全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Landmarks in London

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
3375


皮卡迪利圆环广场

多年以来,皮卡迪里广场,这个伦敦最繁华的五条街的汇合之地,已经被认为是伦敦的主要地标,也是伦敦的中心。在白天,这里满目都是购物者、商务人士和游客。但在夜晚,这个地方真正开始注入生命力,灯光璀璨,很多泡夜店的朋友和情侣都会聚集到这里,享受多姿多彩的夜生活。在皮卡迪里广场的中心是一个喷泉,上面有一个铝制的射手雕塑。虽然很多伦敦人都称他是爱神,但实际上,这是阿尔弗雷德吉伯笔下天主教堂的一个天使。由于这个雕塑在问世之初并不是很受欢迎,所以他就自行流放自己了。今天,这个雕塑成为了伦敦最出名的地标,而且受到很多游客和浪漫情侣的钟情。这真的是通往西方极乐的一扇大门。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
新考文特花园市场

这个区域本来是伦敦水果和蔬菜市场,但现在这个市场也已经搬迁到位于比门西区的新考文特花园市场。今天,这里有售卖各种各样商品的商店,从古董到手工艺品,从图画到手工缝制的衣服。这里还有一个鹅卵石区,偶尔还会发现在这里模拟剧和抛球的人在这里表演。也有不少音乐家在市场摊位旁边的漂亮庭院里演奏音乐。这里还有几个不错的地方可以吃午饭和雪糕。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
伦敦眼

这座位于南岸137米(450英尺)的巨大摩天轮被称为“伦敦眼”或“千禧轮”,在那里可以鸟瞰伦敦的美景。在晴朗的天气里,从山顶向四面八方延伸40公里(25英里)的壮观景色包括温莎的景色。它在21世纪之交诞生,被授予“千年轮”的称号,象征着迄今取得的进步和美好未来的希望。伦敦眼从此成为城市的标志,被誉为世界上最高的悬臂梁支撑和城市最高的景点之一。“伦敦眼”每一个玻璃包裹的吊舱都能以一种悠闲的速度围绕其直径120米(394英尺)可容纳多达25名乘客,一圈需时30分钟。在整个摩天轮旅程中,俯瞰方圆25英里范围内的壮丽景色,其间还可以听到解说一一介绍进入视野的主要地标。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
大本钟

大本钟指的是著名的钟楼,位于 威斯敏斯特宫最北端, ,伊丽莎白塔或者称为大本钟,是伦敦的标志性建筑之一,它被认为是19世纪最时尚的计时设备之一。这座宏伟的纪念碑是1834年威斯敏斯特旧宫被大火烧毁时建造的,这引发了对新建筑的需求。就在那时,英国建筑师奥古斯都·普金(Augustus Pugin)为这座塔所做的设计取得了大众认可,这座宏伟的哥特式复兴建筑成为大英帝国最引人注目的标志之一。大本钟高达315英尺(96米),是一个由沙色的安斯顿石灰岩构成塔的上下半部的混合物,铸铁尖顶让灰白的天空增添一道绚丽的色彩。 令人印象深刻的是钟楼上的计时装置重量超过5吨,钟摆每两秒跳动一次,重量达203公斤(447.53磅)。虽然这座雄伟的钟楼可以在远处被海外游客欣赏,但只有当地的居民才知道塔的内部深度。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
威斯敏斯特教堂

座落于威斯敏斯特宫的西边,这座早期英国哥特式建筑十分宏伟壮观,以其700年的历史和与英国皇室的联系吸引了所有人。这座教堂最初是由忏悔者爱德华国王在1042年至1052年间建造的,当时是圣彼得大教堂,是为他本人和随后的所有皇室继承人提供的皇家墓地。很快,这座最初的罗马式教堂也成为加冕典礼和皇家婚礼的举办地,从而成为英国君主最重要的宗教建筑之一。 虽然教堂在16世纪拥有大教堂的地位好几年,但在后来的几年里,它一直是天主教本笃会(天主教的隐修院修会之一)教堂。之后,成为圣公会教堂。这座修道院有着雄伟的象牙塔楼,面向天空,教堂南侧设开敞拱廊,两座塔楼之间装饰诺曼风格的中殿,是当今伦敦最令人惊叹的皇家地标之一。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
国会大楼

九百多年来,这座宏伟的哥特式建筑一直都是英国政府的所在地。这座建筑物占地八公亩(3.23公顷),里面有房间1100间、100个楼梯和11个庭院。上议院位于这座建筑的南面,而下议院则在这座建筑的北面。如果你想要看这座举行建筑物的全景,那最佳地点非附近的议会广场莫属了。议会大楼里有瓦的西敏厅、地窖教堂、成员大厅、下议院图书馆和贵族图书馆。在这里还可以看到大笨钟的远景。如果要参加下议院的PMQ(首相问题时间),英国公民需要先提前与他们的议员联系。否则,就要在圣史蒂芬的前门排队等候了。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
白金汉宫

