Recherche mondiale

Définissez votre emplacement
Rejoindre
Se Déconnecter
user image
Mon profil
Se déconnecter

A Day in San Francisco

Par: Cityseeker
Modifier la collection
Télécharger le PDF
530


Musée d'Art Asiatique

Le musée d'art asiatique est l'un des plus grands musées du monde occidental dédié exclusivement à l'art asiatique. Sa collection inclut près de 15 000 trésors couvrant 6 000 ans d'histoire et représentant les cultures de toute l'Asie. L'architecte de renom Gae Aulenti a supervisé les rénovations majeures de l'édifice, il possède maintenant environ 12 000 mètres carrés d'espace d'exposition, permettant au musée de mieux remplir sa mission de mener un public plus large à la découverte de matériaux uniques, de travaux esthétiques et intellectuels de la culture et de l'art asiatique.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Dolores Park

Le Dolores Parc est un des endroits majeurs de San Francisco et c'est un lieu de rendez-vous pour de nombreux citoyens. Bien que ce ne soit pas très grand, le parc attire une foule de gens et ses vues magnifiques en valent le détour. L'espace récréatif comprend des courts de tennis et de basket-ball, deux terrains de football et une aire de jeux pour enfants, mais le Dolores Parc est souvent utilisé comme un lieu pour des événements spéciaux comme des soirées cinéma en plein air. Ses environs sont connus pour quelques attraits culinaires majeurs: Delfina, Pizzeria Delfina and the Tartine Bakery. C'est aussi un lieu agréable pour déguster une bonne glace de chez Bi-Rite Creamery. Il y a souvent des événements le samedi dans le parc et c'est toujours bondé les weekends. Étant donné son emplacement, c'est presque toujours ensoleillé, le célèbre brouillard n'est pas assez bête pour s'aventurer au-dessus du Dolores Parc. Que vous choisissez de vous asseoir à "Dog Beach, "Hipsters Beach, "Speedo Ridge" ou de participer à des activités sur l'aire de jeux ou sur des terrains, soyez certain que vous passerez un moment agréable.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Grace Cathedral

Cette monumentale structure surplombant Nob Hill fut construite sur le site du manoir Crocker, détruit en 1906 par le tremblement de terre et le feu. Ses vitraux sont l'une des principales attractions de la cathédrale. Les fenêtres représentent environ 1000 visages, dont certains datent des années 1930. Les bas-reliefs dorés qui ornent les portes de l'entrée principale sont coulés à partir des moulures d'origines du sculpteur Lorenzo Ghiberti, ayant servi pour les Portes du Paradis du baptistère de Florence. Cet endroit possède aussi deux labyrinthes. Celui à l'extérieur est fait de pierres Terrazzo, tandis que celui à l'intérieur est composé de calcaire. L'intérieur contient des vitraux bleu-poudres, rouges éclatants et jaunes. Il y a aussi des fresques présentant l'histoire de San Francisco et des scènes de la vie du saint patron de San Francisco, Saint François d'Assise.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Musée Juif Contemporain

Fondé en 1984, le Musée contemporain juif présente des programmes académiques et artistiques qui explorent l'esprit et l'imagination juifs. Le musée propose des vues contemporaines et perpectives des juifs sur la culture, l'histoire et l'art, avec des programmes qui réflètent les idées globales du passé et qui sont d'une importance pour les peuples d'aujourd'hui. L'architecte de renommée mondiale, Libeskind a été sollicité pour réaliser ce projet. Ce musée d'environ 6000 mètres carrés offre un espace convivial où les peuples de tous origines peuvent se rencontrer, célébrer et débattre de toutes les formes d'art.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Coit Tower

Selon une idée reçue ce monument iconique est façonné comme une lance de tuyau d'incendie. Ce qu'il n'est pas, du moins dans sa conception. La tour est un cadeau de Lilly Hitchcock Coit, une excentrique héritière qui a réussi à se démarquer dans une ville pleine d'excentricité. Cette femme portait une passion particulière pour la caserne de pompiers de San Francisco. L'argent qu'elle a légué était pour l'embellissement de la ville et fut utilisé pour construire cette tour art déco sur Telegraph Hill en 1932. La vue est une des plus impressionnantes de San Francisco, dévoilant la baie, les deux ponts, et Marin Headlands. À l'intérieur, le premier étage est décoré avec une belle fresque murale, commandée en 1933, qui représente l'histoire de San Francisco. Notez qu'il y a des frais minimes pour prendre l'ascenseur jusqu'au sommet de la tour.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Exploratorium

