全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

A Day in Kolkata

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
869


垂死之家

Bose路54号是加尔各答最著名的地址之一,也是游览这座城市的必去之地。这座名为“垂死之家”的建筑是仁爱传教会的总部,也代表着特蕾莎修女的愿景,为绝境带去希望与爱。如今,特蕾莎修女的慈善修女们也都穿着蓝色商标的莎丽服,继续发扬着仁爱精神遗产。游客可以在特蕾莎修女的坟墓上表达敬意,并参观这里的博物馆,里面陈列有她的日常生活物品,比如凉鞋和旧碗,这些物品都反映出了她的朴素作风。这个地方能够让你看到人类最慈爱的一面,唤起你的独特情感。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Raj Bhavan

在殖民统治期间,英国人建起了宏伟的建筑和富丽堂皇的住宅,经常在英国复制建筑和政府办公室。 Raj Bhavan是加尔各答这样辉煌的遗产地标之一。蔓延到27英亩,铁艺大门和狮子顶上,给整个地方造成了一种雄伟的魅力,并在强大的统治者和无能为力的普通人之间划清界限。直到加尔各答不再是印度的首都,德里仍然是总督和总督的官邸。它拥有许多套房,其中最重要的套房是以威尔士亲王命名的“威尔士王子”套房,以总督命名的“威尔斯套房”(Wellesly Suite),委托建造拉吉巴旺(Raj Bhavan)。它还设有一个图书馆,其中包括各种各样的书籍和官方期刊,仅仅是在独立前的时代就被前任总督遗留下来。除此之外,还收藏了一大批珍贵的手稿和照片,每一年都在不断丰富。目前,西孟加拉邦省长居住在这里,接待重要的外国代表,政要和正式会议。虽然由于安全原因,你将无法从内部看到建筑,美丽的外景值得一游。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
印度博物馆

印度博物馆位于Jawaharlal Nehru路上,是世界上同类博物馆之一。博物馆于1814年由纳撒尼尔·瓦利克博士(Dr. Nathaniel Wallich)创立,最初位于亚洲社会。然而,不断增加的文物曲目已经转移到了当前的必要位置。今天安置印度博物馆的洁白的大厦由建筑师W.L. Granvil,也是加尔各答高等法院和G.P.O等重要地标背后的名字。馆内有三层,六十个不同的画廊,探索人类学,考古学,艺术,地质学,动物学,植物学和技术等领域。博物馆藏品今天有100多万件展品,您可以在访问期间找到从埃及木乃伊到陨石的任何东西。画廊是特别重要的,因为它对古代印度艺术有一些罕见的见解。不同学院的学生和研究人员发现博物馆除了大量的文物展示外,还有一个图书馆和一个书店。印度博物馆全年举办一些有趣的活动,偶尔还会举办各种短期课程和研讨会。面积超过10000平方英尺,最好在这个博物馆度过一整天。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
伊甸花园球场

伊甸花园不仅是加尔各答市的一个组成部分,也是国际板球地图上的重要标志。该体育场以毗邻的伊甸花园命名。从1864年开始,板球纪录就是由标志性的球员制造和打破的。是什么让这个体育馆与其他同行相比是独一无二的呢,就是人群对这个游戏的激情。玩家的注意力几乎要在大声欢呼声和噪音中进行测试。尽管球迷不守规矩的行为导致了比赛中断,但这个球场仍然是所有板球运动员中最受欢迎的。在伊甸花园(Eden Gardens)的表演中,包括Harbhajan Singh在2000 - 01年对澳大利亚人的帽子戏法,VVS Laxman在同一赛季中获得的281次,这是这个场地记录的最高的个人得分。尝试在比赛期间参观伊甸花园,感受空气中的刺激。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
豪拉大桥

新豪拉大桥是为了取代旧的浮桥而修建的,为了纪念杰出的孟加拉诗人及画家拉宾德拉纳特·泰戈尔,于1965年更名为Rabindra Setu。但人们通常还是称其为豪拉大桥。这座悬臂桥位于Vivekananda Setu与Vidyasagar Setu之间,是加尔各答三大桥梁中第一座,完工于1943年。豪拉大桥是加尔各答最繁忙的桥梁,每天有成千上万辆汽车通行,为这座城市的繁荣与活力作出了重要的贡献。这座大桥横跨于胡格利河之上,是一个卓越的工程技术产物。这座桥的修建增加了豪拉车站附近的车流量,行人、小贩和商人的聚集也让这里变成了加尔各答重要的区域。豪拉大桥是伟大的历史遗产,是一座标志性建筑,围绕着这座大桥的人物与故事都是这座城市的宝藏。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
迈丹

