全局搜索

设定当前位置
加入
退出登录
user image
我的资料
退出登录
While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our listings, some venues may be currently temporarily closed without notice. Please confirm status on the venue website before making any plans.

A Day in Varanasi

由: Cityseeker
编辑收藏夹
下载PDF文档
895


巴拉特马塔曼迪尔

如果曾经有一句话来描述巴拉特马塔曼迪尔的概念和布局,那么它是无法形容的。这不是对拉克西米,湿婆,甘尼萨,哈努曼或拉姆遗产的颂歌;这是对印度母亲(Bharat Mata)的最后的赞扬。一进入,就有一个沉默的三维立体地图的印度,从大理石雕刻,每一个比例在地方的印度分裂了沉默。喜马拉雅山向上突出的范围特别吸引眼球,沿西海岸的小山脉和海洋也是如此。 Babu Shiv Prashad Gupta和Shri Durga Prashad Khatri艺术二重奏的灵感来源于1936年,由Mahatma Gandhi创立。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
瓦努纳河

以吠陀神水和海为名命名,这条河是强大恒河的一个小支流。河流流入瓦拉纳西北部的恒河,有可信的理论认为,由于瓦努纳河和阿西河两条河汇合,这个城市得名。这条小而温和的河在城市北部附近形成了一个简单的景观,然后伸向合流处。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Godowlia市场

Godowlia市场坐落在热闹的Maheshpur小镇的中心地带,与当地的贸易商一起出售各种各样的东西,价格便宜。在距离最近的火车站不远的地方发现,它被认为是城市最繁忙的开放市场之一,而且是正确的。狭窄的车道挤满了家庭必需品,民族饰品,手工披肩和扎里服装,以及其他精心设计的服装。在Godowlia发布一个令人厌倦的购物狂欢,可以选择前面几个街区躺着的宁静的喀什寺。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
维什瓦纳特加利

Vishwanath Gali是圣城市中心繁华的市场,您可以在那里找到当地和传统的所有东西。虽然市场主要迎合前往附近的喀什维什瓦纳寺的朝圣者,但也有一些商店销售巴拿马沙利斯,服装材料,宗教书籍,雕像和珠宝。特别受外国游客欢迎的是铜制品和Rudraksha马拉。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
简塔·曼塔

简塔·曼塔天文台位于宏伟的玛哈皇宫的露台上,是瓦拉纳西的主要天文台,专为喜欢在新德里和斋浦尔发现的天文台而设计。在1737年由Maharaja Jai Singh修建的科学博物馆展示了印度在占星术和科学领域取得的各种里程碑。除了帮助确定恒星和行星位置的主要目的之外,还有助于测量高度,当地标准时间和太阳位置。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
尼泊尔寺庙

尼泊尔国王修建的这座美丽的小寺庙的墙壁上刻着木雕,在拉利塔河坛(Lalitha Ghat)。令人联想到工艺的丰富传统,这座寺庙在每一位参观者眼中都令人敬畏。环境静谧静谧,环境静谧。靖国神社内部是奉献者崇拜的Pasupathi Nath Shiva Linga。尼泊尔寺庙有一个名义上的参观费用,这个寺庙的福利信托。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
恒河

雕刻世界上人口最稠密的河床之一,被认为是直接从湿婆神头上升起的恒河,是北印度的圣母。瓦拉纳西古城是这座令人叹为观止的河流中排放量最高的世界大河之一。沿恒河7公里(4.34英里)的高止山脉是印度教传统中神圣仪式的主要场所;最受欢迎的是Dasashwamedh Ghat和Manikarnika Ghat。这条河起源于喜马拉雅冰川,被认为是印度最大的河流之一,尽管有吞噬性污染,但它的确是一个令人兴奋的景观。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Dasashwamedh加特

