全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Best Museums in Atlanta

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
7946


APEX博物馆

非裔美国人的全景体验是一个博物馆,目录亚特兰大甜蜜奥本社区的历史。 APEX位于马丁·路德·金(Martin Luther King,Jr.)少年时代的家乡附近,也是美国黑人历史研究的重要中心。有一个甜奥本大街药店和理发店的复制品,以及一个影院手推车,显示介绍性视频。这个重要的文化博物馆为游客提供了一个探索亚特兰大的一部分和她经常被忽视的历史的机会。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
国王中心

国王中心的建立是为了纪念维权人士和领导人马丁·路德·金(Martin Luther King Jr.)的贡献。这里展示的纪念品和文物为游客提供了这位杰出人物和他的意识形态生命的高峰。该中心包含了从南景公墓搬来的地穴。有一个永恒的火焰,象征着金博士的生活的希望。自由大厅包含主要展品和向圣雄甘地致敬。热切的游客和学生频频,这个地方提供了一个有趣的和教育的经验。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
吉米·卡特图书馆和博物馆

吉米·卡特图书馆和博物馆坐落在弗吉尼亚高地与英曼公园(Inman Park)相邻的市中心以东的35个景观地区。该综合体由五个相互连接的亭子组成,前院长办公室,研究和基础设施以及吉米·卡特图书馆和博物馆,其中包括来自卡特政府的数千份文件和纪念品。园景花园里有一个湖泊,还有400多种植物和80种玫瑰,其中包括玫瑰花珊瑚Rosalynn Carter。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
W 之巢

这个英俊的维多利亚时代的居留地是着名的格鲁吉亚作家乔尔·钱德勒·哈里斯(Joel Chandler Harris)的长期居所。他为这个国家的儿童和成年人撰写了一些最受欢迎的故事。哈里斯以他的叔叔Remus传说闻名于世,他在亚特兰大写下了许多他的地标作品,他的生平和作品的故事在博物馆展出。提供导游和讲故事的程序,以及一个不错的商店,储存书籍和布雷兔的纪念品。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
伍德拉夫艺术中心

伍德拉夫艺术中心的确是亚特兰大的文化中心。从交响乐之旅到参观一些毕加索,你可以在这里沉浸一些真正的文化和艺术。该中心包括许多主要场馆,包括亚特兰大交响乐团,高级艺术博物馆和联盟剧院。访问网站查看中心的活动日历。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
高级艺术博物馆

很难想象这个超现代的,纯洁的白色结构,这是亚特兰大最好的经典和当代艺术收藏品。高耸的中庭耸立在四层的内部空间之中,画廊从18世纪和19世纪收藏在地面附近,到上层的艺术品。高楼面积增至312,000平方英尺,由意大利着名建筑师兰佐·皮亚诺(Renzo Piano),苏珊(Susan)和约翰·维兰德馆(John Wieland Pavilion)设计的三幢建筑,安妮·考克斯(Anne Cox Chambers)翼楼以及办公楼。高是经常举办一些世界上最重要的巡回收藏,并主办了巴勃罗·毕加索和诺曼·罗克韦尔等艺术家的展览。永久收藏品中有超过14,000件作品,还展出了安倍晋三林肯和William Tecumseh Sherman将军的旧版画以及一系列雕塑和照片。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
亚特兰大设计博物馆(MODA)

亚特兰大设计博物馆(MODA)于1993年作为亚特兰大国际艺术与设计博物馆在市中心地区开幕。十年后,获得当地赠款,重新安置并将重点从艺术转移到设计。 MODA现在位于市中心,横跨在桃树大厦的高级艺术博物馆。这是东南亚唯一一个努力了解日常设计的每个方面的机构。这里举办的展览包括椅子,建筑,浴室和摄影等。还举办定期的画廊巡回演讲,讲座和儿童意识活动。在这里举办了几次国际性的展览,展示了来自世界各地的尖端计划。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
千年之门&博物馆

千年之门(Millennium Gate)精美地标注了市中心,给亚特兰大“门城”(Gate City)的绰号。立面上的拉丁文字表明,这种结构是对和平成就的奉献。建筑是经典的罗马凯旋门,充满了雕塑口音和风景如画的典型。博物馆建筑面积超过12,000平方英尺(1,100平方米),陈列着保存完好的格鲁吉亚纪念品和历史证据。时期的房间让人想起18世纪的生活,而数字和技术上的互动显示则成就了一个复杂的历史课程。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
Fernbank自然历史博物馆