印度其他印度的地铁城市,如孟买,都渴望绿色空间,加尔各答拥有丰富的公园,场地和展览场地,迈丹是其中之一。它是西孟加拉邦最大的空地之一,在孟加拉的中心地带有一个特殊的地方。皇家高尔夫俱乐部,维多利亚纪念堂,伊甸花园,加尔各答赛马场等着名建筑物和地标的所在地;名单是无止境的。 Maidan还包括像寇松勋爵和坎宁这样的英国人的雕像,以及像Subhash Chandra Bose,Raja Ram Mohan Roy,Chittaranjan Das,Mahatma Gandhi和Jawaharlal Nehru这样的着名印度人。该公园举办了加尔各答书展的政治集会,演讲,文化活动和展览。迈丹是加尔各答及其居民固有和不可分割的一部分。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
圣保罗大教堂

圣保罗大教堂是加尔各答的“东方第一圣公会教堂”之一。Bishop Daniel Wilson于1839年开始修建该大教堂,并于1847年完工。该大教堂由William Nairn Forbes少校设计,类似于坎特伯雷大教堂里的Bell Harry塔。原始白色墙壁、彩色玻璃窗、雕刻木头物件和壁画都能让你联想起文艺复兴时期。虽然教堂被彻底毁坏了两次,但都进行了修复,恢复了昔日的辉煌。在餐馆圣保罗大教堂时,也可以顺便游览附近的景点,比如维多利亚纪念堂、Nandan、Mahanagar Peace Park和比尔拉天文馆。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
美术学院

1933年,从印度博物馆租借的一间小房子开始,成为探索城市中心艺术的基础。美术学院位于比尔拉天文馆旁边,靠近维多利亚女王纪念馆,以展览形式展现了众多艺术表现形式的创意激情。学院内的永久画廊包括当代艺术画廊,旧纺织画廊,旧地毯画廊,微型画廊和拉宾德拉纳特·泰戈尔的原始作品,手稿和绘画的拉宾德拉画廊。众所周知,内设一个大礼堂,举办各种文化节目,戏剧等。培训项目和艺术课也定期举行。在主楼周围,一些有趣的雕塑肯定会激起你的兴趣。查看当地报纸或向办公室查询当前事件日程。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
维多利亚纪念馆

标志性的维多利亚纪念馆由纯白色大理石建造而成,拥有天使般纯洁的白色穹顶,屹立于草坪和摇曳的棕榈树丛中。这座宏伟的建筑是为了向英格兰维多利亚女王致敬而修建的,也是加尔各答市的最佳地标之一。印度总督柯曾爵士建造了这座犹如女王本人一样威严的皇家纪念馆,这座宏伟的建筑充满了悠久的历史气息。纪念馆坐落于胡格利河沿岸,里面有美丽的花园、翡翠绿池、博物馆、英国人和印度人的雕像及半身像。需要注意的一个重要事实是,印度王子与公民都为维多利亚纪念馆的修建作出了贡献,总建筑成本约为1,05,00,000印度卢比。巨大的雕刻立柱、错综复杂的大理石穹顶和高松的塔楼都体现除了印度工匠的精湛技艺,他们在修建该建筑物的过程中起到了至关重要的作用。美术馆和博物馆中珍藏有英国的大事记,包括讲述女王一生中的重要事件的绘画、雕塑和手工制品,囊括了加冕典礼和住所事件。除此之外,这里还收藏有蒂普苏丹英勇王子和战士的剑,以及普拉西战役的大炮。文字和照片并不能表现出维多利亚纪念馆的宏伟与辉煌,亲身游览此处能够启发你的心灵和想象力。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
比拉工业科技博物馆(BITM)

贝拉工业科技博物馆成立于1959年,是全国科学博物馆理事会所有科学中心和博物馆的母体,是全国首个科学工业博物馆。 BITM作为一个核心的博物馆,记录了通讯,钢铁,大众科学,运输,电子和电视画廊的科学发展史。但为了跟上科学技术的飞速发展,现在已经是一个全面的科学中心,旨在向参观者灌输科学的基本原理。 BITM在保留原画廊的同时,还推出了趣味科学展,科学魔术展,魅力物理展等多种互动展品和教育节目。虽然博物馆内容广泛,但对于游客,儿童和学生来说,目标受众在这里。科学中心还全年举办一些活动,包括讲座,研讨会和展览,涵盖重要和相关的主题。查看网站上的每日节目,学生旅游等的详细信息。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
CIMA

