Set Current Location
This is the first thematic and interactive museum in the Mercosur aimed at children from three to twelve years old. The purpose is to combine learning and playing, taking city life as a theme for experimenting and having fun. The activities that take place here and the environment in which they are carried out conform to new learning techniques designed to bring out the child's creativity while having fun in the process. There are competitions, drawing, painting and ceramics exhibitions by the children and more.
The museum and headquarters of the Pan Club Foundation is what used to be the residence of the late Xul Solar. It houses a permanent exposition of much of his works. The building's architectural layout is outstanding; it was especially designed by Architect Pablo Beitía with the aim of displaying the artist's work. The uneven back yard coincides with the house's old garden, while the interior communicates with the terrace and with the second floor, where Xul used to live. The simple furniture was designed by the artist himself. There is also a piano, some puppets, and an enormous library. Xul Solar developed a versatile, eccentric personality, of great genius. This personality led him to perform on many disciplines: inventions, chess, astrologically-based tarot, a fuller-sounding piano with 3 rows of textured keys for people with sight impediments, architectural ideas in urbanism and landscaping, and even linguistics by creating the "neocriollo": a humorous mixture of Spanish and Portuguese. He attempted to found pan-universalism as a base in which people of every nation and religion could meet. His greatest achievement was in painting. In this field he is renowned as predecessor in surrealism in a Latin American reality. With his small, colorful watercolours he uncovered a mysterious world of symbols (represented, for example, by arrows and stairs) and unveiled the path of surreal culture.
Named for its location directly, across from the National Congress Building, this plaza contains a large monolith, that represents the start for all its national highways. This plaza almost encompasses three city blocks (its western-most point along Ave. de Mayo), and is an ideal place for recreation and rest. One of the city's best and most valuable sculptures, is a bronze reproduction of The Thinker by Auguste Rodin, which can be found in the plaza.
This monolith is a meeting place, for political demonstrations, musical performances and celebrations over victories of the national soccer team. It was dedicated in 1936, to commemorate the anniversary of Buenos Aires' first foundation. It measures 70 meters (230 feet) high and is made of reinforced concrete. In its interior a 200-hundred-step stairway,is used to perform maintenance jobs from the top. The obelisk brightens with white lights at night, but the gleams of surrounding neon billboards, is what gives the area its unique and colorful glow.
Inaugurated on May 25, 1908 with the opera Aida by Giuseppe Verdi, the Teatro Colón's architecture reflects the Italian Renaissance. The elaborate plaster moldings, stained glass dome, sweeping staircase, sculpted busts with gold-leaf details, frescoes, French furnishings and gargantuan chandelier in the theater hall are some of the elements which create the unparalleled opulence. Despite much needed structural maintenance, the acoustics are difficult to surpass. Some 2500-theater goers experience some of the world's finest ballet along with the Colón's own Ballet Estable, Filarmónica symphony orchestra and opera during seasonal performances. Guided tours are available during the week by telephone, or through the website. Box office hours vary on show days. Check website or call ahead for more information.
The construction of this new headquarters for the National Library was started in the 1950s. It was inaugurated in 1992, after a number of difficulties. These premises are set in the middle of several large gardens. The entrance to the library is either at Aguero or Austria streets. The library boasts more than five million books, arranged in three basements. At the first basement, there is a comprehensive newspaper and magazine archive featuring provincial as well as national editions. At the comfortable auditorium there are always interesting seminars and exhibits.
The double-decker tour bus is operated by the City of Buenos Aires. Tourists can hop on and off at will to enjoy 20 of the most important landmarks and neighborhoods in the city. Tickets can be purchased for 24 or 48 hours and children under three are free. There is a five percent discount if you buy tickets online through the official website. Tri-lingual guides in English, Spanish and Portuguese are on board every bus. Taped audio synchronized with the bus route is also available. A free bi-monthly magazine with pictures and stories about the various locations on route comes with the tour. Buses run every 15 minutes. The complete circuit takes about three hours. It's a great way to get to know this wonderful city.
Opened in 1896, the National Museum of Fine Arts has 32 exhibit halls with state of the art technology for both traditional and multimedia shows. Its permanent collection—the oldest piece dating from the 12th Century—includes European masters such as Goya, Renoir, Van Gogh, Rodin and Bourdelle. Works by Argentine masters date from the 19th and 20th Centuries, including Juan Carlos Castagnino and Benito Quinquela Martín. There is a library open to the public and workshops for art restoration and editing of audio-visuals.
Guided tours of the Governor's offices and Cabinet meeting rooms, allow visitors to learn about the history of the building. In addition, the guides give in-depth explanations of the city's three shields, that are painted above the lobby entrance. You can also witness the changing of the guards, here every half-hour during the weekends. These guards, are members of the oldest Argentine regiment, who fought against the English invaders in 1806.
The historic Subte Line A was inaugurated in December 1913 and is the 13th oldest underground subway line in the world. The length of the original network was approximately 7 kilometers (4.35 miles) and it originated from the Plaza de Mayo to the Plaza Miserere. Today, it extends to the Carabobo, and follows the old route via the Avenue de Mayo and Congreso. The line is further distinguished with running the same wooden cars that were used during its initial journey. These were built by the Belgian company La Brugeoise and is often regarded as heritage on wheels. The stations such as Peru and Congreso on the route retain the ornamentation and beauty from the time.
This gallery exhibits a broad and abundant selection of Argentine contemporary art showcased in an opulent space under optimum lighting. With more than 100 yearly exhibits, an average of 2500 works are displayed. The gallery also holds auctions, and publishes art books, catalogues and videos. The owners were precursors for recognizing and meeting the growing demand for Latin American artists by participating in art biennials, thus breaking into the international art scene early on. Among some of the gallery's most venerated artists are Raúl Soldi, Oscar Campos and Enrique Castro.
Completed in 1783, this church housed the Natural History Museum and astronomic observatory under President Rivadavia. In 1835, the dictator Juan Manuel de Rosas repatriated the Dominican friars and in 1856 the second tower was built. An atrium houses the Mausoleum of General Manuel Belgrano, the creator of the Argentine flag, who was born and died near the church. This work by Hector Ximenez has a large base of red granite with two bas-reliefs representing the presentation of the Flag and the Battle of Tucuman.