全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Free Sites in Philadelphia

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
7377


自由钟

1751年,威廉·宾恩(William Penn)要求为宾夕法尼亚州议会大楼铸造的新钟刻上“在所有的土地上向所有居民宣告自由的声音”。这个钟声响起,要求公民读一读“独立,后来被废奴主义者戏称为“自由钟”,他们将钟作为他们争取所有美国人争取自由的象征。关于钟声的历史,在不同季节不同季节的开放时间不断呈现。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
富兰克林广场

富兰克林广场位于宾夕法尼亚州的费城。这是威廉·佩恩(William Penn)在17世纪末计划的五个景观之一。它曾经被称为东北广场,后来在1825年更名为本杰明·富兰克林,这个国家的先驱和发明家和活动家。 1981年9月14日被列入“国家史迹名录”。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
美国独立纪念馆

位于占地45英亩(18.2公顷)的独立国家历史公园中的红砖砌的格鲁吉亚式建筑是该国最着名的历史地标之一,标志着一系列划时代事件的高潮,一个独立的美国的诞生。独立宣言“(1776年)和”美国宪法“(1787年)签署的地方,独立厅已经成为宣言所依赖的自由民主思想的代名词,在费城历史悠久的板栗街上,侧翼和尖顶。着名的独立厅建于1732至1753年间,是安德鲁·汉密尔顿和埃德蒙·伍利的心血结晶,也是第二次大陆会议和宪法大会的会场。尽管其原始的家是独立大厅的钟楼,但深刻标志性的自由钟位于拐角处。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
美国薄荷

为了免费和有趣的分流,见证美国造币厂的货币制造过程。整个机械化的造币操作从一个设计容纳2,500个访客的封闭画廊是可看见的。 David Rittenhouse室以一位着名的殖民地商人的名字命名,包含一个历史文物,硬币和奖牌的蒙太奇,详述了美国货币的演变。参观者可以在视听资料的支持下自行参观薄荷,或参加45分钟的导览。一个销售区位于大堂,游客可以购买纪念品。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
埃德加·爱伦·坡家

看看“可怕的主人”在哪里写了他的美国杰作。在他住在费城的六年(1838年至1844年)期间,坡先生撰写并出版了他的一些最具开创性的故事,其中包括“在莫卧病房里的谋杀”,“小屋的秋天”,“故事心“。这三个建筑的网站创造了文学的好奇心。什么样的环境可以激励一个人把他对死亡和背叛的幻想视为纸上谈兵?入场免费向公众开放。

费城, PA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 51 17377-best-free-sites-in-philadelphia
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
7 Delightful Food Trails to Explore in the US
7 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Eateries Along Route 66
11 已标记书签

Eateries Along Route 66

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
23 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
23 1 0 6
7377

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Free Sites in Philadelphia

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
7377


Liberty Bell

A jewel of the Independence National Historic Park, the Liberty Bell spans layers and layers of long-standing history. In 1751, William Penn asked that the new bell being cast for the Pennsylvania Statehouse be engraved with the words, “Proclaim liberty throughout all the Land unto all the inhabitants thereof.” When the bell first rang to call citizens to the first reading of the Declaration of Independence, little did it know that it was going to change the course of the country for ever. It was later dubbed the 'Liberty Bell' by abolitionists, who adopted the bell as a symbol of their fight for freedom for all Americans. A copper-clad, 2,080-pound (940-kilogran) icon of American independence, The Liberty Bell yet serves as a symbol of pride, inspiration and freedom.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
Franklin Square

Franklin Square is located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is one of five landscapes planned by William Penn in the late 1600s. It was formerly called Northeast Square, and later renamed in 1825 to honor Benjamin Franklin, a pioneer of the country as well as inventor and activist. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on September 14, 1981.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
Independence Hall

The red-bricked Georgian building in the midst of the 45-acre (18.2-hectare) Independence National Historical Park is one of the most recognizable historical landmarks in the nation, emblematic of the culmination of a series of epoch-making events that led to the birth of an independent America. The place where both the Declaration of Independence (1776) and the Constitution of the United States (1787) were signed, the Independence Hall has come to be synonymous with the the ideas of freedom and democracy that the declaration is hinged on, and stands tall on Philadelphia's historic Chestnut Street, flanked by side wings and a steeple. Constructed between 1732 and 1753, the famed Independence Hall was the brainchild of Andrew Hamilton and Edmund Woolley, and also served as the meeting place for the Second Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention. The profoundly iconic Liberty Bell is located right around the corner, although its original home was Independence Hall's bell tower.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
United States Mint

For a free and interesting diversion, witness the currency making process at the US Mint. The entire mechanized coinage operation is visible from an enclosed gallery designed to accommodate 2,500 visitors an hour. The David Rittenhouse Room, named after a well-known colonial merchant, contains a montage of historic artifacts, coins and medals detailing the evolution of American currency. Visitors can tour the mint themselves, supported by audio-visual material, or take the 45-minute guided tour. A sales area is located in the lobby, where visitors may purchase commemorative souvenirs.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
Edgar Allan Poe House

See where the "master of the macabre" penned his American masterpieces. During the six years (1838-1844) that he lived in Philadelphia, Poe wrote and published some of his most groundbreaking tales including: "The Murders in the Rue Morgue," "The Fall of the House of Usher," and "The Tell-Tale Heart." The three-building site creates a sense of literary curiosity. What type of surroundings could have inspired a man to put to paper his morose visions of death and betrayal? Admission is free to the public.

Philadelphia, PA, United States
Add to Collection
0 51 17377-best-free-sites-in-philadelphia
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Bookmarked

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Best Literary Sights Around the World
19 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
19 1 0 5
7377