Fernbank自然历史博物馆是该国最大的博物馆之一。周围有140英亩(56公顷)的森林,距市中心不远,是到亚特兰大的必经之路。自然历史爱好者可以在人民大会堂引人入胜的展览中惊叹不已。这座宏伟的建筑本身就是一座具有里程碑意义的建筑,设有一个引人注目的天窗,塔高86英尺(26米)。在天文馆的互动节目承诺一个有趣的天文课,而315座IMAX影院在其五层屏幕上展示电影。请注意,周五的电影放映伴随着美味的马提尼。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
埃默里大学迈克尔·C·卡洛斯博物馆

展示古代埃及艺术,这个占地45000平方英尺(4180平方米)的博物馆是亚特兰大文化景观的一个亮点。隶属于埃默里大学(Emory University)的博物馆永久收藏了超过15,000件物品,历史悠久,历史近9000年,从公元前7世纪的前史文化到20世纪。博物馆还赞助了许多特别的展览,讲座,电影和讲习班。在戏剧性的环境中,参观Cafe Antico咖啡厅享用每日美食午餐。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
亚特兰大历史中心

亚特兰大历史中心是一个伟大的历史爱好者的地方。这座综合博物馆建于1926年,记录了该地区的历史,包括内战,民权运动,南方民间工艺,亚特兰大的扩张等等。它占地33英亩(13.5公顷),由亚特兰大历史博物馆,天鹅屋,图利史密斯农场(史密斯家庭农场),玛格丽特米切尔楼,百年奥林匹克博物馆,凯南研究中心和六个美丽的花园组成。它有各种节目,节日和活动全年进行。被认为是全国历史最悠久的博物馆之一,每个空间都是独一无二的,让人想起曾经历过的一个时代和故事。玛格丽特·米切尔之家(Margaret Mitchell House)是作家和业余作家的中心,因为它每年举办创意写作计划,以保持着名作家的作品,其小说“飘”是最受欢迎的作品之一。在亚特兰大不要错过这个中心。

亚特兰大, GA, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 111 17946-best-museums-in-atlanta
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
7946

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

Best Museums in Atlanta

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
7946


APEX Museum

The African-American Panoramic Experience is a museum that catalogs the history of Atlanta's Sweet Auburn neighborhood. Located near the boyhood home of Martin Luther King, Jr., the APEX also serves as the nation's foremost center for the study of African-American history. There is a replica of a Sweet Auburn Avenue drugstore and barbershop, as well as a theater trolley car which shows an introductory video. This important cultural museum offers visitors a chance to explore a part of Atlanta and her history that is often overlooked.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
The King Center

The King Center was built to commemorate the contributions of the civil rights activist and leader Martin Luther King Jr. The memorabilia and artifacts displayed here give visitors a sneak peak into the life of this eminent personality and his ideologies. The center contains his crypt which was moved from the South- View Cemetery. There is an Eternal Flame symbolizing the hope of Dr. King that lives on. The Freedom Hall contains major exhibits and a tribute to Mahatma Gandhi. Frequented by eager tourists and students, this place provides an interesting and educating experience.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
Jimmy Carter Library & Museum

The Jimmy Carter Library & Museum sits on 35 landscaped acres just east of downtown where the Virginia-Highlands meet Inman Park. The complex consists of five interconnected pavilions that house the offices of the former President, research and foundation facilities, and the Jimmy Carter Library and Museum, which includes thousands of papers and mementos from the Carter administration. The landscaped gardens feature a lake, as well as more than 400 plants and 80 varieties of roses, including the coral Rosalynn Carter rose.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
The Wren's Nest

This handsome Victorian abode was the longtime home of famed Georgia writer Joel Chandler Harris, who penned some of this country's most popular stories for children as well as adults. Best known for his Uncle Remus tales, Harris wrote many of his landmark pieces right here in Atlanta, and the story of his life and work is on display at the museum. Guided tours and storytelling programs are offered, as well as a nice shop that stocks books and Brer Rabbit memorabilia.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
Woodruff Arts Center

