全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Free Museums in Austin

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
6314


O.亨利之家博物馆

短篇小说作家威廉·悉尼·波特(William Sydney Porter)的笔名是亨利(O. Henry),他在奥斯汀待了三年。它建于1891年,充满了珍本书籍,欧亨利的写字台,原创家具,照片,私人物品和椅子,带来了贤士的礼物生活。享受导游,了解这个家和它的着名人物的历史。自从东四十八号东三百零八号原址以来,这所房子已经搬了两次。它现在设有一个礼品店,书籍,录像带等等。该博物馆为奥斯汀儿童提供写作俱乐部,并赞助许多当地活动,如维多利亚时代的圣诞节庆祝活动和“亨利·普尼克”(O. Henry Pun-Off)。入场免费,但欢迎捐款。

奥斯丁, TX, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
哈利赎金中心

在Harry Ransom中心,您将欣赏到有史以来拍摄的第一张照片,以及1456年创建的仅剩的13本“古腾堡圣经”中的一本。还展示了伽利略,贝多芬,海明威等人的罕见作品和手稿。你会发现一个美妙的剧院艺术品收藏和一个超过80万无价的手稿书图书馆。利用免费入场,体验大学独特的珍宝。

奥斯丁, TX, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
乔治·华盛顿·卡佛博物馆和文化中心

作为该州首个致力于非洲裔美国人历史和文化的邻里博物馆,这座1926年的建筑拥有各种艺术形式。该中心曾经是奥斯汀的主要图书馆,并于1976年获得了德克萨斯州历史标志。该博物馆的命名是为了成为着名植物学家和发明家的前奴隶乔治·华盛顿·卡弗博士。博物馆展出了一个梦幻般的收藏品,以及在奥斯汀和特拉维斯县更换黑色历史文化的展品。

奥斯丁, TX, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
伊丽莎白·内伊博物馆

德国雕塑家伊丽莎白·内伊的故居和工作室向公众开放。这座房子是海德公园附近建造的第一座建筑物,由Monroe Martin Shippe于1892年作为郊区开发。参观者涌向这个博物馆,观看近50个德州英雄的半身像和雕像,以及她雕塑成年轻艺术家的欧洲人。她的工具和一些个人物品也在展出。入场是免费的。

奥斯丁, TX, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
德州军事博物馆

德克萨斯州军事博物馆是一个广泛的博物馆,记录德克萨斯州军队多年来的故事,以及他们所做出的重要贡献。在这里可以找到一些稀有的展品,包括德克萨斯革命和西班牙 - 美国战争的作品。画廊面积巨大,分为主廊,失落大队,人民大会堂,第二次世界大战太平洋战区展览和空军卫队画廊。博物馆内的装甲排和炮兵公园由大量的枪支,坦克和飞机组成。博物馆还包括一个图书馆和电影室,使每个年龄段的游客都感兴趣。

奥斯丁, TX, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 51 16314-best-free-museums-in-austin
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Eateries Along Route 66
11 已标记书签

Eateries Along Route 66

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
9 1 0 3
6314

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Free Museums in Austin

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
6314


O. Henry House Museum

Short story writer William Sydney Porter, whose pen name was O. Henry, lived in this home for three years while he spent time in Austin. It was constructed in 1891 and is filled with rare books, O. Henry's writing desk, original furniture, photographs, personal belongings and the chairs that brought The Gift of the Magi to life. Enjoy a guided tour and learn about the history of this home and its famous occupant. The house has been moved twice since from its original location at 308 East Fourth Street. It now features a gift shop with books, videotapes and more. The museum offers writing clubs for Austin children and sponsors many local events such as the Victorian Christmas celebration and the "O. Henry Pun-Off." Admission is free, but donations are welcome.

Austin, TX, United States
Add to Collection
Harry Ransom Center

At Harry Ransom Center you will enjoy viewing the first photograph ever taken, alongside one of only 13 remaining Gutenberg Bibles, created in 1456. Also showcased are rare compositions and manuscripts by Galileo, Beethoven, Hemingway and more. You will find a wonderful collection of theater arts pieces and a book library with over 800,000 priceless manuscripts. Take advantage of the free admission and experience many of the University's unique treasures.

Austin, TX, United States
Add to Collection
George Washington Carver Museum and Cultural Center

As the first neighborhood museum in the state dedicated to African American history and culture, this 1926 structure houses various forms of art. The center was once Austin's main library and received a Texas State Historical Marker in 1976. The museum is named in honor of Dr. George Washington Carver, former slave who went on to become a renowned botanist and inventor. The museum exhibits a fantastic collection, as well changing exhibits of black history and culture in Austin and Travis County.

Austin, TX, United States
Add to Collection
Elisabet Ney Museum

The former home and studio of German sculptress Elisabet Ney is open to the public for exploration. This home was one of the first buildings erected in the Hyde Park neighborhood, which was developed as a suburb in 1892 by Monroe Martin Shippe. Visitors flock to this museum to view nearly 50 busts and statues of Texas heroes, as well as Europeans she sculpted as a young artist. Her tools and several personal items are also on display. Admission is free.

Austin, TX, United States
Add to Collection
Texas Military Forces Museum

The Texas Military Forces Museum is an extensive museum that documents the story of the Texan military over the years, and the important contributions that they have made. One can find a number of rare exhibits here, that include pieces from the Texan Revolution and the Spanish-American War as well. The gallery is huge, and is divided into sections such as Main Gallery, Lost Battalion, Great Hall, World War II Pacific Theater Exhibit and Air Guard Gallery. The Armor Row and Artillery Park on the museum grounds consists of a vast collection of guns, tanks and aircraft. The museum also includes a library and movie room, making it interesting for visitors of every age.

Austin, TX, United States
Add to Collection
0 51 16314-best-free-museums-in-austin
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
6314