全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Must Visit Attractions in Memphis

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
8320


比尔街

在孟菲斯市中心的正中心就在传说中的比尔街。比尔街自1841年创建以来,一直是这座城市的商业中心。随着时间的推移,周围的街道和周边​​地区也逐渐形成,成为黑人音乐家们常去的地方。随着欧菲姆剧院和教堂公园的出现,许多夜总会餐馆和商店开始真正地填补这个区域。 20世纪初,像路易斯·阿姆斯特朗,泥泞的沃特斯和BB King这样的传奇音乐家在比尔街上表演了孟菲斯布鲁斯音乐,而比尔街被许多人认为是布鲁斯音乐真正开始的地方。如今,比尔街是孟菲斯市的主要景点,传奇的蓝调俱乐部,餐厅和商店几乎和街道一样长。这条街也因为每年在五月份举办巨大的孟菲斯和比尔街音乐节而闻名。

孟菲斯, TN, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
利达Gammill夏普天文馆

厌倦了让人们,尤其是孩子们在一个黑暗的房间里沉迷于讲座,试图与隔壁的IMAX影院竞争?这个天文馆已经用Grateful Dead,Pearl Jam和Pink Floyd等乐队的激光灯和音乐来加强节目。八月份的猫王周还有一场猫王秀。在流星雨等特殊气象事件中,天文馆工作人员在前面的草坪上设置望远镜,并鼓励游客带家人以及野餐。

孟菲斯, TN, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
雅园

曾经是音乐传奇猫王Elvis Presley的故乡,Graceland是七十年代令人难忘的华丽风格的缩影,充满了粗毛地毯,仿瀑布和超大尺寸的沙发。当他从斯蒂芬托夫购买这个在孟菲斯的殖民复兴的房子时,摇滚乐之王的生活来了一个完整的循环,这是一个纪念城市的方式,他的音乐雄心壮志,并使他成为一个后起之秀。有传闻说,这是美国第二大访问量最大的房子,格雷斯兰和埃尔维斯住在这里一样。埃尔维斯·普雷斯利(Elvis Presley)于1957年购买了这个占地13.8英亩(5.6公顷)的庄园,并且花了很大的一部分时间来扩大和改善华丽的财产。在以传奇人物命名的林荫大道上,一个时尚的娱乐中心和毗邻的游客中心通过丰富的音乐家生活展示和展览,为猫王的粉丝们留下了疯狂的狂热。埃尔维斯艺人职业博物馆突出了他的歌唱事业的主要方面,并展示了他最具标志性的裁缝系列,而汽车博物馆展示了埃尔维斯从卡迪拉克埃尔多拉多到斯图茨黑鹰队的惊人车队。 8月16日,埃尔维斯逝世周年,烛光守夜吸引了全世界的粉丝到这个特殊的纪念碑。

孟菲斯, TN, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
孟菲斯植物园

孟菲斯植物园(Memphis Botanic Garden)是东孟菲斯(East Memphis)超过96英亩(39公顷)的花园。可爱的日本花园,桥梁,池塘和金鱼是夏季烛光晚间游客的最爱。在春季,凯旋鸢尾花园(Ketchum Iris Garden)焕发出无数的色彩,而市玫瑰花园在五月,六月和九月是最好的。甚至有一个感官花园,旨在吸引所有五种感官。

孟菲斯, TN, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
迪克森画廊和花园

狄克逊人是一对没有孩子的夫妇,他们收集了艺术品,既美观又装饰,死后全部留给了这座城市。旅行展品往往是壮观的,包括法贝热蛋,西雅图艺术家戴尔·奇胡利的玻璃作品,以及拉乌尔·杜菲的色彩爆炸。占地17英亩(7公顷)的花园通常是散步,除了在室外音乐会,野餐或戏剧作品。博物馆商店经常有从孟菲斯的伟大的奇迹展品!