The Woodruff Arts Center is indeed a center for culture in Atlanta. From a trip to the symphony to a visit to see some Picassos, you can soak up some real culture and art here. The center encompasses many major venues including the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, High Museum of Art and the Alliance Theatre. Visit the website to see a calendar of events at the center.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
High Museum of Art

It is hard to miss this ultra-modern, stark white structure that houses Atlanta's finest collections of classic and contemporary art. A towering atrium soars to four interior levels, with the galleries moving from 18th and 19th Century collections near the ground floor to cutting edge art on the upper levels. The High has increased in size to 312,000 square feet with three buildings designed by renowned Italian architect Renzo Piano: the Susan and John Wieland Pavilion, the Anne Cox Chambers Wing for galleries, and an office building. The High is a frequent host to some of the world's most important touring collections, and has hosted exhibitions featuring artists like Pablo Picasso and Norman Rockwell. With over 15000 works in the permanent collection, the High also displays old prints of Abe Lincoln and of General William Tecumseh Sherman, and an array of sculptures and photographs.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
Museum of Design Atlanta (MODA)

The Museum of Design Atlanta (MODA) opened its doors in 1993 as Atlanta International Museum of Art & Design, in the city's downtown area. After a decade, and receiving local grants, it relocated and shifted focus from art to design. MODA is now located in midtown across the High Museum of Art, in the Peachtree Building. This is the only institution in the Southeast which strives to understand every aspect of everyday design. Some of the exhibitions held here cover subjects such as chairs, architecture, bathrooms and photography. Regular gallery tours, lectures, and awareness programs for kids are also held. Several international exhibitions have been held here, featuring cutting-edge plans from all over the world.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
Millennium Gate & Museum

The Millennium Gate beautifully punctuates Midtown to give Atlanta its "Gate City" nickname. The Latin inscription on the facade indicates the structure is a dedication to peaceful accomplishments. The architecture is quintessential of classic Roman triumphal arches replete with sculptural accents and a picturesque landscape. It houses a museum that sprawls over 12,000 square feet (1,100 square meters) and showcases a well-preserved collection of Georgian memorabilia and historical evidence. The period rooms lend a glimpse into life in the 18th Century while digital and technologically interactive displays make for a sophisticated history lesson.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
Fernbank Museum of Natural History

The Fernbank Museum of Natural History is one of the largest museums in the country. Surrounded by 140 acres (56 hectares) of forests, it is located a short distance from downtown and is a must on itineraries to Atlanta. Natural history buffs can marvel at intriguing exhibitions in the Great Hall. A landmark in itself, this splendid building features a vertigo-inducing skylight that towers at 86 feet (26 meters). Interactive programs at the planetarium promise an entertaining astronomy lesson, while the 315-seater IMAX theater showcases movies on its five-story screen. Note that film screenings on Fridays are accompanied by delicious martinis.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
Michael C. Carlos Museum of Emory University

Showcasing ancient Egyptian art, this 45,000-square foot (4180-square meter) museum is a brilliant addition to Atlanta's cultural landscape. Affiliated with Emory University, the museum's permanent collection of over 15,000 objects spans a historical stretch of nearly 9000 years, from the prehistoric cultures of the 7th Century BCE to the 20th Century. The museum also sponsors many special exhibitions, lectures, films, and workshops. Visit Cafe Antico for daily gourmet lunches in a dramatic setting.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
Atlanta History Center

Atlanta History Center is a great spot for history buffs. This comprehensive museum complex was founded in 1926 and chronicles the region's history which includes sections on the Civil War, Civil Rights movement, Southern folk crafts, Atlanta's expansion and much more. Spread across 33 acres (13.5 hectares), it consists of the Atlanta History Museum, Swan House, Tullie Smith Farm (Smith Family Farm), Margaret Mitchell House, Centennial Olympic Games Museum, Kenan Research Center and six beautiful gardens. It has various programs, festivals and events going on throughout the year. Considered to be among the biggest history museums in the country, each space is unique and distinct, giving a glimpse of an era bygone and stories to enthrall everyone. The Margaret Mitchell House is a hub for authors and amateur writers as it hosts yearly creative writing programs to keep the legacy of the celebrated writer, whose novel Gone with the Wind, is among the most loved books. Don't miss this center when in Atlanta.

Atlanta, GA, United States
Add to Collection
0 111 17946-best-museums-in-atlanta
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 1 0 5
7946