features recreated rooms with bunk beds as well as recreation spaces and original graffiti that are a window into the life of an immigrant. It is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Tiburon, CA, United States
Add to Collection
0 81 13271-best-local-history-culture-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
A Day in Palo Alto
12 Bookmarked

A Day in Palo Alto

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Budget Activities in Palo Alto
4 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Best Contemporary Art in Palo Alto
3 Bookmarked

Best Contemporary Art in Palo Alto

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Date Spots in Palo Alto
4 Bookmarked

Best Date Spots in Palo Alto

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
3271