指着马牺牲的时代很平常,Dasashwamedh这个名字的翻译是“牺牲十匹马的地方”。印度神话说创造者梵天在这里做了牺牲让湿婆神回到瓦拉纳西;因此它是世界各地的印度教徒最吉祥的地方之一。这是惊人的恒河Aarti的网站,每天在ghat的凸起平台上进行,七名神父正在为母亲Ganga编舞仪式。被认为是恒河沿岸最重要的坟墓,周围有大量的宾馆和餐馆。主要燃烧的加特,马尼卡尼卡是朝北。 Dasaswamedh Ghat是这个城市最古老的遗址之一,是一个充满游客和朝圣者的传奇景点。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
Manikarnika加特

根据印度教的传统,死后马尼卡尼卡河坛的人们将被从生死链中解放出来。这解释了这个地区的混乱,神秘,漠不关心,噪音和一切据说是湿婆神的居所。 Manikarnika这个名字可以追溯到Shiva在他的超然舞蹈中将耳环掉在这里的故事,并且被认为是Manikarnika Kund。火化发生在没有休息的情况下,充满空气,燃烧着肉的味道,这是令人惊讶的不排斥。来自世界各地的外国人在这里观看这里的活动,有着许多的阴谋,当地人以同情的态度对待这个活动,尽管不是没有一点不屑。死亡的表面冷漠的面孔被物质转变的基本哲学所强化,这是必须经历的事情。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
喀什Vishwanath寺庙

崇高的喀什维什瓦纳特庙在古代印度教经典中被提及,实际上建于公元490年,但遭到莫卧儿入侵者连续强拆数百年的掠夺。现在的庙宇是在1790年由战士女王Ahilyabhai Holkar建造的,后者因肆意破坏古老的神圣建筑而感到不满。印度教徒认为,在恒河恒河和参观这座寺庙,有助于摆脱重生的循环。由于由Maharaja Ranjith Singh捐赠的纯金制成的尖塔也被称为金庙,这座寺庙是一个必去的地方。这里的主神是一个黑色的灵魂,信徒奉上祝福的水。近年来,由于恐怖主义威胁迫在眉睫,外国人不得不登记入境。所有游客的手机,照相机和行李必须存放在入口处的任何商店,而警方则敦促人群赶路并继续前行。经验是最激烈的,有趣和神圣的。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
阿拉姆清真寺(Dharahara清真寺)

印度考古调查(ASI)保护的阿拉姆清真寺(Alamgir Mosque)也被称为奥朗则布清真寺(Aurangzeb Mosque)或达拉哈拉清真寺(Dharahara Mosque),享有相对宁静的印度教徒神圣的潘恰加加塔(Panchganga Ghat)的绝佳位置。一次陡峭的攀登将带您到达瓦拉纳西最着名的地标之一,这里几乎定义了天际线与壮观的棕色尖塔。由莫卧儿皇帝奥朗则布建于宾杜·马达瓦神庙的遗址上,传说这座建筑实际上比现在要高很多,皇帝欣赏到德里所有的景色!虽然没有办法验证这一点,但毫无疑问,这个清真寺是一个必须参观,尤其是它的不寻常的建筑体现了印度教和莫卧儿元素。邻近的Shri Laxmi Narayan Mandir和较新的Bindu Mahadev寺庙反映了两种主要的世界宗教 - 印度教和伊斯兰教的共存。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
杜尔加·昆德

Durga寺旁边的这个长方形的池塘和Anand Bagh公园是圣城瓦拉纳西的一个主要地标。 Durga Kund被杜尔加神庙的最高美学所景观,在视觉上吸引人。令人惊叹的寺庙的红色结构的反射给池塘中的水赋予迷人的魅力,否则它会变得迟钝。这座池塘建于18世纪,由孟加拉王后(Queen of Bengal)建造,池塘曾经被信徒用来浸泡。

瓦拉納西, 印度
添加到您的收藏夹
0 201 2895-a-day-in-varanasi
1 of
1 0
写下评价 :
300 剩余字符

提交
类似收藏夹
10 Scenic Highways Across the US
10 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
11 Best BBQ Joints in the Southern US
11 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD
24 已标记书签