宏伟庄严的白金汉宫自1837年以来一直是英国君主在伦敦的官方住所。尽管这座宫殿的起源可以追溯到18世纪,当时白金汉宫的公爵在这里建造了他的官邸,现在主要由建筑师建筑师约翰纳什和爱德华布洛尔主持。这座宫殿拥有775间厅室,由艺术家伦勃朗、维米尔和范戴克等人用塞弗雷斯瓷器和艺术品把宫殿装饰得十分奢华。从美丽时代的奶油色和金色,到中国皇宫的精致,每间客房都展示着奢华而雅致的室内设计。大理石楼梯可能是世界上最好的青铜铸造的作品之一,由蚀刻玻璃圆顶和宫殿的焦点照明,而前院是伦敦最受欢迎的旅游项目之一— ,白金汉宫的皇家卫队每天的举行换岗仪式。皇家马厩和女王艺苑是这座皇家官邸受欢迎的景点,也向游客开放。 白金汉宫被周围经过修剪过的草坪和郁郁葱葱的花园所环绕,在夏天盛开着无数的花朵,描绘出一幅英国王室风格的壮丽美景。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
莎士比亚环球剧场

今天看到的莎士比亚全球剧院是在莎士比亚本来的剧院在建成四百年后经过重建而成的。在伦敦大火以来,这里是伦敦第一座草顶建筑。这个部分露天的剧院为观众提供站的位置和一些座位。全球剧团、莎士比亚全球展览和全球教育合力在这家闻名于世的剧院中为观众提供最好的演出,让观众可以有一个富有教育意义的历史体验。如果不熟悉莎士比亚作品的人也可以到这里来感受一下氛围。观众可以在网上购票或直接到全球售票处购买。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣保罗大教堂

最初建于694年,但在1666年毁于大火灾中,这座美丽的建筑是由克里斯多佛雷恩所设计,在1710年重获新生。圣保罗大教堂是很多重要活动的举办地,包括1965年温斯顿丘吉尔的葬礼和1981年戴安娜皇妃和查尔斯皇储的婚礼。在圣保罗大教堂里,你可以看到很多瑰宝。所以你当然不能错过这个景点。其中,圣保罗耳语廊尤其值得一游。只要对着空旷的圆墙轻声耳语,在42米(137.7尺)以外边也能听到。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
伦敦大桥

跨越泰晤士河,目前伦敦桥的化身是一个现代主义的,结构稳固的城市和南华克区的另一端。在这个被称为伦敦池(潮流)的地区,罗马人首先建造了一座跨越强大的泰晤士河的建筑,随后一座桥以某种形式存活下来,尽管存在衰退和重建的时期。在20世纪60年代,亚利桑那州哈瓦苏湖市的创始人罗伯特·麦卡洛克(Robert McCulloch)购买了沉没的桥梁,并将其重新组装在亚利桑那州哈瓦苏湖(Havasu)的田园诗般的水域中。但是,自从那座桥离开后,又有一座桥突然出现,今天成千上万的当地人和游客每天穿过这座钢筋水泥桥。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
碎片大厦

高达310米(1017.06英尺)的高度,The Shard在2013年完工后永远改变了伦敦的天际线。它是英国最高的,共有97层,包括高科技办公室,顶级餐厅,豪华住宅公寓,香格里拉大酒店精致的住宿和从碎片观看 - 一个观景台,一个壮观的全新视角的城市。由Renzo Piano设计,这座令人惊叹的尖顶建筑以其半透明的外观为这个充满活力的城市提供了令人难以置信的美景。令人惊叹的剪影与这个城市的历史遗迹形成了鲜明的对比,就像从一块石头和混凝土床上升起的一座闪闪发光的玻璃山。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣玛丽斧街30号

30圣玛丽斧(St Mary Axe)是伦敦一座商业摩天大楼的建筑奇迹。站在41个故事,从城市的大多数地方可以看到巨大的结构,由于其不寻常的外观,通常被称为“小黄瓜”。独特的玻璃建筑由英国Foster and Partners公司设计,英国一家以玻璃和钢结构建筑而闻名的建筑公司,于2003年完工。位于酒店40层的酒吧提供360度全景视野。它也有39楼的餐厅和38楼的包房,可以在特殊场合租用。无论您是远近闻名,还是远远欣赏,这座伦敦天际线的标志在周游城市时都不容错过。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 171 23375-best-landmarks-in-london
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
11 Best BBQ Joints in the Southern US
11 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
9 1 0 3
3375

