Recherche mondiale

Définissez votre emplacement
Rejoindre
Se Déconnecter
user image
Mon profil
Se déconnecter
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

A Day in Brussels

Par: Cityseeker
Modifier la collection
Télécharger le PDF
507


Musée d'Art Modern

Le Musée d'Art moderne, situé sur la Place Royale, a été construit autour d'un rayon de lumière qui permet à la lumière du jour d'entrer. Composé de huit étages sous-terrains, il expose une sélection d'œuvres d'artistes modernes belges tels que Marcel Broodthaers, Rik Wouters, et 28 œuvres de René Magritte. Il fait partie du Musée Royale Belge des Beaux Arts. On y trouve aussi des œuvres d'artistes étrangers, tels que Andy Warhol et Marc Chagall. Il y a une boutique des cadeaux, et une cafétéria.

Bruxelles, Belgique
Ajouter à la collection
Place du Grand Sablon

Cette place abrite beaucoup d'antiquaires chics Emporio Armani, la très célèbre pâtisserie Wittamer, et bien d'autre. Donnée en cadeau à la ville en 1751, une statue de Minerve se dresse sur la place. On trouve également l’Église Notre Dame et l’Église du Sablon. Le samedi entre 9h et 18h un marché aux antiquaires bat son plein. De l'autre côté de la Place, vous trouverez la Place du Petit Sablon, un jardin pittoresque remplis de statues.

Bruxelles, Belgique
Ajouter à la collection
Hôtel de ville

L’Hôtel de ville de Bruxelles est une merveille gothique sophistiquée qui constitue le point central de l’emblématique Grand-Place. Incontestablement l’un des bâtiments administratifs les plus luxuriants de la ville, il fut conçu par deux architectes : l’aile gauche par Jacques van Thienen en 1402, et l’aile droite par Jean van Ruysbroeck de 1445 à 1450. Les deux ailes arrières furent ajoutées en 1712, en harmonie avec le style architectural du bâtiment initial en forme de L. Ses murs extérieurs arborent de nombreuses statues qui représentent des saints, des nobles et d’autres personnages. Ces efforts sont unifiés par la frappante et exquise tour gothique au centre, surmontée par une statut de Saint-Michel, le saint-patron de Bruxelles. À l'intérieur, des salles élégantes sont ornées de tapisseries et de peintures des XVIe, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles. L’Hôtel de ville est vraiment un endroit magnifique, en particulier lorsqu’il s’illumine la nuit.

Bruxelles, Belgique
Ajouter à la collection
Manneken Pis

Le Manneken Pis est à Bruxelles ce que la Tour Eiffel est à Paris et la Statue de la Liberté à New York. La minuscule statue a été coulée dans le bronze en 1619 par Jérôme Duquesnoy mais a malheureusement été détruite. Une autre a été faite en 1630 pour la remplacer, mais cette statue de remplacement fut vouée au même destin et détruite par les attaques françaises et anglaises. Cependant, l'esprit du petit garçon est resté là et des fragments des statues ont été rassemblés pour former le moule du Manneken Pis actuel. Les touristes du monde entier viennent admirer le petit garçon changer de tenue au fil des saisons.

Bruxelles, Belgique
Ajouter à la collection
Grand-Place

La Grand-Place emblématique de la Belgique témoigne du glorieux patrimoine culturel et économique de la ville. Reconnue comme l’une des plus belles places de marché d’Europe, son esplanade est entièrement entourée par de hauts bâtiments à pignons de la Renaissance flamande remplis d'ornements et de statues. Parmi les bâtiments qui entourent la place, la mairie avec sa tour gothique de Brabantine et le musée néogothique de la ville de Bruxelles sont particulièrement remarquables. Impressionnante en journée, elle est encore plus belle la nuit sous l’éclat doré des lumières de la rue. Pendant le printemps et la saison estivale, vous pourrez découvrir un spectacle de lumières à ne surtout pas manquer, donnant vie au patrimoine musical et culturel de la ville.

