全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Local History & Culture in New York

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
6015


南街海港博物馆

这个博物馆坐落在历史悠久的 南街码头,在繁华的纽约,这是在19世纪的航运区,而这里目前开了许多时髦的餐厅,精品商店和保存一些建筑的瑰宝。在博物馆内,船只爱好者和崇拜海员的人们将对历史性帆船,港口和当时的绘画照片爱不释手。此外,博物馆展示了孩童的互动展品,以困难的海上生活为重点,还有专门给游客服务的打印店和造船工作工作室。

纽约, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
纽约市亚治烈街博物馆

作为犹太人从东欧到美国的移民地标性,亚治烈街博物馆 坐落于亚治烈街犹太教堂内。这个博物馆的创始人在集会上主动进行大规模的改造和修复,使其如同一颗与众不同的瑰宝功不可没。博物馆展示描述了教堂建立初期的历史故事,藏有大量的史前古器物和有价值的犹太人历史记录。馆内设有步行参观团和其他由博物馆组织的活动从不同方向带领游客参观了解教堂。有关更多信息,请浏览该馆网站或致电咨询。

纽约, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
美国印第安人国家博物馆乔治•古斯塔夫•海耶中心

乔治•古斯塔夫•海耶中心是 史密森尼美国印第安人国家博物馆在纽约的分部。海耶中心位于历史悠久的亚历山大•汉密尔顿美国海关大楼的第一和第二楼层 。该博物馆举办一系列展览关于改变现在和重申方式,语言,文学,历史,和印第安人的艺术等等。博物馆还设有舞蹈和音乐表演、儿童工作坊,家庭和学校课程,以及电影节和视频放映关于美洲原住民的多样性和早期到现代的文化。

纽约, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
纽约市消防博物馆

纽约消防博物馆是前沿城市安全的赞歌。自成立以来博物馆有多次转移展馆位置,博物馆如今在1904年的一个翻新消防站址。藏品以蒸汽机为特色,模型消防车,最前沿的消防设备和从18世纪晚期至今的消防装置。消防队相关工件和纪念品展现了纽约消防局的发展和荣誉遗产。游客可以对在9/11恐怖袭击中牺牲的343名消防员表达敬意,和观看从归零地(世贸大厦)遗址博物馆的纪录片。通过退休消防员进行的旁白故事来感受她们的勇气,并且学习消防安全教育。

纽约, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
纽约移民公寓博物馆

纽约移民公寓博物馆成立于1988年,由历史学家露丝亚伯兰和安尼塔·雅各布森为了纪念该国的移民文化而建造的博物馆。这间坐落于特色果园街的低调公寓大楼正是鼓舞人心的故事之乡。这些故事讲述从1800年代开始一代又一代来到纽约的移民,根据有限的资源从白手起家构建他们的移民生活。来到这里不妨通过导游安排的图片展览,个人物品以及纪念品展示感受一下唐人街,小意大利以及曼哈顿下东区的移民体验。

纽约, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
商人之家博物馆

保存得非常漂亮的商人博物馆展示了19世纪纽约商人阶级的生活。砖砌联排别墅建于1832年,以希腊复兴风格建造。三年后,一个以Seabury Tredwell为名的成功商人买下了这个财产,并将其家族安置了几代人。今天,参观者可以看到19世纪这个家庭是如何生活的。厨房和固定装置都是原装的,实际上所有的家具都被这个家庭所使用。

纽约, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
纽约过境博物馆

纽约过境博物馆位于布鲁克林高地的一座正式退役的20世纪30年代60,000平方英尺的双层地铁站内。它是美国最广泛的城市运输材料收集的保管人。纽约过境博物馆是世界上为数不多的专门讲述城市公共交通故事的博物馆之一,也是世界上发达国家和由它服务的人到它所帮助塑造的城市和地区的博物馆之一。博物馆拥有一系列古老的地铁列车,以及各种各样的展品,节目,电影放映和工作坊。

Brooklyn, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
归零地(世贸大厦)遗址博物馆工作室

归零地(世贸遗址)博物馆工作室成立于2005年,由博物馆的创建者加里·马龙·苏孙建造用于纪念那些在9/11悲剧中失去生命的人们,也纪念那些帮助重建遗址的人们。马龙·苏孙是当时的官方摄影师,并在现场记录重建的过程。博物馆收藏他的收藏品和当时悲剧的纪录片以及残余的遗址。幸运的游客甚至可以听到苏孙先生本人讲述他的个人经历。这个博物馆每日开放,是无辜生命陨落的最真实纪念,来到纽约一定不可以错过。建议游客提前预订。