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Landmarks in London

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
3375


Piccadilly Circus

For many years, Piccadilly Circus, at the junction of five busy streets, has been a major London landmark, seen by many as the capital's center. In the heart of Piccadilly is a fountain topped with the aluminum statue of an archer. Although affectionately known as Eros by Londoners, it's actually the Angel of Christian Charity by Sir Alfred Gilbert, and it was so unpopular when first unveiled that he opted for self-imposed exile. Today, the statue is one of London's most famous sites and a popular spot for tourists and romantic couples alike. In the daytime Piccadilly Circus is a bustling area filled with shoppers, business people and visitors. But in the evening the area really comes alive, with its illuminated signs and heady mix of clubbers and couples heading for a big evening out. This is truly the gateway to the West End.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Covent Garden

Covent Garden is a historic district that is famous for its street performers, shops, restaurants, bars and theaters. The most well known attraction in the area is the Royal Opera House. Before it became the capital’s premiere destination for entertainment and leisure, Covent Garden served as the largest fruit and vegetable market in England. Currently, the Apple, East Colonnade and Jubilee markets are held in the piazza area. Visitors can browse through antiques, artwork, jewelry and clothing that can be found among the market stalls.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
London Eye

Known as both the London Eye and the Millennium Wheel, this huge 137-meter (450-foot) Ferris wheel on the South Bank gives a fabulous bird's eye view of London. The spectacular views from the top stretch as far as 40 kilometers (25 miles) in every direction on a clear day to include views of Windsor. Its inception at the turn of the 21st Century conferred upon it the title of 'the Millennium Wheel', symbolic of the progress made thus far and the promise of a glorious future. The London Eye has since come to be an icon of the city skyline, renown as the world's tallest cantilevered observation wheel and one of the city's highest observation points. Each of the glass-encased pods of the London Eye can transport up to 25 passengers around its 120-meter(394-foot) diameter at a leisurely pace, a circuit that takes close to 30 minutes to complete. For the duration of the ride, the city and its many attractions lie sprawled all around for a glimpse of London's girth in a single sweep.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Elizabeth Tower (Big Ben)

Referring both to the famous tower that forms the north end of the Palace of Westminster, as well as the iconic clock built into its face, the Big Ben is deemed as one of the most prolific timekeeping devices of the 19th Century. This hugely exalted monument was constructed when the old Palace of Westminster was ravaged by a fire in 1834, sparking the need for a newer structure. It was then that English architect Augustus Pugin's spectacular design for the tower found fruition, an imposing Gothic Revival structure that would go on to become one of the most striking icons of the British empire. Towering over 315 feet (96 meters), the Big Ben is a brilliant blend of sand-colored Anston limestone that dominates its lower half, and a cast iron spire that pierces the city's ashen skies. Its impressive timekeeping mechanism weighs in at over 5 tons, and the pendulum, which beats once every two seconds, weighs 203 kilograms (447.53 pounds). While this imposing structure can be admired from a distance by overseas visitors, only residents are privy to the internal depths of the tower.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Westminster Abbey

To the west of the Palace of Westminster, this superbly striking piece of Early English Gothic architecture enthralls one and all with its 700-year-old history and its immediate association with British Royalty. First built by King Edward the Confessor between 1042 and 1052 as St Peter's Abbey, the church was meant to serve as a royal burial site for himself, and all regal heirs that followed. Quickly, this originally Romanesque church also became the site where coronations and royal weddings took place, thus going on to become one of the most significant religious buildings for British monarchs. While the abbey held the status of a cathedral for several years in the 16th Century, it was soon designated the title of a 'royal peculiar', or a church that is directly governed by the crown, in the later years. The abbey, with its majestic ivory turrets that aim for the sky, dramatic buttresses that line the southern facade, and the Norman-style nave that sits between the two towers, stands as one of London's most astonishing royal landmarks today.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Houses of Parliament

For over 900 years, this impressive assemblage of Gothic buildings has been the home of British government. The building covers an area of 3.23 hectares (8 acres) and consists of over 100 rooms. The House of Lords occupies the southern end of the building while the House of Commons occupies the area to the north. The best view of this massive expanse can be seen from nearby Parliament Square. Within the Houses of Parliament there is Westminster Hall, the Crypt Church, Members' Lobbies, the Commons Library and the Peers Lobby. The tower containing Big Ben looms just outside. To attend PMQ (Prime Minister's Question Time) in the House of Commons, UK citizens need to contact their local MP in advance. Otherwise, there is a line at St Stephen's entrance.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Buckingham Palace