孟菲斯, TN, 美国
添加到您的收藏夹
0 51 18320-must-visit-attractions-in-memphis
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
8320

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

Must Visit Attractions in Memphis

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
8320


Beale Street

Right in the heart of Downtown Memphis lies the legendary Beale Street. Ever since its inception in 1841, Beale Street has always been a major locus of commerce in the city. As the years progressed and the street and the area around it built up, the street snowballed into a thriving commonplace for travelling African-American musicians to perform. With the advent of the Orpheum Theater and the Church Park, nightclubs, restaurants and shops began to brim the area. Through the early 20th Century, legendary musicians like Louis Armstrong, Muddy Waters and BB King performed on Beale Street and developed the Memphis Blues sound. Today, Beale Street is a major attraction in the city of Memphis, with legendary blues clubs, restaurants and shops that have been around almost as long as the street itself. Come evening, the street and its many lanes are illuminated by myriad neon-signboards of bars and restaurants which merrily beckon tourists and locals alike. The street is also known for hosting the grand Memphis in May International Festival and the Beale Street Music Festival every year.

Memphis, TN, United States
Add to Collection
Lida Gammill Sharpe Planetarium

Tired of putting people, especially kids, to sleep with droning lectures in a dark room and trying to compete with the IMAX theater next door? This planetarium has spiced up its shows with laser lights and music from bands such as the Grateful Dead, Pearl Jam and Pink Floyd. There is even an Elvis show during Elvis Week in August. During special meteorological events, such as meteor showers, the planetarium staff sets up telescopes on the front lawn and encourages visitors to bring their families as well as a picnic dinner.

Memphis, TN, United States
Add to Collection
Graceland

Once home to music legend Elvis Presley, Graceland epitomizes the flamboyant style that the unforgettable seventies packed in. Life came a full circle for the King of Rock 'n' Roll when he purchased this Colonial Revival house in Memphis from Stephen Toof, a way of honoring the city that fed his musical ambitions and set him on his way to becoming a rising star. Rumoured to be the second most-visited house in the United States, Graceland is preserved exactly as it was when Elvis lived here. Elvis Presley bought this 13.8 acre (5.6 hectares) estate in 1957 and spent a large part of his life expanding and improving the opulent property. On the boulevard named after the legend himself, a sleek entertainment complex and adjoining visitors centre feed Elvis' fans still-extant frenzy through a wealth of displays and exhibits that revolve around the musician's life. The Elvis Entertainer Career Museum highlights the main aspects of his singing career, and display his most iconic sartorial collections, while the Automobile Museum showcases the stunning fleet of cars that Elvis rode in, from the Cadillac Eldorado to the Stutz Blackhawk. On August 16, the anniversary of Elvis' death, a candlelight vigil draws worldwide fans to this exceptional monument.

Memphis, TN, United States
Add to Collection
Memphis Botanic Garden

Memphis Botanic Garden is a collection of gardens that covers over 96 acres (39 hectares) in East Memphis. The lovely Japanese garden, with its bridges, ponds and goldfish is a favorite with visitors, who come for the candlelight evening tours in the summer. In the spring, the Ketchum Iris Garden glows with a myriad of colors, while the Municipal Rose Garden is at its best in May, June, and September. There is even a Sensory Garden that is designed to appeal to all five senses.

Memphis, TN, United States
Add to Collection
Dixon Gallery & Gardens

The Dixons were a childless couple who collected art, both fine and decorative and left it all to the city when they died. The travelling exhibits, are often spectacular and have included Faberge eggs, glassworks by Seattle artist Dale Chihuly, and an explosion of color from Raoul Dufy. The 17-acre (7-hectare) garden is usually open for strolling, except during outdoor concerts, picnics, or theater productions. The museum shop often has items from Memphis' Great Wonders exhibits! The museum is free for everyone on every Saturday between 10 am to noon.

Memphis, TN, United States
Add to Collection
0 51 18320-must-visit-attractions-in-memphis
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
35 1 0 9
8320