纽约, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
艾利斯岛移民博物馆

埃利斯岛是在纽约湾的第二个岛,自由岛是其中最著名的一个,在那里你可以看到雄伟的自由女神像。1892年至1954年间,超过1200万移民在埃利斯岛上岸,从此开展移民运动,也在美国历史上起到十分重要的意义。主建筑楼让人想到艺术风格,虽然在20世纪中期这座建筑楼经历了衰退,大多数的建筑物被恢复到原来的样子。博物馆有三层,该馆珍藏保存完好的照片,视频,文物和反映美国传统的互动展品, 。来到这里,不妨探索荣誉墙上刻有部分受处理移民的名单。

Jersey City, NJ, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
老石头房子

老石屋是荷兰历史悠久的石制农舍的原型。老石屋的展览讲述了布鲁克林战争是独立战争最大的战役,也是美国参与的英雄行为。作为布鲁克林历史的一部分,职业安全与卫生部门感到自豪,并参与开展家庭友好活动,为社区服务。它还举办文化活动,如年轻和新兴的作家的阅读,戏剧团体的行为和爵士乐和摇滚乐队的音乐会。它也被用作教育资源和博物馆。中心展览,1776年布鲁克林战役,星期六和星期日向公众开放,并通过预约进行集体参与。他们还租了他们的二楼大厅,举办儿童派对,婚礼,音乐会,讲座,酒吧节日等等。您可以访问网站了解更多详情。

纽约, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
佩利媒体中心

威廉•s•佩利在20世纪打造广播和电视广播中起到了非凡的作用。佩利媒体中心在不断变化的全球媒体中首当前冲,检验了其对当今社会的极大影响。他们是管、理超过150000个电视节目,广播制作和广告,以及历史上的重要大事如尼尔•阿姆斯特朗从月球的音频。不妨听听广播节目过去或者看重播的< em >我爱露西< / em >,特别适合怀旧体验者,娱乐历史串烧和电视迷。游客也可以浏览他们的在线数据库。

纽约, NY, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 181 26015-best-local-history-culture-in-new-york
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
6015

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Local History & Culture in New York

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
6015


National September 11 Memorial Museum (9/II Memorial Museum)

This museum explores the history and stories surrounding the terrorist attacks that destroyed the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center on September 11th, 2001. Located at the 9/11 Memorial site, the National September 11 Memorial Museum offers a location to learn not only about that fateful day, but also about the men and women who lost their lives in the tragic events. The underground museum has a wide range of artifacts and exhibits, including multimedia displays, radio broadcasts from the day and interactive displays where visitors can record their own stories. Perhaps the most touching exhibit is the Foundation Hall where you can see the remaining wall from the Center as well as the "Last Column," which was covered by missing posters and remembrances.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
South Street Seaport Museum

This museum is located within the historic South Street Seaport, site of New York's bustling, 19th century shipping area which now includes many trendy eateries, boutique shops and some preserved architectural gems. Inside the museum, ship lovers and wannabee seafarers will delight in the photos of the historic schooners, port and paintings of the era. Additionally, the museum presents children's interactive exhibits that detail the difficulties of life at sea and there is also a working print shop and a shipbuilding studio for visitors.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
Museum at Eldridge Street

A prominent landmark of Jewish immigration from Eastern Europe to the United States, the Eldridge Street Synagogue houses the Museum at Eldridge Street. It is the founders of this museum who took the initiative of a massive renovation and restoration project on the synagogue, and are solely responsible for the majestic glory in which it stands today. The museum tells the tale of how the synagogue came to be founded, storing vast collections of artifacts and documents that are valuable to the Jewish history in the country. There are walking tours and other programs organized by the museum which take visitors through the various aspects of the synagogue's existence. See the website or call for more information.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
National Museum of the American Indian George Gustav Heye Center

The George Gustav Heye Center is the New York division of the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian. The Heye Center occupies the first and second floors of the historic Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House. The museum hosts a selection of changing exhibitions that present and reaffirm the ways, languages, literature, history, and art of Native Americans. The museum also features dance and music performances, children's workshops, family and school programs, and film festivals and video screenings that present the diversity of the Native peoples of the Americas and the strength of their cultures from the earliest times to the present.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
New York City Fire Museum

