全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

A Day in Washington DC

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
528


白宫

美国总统职位的重要基石,白宫是美国总统的正式居所和总部。位于宾夕法尼亚大道1600号的这座闪闪发光的新古典主义建筑最初被称为总统府,在西奥多·罗斯福深情地赐予“白宫”这个名字之前,这个名字将不仅表示物理结构,由总统及其顾问组成的整个集体单位。当约翰·亚当斯(John Adams)是这个官邸的第一任主管时,几位领导人在自己的内部加入了自己的元素,最值得一提的是前肯尼迪总统夫人杰奎琳·肯尼迪(Jacqueline Kennedy)的第一夫人杰奎琳·肯尼迪(Jacqueline Kennedy)的全面重新装修。今天,白宫的中央大楼由行政公寓组成,而这个庞大的结构其余部分则由132间客房,35间浴室,网球场,果岭,电影院和保龄球馆组成哈里·S·杜鲁门

Washington, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
美国国家历史博物馆

及时回去探索美国历史上的美国历史。丰富的陈列,描绘了美国人的千古之旅;它驻留在一个画廊,描绘美国国歌的出现以及其他创新和珍爱的文物。这座多层建筑内展示着展示美国光荣日子的展览厅和客房。

华盛顿, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
宪法花园

这座占地52英亩的公园位于首都众多着名的纪念碑和纪念馆的反射池以北。一个美丽的散步的地方,通过树木的道路,带你到越南退伍军人纪念馆,一个湖泊和纪念独立宣言的签名者。沉浸在历史中,这是任何DC巡演必看的地方。

华盛顿, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
华盛顿纪念碑

华盛顿特区的象征,国家广场上这个长达555英尺(169米)的大理石方尖碑,是全国第一任总统乔治·华盛顿(George Washington)的荣誉。华盛顿纪念碑的基石是在1848年奠定的,但是直到1884年,建筑工程还没有完成。大约三分之一的方尖碑是大理石的明显变化,是内战爆发的证据。战争期间施工停止,当建筑工人回到同一采石场完成工程后,足够的时间过去,造成颜色的显着变化。华盛顿纪念碑是美国的象征和国家的象征,是一个动人的景象,其优雅的形式映射在附近的林肯纪念碑反射池。

Washington, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
国家自然历史博物馆

国家自然历史博物馆地下的恐龙骨架肯定会让孩子们满意。但每个人都有一些东西。着名的希望钻石展览,以及一个活珊瑚礁,步行的矿山和昆虫动物园与数千活标本。探索室鼓励孩子们触摸,嗅觉和品味展品。如果你的脚需要休息一下,请坐在国家自然历史博物馆博物馆的塞缪尔·C·约翰逊IMAX影院内欣赏电影。

华盛顿, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
国家美术馆

国家美术馆在两座壮观的建筑中收藏了大量欧美艺术品。在宏伟的新古典主义的西方建筑里,伦勃朗,鲁本斯和庚斯博罗都有很好的代表性。永久收藏包括13至20世纪的作品,其中包括专门印制主义的部分。一个地下大堂,一个自助餐厅,一个优秀的礼品店和一个围墙瀑布带你到东楼。这座三角形建筑由裴培德设计,是重要的城市地标,也是着名的艺术品和其他临时展览的所在地。

华盛顿, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
史密森学会大厦

史密森学会通常被称为“美国的阁楼”,是世界上最大的博物馆综合体和研究机构。组织你在华盛顿的史密森建筑之旅,开始在研究所的易于定位的红砂岩哥特式城堡。正在进行的视频演示,触摸屏,地图和乐于助人的工作人员将帮助您制定计划,浏览各种各样的博物馆。这座建筑通常也被称为“城堡”。这座城堡也是史密森博物馆的创始人詹姆斯·史密森(James Smithson)的最后安息之所,因为他的墓位于北门入口的地下室。

Washington, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
国家广场

作为联邦城市原始设计的一部分,这个庞大的公园从美国国会大厦延伸到林肯纪念堂和潮汐盆地附近的杰斐逊纪念堂。它历史上曾经举办过许多重大的,世界性变化的事件,包括1963年的华盛顿3月,万人游行和几个总统就职典礼。今天,国家广场是一个反思的地方,是美国英雄的纪念碑,是自由的象征,是通过抗议和集会来实行民主的论坛。史密森博物馆,越南纪念馆,反射池和标志性的华盛顿纪念碑是国家广场中众多标志性建筑中最有名的几个。当然,任何对华盛顿特区的访问都应该先从美国国家广场出发,名字叫“美国前院”。