自1993年成立以来,CIMA已经成为最受认可的艺术和文化中心。最先进的CIMA画廊收藏了来自全国各地的着名艺术家的精彩当代艺术作品。令人惊叹的帆布画在墙上,描绘了哲学和观念艺术的各个方面。 CIMA还组织了一些展览,其中新芽艺术家提供了一个展示他们的才能和与成熟的艺术家互动的平台。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Alipore动物园

Alipore Zoological Gardens的根源在于19世纪由总督韦尔斯利(Lord Wellesley)所拥有的私人动物园。然而,回到英国只有很多年,在阿里波利建立了一个正式的“动物园”。 1876年由爱德华七世创立的Alipore Zoological Gardens是该国首创的,非洲水牛,桑给巴尔羊,四角羊,杂交克什米尔山羊,印度羚羊,印度羚羊和水鹿鹿是在这里举行的第一个品种之一。动物园以安置在2006年死亡的阿尔达布拉巨龟“Adwaita”而闻名,250年后! 20世纪20年代,动物园被公认为圈养繁殖的先驱;苏门答腊犀牛是成功的育种项目之一。然而,多年来,由于动物维护不善和“虎豹杂交计划”(狮虎杂交种),受到了很多批评。今天,Alipore动物园或动物园仍​​然是该城市的主要景点,房屋种类如孟加拉虎,非洲狮,大印度独角犀牛,网状长颈鹿,单峰骆驼和印度大象。动物园分布在45英亩的土地上,还设有一个爬虫屋,灵长类动物屋,豹楼和大象屋。它可能会花费你一小时之间的任何时间去整个动物园游览;国家图书馆,农业园艺园和Alipore监狱就在附近。收费250卢比后,客人可以进行摄影。

加尔各答, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
0 141 2869-a-day-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Washington DC
35 已标记书签

Exploring Washington DC

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
35 1 0 9
869

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

A Day in Kolkata

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
869


Mother House

54 Bose Road is one of the most famous addresses in Kolkata and an important stopover for every tourist visiting the city. The building aptly called Mother House is the headquarters of the Missionaries of Charity, Mother Teresa's vision to spread hope and love to the despair. Even today, Mother Teresa’s sisters of charity, clad in their trademark blue-bordered saris, continue to carry forward her legacy. Visitors can pay their respects at the Mother's tomb and visit the museum displaying objects from her routine life – sandals and a worn-out bowl that stand as true reflections of her simplicity. Invoking peace and a range of different emotions, this place allows you to catch a glimpse into the life of one of the finest human beings to have ever lived.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Raj Bhavan

During the colonial rule, the Britishers erected magnificent structures and palatial residences, that often replicated buildings and government offices back in England. Raj Bhavan is one of such splendid heritage landmarks in the city of Kolkata. Spread across 27 acres, the wrought iron gates and imposing lions atop, create a majestic allure to the whole place and draw a clear line of distinction between the powerful rulers and the powerless common man. It continued to be the official residence of Governor-Generals and Viceroy until Kolkata ceased to be the capital of India and Delhi came into prominence. It has many suites, the important ones being the 'Prince of Wales' suite, named in the honor of Prince Edward of Wales and 'Wellesly Suite', named after the Governor General, who commissioned the construction of Raj Bhavan. It also houses a library, that includes a wide range of books and official journals, simply left behind by the previous governors, right from pre-independence era. Apart from that, it also has a collection of rare manuscripts and photographs, which gets enriched with each passing year. Currently, the Governor of West Bengal resides here and it plays host to important foreign delegates, dignitaries and official meetings. Though due to security reasons, you will be unable to see the building from within, the beautiful exteriors are worth a visit.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Indian Museum

Located on the Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Indian Museum holds the distinction of being one of the first museums of its kind in the world. Founded by Dr. Nathaniel Wallich in 1814, the museum was first located within the Asiatic Society. However, the ever-growing repertoire of artifacts made its shift to the current location necessary. The pristine white edifice that houses the Indian Museum today was built by architect W.L. Granvil, which is also the name behind important landmarks like Calcutta High Court and the G.P.O. Inside, the museum has three floors with sixty different galleries that explore areas like Anthropology, Archaeology, Art, Geology, Zoology, Botany and Technology. The museum's collection has over 1 million exhibits today, and you can find anything from Egyptian mummies to meteorites during your visit. The Painting Gallery is of particular importance, as it holds some rare insights into ancient Indian art. Students and researchers of different faculties find the museum extremely resourceful: apart from the vast display of artifacts, the space also includes a library and a bookshop. Indian Museum organizes a number of interesting events throughout the year and also occasionally conducts short courses and seminars on various subjects. With over 10000 square feet of area to explore, it is best to spend an entire day at this museum.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Eden Gardens Stadium

