全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录

Best Religious Sites in Philadelphia

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
7370


圣彼得和保罗大教堂大教堂

由于其神秘的建筑和壮丽的景色,圣彼得大教堂和保罗大教堂是费城每一位游客的必游之地。这个美丽的大教堂是北美最大的天主教人口之一的核心。它由着名的建筑师拿破仑·勒布伦(Napoleon LeBrun)设计,建于1846至1864年间,融合了帕拉第奥(Palladian)和意大利文艺复兴时期的建筑风格。祭坛上的一个美丽的“baldachin”或“天篷”是意大利影响力的证据,而教堂正面是帕拉第奥式的风格。事实上,你在观看这个光荣的大教堂的时候可能会被原谅。开始音频之旅,了解更多关于它的八个教堂,2000座位的避难所,拱形铜制圆顶,以及一个壮观的后殿,用红色的大理石雕刻和彩绘玻璃工作。参观期间,您还将熟悉大教堂迷人的历史。作为宾夕法尼亚州最大的天主教教堂,这座纪念碑被记录在国家历史遗迹名录中。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
母亲伯特利非洲卫理公会教会

母亲伯特利非洲卫理公会教会是第一个A.M.E.教会在世界上。它是由十八世纪的美国黑人建立的。当前的建筑物建于1889年,与前三个建筑物的位置相同。彩绘玻璃窗以共济会和宗教题材为特色和教会的靖国神社包含主教亚伦,他的妻子萨拉和主教莫里斯布朗的坟墓。理查德·艾伦于1791年购买,这个地盘是非洲裔美国人持续拥有的最古老的土地。理查德·艾伦博物馆包含19世纪的教堂文物。传统上,所有其他A.M.E.教堂是按照这个建筑的规划而设计的。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
老松街长老会教堂

老松街长老会是费城唯一的殖民长老会,历史悠久。老派的第一任牧师乔治·杜菲尔德(George Duffield)于1774年担任第一届大陆会议的牧师,并于1776年冬季与他的许多教区居民一起在福吉谷(Valley Forge)与华盛顿总统会面。老松很快就被称为“爱国者教堂”。早期的成员包括约翰·亚当斯和本杰明·拉什博士。第一个读“独立宣言”的威廉·汉利被埋葬在教堂墓地里。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
卡西亚圣丽塔全国寺庙

卡西亚的丽塔于1386年出生于意大利。十二岁时,她嫁给了一个虐待男子,并被迫忍受他的愤怒,直到他十八年后去世。丽塔对她的两个儿子很高兴,直到他们也死了。然后她进入修道院,献身于基督。丽塔被崇拜为“不可能的圣者”和“绝望的圣人之圣”。 1907年,乔治·洛沃特在费城建造了这座文艺复兴风格的教堂。它已经成为圣丽塔忠诚的国家中心。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
圣约翰纽曼全国靖国神社

全国靖国神社包含圣约翰纽曼,一个Redemptorist牧师和费城的第四主教的坟墓。圣约翰出生在波希米亚,并搬到了美国,后来他被任命。圣约翰被认为是美国天主教教育的创始人,也是他对移民的同情。他学会说几种语言,所以他可以用至少六种语言听取口供。他的遗体躺在提供日常生活的祭坛下面。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
格洛里亚德伊教堂

Gloria Dei(老瑞典人)教堂建于1698 - 1700年间,如今仍然是宾夕法尼亚州最古老的教堂。教堂被称为老瑞典人,因为瑞典的先驱们是1646年第一个定居这个地区的人。教会收藏了三百多年的宗教历史和宗教文物,包括青铜十字架和18世纪的瑞典语和英语圣经。建筑本身是十八世纪公共建筑保存完好的例子。今天,教会仍然由圣公会教徒拥有和维护。教堂是独立国家历史公园系统的一部分。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
莫里斯植物园

这个占地92英亩的公共花园里遍布着四种不同环境中的稀有,异国情调和大树。英国公园,玫瑰园,天鹅池和日本花园都为每个地区提供了众多的植物物种和植物门。维多利亚风格的花园散发着浪漫和自然的光彩。宾夕法尼亚大学的学生进行的植物学实验和研究也在展出。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 71 17370-best-religious-sites-in-philadelphia
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
17 1 0 5
7370