Aménagé par le physicien Frank Oppenheimer et ouvert en 1969, ce musée innovant et interactif est dédié à l'art, la science et la perception humaine. Cet espace moderne, qui a aménagé dans le Palais des Beaux-Arts à Piers 15 et 17, abrite de nouvelles technologies vertes, en l'occurrence la plus vaste toiture en panneaux solaires de San Francisco. On y trouve plus de 600 expositions interactives. Les présentations sur écrans révèlent les mystères de la science et du langage et présentent les théories de manière plus simple et succint. Webinaires, événements spéciaux et séminaires sont aussi organisés ici toute l'année. En définitive, ce magnifique bijou de San Francisco mérite une visite.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Ghirardelli Square

Ne quittez pas San Farncisco sans un détour à ce légendaire espace près de Fisherman's Wharf, qui porte le nom du chocolatier de la ville: Ghirardelli. Il y a une boulangerie et de nombreux restaurants et, bien sûr, le magasin de glaces Ghirardelli, où vous pourrez déguster de délicieuses glaces à l'ancienne ou acheter quelques friandises en souvenir. Prenez votre temps et visitez les galeries d'art, les boutiques de cadeaux et celles spécialisées, ainsi que les magasins de chaussures et de vêtements. Quelques services pratiques sont disponibles, comprenant un couturier et un tailleur, un lieu pour développer vos photos, un distributeur de billets et une boîte aux lettres.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Académie des Sciences de Californie

Situé à l'intérieur de Golden Gate Park, l'Academie des Sciences de Californie est l'un des bâtiments les plus écologiques de la ville et détient la certification platine délivrée par Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED). Le musée comprend le Steinhart Aquarium, récemment rénové et agrandi, une mare résiduelle et le très célèbre marais d'alligator. Vous y trouverez également le planétarium Morrison, le dôme tropical et le hall des mamifères africains. Outre c=les jeux éducatifs, le musée abrite d'autres expositions d'histoire naturelle et sur le réchauffement climatique. Au Academy Cafe, vous trouverez une cuisine internationale, alors que le restaurant Moss Room est le seul endroit où l'on peut prendre un repas dans le parc après la fermeture du musée. Ne manquez pas les Thursday nights au cours desquelles l'Académie devient un lieu de soirées avec des conférenciers spéciaux, des DJ, des cocktails et les soirées pour les 21 ans et plus.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Musée De Young

Jouant le rôle de destination culturelle depuis 1895, le De Young Museum rouvre ses portes en octobre 2005 dans un espace conçu par le cabinet d'architectes suisse Herzog & de Meuron et Fong & Chan Architects à San Francisco. Le bâtiment est magnifique et de la tour d'observation, vous avez une vue imprenable sur le parc. Il est ouvert, aéré et immense. Il dispose également d'une façade de cuivre perforé et gaufré qui marie merveilleusement avec la verdure alentour du musée. De Young Museum abrite une collection de peintures et de sculptures américaines de renom, datant du 17e au 20e siècles. L'art primitif y est très représenté avec de pièces extraordinaires de l'art autochtone américain (depuis la ville antique de Teotihuacan), l'art africain (statues et poteries) et l'art de l'Océanie (boucliers, vêtement et masques de bal). L'accès est gratuit le premier mardi du mois.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Parc Golden Gate

À la fin des années 1800, l'écossais John McLaren a transformé plus de 405 hectares de dunes de sable en un magnifique refuge au centre d'une ville agitée. S'étirant sur 50 blocs, de la rue Stanyan jusqu'à l'océan Pacifique, les paysages verdoyants changent au fil des saisons. Les activités sont diverses, il y a des sentiers pour la randonnée, pour courir, faire du vélo, de l'équitation, ainsi qu'un terrain de golf, un jeu de quilles sur gazon, un terrain de football et de baseball, et même un lac où vous pourrez louer un bateau à paggaies. Pour ceux à la recherche de plus de tranquilité, rendez-vous au California Academy of Sciences et à l'authentique Japanese Tea Garden. Pour les familles avec des enfants, il y a des terrains de jeux, une réserve de bisons et un carrousel.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Pont du Golden Gate

Ce pont, construit en 1937, est un chef-d'oeuvre de l'ingénierie, dont les pylônes robustes portent le Golden Gate. S'étirant sur 1280 mètres, chaque morceau est un accomplissement formidable du savoir-faire en ingénierie des ponts en suspension. Les piétons et les cyclistes peuvent accéder par l'entrée Est pour une balade sur un des corridors les plus célèbres du monde. Pour prendre des photos, arrêtez-vous à l'un des nombreux points de vue spectaculaires situés aux sorties sud-est et nord-est. Ne manquez pas l'historique "Round House Café", qui est à la fois une boutique de cadeaux et l'office du tourisme, et dispose d'une large sélection de souvenirs et d'une exposition informative sur la construction et l'histoire du pont. Veuillez noter qu'il n'y a aucun péage pour les piétons, mais un pour les automobiles sur le pont.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
Legion Of Honor