Eden Gardens is not only an integral part of Kolkata city, but is also an important landmark in the International cricket map. The stadium is named after the adjoining Eden Gardens. Right from 1864, it has seen cricket records being made and broken by iconic players. What makes this stadium exclusive from its counterparts is the passion of the crowds towards the game. The player's concentration is almost put to test amidst the loud cheer and noise. Though the unruly behavior of the fans has resulted in match disruptions, this stadium still remains a favorite among all cricketers. Notable performances at Eden Gardens include bowler Harbhajan Singh's hat-trick against the Australians in 2000-01 and the 281 runs scored by VVS Laxman, in the same season, which is the highest individual score recorded at this ground. Try and visit Eden Gardens during a match to feel the excitement in the air.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Rabindra Setu (Howrah Bridge)

Built to replace the old Floating Pontoon Bridge, the New Howrah Bridge was renamed as Rabindra Setu in 1965, honouring the illustrious Bengali poet and painter Rabindranath Tagore. However, it is still most popularly known as Howrah Bridge. Placed between the Vivekananda Setu and the Vidyasagar Setu, this cantilever bridge was the first of the three Kolkata bridges, and was completed in 1943. Easily one of Kolkata's busiest bridges carrying thousands of vehicles every day, Howrah Bridge plays a major role in epitomizing the increasingly-urbane, forward-looking vigour that envelops the city. Seamlessly spanning the mighty course of Hooghly River, this bridge is characterized by brilliantly-done latticework, and is a product of outstanding engineering prowess. The concentration of vehicles increases along the teeming Howrah Station, while scores pedestrians, hawkers, merchants and locals make it an essential part of the everyday life of Kolkata. An iconic structure steeped in an indelible history and heritage, Howrah Bridge, with all its people and stories, will always remain an emblematic jewel of the city.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Maidan

While other Indian metro cities in India like Mumbai are craving for green spaces, Kolkata is blessed with abundant parks, grounds and fair-grounds; Maidan being one among them. One of the largest open spaces across the State of West Bengal, it has a special place in the heart of Bengalis. It is home to famous structures and landmarks like Royal Golf Club, Victoria Memorial, Eden Gardens, Kolkata Race Course; the list is endless. Maidan also comprises statues of Britishers like Lord Curzon and Canning and notable Indians like Subhash Chandra Bose, Raja Ram Mohan Roy, Chittaranjan Das, Mahatma Gandhi and Jawaharlal Nehru. The park has hosted political rallies, speeches, cultural events and expositions like Kolkata Book Fair. Maidan is an inherent and integral part of Kolkata and its inhabitants.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
St.Paul's Cathedral

St.Paul's Cathedral is one of the 'first Episcopal Church of the Orient' in Kolkata. Bishop Daniel Wilson initiated the construction of the cathedral in 1839 and it was completed in 1847. Designed by Major William Nairn Forbes, it is similar to the Bell Harry Tower in Canterbury Cathedral in Kent. The pristine white walls, the stained glass windows, carved wooden pieces and frescoes remind you of the Renaissance period. Though the church was completely destroyed twice, it was eventually restored and regained it's original grandeur. While you are visiting St.Paul's Cathedral, you can also check-out the nearby attractions like Victoria Memorial, Nandan, Mahanagar Peace Park and the Birla Planetarium.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Academy of Fine Arts

What started as a small room loaned from the Indian Museum in 1933 has proceeded to become a foundation for exploring art in the center of the city. Located next to the Birla Planetarium and near Victoria Memorial, the Academy of Fine Arts shares its creative passion in the form of exhibitions spanning a multitude of expressions of art. The permanent galleries within the Academy include the Contemporary Art Gallery, Old Textile Gallery, Old Carpet Gallery, Miniature Gallery and the Rabindra Gallery which has Rabindranath Tagore's original writings, manuscripts and paintings. A big auditorium housed inside is known to host a variety of cultural programs, theater etc. Training programs and art classes are also held regularly. Around the main building, a number of interesting sculptures are sure to pique your interest. Do check the local paper or inquire with the office for current event schedules.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Victoria Memorial