The New York City Fire Museum is an ode to those at the forefront of the city's safety. Having shifted base a number of times since its inception, the museum now occupies a refurbished firehouse dating back to 1904. The collection on display features steam engines, model fire trucks, cutting edge fire-fighting equipment and gear from the late 18th Century to the present day. The fire related artifacts and memorabilia celebrate the trajectory of the FDNY and honor its heritage. Pay your respects to the 343 firefighters that lost their lives in the 9/11 terror attacks and view objects recovered from Ground Zero. Engage yourself with stories of courage narrated by retired firemen as well as a fire safety education session.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
Tenement Museum

The Tenement Museum was founded in 1988 by historians Ruth Abram and Anita Jacobson to commemorate the country's immigration culture. This unassuming apartment building on the iconic Orchard Street is home to inspiring stories. These stories speak of the persistence of generations of immigrants who came to New York City starting in the 1800s to build their lives from scratch with limited resources. Take a guided tour to get a glimpse of the life new immigrants experienced in Chinatown, Little Italy and Manhattan's Lower East Side through photographic exhibitions, displays of personal belongings and memorabilia.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
Merchant's House Museum

The very beautifully preserved Merchant's House Museum shows how New York's merchant class lived in the 1800s. The brick townhouse was built in 1832 in the Greek-Revival style. Three years later, a successful merchant by the name of Seabury Tredwell bought the property, and it housed his family for generations. Today, visitors can see just how the family lived in the 19th Century. The kitchen and the fixtures are original, and in fact, all the furniture was used by this family.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
New York Transit Museum

The New York Transit Museum is housed in an authentic decommissioned 1930s 60,000 square foot bi-level subway station in Brooklyn Heights. It is the custodian of the most extensive collection of urban transportation materials in the United States. The New York Transit Museum, is one of only a few museums in the world dedicated to telling the story of urban mass transit, from the people who developed it and are served by it to the city and region it has helped to shape. The Museum boasts a collection of vintage subway trains, along with a wide array of exhibits, programs, film screenings and workshops.

Brooklyn, NY, United States
Add to Collection
Ground Zero Museum Workshop

The Ground Zero Museum Workshop was established in 2005 by Gary Marlon Suson to commemorate the memories of those who lost their lives in the 9/11 tragedy, and also honors those who helped rebuild the site. Marlon Suson was the official photographer at that time and remained at the site to record the recovery process. The museum houses his collection and documentaries on the tragedy as well as remnants from the site. Lucky visitors can even have Mr. Suson himself recounting his experience. This museum, which is open daily, is a true memorial to the innocent lives lost, making it a must visit. Advance reservations are required.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
Ellis Island Immigration Museum

Ellis Island is the second island in New York Bay, Liberty Island is the most famous one, where you can see the majestic Statue of Liberty. Between 1892 and 1954, over 12-million immigrants disembarked upon Ellis, thus pioneering the immigration movement that is of significant importance to the country's history. The Main Building has architecture reminiscent of the Beaux Arts style, and though the establishment fell into decay in the mid-20th Century, most of the buildings were restored to their original splendor. Spanning over three floors, it is home to a well-preserved collection of photographs, videos, artifacts and interactive exhibits that reflect American heritage. Explore the Wall of Honor that is engraved with a partial list of names of processed immigrants.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
Old Stone House

The Old Stone House is an archetype of a Dutch stone farmhouse with a very rich history. The exhibit at the Old Stone House tells the story of The Battle of Brooklyn, which was the largest battle of the Independence War, and of the heroic acts by the Americans involved. OSH prides itself in being a part of Brooklyn's history and is involved in serving the community by conducting family friendly events. It also hosts cultural events like readings by young and emerging writers, acts by theater groups and concerts by jazz and rock bands. It is also used as an education resource and museum. The Center exhibit, the Battle Of Brooklyn, 1776, is open to the public on Saturdays and Sundays and to groups by appointment. They also rent their Great Room which is on the second floor for kids’ parties, weddings, concerts, lectures, bar mitzvahs and more. You can visit the website for more details.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
The Paley Center for Media

William S. Paley played a significant role in shaping radio and television broadcasting in the 20th Century. The Paley Center for Media is at the forefront of the ever-evolving global media and examines its effect on society. They are curators of over 150,000 television shows, radio productions and commercials, as well as key events in history like Neil Armstrong’s voice clip from the moon. Listen to radio programs from back in the day or watch re-runs of I Love Lucy, a feat that promises a nostalgic experience for entertainment history buffs and television junkies. Visitors can also glance through their collection on their online database.

New York, NY, United States
Add to Collection
0 181 26015-best-local-history-culture-in-new-york
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
6015