The Tuscarawas County Courthouse is a historic landmark that sits on East High Avenue, enchanting passers-by with its architectural brilliance. The dome is its most striking feature and can be seen from afar. The stone used for this building was brought in from Medina, a railroad track being specially constructed nearby for this purpose. Today, the courthouse houses the Common Pleas courtrooms and several judicial offices.
The town of Dennison was one of the important fuel stops for the railroad in the 1800s. The main reason for this was that the town was located 100 miles from Columbus, OH and Pittsburgh, PA, exactly the distance a steam engine could travel before it had to stop for coal. The Dennison depot was built in 1873, at the peak of the town’s rail boom. It is listed in the National Register of Historic Places, and, today, is a museum that tells visitors and locals alike about the railroad’s glorious past. There is also a restaurant at the depot, so if you get hungry while getting acquainted with the rich history, head here and complete the experience. See the website for more information.
The Gnadenhutten Massacre site is a grim reminder of the atrocities of colonial American militia. It was the Moravian Christian village that was entirely destroyed in 1782 with only two boys who escaped the slaughter. The converted Delaware Indians were known to be peaceful and were neutral when it to came to the Civil War. This aroused suspicion in the revolutionary camp who sought out to seek revenge. 96 people including women and children were murdered on that fateful morning and the village was looted and burned. A 37 feet (11.28 meters) monument and with an inscription of "Here triumphed in death ninety Christian Indians, March 8, 1782." was built in 1872 along with a mission house and cooper's house. The graves were marked and are still maintained.
Performing Arts Center at Kent State University is a state-of-the-art facility featuring a spacious theater, studio, classroom, faculty offices, concessions and dressing rooms for the artists. Apart from playing host to the cultural programs of the university, this performance center hosts a wide range of theatrical productions, musicals, concerts, comedy and other performing arts events on a regular basis. Lectures, meetings and conferences are also hosted here. Performing Arts Center at Kent State University is home to Tuscarawas Philharmonic, a full symphony orchestra that is known for the jazz and classical concerts that it performs across the country.
Jeremiah Reeves House and Carriage House was originally built in the year 1870 by Valentine Wills and later purchased by a wealthy man named Jeremiah E.Reeves. To meet his high standard of living he modified and renovated the house adding more rooms in the year 1897. Constructed in Italianate and Queen Anne style of architecture the house was resided by the Reeves from 1901 - 1977. However before the last of the Reeves survived, the house came under the ownership of the Dover Historical Society and was restored to its original form. Today you can visit the house that has been converted into a museum showcasing the lifestyle of the Reeves family in the 20th Century.