An angelic-white canopy crafted purely from Makrana marble, the iconic Victoria Memorial buildings lies nestled amid rolling lawns and groves of swaying palms. Built as a tribute to Queen Victoria of England, this magnificent edifice is one of the best landmarks that grace the city of Kolkata. This majestic building is steeped in a long-standing history - Lord Curzon, the Viceroy of India, decided to set up a memorial as grand and royal as the Queen herself. Nestled along the banks of the Hooghly River, the memorial comprises beautiful gardens, emerald pools, a museum, statues and busts of Britishers and Indians as well. An important fact to be noted is that Indian princes and citizens contributed generously to the Victoria Memorial funds and the total construction cost was approximately INR 1,05,00,000. Huge, carved pillars, intricately-patterned marble domes and tall towers speak volumes about the craftsmanship of the Indian artisans who played an integral role in executing the building to reality. The galleries and museum house British memorabilia including paintings, sculptures and artifacts that chronicle important events of the Queen's life; right from her coronation ceremony to her residence. Apart from that, it has the sword of the brave prince and warrior Tipu Sultan and cannons reminiscent of the Battle of Plassey. Words or a camera frame do not do justice to the sheer opulence and grandeur of Victoria Memorial, a site which has captured the hearts, souls and imaginations of many.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Birla Industrial & Technological Museum (BITM)

Established in 1959, Birla Industrial & Technological Museum is a parent body to all Science Centers and Museums under the National Council of Science Museums and holds the distinction of being the first Science and Industrial museum in the country. BITM started as a hardcore museum documenting the history of scientific growth with galleries of Communication, Iron & Steel, Popular Science, Transport, Electronics and TV. However, to keep up with the rapid progress of science and technology, it is now a full-fledged Science Center with an aim to inculcate in visitors the basic principles of science. While it retains the original galleries, BITM has introduced a myriad interactive exhibits and educational shows like Fun Science Show, Science Magic Show, Fascinating Physics show, etc. Although the vast contents of this museum would help any visitor, children and students are the main target audience here. The science center also organizes a number of events throughout the year including lectures, seminars and exhibitions that cover important and relevant topics. Check website for details on daily shows, student tours etc.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
CIMA

Since being founded in 1993, CIMA has gone on to become of the most recognized centers of art and culture. A state-of-the-art gallery CIMA features a fascinating collection of contemporary art by renowned artists from across the country. Awe-inspiring canvas painting line the walls, depicting various aspects of philosophical and conceptual art. CIMA also organizes a number of exhibitions wherein budding artists are provided a platform to showcase their talent and interact with established artists.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
Alipore Zoological Gardens

The roots of Alipore Zoological Gardens lie in a private menagerie once owned by Governor General Lord Wellesley in the 1800s. However, it was only many years after he returned to England, that a formal 'Zoological Gardens' was established in Alipore. Inaugurated in 1876 by Sir Edward VII, the Alipore Zoological Gardens was the first of its kind in the country; African Buffalo, Zanzibar Ram, Four-horned sheep, Hybrid Kashmiri Goat, Indian Antelope, Indian Gazelle and Sambar Deer were among the first breeds held here. The zoo was famous for housing the Aldabra Giant Tortoise 'Adwaita' which died in 2006, after 250 years! In the 1900s, the zoo was reputed as a pioneer in captive breeding processes; the Sumatran Rhinoceros was one of the successful breeding projects. However, over the years, it received a lot of criticism for its poor maintenance of animals and the 'Panthera Hybrid Program' (lion and tiger hybrids). Today, Alipore Zoo or Zoological Gardens remains a major attraction of the city, and houses species like Royal Bengal Tiger, African Lion, Great Indian One-horned Rhinoceros, Reticulated Giraffe, Dromedary Camel and Indian Elephant. Spread across 45 acres of land, the zoo also features a Reptile House, Primate House, Panther House and Elephant House. It may take you anywhere between an hour to a day to tour the zoo in its entirety; National Library, Agri Horticultural Gardens and Alipore Jail are in close vicinity. Photography is allowed after a charge of INR 250.

Kolkata, India
Add to Collection
0 141 2869-a-day-in-kolkata
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 Bookmarked

10 Scenic Highways Across the US

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 Bookmarked

Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
Exploring Washington DC
35 Bookmarked

Exploring Washington DC

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
35 1 0 9
869