全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录

Best Literature & Music in London

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
3429


约翰逊博士的房子

英国第一本词典的编纂者塞缪尔·约翰逊博士,从1748年到1759年在这里居住。1912年首次向公众开放,在闪电战期间经历了几次险些未遂事件,约翰逊的房子已经恢复到原来的状态,包括镶板的房间,一个松木楼梯和一系列时期的家具,版画和肖像。这座房子坐落在迷人的庭院和通道,让人想起历史悠久的伦敦。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
查尔斯·狄更斯博物馆

查尔斯·狄更斯的小说着名地记载了19世纪伦敦在工业革命的阵痛中的生活和戏剧,他对贫民窟和家庭的描绘,借鉴了他自己家庭的贫穷和债务经验。狄金斯之家举办文学沙龙的客厅经过精心修复,在其他地方您可以查看狄更斯用具的所有方式,包括私人信件和笔记以及手稿和第一版的书籍。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
福尔摩斯博物馆

这座建筑并不是永远受惠于世界最著名的侦探福尔摩斯的。为了纪念作者柯南道尔的作品,这里的地址已经改为221b。博物馆的其他部分仍然与小说中的一样。游客还可以坐在福尔摩斯的摇椅上,玩弄福尔摩斯的各种科学实验,并看看记录着福尔摩斯的冒险之旅的大事记。福尔摩斯迷一定会觉得物有所值。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
凯雷的房子

作家去世后不久创立于1896年,凯雷之家是伦敦最古老的文学博物馆之一,原来的装饰和摆设以及许多私人物品都被保存下来。苏格兰出生的历史学家托马斯·卡莱尔(Thomas Carlyle)因为他的法国大革命的历史而闻名于世,在维多利亚时代的早期,他搬到了这个典型的高矮的联排别墅,那时切尔西仍然很不发达,不合时宜。凯雷在阁楼上写下了他的纪念碑,他的隔音防止了邻居的喧哗。他和他的妻子过着充满轶事和事件的生活,这里有许多对文学史感兴趣的人和对维多利亚时代的室内装饰充满热情的人。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
济慈故居

济慈故居博物馆是世界最后一位浪漫主义诗人,约翰济慈于伦敦的宅邸,也是众多诗歌爱好者的必游之地。济慈(1795年-1821年)曾经在这里度过了绝大部分的成人生活,虽然这段时间并不长,因为济慈在26岁的时候就离世了。为了逃离英国气候而去到罗马之后,他的肺结核病加剧了,最后济慈客死他乡。济慈被埋葬在Testaccio。请浏览网站查询入场票价及周三特殊活动等。

伦敦, 英国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 51 13429-best-literature-music-in-london
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Interesting Architecture Around the World
15 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Legendary Sports Spots Around the World
30 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
30 1 0 8
3429

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Literature & Music in London

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
3429


Dr Johnson's House

Dr Samuel Johnson, the compiler of the first ever dictionary of the English language, lived here from 1748 to 1759. Opened to the public for the first time in 1912, and having survived several near misses during the Blitz, Dr Johnson's House has been restored to its original condition, including paneled rooms, a pine staircase and a collection of period furniture, prints and portraits. The house is nestled in a maze of courtyards and passages that are reminiscent of historic London.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
The Charles Dickens Museum

Charles Dickens' novels famously chronicled the lives and dramas of 19th century London in the throes of the industrial revolution, and his portrayal of slums and workhouses drew on his own family's experiences of poverty and debt. The drawing room of the Dickens' House where he held literary salons has been lovingly restored, and elsewhere you can view all manner of Dickens paraphernalia including personal letters and notes as well as manuscripts and first editions of his books.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
The Sherlock Holmes Museum

This building was not always blessed with the famous address of the world's most celebrated detective, its number was changed to 221b in honor of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's creation. The rest of the museum is also very true to the fiction. You can sit in Holmes' armchair, fiddle with his scientific experiments, and examine memorabilia from his adventures. Dedicated entirely to Holmes, his fans will enjoy their money's worth.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Carlyle's House

Established in 1896 soon after the writer's death, Carlyle's House is one of the oldest literary museums in London, so the original decor and furnishings as well as many personal items have been preserved. The Scottish-born historian Thomas Carlyle, who is best known for his history of the French Revolution, moved to this typical tall and thin townhouse in the early part of the Victorian era when Chelsea was still largely undeveloped and unfashionable. Carlyle wrote his monumental tomes in the attic, which he had soundproofed against the noise of his neighbors. He and his wife lived a life full of anecdote and incident and there is much here to delight both those with an interest in literary history and those with an enthusiasm for Victorian interiors.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
Keats House

The Keats House Museum is the London home of one of the last Romantic poets, John Keats. This museum is a popular stop on the poetry lover's itinerary. Keats (1795-1821) lived here for most of his adult life, which wasn't long considering his untimely death at only 25 years old. After heading to Rome to escape the English climate, which would exacerbate his tuberculosis, he ultimately died abroad. He is buried in Testaccio.

London, United Kingdom
Add to Collection
0 51 13429-best-literature-music-in-london
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Interesting Architecture Around the World
15 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Legendary Sports Spots Around the World
30 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
30 1 0 8
3429