Exploring Bethesda, MD

创建: Cityseeker
保存收藏夹到个人档案
Exploring Bethesda, MD (Marriott)
9 已标记书签
保存收藏夹到个人档案
9 1 0 3
895

Global Search

Set Current Location
Join
Sign Out
user image
My Profile
Sign Out

A Day in Varanasi

By: Cityseeker
Edit Collection
Download PDF
895


Bharat Mata Mandir

If there was ever a word to describe the concept and layout of Bharat Mata Mandir, it is INIMITABLE. This one isn't an ode to the legacies of Laxmi, Shiva, Ganesha, Hanuman or Ram; it is the ultimate tribute to Mother India (Bharat Mata). Upon entering, one is stunned into silence with the sunken-level three-dimensional relief map of undivided India, carved from marble and with every proportion in place. The range of Himalayas protruding upwards particularly catches the eye, so do the smaller mountain ranges and oceans along the west coast. Brainchild of the artistic duo of Babu Shiv Prashad Gupta and Shri Durga Prashad Khatri, this matchless work of art was built in 1936 and inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Varuna River

Named after Varuna, the Vedic god of water and the sea, this river is a small tributary of the mighty Ganges. The river flows into the Ganges at the northern side of Varanasi, and there are believable theories that the city got its name because of the convergence of two rivers Varuna and Assi. This small and gentle river carves a simple landscape in the northern neighborhoods of the city before reaching out for the confluence.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Godowlia Market

Nestled in the heart of the buzzing Maheshpur town, Godowlia Market is swarming with local traders selling all kinds of stuff at great bargains. Found at a short distance from the nearest railway station, it is labeled as one of the busiest open markets of the city, and quite rightly so. The cramped lanes are packed with stalls selling household essentials, ethnic jewelry, handmade shawls and zari garments, among other intricately designed apparel. Post a tiring shopping spree at Godowlia, one may choose the visit the serene Kashi Temple lying a few blocks ahead.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Vishwanath Gali

A bustling market in the heart of the holy city, Vishwanath Gali is where you can find all things local and traditional. While the market largely caters to pilgrims headed to the nearby Kashi Vishwanath Temple, it is also buzzing with a number of shops that sell Banarasi sarees, dress materials, religious books, statues and jewelry. Particularly popular with foreign tourists are brass items and the Rudraksha mala.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Jantar Mantar

Perched on the terrace of the magnificent Man Mahal Palace, Jantar Mantar is Varanasi's prime observatory, designed to the likes of the ones found in New Delhi and Jaipur. Constructed by Maharaja Jai Singh in they year 1737, the science museum showcases various milestones of India achieved in the field of astrology and science. Apart from serving its main purpose of helping determine stars and planet positions, it also helps to measure altitude, local standard time and the sun position.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Nepali Temple

Wooden carvings adorn the walls of this small beautiful temple, built by the King of Nepal, at the Lalitha Ghat. Reminiscent of a rich tradition of craftsmanship, the temple creates awe in the eyes of every visitor. The setting is peaceful and calm with a natural silence lingering around the place. Inside the shrine is the Pasupathi Nath Shiva Linga, which is worshiped by devotees. There is a nominal entry fee to visit the Nepali temple, which goes to the welfare trust of the temple.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
River Ganges

Carving one of the world's mostly populated river beds, River Ganges, believed to be arising directly from Lord Shiva's head, is the holy mother for North India. The ancient city of Varanasi is one of the most prolific gifts of this stunning river which ranks top among the world's big rivers in the amount of water discharge. The 7 kilometer (4.34 mile) stretch of the ghats along River Ganges is a major site of sacred rituals in Hindu tradition; Dasashwamedh Ghat and Manikarnika Ghat being the most popular. Originating from Himalayan glaciers, this river is considered as one of the largest in India and surely is a ravishing sight in spite of the devouring pollution.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Dasashwamedh Ghat

