Globale Suche

Momentanen Aufenthaltsort festlegen
Beitreten
Abmelden
user image
Mein Profil
Abmelden
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

A Day in Vancouver

von: Cityseeker
Collection bearbeiten
PDF runterladen
560


Science World

Dieses Wissenschaftszentrum, das wegen der glitzernden geodätischen Kuppel, die auf dem Turm angebracht ist, liebevoll Golfball genannt wird, ist ein ehemaliger Pavillon der Expo '86. Heute ist es ein erstklassiges Familienausflugsziel, das lehrreiche, unterhaltsame und interaktive Ausstellungen bietet. In drei Hauptgalerien erkundet man die Bereiche Biologie, Physik und Musik. Eine 3D-Lasershow präsentiert unterhaltsame Bilder. Die größte Attraktion ist das OMNIMAX-Theater, in dem Wissenschafts- und Naturfilme auf einer der größten Kuppel-Leinwände der Welt gezeigt werden.

Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Atelier Gallery

The Atelier Gallery has been displaying art for more than 30 years. The gallery provides a platform for local artists who are aspiring to have to a more prominent presence. The focus of the displays changes regularly and covers everything from urban appeal to simple landscaping.

Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Coastal Peoples Fine Arts Gallery

Bei einem Besuch in Vancouver spürt man sofort den bedeutenden Einfluss der Eingeborenen-Kultur auf die Kunstszene der Stadt. Diese interessante Galerie im Herzen des schicken Yaletown präsentiert Werke von über 150 etablierten und weniger bekannten Kunstschaffenden. Es wird speziell angefertigter Gold- und Silberschmuck ausgestellt, wobei jedes Stück zeitgenössische und traditionelle Einflüsse widerspiegelt. Hier kommen die künstlerischen Traditionen von Völkerstämmen entlang der Küste, der Arktis und der Prärie zu gebührenden Ehren. Es gibt eine außergewöhnliche Sammlung mit Masken, zeremoniellen Schalen, Schnitzereien, Totempfählen und Drucken.

Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Christ Church Cathedral

In dieser 110 Jahre alte Kirche wähnt man sich an eine friedvolle Stätte der Ruhe aus vergangener Zeit zurückversetzt. Gegenüber dem ebenfalls sehr imposanten Hotel Vancouver gelegen, hat die historische Christ Church Cathedral 29 einzigartige und prächtig bemalte gotische Maßwerkfenster. Jedes einzelne erzählt eine Geschichte aus dem Neuen Testament in Bildern nach. Überaus sehenswert ist auch die Kunstausstellung im Eingangsbereich. In der Kathedrale finden häufig Chor- und Instrumentalkonzerte statt, die allein der großartigen Akustik des Raumes wegen sehr zu empfehlen sind - wie überhaupt ein Besuch dieses Wahrzeichens der Innenstadt.

Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
HR Macmillan Space Centre

Das 1968 erbaute Planetarium wurde häufig umgestaltet und gilt als eines der besten in Nordamerika. Neben dem Planetarium und der Sternwarte gibt es auch Cosmic Courtyard, die Ausstellung zum Anfassen, den Virtual Voyages-Simulator, Ausstellungsstücke von der GroundStation Canada, sowie Multimedia- und beliebte Lasershows. Das Space Center bietet auch nächtliche Abenteuer und sogenannte Space Camps. Im Souvenirladen kann man Andenken zum Thema Raumfahrt kaufen.

Eintritt: Erwachsene CAD 12,50 (EUR 9,01); Senioren, Jugendliche, Studenten CAD 9,50 (EUR 6,85); Kinder (5-10 J.) CAD 8,50 (EUR 6,13); Freier Eintritt für Kinder unter fünf Jahren

Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Museum of Vancouver

Dieses Museum ist Teil des Museumskomplexes im Vanier Park. Es befindet sich zusammen mit dem Macmillan Planetarium im Pacific Space Centre. Seit 1894 erwartet es Besucher mit Ausstellungsstücke, die die Geschichte der Stadt und Region näherbringen. Besonders beliebt ist die Sammlung Naturgeschichte, Ethnologie, Archäologie und die Sammlung asiatischer Artefakte. Hier gibt es reichlich zu entdecken.

Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Harbour Cruises Marina

Vancouver ist mit einer der spektakulärsten Skylines gesegnet. Vom Ozean aus ist sie umso schöner. Sunset Dinner Cruise organisiert dreistündige Bootstouren inklusive Gourmet-Buffet. Eine Hafentour dauert dagegen nur 75 Minuten. Besondere Anlässe und Betriebsfeiern werden ebenfalls von Harbour Cruises Marina organisiert. Boote können 50-400 Passagiere transportieren.

Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Stanley Park Horse-Drawn Tours

Eine Fahrt in einer Kutsche durch den fantastischen Stanley Park ist nahezu atemberaubend. Dabei kann man die Deadman's Island erspähen, den Hafen der Stadt unddie Lions Gate Bridge. Halt wird an den Totempfählen gemacht, den Gallionsfiguren der RMS Empress of Japan sowie dem Rosengarten. Eine Stunde lang dauert die Tour, Abfahrt ist alle 20 Minuten. Während der Fahrt erklärt der Kutscher die Gegend, Reservierungen sind nicht notwendig.

Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Stanley Park

Dieser beeindruckende Landstrich, der auf der einen Seite von der English Bay und auf der anderen Seite vom Hafen von Vancouver umgeben ist, wurde 1886 zum ersten öffentlichen Park der Stadt erklärt. Im Gegensatz zu den meisten Stadtparks wurde der Stanley Park nicht von einem Landschaftsarchitekten angelegt, sondern wuchs im Laufe der Jahre natürlich. Der Regenwald bildet den Kern des Stanley-Parks, mit 76 Meter hohen und fast 100 Jahre alten Bäumen, während ein Uferdamm die Wasserfront des Parks säumt. Verstreut wurden Denkmäler und öffentliche Kunst sowie Gärten mit lebhaften Blumenschmuck und Totempfählen errichtet - kurz, ein Ort für verschiedene Lebensräumen, in denen einheimischen Tieren beheimatet sind, die man über ein Netz von Pfaden beobachten kann. Der Park beherbergt auch Attraktionen wie eine Miniatureisenbahn, die Malkin Bowl und das Vancouver Aquarium.

Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
Grouse Mountain

Die umwobenen Gipfel des Grouse Mountain, die sich auf 1250 Meter Höhe erheben, zeugen von der unberührten Schönheit Britisch-Kolumbiens. Benannt nach den einheimischen Moorhühnern, die in den alpinen Gebieten der Provinz leben, ist diese aufstrebende Attraktion Teil der North Shore Mountains in Nordvancouver. Die ganzjährige Zugänglichkeit des Berges bedeutet, dass der Luxus des Lebens selbst diesem großen Naturdenkmal nicht entgeht. Der Grouse Mountain bietet ein atemberaubendes Bergkino, ein Chalet und eine Lodge, die an seinem Fuße errichtet wurden, sowie einen raffinierten Sessellift, der einen weiten Panoramablick auf die eindrucksvolle Landschaft der Region ermöglicht. Es gibt auch eine Schutzhütte für Wildtiere und ein Skigebiet, die die alpinen Bereiche des Berges einnehmen.

North Vancouver, BC, Kanada
Zur Collection hinzufügen
0 111 1560-a-day-in-vancouver
1 of
1 0
Kommentar hinterlassen :
300 Verbleibende Anschläge

Eingeben
Ähnliche Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Vorgemerkt

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
11 Best BBQ Joints in the Southern US
11 Vorgemerkt

11 Best BBQ Joints in the Southern US

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
Eateries Along Route 66
11 Vorgemerkt

Eateries Along Route 66

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Vorgemerkt

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Erstellt von : Cityseeker
Collection im Profil speichern
24 1 0 6
560

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
Select a Category

A Day in Vancouver

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
560


Science World at TELUS World of Science

Fondly known as the golf ball because of the glittery geodesic dome that sits atop it, this science center is a former Expo '86 pavilion. Today, it is a top family destination, offering educational, entertaining and interactive exhibits. Three main galleries explore the areas of biology, physics and music. A 3D laser show presents fun images. The biggest attraction is the OMNIMAX Theatre, which features science and nature films on one of the world's largest dome screens.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
Atelier Gallery

The Atelier Gallery has been displaying art for more than 30 years. The gallery provides a platform for local artists who are aspiring to have to a more prominent presence. The focus of the displays changes regularly and covers everything from urban appeal to simple landscaping.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
The Vancouver Trolley Company