Bruxelles, Belgique
Ajouter à la collection
Musée Horta

L'Art Nouveau qui s'étend de la fin du XIXe au début du XXe siècle est pratiquement né à Bruxelles. L'architecte de ce bâtiment, Victor Horta (1861-1947), est considéré comme l'un des maîtres de l'Art Nouveau. Il y vécut jusqu'au moment de sa mort en 1919 et en construisit 300 autres dans le même style à travers la ville. Le bâtiment fut restauré en 1991 et abrite maintenant un musée. A l'instar des autres maisons construites par Horta, vous reconnaîtrez la pâte qui lui est propre : utiliser des matériaux industriels comme du fer et du métal en les manipulant pour qu'ils aient l'air d'être naturels.

Bruxelles, Belgique
Ajouter à la collection
Musée des Enfants

Ce musée merveilleux a été fait conçu les enfants âgés de 4 à 12 ans, mais c'est aussi quelque chose à ne pas manquer pour les parents. Les expositions les aident à découvrir leurs sentiments, leurs talents, et leurs sens. Des artistes professionnels vous guideront à travers les salles de découvertes. Les visites de deux heures séduiront tous les participants et couvrent des thèmes pris de la vie de tous les jours, changeant tous les trois ans.

Ixelles, Belgique
Ajouter à la collection
Musée David et Alice Van Buuren

Construite en 1929 pour David Van Buuren, banquier et collecteur d'art, cette belle maison en style art déco a été transformée en musée des tapisseries, verres soufflés, et tableaux des grands maîtres modernes et classiques en 1973. Les oeuvres les plus célèbres sont La Chute d'Icare de Breughel, et les œuvres d'Ensor et Van Gogh. Des expositions de sculpture contemporaine ont lieu dans le jardin. Pour des visites en groupe, des réservations seront nécessaires.

Uccle, Belgique
Ajouter à la collection
Bruparck

Durant l'Exposition Universelle de 1958, l'une des grandes favorites étaient Vrolijk België. Cet amalgame de bars antiques était destiné à illustrer la grande qualité de vie de la Belgique. Après l'exposition, tout a été démonté, à part l'Atonium. Mais le Vrolijk België est de retour sous le nom de Brupark. Il abrite un cinéma géant, le Kinepolis, une piscine paradisiaque l'Oceadium, la célèbre Mini-Europe ainsi que l'Atomium, mondialement connu. Le Brupark est ouvert toute l'année. Les bars et les restaurants ont des terrasses très agréables. Aire de jeux, cyber café, manège vénitien. L'entrée dans le parc est gratuite. Prix des attractions sont disponibles sur le site Internet.

Bruxelles, Belgique
Ajouter à la collection
0 91 1507-a-day-in-brussels
1 of
1 0
Laisser un commentaire :
300 Caractères restants

Soumettre
Collections similaries
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Marqué

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Marqué

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Exploring Washington DC
35 Marqué

Exploring Washington DC

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
35 1 0 9
507

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

A Day in Brussels

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
507


Museum of Modern Art

Located on Place Royale, with no less than eight floors underground, the Museum of Modern Art was constructed around a light shaft that allows daylight to filter down. As part of the Belgian Royal Museum of Fine Arts, it houses a selection of works by Belgian modernists such as Marcel Broodthaers, Rik Wouters and 28 pieces by René Magritte. It also includes foreign artists such as Andy Warhol and Marc Chagall. There is a gift shop and cafeteria. The Museum of Modern Art is closed for renovation works until 2012. Please check the website regarding the museum's reopening.

Brussels, Belgium
Add to Collection
Place du Grand Sablon

This location is home to many upscale antiques stores, along with Emporio Armani, the world-renowned pastry boutique Wittamer, and much more. The square is distinguished by a statue of Minerva, given to the city as a gift in 1751. Here you'll also find Our Lady Church and the Sablon Church. On Saturday from 9a-6p and on Sunday from 9a-2p an antique market is in full swing. Just across the square you'll find Place du Petit Sablon, a quaint garden filled with statues.

Brussels, Belgium
Add to Collection
Town Hall

Brussels Town Hall is an intricate Gothic marvel that forms the focal point of Brussels' iconic Grand Place and is easily one of the city's most lavish civic buildings. The Town Hall was chiefly designed by two architects: the left wing by Jacques van Thienen in 1402, and the right wing by Jean van Ruysbroeck in 1445-1450. The two rear wings were added much later in 1712 but were designed in harmony with the architectural style of the original, L-shaped building. The exterior walls of the Town Hall feature numerous statues that depict saints, nobles, and other figures, each a vivid image of the people they represent. Uniting these efforts is the striking and exquisite Gothic tower at the center topped by a statue of St. Michael, the patron saint of Brussels. Inside, the elegant rooms are decorated with tapestries and paintings from the 16th, 17th and 18th Centuries. Brussels Town Hall is an arresting sight, especially when lit up at night.