Pointing to a time when horse sacrifice was common, the translation of the name Dasashwamedh says 'the place where ten horses were sacrificed'. Hindu mythology says the creator Brahma did a sacrifice here to let Lord Shiva get back to Varanasi; and thus it is one of the most auspicious sites for Hindus all over the world. This is the site of the stunning Ganga Aarti, which is performed daily on the raised platforms on the ghat with seven priests doing choreographed ritualistic offerings to mother Ganga. Considered as the most important ghat along the banks of Ganga, a large number of guesthouses and restaurants are located around the area. The main burning ghat, Manikarnika is towards the north. One of the most ancient sites in the city, Dasaswamedh Ghat is a legendary sight filled with tourists and pilgrims.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Manikarnika Ghat

According to Hindu tradition, people cremated at the Manikarnika Ghat after death will be freed from the chain of life and death. That explains the chaos, mystery, indifference, noise and everything surrounding this area which is said to be the abode of Lord Shiva. The name Manikarnika goes back to the story where Shiva dropped his earrings at the well here during his transcendental dance and it came to know as Manikarnika Kund. The cremations take place without break and fills the air with the smell of burning flesh which is surprisingly not repulsive. Foreigners from all around the globe watch the activities here with much intrigue and the locals take it with compassion though not without a fragment of disdain. The apparent indifferent face of death is reinforced with the underlying philosophy of material transition and is something that has to be experienced.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Kashi Vishwanath Temple

The exalted Kashi Vishwanath Temple finds itself mentioned in ancient Hindu scriptures, and was actually built in 490 CE but fell prey to successive demolitions by the Mughal invaders all through the centuries. The present temple was built in 1790 by the warrior queen Ahilyabhai Holkar who was aggrieved by the wanton destruction of age-old sacred structures. Hindus believe that a dip in the river Ganges and a visit to this temple serves to break free from the cycle of rebirth. Also referred to as Golden Temple because of the spire which was made from pure gold donated by Maharaja Ranjith Singh, this temple is a must-visit. The main deity here is a black lingam upon which devotees pour blessed water. Foreigners have to register their passports to enter the premises as security has been beefed up in recent years due to the looming terrorist threat. Mobile phones, cameras and bags of all visitors have to be deposited at any of the shops that line the entrance, while police urge crowds to hurry and keep moving. The experience is most intense, intriguing and divine.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Alamgir Mosque

Alternately known as Aurangzeb Mosque or Dharahara Mosque, the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI)- protected Alamgir Mosque enjoys a superb location along the relatively quieter Panchganga Ghat which is sacred to Hindu bathers. A steep climb will lead you up to one of Varanasi's most celebrated landmarks which pretty much defines the skyline with its spectacular brown minarets. Built by Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb upon the site of the Bindu Madhava Temple, legend has it that this structure was actually much taller than its present state, and the Emperor enjoyed views all across to Delhi! While there is no way of verifying this, there remains no doubt that this mosque is a must-visit especially for its unusual architecture manifesting both Hindu and Mughal elements. Its proximity to the nearby Shri Laxmi Narayan Mandir and the newer Bindu Mahadev Temple reflects the co-existence of 2 major world religions - Hinduism and Islam.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
Durga Kund

This rectangular pond beside the Durga Temple and Anand Bagh Park is a major land mark in the holy city of Varanasi. Landscaped by the the supreme aesthetics of the Durga temple, Durga Kund is visually appealing. The reflection of the stunning red structure of the temple bestows charm to the water in the pond which is otherwise dull. Built in the 18th Century by a Queen of Bengal, the pond was once used by devotees for a dip.

Varanasi, India
Add to Collection
0 201 2895-a-day-in-varanasi
1 of
1 0
Leave a Comment :
300 Characters Remaining

Submit
Similar Collections
11 Best BBQ Joints in the Southern US
11 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
17 Breathtaking Natural Wonders Around the World
17 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Ameowzing Spots for Cat Lovers Around the World
16 Bookmarked
Save Collection to Profile
Beautiful Beaches Around the World
9 Bookmarked

Beautiful Beaches Around the World

Created by: Cityseeker
Save Collection to Profile
9 1 0 3
895