The grand and stately Buckingham Palace has been the official London residence of the British monarch since 1837. Although the origins of the palace go back to the 18th Century when the Duke of Buckingham built his townhouse at the site, the palace as it stands today is principally the work of architects John Nash and Edward Blore. The palace holds 775 rooms, each lavishly decorated with fine art by the likes of Rembrandt, Vermeer and Van Dyck, Sevres Porcelain, and rich architectural details in a range of styles. From the cream and gold palette of the Belle Epoque to the intricacies of the Chinese Regency, each room is a showcase of extravagant yet tasteful interior design. The Grand Staircase is perhaps one of the world's finest examples of bronze casting, illuminated by an etched glass dome, and the focal point of the palace, while the forecourt is the setting for one of London's most popular tourist events - the Changing of the Guard. The Royal Mews and the Queen's Gallery are other popular features of this royal residence that are also open to visitors. All of this is surrounded by manicured lawns and lush gardens alive with myriad blooms in summer, painting a picture of grandeur befitting Britain's royal family.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Shakespeare's Globe Theatre

The Globe Theatre is universally known as the place where the great plays of Shakespeare came alive. Today, Shakespeare’s Globe, located on the banks of the River Thames is a reproduction of the original Globe, which burned down in 1613 after a cannon shot set fire to its roof. The theater was built near the site of the original using nearly identical methods and materials, and is believed by historians and architects alike to be very realistic. Since it opened in 1997, The New Globe has been a popular and iconic addition to London theater, and has turned from hosting only open-air summer productions into a vibrant center of Shakespearean drama, education, exhibitions, and tours. The ‘groundling’ tradition is still alive at the Globe, whereby visitors can watch world-class theater from the yard for a low price.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
St Paul's Cathedral

Enthroned on London's highest point at the summit of Ludgate Hill, St. Paul's elegant silhouette is an icon of the city skyline, its soaring dome framed by the cathedral's spires. First built in 604 but destroyed by the Great Fire of 1666, the beautiful building that stands today was designed by Sir Christopher Wren in the English Baroque style. While the marvelous facade is a stunning triumph, it does little to belay the sumptuous interiors, brimming with vivid sculptures, intricate carvings and gleaming gilded details. St Paul's has been host to many important events over the years, including the funeral of Sir Winston Churchill in 1965 and the wedding of Prince Charles to Lady Diana Spencer in 1981. Of the cathedral's many treasures, the Whispering Gallery is worth a special mention; just a whisper against the blank circular wall can be heard 42 meters (137.7 feet) away on the opposite side. The seat of the Bishop of London, the St. Paul's remains a venerated place of worship even as droves of tourists flock to its benevolent embrace.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
London Bridge

Straddling the River Thames, the current incarnation of the London Bridge is a modernist, staid structure that connects the City and district of Southwark on the other side. In this area, called the Pool of London (the tideway), the Romans first built a structure to span the mighty Thames and subsequently a bridge has survived in some form or another ever since, with periods of decay and reconstruction notwithstanding. During the 1960s, Robert McCulloch, founder of Lake Havasu City, Arizona, purchased the sinking bridge and re-assembled it in the idyllic waters of Lake Havasu, Arizona. However, since then, another one has popped up in its place, and today thousands of locals and tourists travel across this steel and concrete bridge on a daily basis.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
The Shard

Standing tall at a dizzying height of 310 meters (1017.06 feet), The Shard forever changed London's skyline upon its completion in 2013. It is the second-tallest of its kind in the UK, and its 95 floors include hi-tech offices, top-notch restaurants, luxury residential apartments, the exquisite accommodations of the Shangri-La Hotel and The View from The Shard - an observation deck that promises a spectacular new perspective of the city. Conceived by Renzo Piano, this stunning spire-inspired building with its translucent facade offers incredible views of the lively city; its startling silhouette a stark contrast to the city's historic monuments, akin to a glimmering mountain of glass rising from a bed of stone and concrete.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
30 St Mary Axe

30 St Mary Axe is an architectural marvel that doubles as a commercial skyscraper in London. Standing at 41 stories, the massive structure is visible from most places in the city and often referred to as 'The Gherkin' given its unusual appearance. The distinctive glass building was designed by Foster and Partners, a British architectural firm known for its glass and steel buildings, and completed in 2003. On its 40th floor is a bar that offers a magnificent 360-degree view of the city below. It also has restaurants on the 39th floor and private dining rooms on the 38th floor, which can be rented out for special occasions. Whether you head inside or admire it from afar, this icon of the London skyline is hard to miss when traveling around the city.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
0 171 23375-best-landmarks-in-london
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
11 Best BBQ Joints in the Southern US
11 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Along the German Alpine Road
30 Bookmarked

Along the German Alpine Road

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
16 1 0 4
3375