华盛顿, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
美国犹太人大屠杀纪念博物馆

参观者应该准备好参观美国大屠杀纪念博物馆时可能难以忘记的经历。在参观开始时,每位参观者都会获得一个大屠杀受害者的身份证,以符合访客的年龄和性别。普通的现实是通过偏离中心的楼梯,怪异的角度和玻璃走道上方的其他游客的阴影歪曲。精心制作的视听展示包括采访,电影和照片。纪念馆在游览结束时提供了一个平静,空虚的空间,可以反映出体验。博物馆不鼓励11岁以下的儿童参加。参观博物馆是免费的。从3月到8月,需要一张免费通行证才能进入常设展览,大屠杀,一个按年代顺序的历史。通票不需要进入博物馆大楼,或者进入任何较小的展览,纪念馆或特别节目。

华盛顿, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
林肯纪念堂

林肯纪念堂位于国家广场的西端,是华盛顿特区的主要地标之一,其庄严的形式俯瞰着反射池,这是一个闪闪发光的水域,在其基地之前蔓延。丹尼尔·切斯特(Daniel Chester)法国人19英尺(5.7米)的林肯雕像座落在深深的思想之中,与“葛底斯堡演说”的雕刻文字一起关注着他所帮助创造的国家,让人想起美国历史上一段重要的时期。纪念馆本身从希腊的建筑风格中得到启发,它的36个多立克式柱子代表了林肯去世时联盟的多个州。林肯纪念堂周围绿树环绕,位于波托马克河畔,风景如画。这是一个国家最受尊敬的总统之一。

Washington, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
美国植物园

华丽的美国植物园音乐学院呈现植物多样性,从沙漠到热带,沿着一系列平静而轻柔的曲径通道。一个特别的瀑布和花园展示了恐龙时代的植物群。季节性展品包括十二月和一月的圣诞节绿色和一品红,秋季的菊花和复活节盛开的鲜花。美国国家植物园(USBG)的一部分于2006年10月开放,包括精心设计的蝴蝶园。

华盛顿, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
美国国会大厦

美国联邦政府立法部门,参议院和众议院的居所,国会大厦的原始门面,优雅的圆顶和门廊,也是国家创始人亲爱的原则的象征;代表民主的象征。国会大厦的基石是1793年由乔治·华盛顿总统奠定的,第一届美国国会将在1800年举行,虽然在新古典主义建筑完工之前还需要11年时间。有趣的是,美国国会大厦不是由建筑师设计的,而是由生活在英属西印度群岛的医生William Thornton博士来设计的。国会大厦的导览游览提供了政府的日常工作和宏伟的国会大厦内部丰富的错综复杂的一瞥。

Washington, DC, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 141 2528-a-day-in-washington-dc
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
528

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
Select a Category

A Day in Washington DC

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
528


The White House

The monumental cornerstone of the United States presidency, the White House is the formal abode and headquarters of the President of the United States. Located at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, this gleaming neoclassical structure was originally referred to as the Presidential Mansion, before Theodore Roosevelt lovingly bestowed upon it the moniker of 'White House' - a name that would go on to signify not only the physical structure, but the entire collective unit that comprised of the President and his advisers. While John Adams was the first incumbent of this official home, several leaders that followed added their own elements to its interiors, the most noteworthy being the comprehensive redecoration carried out by former First Lady Jacqueline Kennedy, wife of erstwhile President John F. Kennedy. Today, the central building of the White House comprises of the Executive Residence, while the rest of this colossal structure consists of a total of 132 rooms, 35 bathrooms, a tennis court, a putting green, a movie theater and a bowling alley named after Harry S. Truman.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
National Museum of American History

Take a trip back in time and explore the much celebrated American history at the National Museum of American History. Rich in displays that depict the American journey through the ages; it resides inside a gallery that portrays the emergence of the American national anthem along with other innovative and cherished artifacts. Housed within this multi-floor building are exhibition halls and rooms that illustrate the glorious and doom days of America.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
Constitution Gardens

This 52-acre park is located north of the Reflecting Pool amid the capital's many famous monuments and memorials. A beautiful place for a stroll, the paths wind through the trees taking you to the Vietnam Veterans Memorial, a lake and a memorial to the signers of the Declaration of Independence. Steeped in history, this is a must-see on any DC tour.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
Washington Monument

The symbol of the city of Washington DC, this 555-foot (169-meter) marble obelisk on the National Mall honors the nation's first president, George Washington. The cornerstone of the Washington Monument was laid in 1848, but construction was not completed until 1884. About one-third of the way up the obelisk is a visible change in the marble, evidence of the onset of the Civil War. Construction was halted during the war, and when the builders returned to the same quarry to complete the project afterward, enough time had passed to cause a significant change in the color. An emblem of the United States and an icon of the nation, the Washington Monument is a moving sight, its elegant form mirrored in the Reflecting Pool of the Lincoln Monument nearby.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
National Museum of Natural History