Legion of Honor abrite plus de 87000 peintures, sculptures, arts décoratifs et tapisseries. Certaines pièces ont plus de 4000 ans. Le premier étage abrite la collection permanente du musée, constituée notamment de l'œuvre de Rodin. Le musée abrite également les arts européen et ancien. Le jardin d'en bas abrite les expositions temporaires, allant d'Andy Warhol à Francis Bacon. Prenez une pause au café du musée où sont servis de snacks légers et achetez une magnifique sélection de cartes postales, livres, posters, bijoux et quelques reproductions de ce musée et de bien d'autres musées des beaux arts. L'accès est gratuit le premier mardi du mois.

San Francisco, CA, États-Unis
Ajouter à la collection
0 131 2530-a-day-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Laisser un commentaire :
300 Caractères restants

Soumettre
Collections similaries
11 Best BBQ Joints in the Southern US
11 Marqué
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Marqué
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Marqué
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Marqué

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Créé par: Cityseeker
Sauvegarder la collection sur le profil
9 1 0 3
530

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
Select a Category

A Day in San Francisco

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
530


Asian Art Museum

The Asian Art Museum is one of the largest museums in the Western world devoted exclusively to Asian art. Its holdings include nearly 15,000 treasures spanning 6000 years of history, representing cultures throughout Asia. Renowned architect Gae Aulenti oversaw the dramatic transformation of the building: it now features 40,000 square feet (3716 square meters) of gallery space, allowing the museum to better fulfill its mission of leading a diverse global audience in discovering the unique material, aesthetic and intellectual achievements of Asian art and culture.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Dolores Park

Dolores Park is one of the main hot spots in San Francisco and is the major meet-up place for many citizens. Though it is not very large, it attracts crowds of people and the beautiful views make it worth the visit. Recreational resources include a few tennis courts, basketball courts, two soccer fields and a children's playground, but most of all Dolores Park is often used as a venue for special events such as movies in the park. Its surrounding area is known for some of San Francisco's major culinary attractions: Delfina, Pizzeria Delfina and the Tartine Bakery. It is also a great place to chill with some ice cream from the Bi-Rite Creamery. Saturday hang-outs in the park are often events themselves and it's always packed on weekends. Given its location, it's almost always sunny; the famous fog knows better than to ruin the oasis that is Dolores Park. Whether you choose to sit in Dog Beach, Hipster Beach, Speedo Ridge or partake in actual activity at the playground or tennis courts you are sure to have an unforgettable time.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Grace Cathedral

This impressive structure crowning Nob Hill was built on the site of the Crocker Mansion after the 1906 earthquake and fire. One of the main attractions of the cathedral are the stained glass windows. These windows showcase over 1000 figures, with some of them dating back as far as the 1930s. The gilded bas-reliefs that adorn the doors of the main entrance are cast from Ghiberti's original molds for the Gates of Paradise that adorn the Baptistery in Florence. The cathedral also boasts two labyrinths. The outdoor one is made of Terrazzo stone and the indoor one from limestone.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Contemporary Jewish Museum

Founded in 1984, the Contemporary Jewish Museum presents scholarly and artistic programs that explore the Jewish spirit and imagination. The museum offers contemporary views and Jewish perspectives on culture, history and art, with programs reflecting global ideas that tie to the past and remain relevant to all people today. World-renowned architect Daniel Libeskind was commissioned for the project. The 63,000 square foot museum provides a welcoming space where people from all backgrounds may encounter, celebrate and debate artistic forms of all varieties.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Coit Tower

Conventional wisdom holds that this iconic monument is shaped like a fire-hose nozzle. It is not, at least not by design. The tower is the gift of Lilly Hitchcock Coit, an eccentric heiress who managed to stand out in a city that teems with eccentricity. Lilly's particular passion was for the San Francisco Fire Department. The money she left in her will for the city's beautification was used to construct the Art Deco tower on Telegraph Hill in 1932. The view from here is one of the most impressive in San Francisco, taking in the Bay, two bridges, and the Marin Headlands. Inside, the first floor is decorated with excellent murals, commissioned in 1933, that depict San Francisco's history. Note that there is a small fee to ride the elevator up to the top of the tower.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Exploratorium