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Religious Sites in Philadelphia

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
7370


Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul

Due to its spellbinding architecture and sheer grandeur, Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul is a must-visit place on the list of every tourist in Philadelphia. This beautiful cathedral is the centerpiece of one of the largest Catholic populations in North America. It was designed by celebrated architect Napoleon LeBrun and constructed between 1846 and 1864 by blending Palladian and Italian Renaissance architectural styles. A beautiful “baldachin” or “canopy” over the altar is evidence of the Italian influence while the church façade is in the Palladian style. In fact, you may be forgiven for thinking you are in Europe while viewing this glorious cathedral. Embark on an audio tour and learn more about its eight chapels, 2000-seat sanctuary, vaulted copper dome, and a spectacular apse featuring red marble carvings and stained glass work. During the tour, you will also be familiarized with the fascinating history of the basilica. As Pennsylvania's largest Catholic church, this monument is recorded in the National Register of Historic Places.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
Mother Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church

Mother Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church is the first A.M.E. church in the world. It was founded by free American blacks in the 1700s. The current building was constructed in 1889 and occupies the same location as three previous structures. Stained glass windows feature masonic and religious themes and the shrine of the church contains the tomb of Bishop Allen, his wife Sarah and Bishop Morris Brown. Purchased by Richard Allen in 1791, this site is the oldest parcel of land continuously owned by African Americans. The Richard Allen Museum contains 19th century artifacts from the church. Traditionally, all other A.M.E. churches are designed along the plans of this building.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
Old Pine Street Presbyterian Church

The Old Pine Street Presbyterian Church is the only remaining Colonial Presbyterian Church in Philadelphia, and has an interesting history. Old Pine's first Pastor, George Duffield, served as chaplain to the First Continental Congress in 1774 and, with many of his parishioners, joined General Washington at Valley Forge in the winter of 1776-77. Old Pine soon became known as the "Church of the Patriots." Early members included John Adams and Dr. Benjamin Rush. William Hurry, who was the first to read the Declaration of Independence, is buried in the churchyard.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
National Shrine of St. Rita of Cascia

Rita of Cascia was born in Italy in 1386. At the age of twelve, she was married to an abusive man and was forced to endure his rage until his death eighteen years later. Rita delighted in her two sons until they also died; she then entered a convent and devoted herself to Christ. Rita is worshipped as the "Saint of the Impossible" and the "Saint of Desperate Causes." In 1907, George Lovatt built this Renaissance-style church in Philadelphia. It has become a national center of devotion to St. Rita.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
National Shrine of St. John Neumann

National Shrine contains the tomb of St. John Neumann, a Redemptorist priest and the fourth Bishop of Philadelphia. St. John was born in Bohemia and moved to the United States, where he was later ordained. St. John is remembered as the founder of Catholic education in America, and for his compassion toward immigrants. He learned to speak several languages so he could listen to confessions in at least six languages. His remains lie under the altar where daily mass is offered.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
Gloria Dei Church

Built between 1698-1700, Gloria Dei (Old Swedes') Church survives today as the oldest church in Pennsylvania. The church is known as Old Swedes because Swedish pioneers were the first to settle the area in 1646. There is a fine collection of religious historical and religious artifacts the church has acquired over three centuries, including bronze crosses and 18th Century bibles in Swedish and English. The building itself is a perfectly preserved example of 18th Century public architecture. Today the church is still owned and maintained by its congregation of Episcopalians. The church is part of the Independence National Historical Park system.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
Morris Arboretum

This 92-acre public garden is populated with rare, exotic and large trees presented in four different environments: The English Park, Rose Garden, Swan Pond and Japanese Garden all offer a multitude of species and phylum of plants specific to each area. The generally Victorian tone of the gardens radiates a sense of romance and natural splendor. University of Pennsylvania students conduct botanical experiments and studies that are also on display.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
0 71 17370-best-religious-sites-in-philadelphia
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
7370