The dinosaur skeletons on the ground floor of the National Museum of Natural History are sure to please the kids. But there is something here for everyone. The famous Hope Diamond is on display as well as a live coral reef, a walk-through mine and an insect zoo with thousands of live specimens. The Discovery Room encourages kids to touch, smell and taste the exhibits. If your feet need some rest, sit back and enjoy a film in the museum's Samuel C. Johnson IMAX Theater in the National Museum of Natural History.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
National Gallery of Art

The National Gallery houses an extensive collection of European and American art in two spectacular buildings. In the grand, neoclassical West Building, Rembrandt, Rubens and Gainsborough are well-represented. The permanent collection includes works from the 13th to 20th Centuries, including a section devoted to Impressionism. An underground concourse with a cafeteria, an excellent gift shop and a walled-in waterfall takes you to the East Building. Designed by I.M. Pei, this triangular building is a key city landmark and home to famous pieces of art and other temporary exhibitions.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
Smithsonian Institution Building

Commonly known as "America's attic," the Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum complex and research organization. Organize your tours of the Smithsonian buildings in Washington by starting at the Institute's easy-to-locate red sandstone Gothic castle. Ongoing video presentations, touch screens, maps and helpful staff members will help you create a plan to navigate the many varied museums. The building is also commonly referred to as the "Castle." The castle is also the final resting place of the Smithsonian's founder, James Smithson, as his tomb is located in the crypt in the north entrance.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
National Mall

Part of the original design for the federal city, this massive park stretches from the US Capitol to the Lincoln Memorial and around the Tidal Basin to the Jefferson Memorial. It has played host to many momentous, world-changing events throughout history including the 1963 March on Washington, the Million Man March and several presidential inaugurations. Today, the National Mall serves as a place for reflection, a memorial to American heroes, a symbol of freedom and a forum for the exercise of democracy through protests and rallies. The Smithsonian museums, the Vietnam Memorial, the Reflecting Pool and the iconic Washington Monument are a few of the most well-known of the National Mall's many iconic sites. Certainly, any visit to Washington DC should start with a tour of the United States National Mall, aptly named "America's front yard."

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Visitors should come prepared for an experience likely to be difficult to forget when visiting the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. At the start of the tour, each visitor is given an identity card of a Holocaust victim that matches the visitor's own age and gender. Ordinary reality is skewed through off-center stairways, weird angles and the shadows of other visitors on the glass walkways overhead. An elaborate audio-visual display includes interviews, films and photographs. The Hall of Remembrance provides a calm, empty space at the end of the tour where one can reflect on the experience. The museum discourages children under 11 from attending. Admission to the museum is free. From March through August a free pass is required to enter the Permanent Exhibition, The Holocaust, a chronological history. Passes are not required to gain entrance to the museum building, or to go to any of the smaller exhibitions, memorials, or special programming.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
Lincoln Memorial

Located at the west end of the National Mall, the Lincoln Memorial is one of the principal landmarks of Washington DC, its stately form overlooking the Reflecting Pool, a gleaming stretch of water that lays sprawled before its base. Daniel Chester French's 19-foot (5.7-meter) statue of Lincoln, seated and deep in thought, watches over the nation he helped create, alongside the carved text of the Gettysburg Address, providing a glimpse into a weighty period of American history. The memorial itself draws inspiration from the Greek architectural style, its 36 Doric columns representative of the number of states in the union at the time of Lincoln's death. Surrounded by greenery, on the banks of the Potomac River, the Lincoln Memorial makes for a soul-stirring, picturesque sight; a fitting ode to one of the nation's most revered Presidents.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
U.S. Botanic Garden

The gorgeous U.S. Botanic Garden conservatory presents botanical variety, from the desert to the tropics, along a series of calm and gently meandering paths. A particular waterfall and garden display the flora of the dinosaur age. Seasonal displays include Christmas greens and poinsettias in December and January, chrysanthemums in autumn and blooming flowers at Easter. A part of the United States Botanic Garden (USBG), the National Garden, was opened in October 2006 and includes the carefully-designed Butterfly Garden.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
U.S. Capitol Building

Not only the abode of the Legislative Branch of the United States Federal Government, the Senate and the House of Representatives, the pristine facade, elegant dome and porticoes of the Capitol Building are also a symbol of the principles held dear by the nation's founding fathers; an emblem of representative democracy. The Capitol's foundation stone was laid in 1793 by President George Washington and the first session of the United States Congress to be held here was in the year 1800, although it would be another 11 years before the neoclassical building would be complete. Interestingly, the United States Capitol Building was not designed by an architect, but instead by Dr. William Thornton, a physician by trade living in the British West Indies. Guided tours of the Capitol offer a glimpse into the day to day working of the government and the intricacies of the majestic Capitol's rich interiors.

Washington, DC, United States
Add to Collection
0 141 2528-a-day-in-washington-dc
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Bookmarked

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
13 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
13 1 0 4
528