Brussels, Belgium
Add to Collection
Manneken Pis

This whimsical fountain takes the form of a nonchalant, unclothed boy relieving himself into a basin, a symbol indicative of the city of Brussels' eccentric spirit. A drinking-water fountain that dates back to the 15th Century, the original Manneken Pis was replaced by a bronze cast in 1619 by Jerome Duquesnoy. Although the cheerful little lad survived the bombardment of Brussels in 1695, the statue was repeatedly stolen and retrieved making for a rather colorful history that is heartily embellished with folklore and legends. Following its abduction in 1965, the original was once more rescued, this time from the depths of the Charleroi Canal, restored and placed under the care of the Museum of the City of Brussels, and replaced with a copy. The spirit of this cheeky icon has not diminished, however, but instead has come to be world-renown. With a wardrobe composed of over 900 outfits, the Manneken Pis is dressed in different garb at varying points throughout the year, an event that attracts visitors from near and far. From the 19th Century onward, the Manneken Pis no longer dispenses drinking water but instead is an ornamental fountain. A rather small and undeniably odd image for a cultural icon, the Manneken Pis, or "peeing boy," nonetheless remains a treasured symbol of Brussels' irreverent wit.

Brussels, Belgium
Add to Collection
Grand Place

Belgium's iconic Grand Place stands as a testament to the city's glorious cultural and economic legacy. Recognized as one of the most splendid market squares in Europe, its arcade is completely enclosed by tall, gabled Flemish Renaissance buildings decorated with intricate ornamentation and carved statues. Of the buildings that surround the square, the Town Hall with its Brabantine Gothic tower and the Neo-Gothic Brussels City Museum are especially remarkable. Impressive as it is by day, the square is even more stunning at night under the golden glow of street lights. During spring and summer evenings there is a light show that brings to life the city's musical and cultural heritage.

Brussels, Belgium
Add to Collection
Horta Museum

Art Nouveau was practically born in Brussels. Victor Horta (1861-1947), considered Brussels' master of the art, designed this house and made it his residence until 1919. It was restored in 1991 and is now a museum. Horta is known for his design of buildings using industrial materials such as metal and iron, manipulated to look organic and natural. The city features many similar buildings.

Brussels, Belgium
Add to Collection
Children's Museum

This wonderful museum is for children aged four to twelve and is a must for every parent. The museum's exhibits help them discover their feelings, talents and senses. Professional performers welcome and guide you through the discovery rooms. These tours last two hours and can be enjoyed by both young and old. They are organized around themes from daily life with changing themes throughout the year. Visit their website for varying dates.

Ixelles, Belgium
Add to Collection
David and Alice Van Buuren Museum

Built in 1929 in art deco style for the Dutch banker and art collector David Van Buuren, this beautiful mansion was turned into a museum in 1973 for fine tapestries, blown glass and paintings by modern and classic masters. The most famous are Breughel's The Fall of Icarus and works by Ensor and Van Gogh. Contemporary sculpture exhibitions are organized in the garden. For group visits you must make a reservation.

Uccle, Belgium
Add to Collection
Bruparck

During the 1958 World Exhibition, one hit exhibition was Vrolijk België (Merry Belgium). This amalgamation of 'antique' bars was meant to illustrate Belgium's high quality of life. After the exhibition, everything, apart from the Atomium, was torn down, but Merry Belgium is back. Now called Brupark, it houses a giant Kinepolis cinema, the swimmer's paradise Oceadium, the popular Mini-Europe, as well as the world-renowned Atomium. Brupark's village can be visited all year round. The bars and restaurants have lovely terraces; there is a playground, a Cyber Café and a beautiful Venetian carousel.

Brussels, Belgium
Add to Collection
0 91 1507-a-day-in-brussels
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Bookmarked

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
19 1 0 5
507