Developed by physicist Frank Oppenheimer and opened in 1969, this innovative and interactive museum is dedicated to art, science and human perception. Relocated from the Palace of Fine Arts to Piers 15 and 17, the modern space features plenty of new green technologies including the largest solar panel roof in San Francisco and offers over 600 hands-on exhibits. These hands-on displays unveil the mysteries of science and language, and present these theories simply and succinctly. Webinars, special events and seminars occur throughout the year. This San Francisco gem is a must visit.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Ghirardelli Square

Don't leave San Francisco without a stroll through this legendary square nearby Fisherman's Wharf, which is named after San Francisco's original chocolate-maker. There is a bakery and several restaurants and, of course, there's the Ghirardelli Ice Cream Shop where you can savor the deliciousness of the old-fashioned Ghirardelli sundae or buy some sweet goodies to bring back. Take some time and visit the art galleries, gift and specialty stores, and shoe and clothing shops. Some practical services are available, including a dressmaker and tailor, film developing, an ATM and a Federal Express drop-off box.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
California Academy of Sciences

Located in Golden Gate Park, the California Academy of Sciences is one of the greenest buildings in the city and has a platinum certification from the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED). The museum features the newly renovated and expanded Steinhart Aquarium, complete with ahands-on tide pool and the well-known alligator swamp. Other exciting features are the Morrison Planetarium, the four-story rainforest dome, and the Hall of African Mammals. In addition to these educational gems, the museum features other natural history exhibits as well as exhibits about global warming. The Academy Cafe offers international cuisine, while the elegant Moss Room restaurant is the only dining option available in the park past museum closing time. Don't miss Thursday nights when the Academy hosts Nightlife, with special lecturers, DJs, cocktails, and mingling for the 21 and up crowd.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
De Young Museum

Acting as a major cultural destination since 1895, the De Young Museum reopened in October 2005 in a facility designed by Swiss architecture firm Herzog & de Meuron and Fong & Chan Architects in San Francisco. The building is magnificent and from the observation tower you can get a great view of the park. It is open, airy and massive. It also has a perforated and embossed copper facade which goes very well with the greenery around the museum. The museum houses the world-renowned American Painting and Sculpture collection, dating from the 17th to the 20th Centuries. Primitive Art is highly represented with extraordinary pieces of Native American Art (from the ancient Teotihuacan City), African Art (statues and potteries) and Oceanic Art (shields, dance dress and masks). Admission is free the first Tuesday of each month.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Golden Gate Park

In the late 1800s, California's first state engineer, William Hammond Hall, and his assistant, a Scotsman named John McLaren, transformed more than 1000 acres (405 hectares) of sand dunes into a wondrous haven in the midst of the city, christened Golden Gate Park after the eponymous strait nearby. Stretching over 50 blocks from Stanyan Street to the Pacific Ocean, the lush landscape is etched with numerous trails for walking, jogging, biking and horseback riding, alongside a golf course, bowling greens, a lake with paddle boats, soccer fields and a baseball diamond. From the Japanese Tea Garden and the Conservatory of Flowers to the California Academy of Sciences and the De Young Museum, San Francisco's Golden Gate Park encompasses a wealth of scenic beauty and cultural intrigue within is expansive embrace. There are also several playgrounds, a quaint carousel, an aquarium, a buffalo reserve and an outdoor bandshell where open-air concerts are hosted each summer.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Golden Gate Bridge

Named one of the Wonders of the Modern World by the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Golden Gate Bridge spans the eponymous strait that links the San Francisco Bay to the Pacific Ocean. Designed by Joseph Strauss, Irving Morrow, and Charles Ellis, the bridge opened in 1937 as the world's longest suspension bridge, its main span measuring at an impressive 4,200 feet (1,280 m) in length. The bridge is not quite golden, but is instead a startling red, its Art Deco towers looming through the dense fog that often mires the bay; a sight that has come to be emblematic of the city of San Francisco. The bridge ferries vehicular and pedestrian traffic between San Francisco and Marin City, the vista points on either side boasting awe-inspiring views of the Golden Gate, while the bridge itself promises unmatched views of the bay.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
Legion Of Honor

The Legion of Honor houses more than 87,000 paintings, sculptures, decorative arts and tapestries. Some pieces date back 4000 years. The main floor is dedicated to the museum's permanent collection, much of which features the works of Rodin. European and ancient art are also on display at the Legion of Honor. The lower garden level features temporary exhibitions, ranging from Andy Warhol to Francis Bacon. Take a break in the museum cafe, which features light snacks and meals and has outdoor seating. The gift shop, though small, has a nice selection of postcards, books, posters, jewelry and some reproductions from this and other fine arts museums. Admission is free the first Tuesday of each month.

San Francisco, CA, United States
Add to Collection
0 131 2530-a-day-in-san-francisco
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Bookmarked

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
13 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
13 1 0 4
530