There are many ways to see Vancouver, and this way is literally a classic. This company refurbished some locally manufactured early 1900s trolley cars, setting them back on the tracks that they once plied daily. There are 16 stops along the tour, and passengers can get on or off at their needs. The trolley stops at some of the city's highlights, including Gastown, Canada Place and the Vancouver Aquarium in Stanley Park. The tours are offered all-year round. Call +1 1.888 451 5581 for details.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
Coastal Peoples - Fine Arts Gallery

First Nations culture often provides a significant voice in the city's art scene. Located in the heart of trendy Gastown, Coastal Peoples Fine Arts gallery displays the work of over 150 established and lesser-known First Nations artisans. It displays a range of customized gold and silver jewelry, each piece a reflection of contemporary and traditional native styles. Artistic traditions from tribal nations along the coast, arctic and plains are celebrated. It has an exceptional selection of masks, ceremonial bowls, carvings, totem poles and prints.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
Christ Church Cathedral

Walk into this 110-year-old church and feel as though you've stepped back in time to a serene place. The historic cathedral, located across the street from the equally impressive Hotel Vancouver , features 29 striking Gothic and stained glass windows, each reflecting a story from the New Testament. The public art displayed in the lobby is also mesmerizing. The downtown landmark plays host to many choir recitals and concerts that are worthwhile for the acoustics alone. Check the website or call for information on special events and hours of worship.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
H.R. MacMillan Space Centre

Considered one of the best such facilities in North America, this structure has had many transformations. Aside from the planetarium and observatory, H.R. MacMillan Space Center also features the Cosmic Courtyard hands-on gallery, a Virtual Voyages full-motion simulator, Ground-station Canada exhibits and multimedia and popular laser shows. Its overnight adventures and space camps are popular. Don't forget to visit the gift shop with space-related souvenirs. Check the website or call ahead for timings of the evening laser shows. Admission prices mentioned are applicable throughout the day.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
Museum of Vancouver

As part of the complex of museums located in Vanier Park, Vancouver museum is paired with the Macmillan Planetarium at the Pacific Space Centre. It has been in operation since 1894, with most exhibits and presentations focusing on the history of the city and the regions surrounding it. Renowned for its collection of natural history, ethnology, archaeology, and Asian artifacts, there are many things here to see and explore.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
Harbour Cruises Marina

Vancouver is blessed with one of the world's most spectacular skylines, so see it from the ocean if you get the chance. The popular Sunset Dinner Cruise lets you take in the view over three hours while you dine on a gourmet buffet. If you prefer something short and sweet, take the Harbour Tour. If you want to plan a special event or corporate function, you can charter a boat too.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
Stanley Park Horse-Drawn Tours

Take a ride in an old-fashioned horse-drawn carriage and watch the splendor of Stanley Park roll by. See sights like Deadman's Island, the city harbor and Lions Gate Bridge. The totem poles, Girl in a Wet Suit statue, S.S. Empress of Japan Figurehead and the Rose Gardens are all stopovers. The one-hour tours are narrated and depart every 20 minutes from the park's information booth. No reservations are required but do call for the rates of these tours.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
Stanley Park

Corraled by the English Bay on one side and the Vancouver Harbour on the other, this stunning stretch of land was declared the city's first public park in 1886. Unlike most city parks, Stanley Park was not laid-out by a landscape architect, but instead, grew organically over the years. The rainforest forms the core of Stanley Park, with trees towering to a height of 76 meters (249 feet) and close to 100 years old, while the seawall hems the park's waterfront. Scattered throughout are monuments, landmarks and public art, as well as gardens with vivid floral displays and totem poles; a tapestry of varied habitats teeming with native wildlife that is held together by a network of trails. The park is also home to attractions like a miniature railway, the Malkin Bowl and the Vancouver Aquarium.

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
Grouse Mountain

Towering at 1,250 meters (4,100 feet), Grouse Mountain's ethereal peaks bear testament to the unspoiled beauty of British Columbia. Named after the native dusky grouse that inhabits the alpine reaches of the province, this soaring attraction forms part of the North Shore mountains of North Vancouver. The mountain's all-year-round access means that life's luxuries don't escape even this great natural landmark. Grouse Mountain is home to a stunning mountaintop cinema, a chalet and lodge built along its base, and a nifty chairlift that allows for sweeping panoramic views of the soul-stirring scenery of the region. There is also a wildlife refuge and a ski area that occupy the mountain's alpine corners.

North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Add to Collection
0 111 1560-a-day-in-vancouver
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Bookmarked

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
13 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
13 1 0 4
560